Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

:pac: what? Yeh because Podolski and Walcott both done so terribly last season playing there.

Podolski is a goal poacher, he is a terrible winger, can't beat his man and just plays it backwards, much more effective in and around the box, Walcott is the same, most of his goals came from been upfront both good players but definitely not good wingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Podolski is a goal poacher, he is a terrible winger, can't beat his man and just plays it backwards, much more effective in and around the box, Walcott is the same, most of his goals came from been upfront both good players but definitely not good wingers.

Most of Walcott's goals came from playing from the wing. He's more effective from there than up front because he has a more space to run in to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Podolski can't beat his man? Are you sure you watched Arsenal play at all last season? Just play it backwards? Seriously? Podoski was one of the few players who when he got the ball last season went and attacked and was always looking to make things happen him and Cazorla linked up brilliantly at times.

I'm not sure on the stat of were Walcotts goals came from but a lot of them came from playing out wide, plus what about all his assists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

Hyzepher wrote: »
    10 years is actually not that long to go without a title - just ask any long term Spurs or Chelsea fan.

Even the great Liverpool of the 70s & 80s had a very lean spell beforehand - as did UTD before SAF. Even for Arsenal 10 yrs isn't our longest run without a title.

If you think about that for a minute and then add in the fact that we have not been outside the top 4 in that "lean" period AND also built a new stadium that is the envy of most our rivals - especially in London, I think you need to acknowledge the success of AW and the board.

I know fans measure success by trophy count but if we are to have a lean period then the last 10 years is pretty awesome in that respect.

as a liverpool fan we where saying the same thing 10 years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Just like Pires and Ljungberg then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

i find it funny that wenger is saying he is doing all the talking behind closed doors yet he keeps mentioning wanting to sign suarez in the media. considering all the crap that barca "put arsenal through" in regards cesc i find it kinda ironic that there is no problem using similar tactics. i guess its not the same thing though??

Paulegend wrote: »
    i find it funny that wenger is saying he is doing all the talking behind closed doors yet he keeps mentioning wanting to sign suarez in the media. considering all the crap that barca "put arsenal through" in regards cesc i find it kinda ironic that there is no problem using similar tactics. i guess its not the same thing though??

Not really since it was Liverpool who twice made it pubic that Arsenal had put in bids, there was no mention from Arsenal beforehand.

My thought is Liverpool leaked it trying to garner more interest and it backfired, it's Liverpool's own fault anyone to do with Arsenal are constantly being asked questions regards Suarez.

Podolski can't beat his man? Are you sure you watched Arsenal play at all last season? Just play it backwards? Seriously? Podoski was one of the few players who when he got the ball last season went and attacked and was always looking to make things happen him and Cazorla linked up brilliantly at times.

I'm not sure on the stat of were Walcotts goals came from but a lot of them came from playing out wide, plus what about all his assists?

Seriously I think you need to have a look back, he can't beat his man he is too slow and doesn't have the technical ability, I like him as a player but not a winger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

"I don't want to speak about Suarez, because that is between Liverpool and Arsenal. We will completely respect what Liverpool wants to do.

"We want to (sign the player) if it is feasible in an amicable way.

Arsene Wenger on Suarez.

You can say what ye like about Wenger but the guy is a class act.

Are you for real? Arsene ALWAYS answers the questions he is asked by the media. Would you want the club to start vetting the questions he is asked like other clubs do. The above quote is what he said and it was the right thing to say.

He has shown respect to Liverpool.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Today is the first his name has come up I would have thought, but sure Liverpool are speaking about it most??

bad2dabone wrote: »
    I know GG won 2 leagues and I think an FA cup?, but what I’m saying is we did have long gaps between trophies before him.

Title in 89 and 91, Coke and FA cup double in 93, cup winners cup in 94, Coke cup/whatever it was called in 87 (i think).

Interspersed with Wrexham dumping us out of the FA cup in 1992, Tony Adams arrested for being 17 times over the limit when crashing, brawling our way around the division for a few years, brawlig with United and having 2 points deducted, Winterburn following McClair to the touchline when he missed the peno, Paul Davis punching some spurs prick, Cockerill I think.

