Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Culchies vs Jackeen's

12345679»

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Wibbs wrote: »
    Plus one.

There's an element of that alright.

Both of the above are clannish and an Irish thing more than a rural/urban thing IMHO. It may be more concentrated in some rural settings because the smaller social environment lends itself to it*, but sadly it's pretty much everywhere in our culture. Oakboy's example being a perfect one. For me there's far more of a gombeen/normal folks divide and gombeens have no geography or accent.

In any event the culshie/jackeen thing is a bit daft in one way. Most Jackeens today have parents or grandparents who hailed from beyond the Pale. Few enough would go back in the place before the 40's and 50's. So for many Jackeens it's a case of well done doofus, you're slagging your own people.

* I remember discussing this sorta thing with a mate's dad who originally came from small town Ireland. He reckoned a lot of what appears clannish is down to a simple lack of choice, especially back in the day. He reckoned rural people were more likely to be loyal to one thing, whether that be a political type or a service because of this. EG everyone would go to Mark the mechanic, even if he was a shyster, because the nearest mechanic might be 30 miles away and if you pissed off Mark you could be stuck, whereas if you were in Cork or Dublin or Galway you had the choice to tell mark to eff off and go to Joe down the road. Plus in a small town it was all too easy to be socially exiled if you didn't walk in step.

Think thats nail on the head over that, lack of choice has alot to do with it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

one thing ive noticed about the country , brad pitt could walk into a nightclub in bally____ and wouldn't score unless he was mickey joes cousin or at least was someones cousin

city folk have more time for meritrocrocy

Ummmm.........Ballymun.(sorry bambi);)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Dubs versus Jackeens is ok for a bit of slagging at matches. Other than that it's just the usual stupid arguments from ignoramuses who have little or nothing else to talk about. Can't see why someone from a Dublin ghetto should think he is superior to someone from a big farm or why someone who never left their village of 200 people should feel they are better than a Dublin person living in a good suburb of quality housing with access to services, people from all over the world and good job prospects. Leave that rubbish to people who have nothing else in their lives. It just shows up their own insecurities and shortcomings. The country is too small. I know people in Dublin who's knowledge of Dublin just extends to their own area and the city centre and would get lost if they had to travel to the far side of the city. I know people from the country who have never left their county except for the odd foray to Croke Park never mind travelling overseas. Usually they have five or six uncles, aunts and cousins all living in the area with the potential for a bit of in breeding down the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Turtyturd wrote: »
    It's a bit simple to say Dublin people and all culchies. I think both Dubliners and Culchies from others counties can find some common ground in disliking Cork.

Langer!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

mohawk wrote: »
    Don't mind a little banter and slagging. I don't like the self-hating culchies who think once they have moved to Dublin they have made it.

Have been living in Dublin for 7years. I have found the odd person who tells me that I am from a total kip . There's alot of people who think that everyone not from Dublin is a farmer.
    One guy accused me of stealing jobs from dubs.
    Where I am from is lovely there just isn't any pharma companies there for me to work in. I would leave Dublin in a heartbeat if I could not because I hate Dublin, but because my little village in Limerick is awesome.

The biggest issue I have with Dublin is the class divide. Back home you send your kids to the local school, here you have to worry about the 'right school'.

I'm a Dub who's lived in Cork for quite some time and I have to say that the kind of utter ignorance that I get from some people in Dublin (including my own relatives in some cases) is unbelievable.

To give you an example: Someone spending 10 minutes explaining what UPC broadband was and telling me that it's new in Dublin and we probably don't have it "down the country". I've had it for about 5 years before the did.

Being asked how I survive without M&S.

Having explained that I live in Cork City centre, being asked if I have a farm.

Being asked "how do you put up with the smell of the pig sh1t?"

Being told that Cork's a kip. Just at random by people who've never set foot in the place.

People being shocked that there's a university in Cork and that there's an airport other than "The Airport" (Dublin Airport).

Some of them are just pure ignorance by people who never beyond the two canals. Some of my granny's neighbours still think Rathfarnam and Swords are "down the country".

Others are just parochial nonsense and just pure nastiness for no reason.

You'll get a similar set of abuse from Cork people if you're from Dublin or Kerry.

For such a small place with so few big urban areas, some of us are ridiculously ignorant about the rest of the country.

The number of people who have just absolutely know understanding of other cities in Ireland or who have never been to a properly rural area is astounding sometimes.

As for the culchie vs jackeen thing, it makes no sense.

Someone from a really rural part of West Kerry has more in common with someone from some rural part of North County Dublin or the Dublin mountains than they do with someone from say Cork City Centre.

The middle of Cork City centre has a hell of a lot more in common with the middle of Dublin City Centre or Belfast City Centre than anywhere else.

I don't get why people in Dublin just lump all of non-Dublin into the "culchie" category. It doesn't even make sense other than it's a term of abuse for non-Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I'm a Dub who's lived in Cork for quite some time and I have to say that the kind of utter ignorance that I get from some people in Dublin (including my own relatives in some cases) is unbelievable.

