Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 20/7/2013 to 12/10/2013

• Registered Users Posts: 39,549 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

National NEWS!
    FFS!
    Pat Kenny to beggar off!
    Unbelievable - all th schit going on in the world and this is the first item on the news. How parochial is that?
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

joe316 wrote: »
    Why didnt she do her research beforehand?
    Why didn't she buy some contraceptives beforehand......:D

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Typical RTE.....first story on the news is Kenny jumping ship.

In other stories, China launches nuclear missiles on New York, Washington, Dallas, Los Angeles, Chicago and Boston and declares war on the US.

Just heard tributes to Pat Kenny......I thought he must have died.....instead it's RTE who will be dying.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

God - now they bring back Gaybo and his usual failed attempts to say nice words about anyone else....

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

God - now they bring back Gaybo and his usual failed attempts to say nice words about anyone else....

As if he'd ever break the habit of a lifetime in that regard.

Although he does seem to like his former "man-o'-de-liddel-peeple" correspondent Joe....but probably in the same way you'd like a goldfish ;)

europa11 wrote: »
    As if he'd ever break the habit of a lifetime in that regard.

Although he does seem to like his former "man-o'-de-liddel-peeple" correspondent Joe....but probably in the same way you'd like a goldfish ;)

I suspect JoBo wakes up every morning, rolls around in a bed of 50 Euro notes and shouts, "Feck it, I can't believe my luck! Thank you, Uncle Gabe."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Joe is 'shocked' at Kenny's defection..
    Does this mean his taxpayer funded €300k pa telephonist wage is on the line?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

snubbleste wrote: »

Was just thinking that, if RTE are prepared to let Pat Kenny go well then no one is safe including our Joseph

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

What was the one crying about today?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Neeson wrote: »
    What was the one crying about today?
    Her lil adult baba isn't perfick

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Her lil adult baba isn't perfick

Yeah but what did he do? Steal something?

The News had it that "Kenny decided to not renew his contract" - Boot on the other foot, I would think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭gjc

Pat the plank gone, tubs is doing a lot of work in uk... I suspect he'll go next.....
    Christ I wonder will the KENNY fans be able to twist the knob to change the frequency?
    So who got shafted in newstalk to make way for dead wood?
    Joe might have to consider doing the weather on tv3.

I reckon the writing was on the wall when he had a hissy fit and teared up the toy show tickets on air....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Can Joe hold the line..................or is he doomed? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭gjc

P45's in the post for a few people....me thinks....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Just listening to NT there, discussing the departure of Pat Kenny.. Two interesting points about Joe..

1. Coleman said that he has "a problem with a 'socialist' taking 300K from the public purse".. I've always said this.. Joe is another one of that particular brand of Irish socialism.. I expect you all to live by socialist ideals, but I'll live by whatever ideals are best for my bank account...

2. They made the point that Pat Kenny would have been the first person that RTE would have come to if there was a serious issue that needed to be discussed and needed an impartial host... They said the second person would be..... (and remember they said the word 'impartial')... Joe Duffy !!! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: Duffy ?? Impartial... I can imagine what the Sinn Féin, Eirigí etc etc would say with regard to that comment... Tiocfaidh Ár lá.. Ní Thiocfaidh an lá seo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Just listening to NT there, discussing the departure of Pat Kenny.. Two interesting points about Joe..

1. Coleman said that he has "a problem with a 'socialist' taking 300K from the public purse".. I've always said this.. Joe is another one of that particular brand of Irish socialism.. I expect you all to live by socialist ideals, but I'll live by whatever ideals are best for my bank account...

2. They made the point that Pat Kenny would have been the first person that RTE would have come to if there was a serious issue that needed to be discussed and needed an impartial host... They said the second person would be..... (and remember they said the word 'impartial')... Joe Duffy !!! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: Duffy ?? Impartial... I can imagine what the Sinn Féin, Eirigí etc etc would say with regard to that comment... Tiocfaidh Ár lá.. Ní Thiocfaidh an lá seo...
    According the Morning Ireland, someone else big is going to defect...Joe perhaps? Would this explain the way he seems to be "phoning it in" lately?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,354 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

According the Morning Ireland, someone else big is going to defect...Joe perhaps? Would this explain the way he seems to be "phoning it in" lately?

We can but hope.

Was driving yesterday, so couldn't post - that show yesterday was the worst type of gutter, exploitative 'journalism' I've heard in a very long time.

I know those women rang in themselves (well I presume they did!), but did Joe really have to drag them to the point of gulping tears? To what end? The two were put in touch with each other.... that seemed to be the sum total result.

And as for the middle bit with that lady who fell....condescension much?

:mad::mad::mad:

If Joe puts the feelers out that he's defecting Adrian "Kinnidy" from FM10BORE will be sh!tting himself. That's Joe's level if we're going to be honest here.......but knowing the powers that be in Irish meeja he'll prob land a much bigger gig. Actually, that's an insult to Adrian, Joe's level is Hospital radio.

He has his standards........if they stick the studio next to the Mortuary Department he might consider an offer :D;)

..........Joe's level is Hospital radio.
    Cancer and suicide are Joe's major specialities......yeah, maybe hospital radio would fulfil his needs but he would need to be interviewing the patients:- ".....and how long have you to live, petal....".
    I don't think reading out get-well-soon messages would cut it for Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He is signing the contract with Cherry Orchard FM as we speak

• Registered Users Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Hitchens

But if Joe jumps ship, what will happen to Funny Friday? With Syl now a matinee idol fillum star, will Doc and Uncle Bob be able to carry it? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

RTE`s 65 million deficit, to be discussed on de lavlahn..i think not..

signostic wrote: »

65 milllion!, tut! tut!...a mere trifle to our Joseph. ;) Hardly worth wasting valuable air-time for when compared to de suffrin' of de downtrodden wurrkin' man and wumman who remain so dear in Comrade Joe's mighty heart........and even mightier wallet.

Hitchens wrote: »
    But if Joe jumps ship, what will happen to Funny Friday? With Syl now a matinee idol fillum star, will Doc and Uncle Bob be able to carry it? :confused:

I think you'll find they will be part of Joe's T' & C's that the Funny Friday Crew will be given airtime in his new home. Joel's Agent looks after his stablemates....at our expense.

signostic wrote: »

Imagine how much it would be if Joe wasn't properly recompensed for his broadcasting talent........:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Ah now lads in fairness..... Lets not get carried away like...

What will we all do mid week afternoons if Joe jumps ship?! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

I think you'll find they will be part of Joe's T' & C's that the Funny Friday Crew will be given airtime in his new home. Joel's Agent looks after his stablemates....at our expense.

Yep, and probably sponsored by Aubery's International Furniture Removals.