I still love George.

bad2dabone wrote: »
    no chance. none. Our squad is far too small.
    we've currently got 1 left back (monreal injured already) with gibbs somewhat injury prone, 3 CB's, 5 midfielders, 3 wide forwards (not counting Ryo) and 2 strikers. with CL, FA cup, PL and CL cup we're simply too light in numbers, I'd say too light in numbers even to be confident of a CL spot.
    If all we do is add depth without adding to the first 11 then it's a step backwards.
    However I agree with Wenger about Sanogo, he could be fantastic.
    Hopefully, nothing to suggest it so far though.

Most of Walcott's goals came from playing from the wing. He's more effective from there than up front because he has a more space to run in to.

Ye usually into an alley and looses the ball, I'm talking about beating the full back here, not scoring goals.

As a typical winger which beats their man and delivers a ball into the box he is poor and has been for years.

meriwether wrote: »
    Title in 89 and 91, Coke and FA cup double in 93, cup winners cup in 94, Coke cup/whatever it was called in 87 (i think).

Interspersed with Wrexham dumping us out of the FA cup in 1992, Tony Adams arrested for being 17 times over the limit when crashing, brawling our way around the division for a few years, brawlig with United and having 2 points deducted, Winterburn following McClair to the touchline when he missed the peno, Paul Davis punching some spurs prick, Cockerill I think.

I still love George.

Sometimes I read posts and think to myself, I'm not as dedicated a fan as others. I fail to recall some of that but i'd have only been about 11/12

You are comparig apples and turnips.

Its public record Arsenal have made a bid to sagn Suarez. Liverpool have said as much. So itspretty obvious Wenger wants him, which is what he says in the media.

Barca tapped up and attempted to destabilise Cesc within the club. There is no suggestion whatsoever Arsenal are behaving improperly in relation to their approach to Suarez.

Ye usually into an alley and looses the ball, I'm talking about beating the full back here, not scoring goals.

As a typical winger which beats their man and delivers a ball into the box he is poor and has been for years.

I agree they arent wingers they play wide of midfield.

Hes not a "typical" winger, whatever that is, which is your first mistake.

Neither was Freddie or Pires.

Maybe you should look closer to home, your owners comments last week was very disrespectful and unprofessional, I think you will find Wenger has more class a hundred times over than your owner.

Seriously I think you need to have a look back, he can't beat his man he is too slow and doesn't have the technical ability, I like him as a player but not a winger.

I really need think you need to re watch a lot of last season, he is the best finisher at the club and is technically excellent many a time last season did I see him beat his man and more. He often gave us a sense of urgency we lacked last season when got on the ball. You don't play the majority of you German international caps on left wing whilst being bad there in that German national team ;).

I would like to see him more centrally myself but he is far from a poor wide man.

Hes not a "typical" winger, whatever that is, which is your first mistake.

Neither was Freddie or Pires.

Look someone said we have great options out wide, Walcott been one of them, lets not compare him to pires who was a smashing player, on a different level to Walcott.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭wawaman

You are comparig apples and turnips.

Its public record Arsenal have made a bid to sagn Suarez. Liverpool have said as much. So itspretty obvious Wenger wants him, which is what he says in the media.

Barca tapped up and attempted to destabilise Cesc within the club. There is no suggestion whatsoever Arsenal are behaving improperly in relation to their approach to Suarez.

Exactly, when one of the arsenal players tries to put an Arsenal shirt on Suarez in public, thats when Liverpool will have reason to moan. Everything up to today has come from Liverpool.

Maybe its just me trying to take a positive from things but i thought the fact that Wenger publically stated that he is still interested is really encouraging considering some of the reports this week that Arsenal had pulled the plug on the deal

I really need think you need to re watch a lot of last season, he is the best finisher at the club and is technically excellent many a time last season did I see him beat his man and more. He often gave us a sense of urgency we lacked last season when got on the ball. You don't play the majority of you German international caps on left wing whilst being bad there in that German national team ;).

