Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Cannot stop watching SkySportsNews stream.

Must.get.work.done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Only 200 more posts until yere new thread, surely ye'll top that by today once Ozil is confirmed......or go into meltdown if its hijacked? :pac:

BTW, great signing once he is confirmed, looking forward to seeing one of the best CAMs in the world in the EPL and a player I'd much rather have then Bale, those talks of a loss for the EPL is a load of bo**cks, especially if it gains a player like Ozil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Any word of other signings for us?

Breaking news after the ads on SSN now on other Arsenal target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Big news on another transfer SSN have announced after the break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Fair play if ye get Ozil, will be a super signing. Cabaye is a handy player too, but do ye really need him? Ramsey, Rosicky, Cazorla, Wilshere, Arteta, Walcott, Podolski, Wilshere, Diaby(!), and now Ozil, all for the few midfield/wide forward positions?

Who steps in if say, Kos is injured and Per is suspended? Tommy V and who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Back 19 games of the season including being embarrassed in Europe and embarrassed by Blackburn Rovers. Even just going by form, we got 40 points over the second half of last season, that's not a league-winning ppg.

Over the course of last season or this season? If you mean this season then yes, it would be quite difficult to not improve on a 3-1 home loss to a team that spent all last season in the bottom half of the table.

Read yesterday that we are now topping the theoretical 2013 calendar year table, having moved ahead of Utd following yesterday's results.

FearDark wrote: »
    Breaking news after the ads on SSN now on other Arsenal target.

Suarez?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Jason Todd wrote: »
    Fair play if ye get Ozil, will be a super signing. Cabaye is a handy player too, but do ye really need him? Ramsey, Rosicky, Cazorla, Wilshere, Arteta, Walcott, Podolski, Wilshere, Diaby(!), and now Ozil, all for the few midfield/wide forward positions?

Sagna.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Sagna, has played there already this season twice, with Jenkinson and Flamini as two replacements at right back.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Looper007 wrote: »
    Big news on another transfer SSN have announced after the break.
    THIS IS FCUKING MENTAL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Sagna.

Arsenal in for Ba, official, SSN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

I wouldnt mind ba on loan for a year if it ment we are goina get who we really wanted next summer.

Pity about this stupid international break. I wanna see em all playing for Arsenal asap

Sagna. Jenkinson to play RB in that event.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭the untitled user

Sky's big news is that we've made an enquiry for Demba Ba I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

He wouldn't be a bad buy or loan deal, be a very good player to have in the squad. BA would a plus rather then a minus.

I'd still rather Suarez. Ba would be third or fourth at best in my list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Ba would be a shrewd signing, a very good backup. Anyone who is negative about him should forget Chelsea completely, and remember what he mustered up with Newcastle. The lad's good.

Only worry is the knees, if it's permanent, it needs to be a 2 year deal.

Ba is fine for cover. Would still like someone better than Giroud.

9 hours to go.
    Sign some feckin players Arsene.

Topped the 2nd half of the table iirc. Granted the cup form was poor but Blackburn was one of those freak games while Bayern are a class side who went on to win the CL and who we went on to beat 2-0 in their own backyard and near almost knocked out of Europe
    Not top for the second half, no. We'd already been embarrassed by Bradford, there's no excuses.