To give you an example: Someone spending 10 minutes explaining what UPC broadband was and telling me that it's new in Dublin and we probably don't have it "down the country". I've had it for about 5 years before the did.

Being asked how I survive without M&S.

Having explained that I live in Cork City centre, being asked if I have a farm.

Being asked "how do you put up with the smell of the pig sh1t?"

Being told that Cork's a kip. Just at random by people who've never set foot in the place.

People being shocked that there's a university in Cork and that there's an airport other than "The Airport" (Dublin Airport).

Some of them are just pure ignorance by people who never beyond the two canals. Some of my granny's neighbours still think Rathfarnam and Swords are "down the country".

Others are just parochial nonsense and just pure nastiness for no reason.

You'll get a similar set of abuse from Cork people if you're from Dublin or Kerry.

For such a small place with so few big urban areas, some of us are ridiculously ignorant about the rest of the country.

The number of people who have just absolutely know understanding of other cities in Ireland or who have never been to a properly rural area is astounding sometimes.

As for the culchie vs jackeen thing, it makes no sense.

Someone from a really rural part of West Kerry has more in common with someone from some rural part of North County Dublin or the Dublin mountains than they do with someone from say Cork City Centre.

The middle of Cork City centre has a hell of a lot more in common with the middle of Dublin City Centre or Belfast City Centre than anywhere else.

I don't get why people in Dublin just lump all of non-Dublin into the "culchie" category. It doesn't even make sense other than it's a term of abuse for non-Dublin.

you seem to be hanging around with fools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Oakboy wrote: »
    I love how a lot of dubs say that as if it is some form of insult, "Loike OMG, you live on a foorrm? isn't that loike so smelly"
    These clowns need to grow up... and to think that these people look down on "boggers" as if the boggers are the ones with inferior intellect

who are you meeting? 12 year old girls from Foxrock?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Culchies is such an offensive word, I prefer to be called a muck savage

• Administrators Posts: 53,708 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    I know people from the country who have never left their county except for the odd foray to Croke Park never mind travelling overseas.

I reckon a lot of country folk's perception of Dublin is based off their trips to Croke Park.

Given the state of the area around Croke Park it's easy to see why many have a misconception of Dublin being a dirty hole in general. It's an area in desperate need of some regeneration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Culchies is such an offensive word, I prefer to be called a muck savage

Mullah or Muldoon is the best epithet.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

anncoates wrote: »

What'd you call me?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

awec wrote: »
    I reckon a lot of country folk's perception of Dublin is based off their trips to Croke Park.

Yes because country folk only have to make the pilgrimage to Dublin when their county are playing in Croker? What utter nonsense!

It's not like we'd need to attend a rugby match in Lansdowne Road, a concert in the O2 or do some shopping in Dundrum or Grafton street, get a degree or simply for a weekend on the lash or perhaps need medical care in specialist hospital.

Or the glaring fact that the majority of jobs are in Dublin and we have lived there for 4-5 years and now know the city aswell as the 50 acres at the back of my house.

Can we get rid of the bacon and cabbabe eating, using baler twine as a belt image of people who only leave their county when Kerry or Cork are in the All-Ireland.

Saying that I have lived in Dublin for 4 years and love it and do attend matches at Croke park quite a bit. The perception that we only enter the city for a day in september is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    What'd you call me?

A culch-doon. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,172 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

anncoates wrote: »

When I lived in Dublin back in the day I always quite liked being referred to as a "Woolyback". :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Why is there such a division between the two, I've often pondered it growing up in a small Tipperary town. I remember Tipp played Dublin in the 2011 All Ireland semi final and every one in my local club scoffed and said those fcuking Jackeens aren't able to hurl. The fact they were Dubs seemed to incense certain people.

But then you have culchies who go to college in Dublin and immerse themselves in the city and pick up the UCD/Trinner Mid Atlantic accent. I've lived in it and enjoyed myself. There's some real characters out there.

I think the culchies have a bit of an inferiority complex.

it takes a certain type of person to fall into either category. And its usually the loud mouth people who cant get over themselves. I'm from a rural enough town in Ireland that would be considered culchie I guess. I don't have a strange accent, its fairly neutral Ive been told, I'm not backwards in my views, or highly religious. I hate this stereotyping. Its a tad bit ignorant. Really shows people up when they go on about this, because its obvious, that person has never been to the places they are mocking.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,747 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I watched this documentary about Dublin/Jackeens last Monday night, it was fascinating, on again tonight, think it was called Damo and Ivor.
    An insight for Culchies on what they are not missing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

I'm off home for the schpuds and cabbage and a grand bit of ham. Sit back then and watch Nationwide and have a read of the Farmers Journal. Get up in the morning and fill the jeep up with Green Diesel and head off to the ploughing for the day with the ham sambos and the flask of Tay in the back of the jeep.

Maurice Hickey vs Ross O'Carroll-Kelly

• Registered Users Posts: 20,172 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Maurice Hickey vs Ross O'Carroll-Kelly

...or John "The Bull" Hayes vs. Brian "BOD, Roysh!" O'Driscoll! :D