I would like to see him more centrally myself but he is far from a poor wide man.
    He doesn't even get him game for Germany anymore, anyway we won't agree here, but there is a reason we were going to bid for Bernard, a left winger.

And Walcott is a better finisher but that's for another day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Just like Pires and Ljungberg then.
    Please don't mention Podolski and Walcott in the same breath as the 2 above as they wouldn't lace there boots :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Podolski was great for us out the wing when he seemed bothered. He has one of the better crosses of a ball at the club and his assists last season show that.

Look someone said we have great options out wide, Walcott been one of them, lets not compare him to pires who was a smashing player, on a different level to Walcott.

Im not saying he is as good as Pires.

You on the other hand have criticised Walcott for not being a "man beater" out wide.

Neither was Pires or Ljungberg.

Walcotts problem is in fact his finishing when he gets into position, unlike Pires and Freddie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Podolskis international record is crazy though, hes got about 100 caps and like 40 goals despite being only 28/29.

The guy is a class player and is well able to play on the left and very well, IMO.

Im not saying he is as good as Pires.

You on the other hand have criticised Walcott for not being a "man beater" out wide.

Neither was Pires or Ljungberg.

Walcotts problem is in fact his finishing when he gets into position, unlike Pires and Freddie.

So what makes him a good wide option then ?

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Please don't mention Podolski and Walcott in the same breath as the 2 above as they wouldn't lace there boots :D

Please try and understand the basic point I was making, which wasnt that Walcott and Pod are/were as good as Pires and Ljungberg.

My point is that they are being criticised for not being "typical wingers, i.e. beat a man and whip in a cross.

Pires and Freddie didnt play like that either.

I think Podolski is an okay player who has regressed with age, good player to have in the squad but we should be looking at better players for our starting XI.

Please try and understand the basic point I was making, which wasnt that Walcott and Pod are/were as good as Pires and Ljungberg.

My point is that they are being criticised for not being "typical wingers, i.e. beat a man and whip in a cross.

Pires and Freddie didnt play like that either.

Yes they did??

Freddy was always beating players.

He doesn't even get him game for Germany anymore, anyway we won't agree here, but there is a reason we were going to bid for Bernard, a left winger.

He does actually ;), himself and Bierhoff recently had a public spat because Bierhoff said he didn't warrant his place ;). Yeh we were going for Bernard because it looks like Gerv is going out plus it looks like we never even bid for Bernard ;).
    And Walcott is a better finisher but that's for another day

I honestly don't think you watched any games last season if you can say that.

You'll see one or two crosses coming in here two from Podolski along with some terrific finishing. If you ever see Walcott catching a volley sweetly and thundering it into the goal let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Walcott through the middle wasnt great. He is much more effective on the wing. He got loads of assists last season. Traditional wingers are a thing of the past really I think.

EDIT: wasnt Podolski injured for a lot of last season too. Think he could have a really good season this year

Getting into position in the box.

Goals.

What he needs to do is score more goals, and track back better/work harder in defence.

Freddie and Pires were goalscoring wingers, specialising in arriving late into the box.

Ashley Young is your typical winger. A typical winger isnt all its cracked up to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Hopefully this may be a bit of a challenge for him - to earn back his place in the German XI

He does actually ;), himself and Bierhoff recently had a public spat because Bierhoff said he didn't warrant his place ;). Yeh we were going for Bernard because it looks like Gerv is going out plus it looks like we never even bid for Bernard ;).

I honestly don't think you watched any games last season if you can say that.

You'll see one or two crosses coming in here two from Podolski along with some terrific finishing. If you ever see Walcott catching a volley sweetly and thundering it into the goal let me know.

I think theo is the best finisher at the club, when he is one on one he usually finishes it, as I said I like podolski a lot, just don't think out wide is his best position.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Poldi's a better finisher than Theo but Theo's movement and pace get him more opportunities... and both are probably better players than Freddie was!