P W D L CS FtS F A GD Pt PPG
    1 Manchester United 18 12 4 2 9 1 36 15 +21 40 2.22
    2 Arsenal 19 12 4 3 7 2 33 16 +17 40 2.11
    3 Manchester City 18 11 3 4 11 3 28 15 +13 36 2.00
    4 Tottenham Hotspur 18 10 6 2 4 2 30 20 +10 36 2.00
    5 Chelsea 19 11 4 4 6 2 36 21 +15 37 1.95
    6 Liverpool 18 9 6 3 9 4 40 17 +23 33 1.83
    7 Everton 18 8 6 4 9 6 22 15 +7 30 1.67
    8 Aston Villa 18 6 5 7 0 3 32 30 +2 23 1.28
    9 Southampton 19 5 9 5 5 5 23 23 0 24 1.26
    10 Fulham 18 6 4 8 4 7 20 24 -4 22 1.22
    11 West Ham United 19 6 5 8 5 5 23 30 -7 23 1.21
    12 Newcastle United 18 6 3 9 3 7 19 31 -12 21 1.17
    13 Norwich City 18 4 7 7 5 8 18 26 -8 19 1.06
    14 Swansea City 18 4 6 8 5 9 18 27 -9 18 1.00
    15 Wigan Athletic 18 4 6 8 2 4 25 38 -13 18 1.00
    16 Sunderland 18 4 5 9 4 5 20 28 -8 17 0.94
    17 West Bromwich Albion 18 4 4 10 3 5 25 32 -7 16 0.89
    18 Queens Park Rangers 18 3 6 9 5 9 14 24 -10 15 0.83
    19 Reading 18 4 3 11 2 6 21 36 -15 15 0.83
    20 Stoke City 18 3 4 11 3 8 13 28 -15 13 0.72
    danlen wrote: »
    On today of all days, could not try not to be so pessimistic and miserable ALL the time.
    So signing Ozil putting us as top contenders is realism and anything else is pessimism? Grow up ffs.
    Once Ozil's confirmed we can start on the next few players over the next few hours. If we end up with Ozil, Flamini and Sanogo and people say they're happy then it may well be worth digging up some posts from earlier in the summer to see the flip-flopping by many.

Could you imagine if................. as part of the Bale deal Spurs said listen keep Arsenal busy on the last day up until the last minute with one of your top players and pull the plug a couple of minutes before the deadline.................imagine

Soups123 wrote: »
    Could you imagine if................. as part of the Bale deal Spurs said listen keep Arsenal busy on the last day up until the last minute with one of your top players and pull the plug a couple of minutes before the deadline.................imagine

I'd be fairly sure that's illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Not top for the second half, no. We'd already been embarrassed by Bradford, there's no excuses.

P W D L CS FtS F A GD Pt PPG
    1 Manchester United 18 12 4 2 9 1 36 15 +21 40 2.22
    2 Arsenal 19 12 4 3 7 2 33 16 +17 40 2.11
    3 Manchester City 18 11 3 4 11 3 28 15 +13 36 2.00
    4 Tottenham Hotspur 18 10 6 2 4 2 30 20 +10 36 2.00
    5 Chelsea 19 11 4 4 6 2 36 21 +15 37 1.95
    6 Liverpool 18 9 6 3 9 4 40 17 +23 33 1.83
    7 Everton 18 8 6 4 9 6 22 15 +7 30 1.67
    8 Aston Villa 18 6 5 7 0 3 32 30 +2 23 1.28
    9 Southampton 19 5 9 5 5 5 23 23 0 24 1.26
    10 Fulham 18 6 4 8 4 7 20 24 -4 22 1.22
    11 West Ham United 19 6 5 8 5 5 23 30 -7 23 1.21
    12 Newcastle United 18 6 3 9 3 7 19 31 -12 21 1.17
    13 Norwich City 18 4 7 7 5 8 18 26 -8 19 1.06
    14 Swansea City 18 4 6 8 5 9 18 27 -9 18 1.00
    15 Wigan Athletic 18 4 6 8 2 4 25 38 -13 18 1.00
    16 Sunderland 18 4 5 9 4 5 20 28 -8 17 0.94
    17 West Bromwich Albion 18 4 4 10 3 5 25 32 -7 16 0.89
    18 Queens Park Rangers 18 3 6 9 5 9 14 24 -10 15 0.83
    19 Reading 18 4 3 11 2 6 21 36 -15 15 0.83
    20 Stoke City 18 3 4 11 3 8 13 28 -15 13 0.72

So signing Ozil putting us as top contenders is realism and anything else is pessimism? Grow up ffs.
    Once Ozil's confirmed we can start on the next few players over the next few hours. If we end up with Ozil, Flamini and Sanogo and people say they're happy then it may well be worth digging up some posts from earlier in the summer to see the flip-flopping by many.

Signing Ozil, Flamini, Ba and a CB and I would be delighted. It would give us a very strong squad and a killer midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Ba would be a shrewd signing, a very good backup. Anyone who is negative about him should forget Chelsea completely, and remember what he mustered up with Newcastle. The lad's good.

Only worry is the knees, if it's permanent, it needs to be a 2 year deal.

He was good until they brought in Cisse and then he lost interest or confidence from not being the main man. Not sure what he would be like as backup to Giroud. I think he wouldn't give us that much more than Bendtner would in the same role.

Take that tinfoil hat off :pac:

jester77 wrote: »
    He was good until they brought in Cisse and then he lost interest or confidence from not being the main man. Not sure what he would be like as backup to Giroud. I think he wouldn't give us that much more than Bendtner would in the same role.

Once Cisse was signed Ba was played out of position a lot to accommodate both.

If the reports are true, and a medical is underway, that doesn't seem likely to happen.

The odds are very much in our favour.. I had a quick look and it's 1/14 now, was going to put a big sum and see if it was worth my while... would only get €5euro back.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I owe you an apology!

You kept the faith and it seems it has paid off.

Wenger has balls jack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

imagine Ozil actually had a life and better things to be doing than sham medicals......
    I was fcukin jokin.............. relax the caxs

If the reports are true, and a medical is underway, that doesn't seem likely to happen.

The odds are very much in our favour.. I had a quick look and it's 1/14 now, was going to put a big sum and see if it was worth my while... would only get €5euro back.

Maybe it's because I'm not a big gambler, but I wouldn't even consider betting on anything lower than 2/1. Even then I wouldn't be too interested. In my mind, it's not worth the risk unless you can win big. Anything less than 4/1 and I wouldn't really be interested.

How long does a bloody medical take anyway?

Is there time for two more marquee signings?

Cazorla. Ozil. Walcott
    Giroud

Up there with best attacks in the prem

No

Maybe 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Yes. Plenty of room in the trolly still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Can't see there being any other 'marquee' signings.

Ozil, that keeper who's name I can't pronounce, Ba/Hernandez. That'll be it I reckon, better than I've been expecting for the last few weeks.

http://havespursscoredfromopenplayyet.com/ good lord this is excellent

No

Maybe 1

Depends if it is Wenger in person or not. If he has to be present at them all, then it's unlikely. But if he doesn't, there is no reason we couldn't do two or more.

AdamD wrote: »

Ozil, that keeper who's name I can't pronounce, Ba/Hernandez. That'll be it I reckon, better than I've been expecting for the last few weeks.

Would hope if its Ozil, Ba, the GK that there is still 30-40m available to spend, one more big signing would be amazing

Bale wearing a jersey with "Fly Emirates" on it :D:D

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,409 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Once Cisse was signed Ba was played out of position a lot to accommodate both.

He still scored 19 goals last season, 13 for Newcastle and 6 for Chelsea. Would be a decent option to have, not the world beater we all want but not bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

AS reporting that Ozil will be confirimed in a couple of hours.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,409 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Would hope if its Ozil, Ba, the GK that there is still 30-40m available to spend, one more big signing would be amazing

I think we need that one other big signing to fully make the window a success. Di Maria would be perfect but SSN saying our interest in him is cooling off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Latest standings of the Fantasy Football league below lads.

http://fantasy.premierleague.com/my-leagues/96395/standings/

Mickeroo wrote: »
    I think we need that one other big signing to fully make the window a success. Di Maria would be perfect but SSN saying our interest in him is cooling off.
    Agree one more in the right area would set us right up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

AdamD wrote: »

http://havespursscoredfromopenplayyet.com/ good lord this is excellent

At least this one might finally get updated today
    http://www.havearsenalspentanymoneyyet.com/

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Maybe it's because I'm not a big gambler, but I wouldn't even consider betting on anything lower than 2/1. Even then I wouldn't be too interested. In my mind, it's not worth the risk unless you can win big. Anything less than 4/1 and I wouldn't really be interested.

Oh god no, I bet irregularly, but if that 2/1 was still here now, that would be a great bet... just the flurry of reports was enough to make you think.

Anyone know when the odds started drifting from 2/1 to smaller?

There was optimism last night, but not enough to be guaranteed Ozil. More likely by the minute.

ETA: Get you now you wouldn't bet on anything less than 4/1... I would of taken 2/1 for Ozil but only from this morning... I wouldn't have gone near 4/1 considering the riskiness of the football transfer market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Latest standings of the Fantasy Football league below lads.

http://fantasy.premierleague.com/my-leagues/96395/standings/

Is it too late for me to join this? - think I'd be in top 10 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

I was fcukin jokin.............. relax the caxs

does not compute.

Arsenal on verge of bringing a genuine world class player to the league.

Relaxation not possible.