Yes they did??

Freddy was always beating players.

They were goalscorers primarily, beating men on the wing was secondary.

Walcott had (according to web) 14 goals and ten assists in the PL last season. We need more of them, and better defensive work, as opposed to changing his style of play to beat defenders and zip the ball in.

Nothing wrong with that, but they are two different styles.

Poldi's a better finisher than Theo but Theo's movement and pace get him more opportunities... and both are probably better players than Freddie was!

Easy now.

Lets not go mad here.

Not a chance Podolski is better than Freddie not a chance!

I think Podolski is an okay player who has regressed with age, good player to have in the squad but we should be looking at better players for our starting XI.

Regressed with age? He is coming to the age were most players hit there peak, I really think some people's constant negativity is starting to blind them to the fact we already have some top quality players at the club who just need a few more sprinklings of players to be challengers. I'd rather Podolski and Walcott than say United's wide option's which are woeful.

The infamous Geoff

Geoff Arsenal ‏@GeoffArsenal 1h

Hearing both Chamakh & Gervinho have gone. That's gotta be worth a cup of tea in celebration.

Chamakh to Crystal Palace on loan. Gervais to Roma. Permanent.

Lets hope.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

If all we do is add depth without adding to the first 11 then it's a step backwards.

Hopefully, nothing to suggest it so far though.

I agree with you Button. Hopefully this is the start of a beautiful friendship :)
    I've a great feeling about Sanogo, but yeah we need 3 first teamers I think.

Re Podolski – the game vs west ham last season he showed his class, he was incredible, where he scored 1 and made 3.
    He also scored some crucial goals and did well goalswise when OG was suspended.

Regressed with age? He is coming to the age were most players hit there peak, I really think some people's constant negativity is starting to blind them to the fact we already have some top quality players at the club who just need a few more sprinklings of players to be challengers. I'd rather Podolski and Walcott than say United's wide option's which are woeful.
    Well time will tell, exciting times ahead nonetheless!

dvemail wrote: »
    The infamous Geoff

Hearing both Chamakh & Gervinho have gone. That's gotta be worth a cup of tea in celebration.

Chamakh to Crystal Palace on loan. Gervais to Roma. Permanent.

Lets hope.

Id be panicking more if we werent getting rid of the deadwood.

If we were retaining htem, Id reckon we werent going to sign anyone.

But our squad, as it is, is nowpretty thin. So he has to sign someone.

Doesnt he?

As an aside, I reckon Modric could be an interesting target. Him and Suarez = interesting.

Id be panicking more if we werent getting rid of the deadwood.

If we were retaining htem, Id reckon we werent going to sign anyone.

But our squad, as it is, is nowpretty thin. So he has to sign someone.

Doesnt he?

As an aside, I reckon Modric could be an interesting target. Him and Suarez = interesting.

That's what I'm telling myself, we have gotten rid of quite a few players but only brought in one in Sanogo. Even with maybe two or three promotions up to the senior squad for the young lads, it still leaves room for at least 2 players to come in from other clubs.

I just don't rate him that highly, no pace, cant run at players like you would expect a wide player to, I think he would be put to better use up front but I would always start Giroud ahead of him. As I said I think he is good to have in the squad if you want to rotate and rest some of the more regular starters. Why do you think we only finished 4th its because we have too many players like Podolski that aren't top class but just good decent players who will get the job done against lesser teams but will always fall short against the best on a consistent basis.

I just don't rate him that highly, no pace, cant run at players like you would expect a wide player to, I think he would be put to better use up front but I would always start Giroud ahead of him. As I said I think he is good to have in the squad if you want to rotate and rest some of the more regular starters. Why do you think we finished 4th its because we have too many players like Podolski that aren't top class but just good decent players who will get the job done against lesser teams but will always fall short against the best on a consistent basis.

Well have to agree to disagree on this one. Look at the stat Gav posted on his German international career, you don't get them caps or goals playing for the German national team by being an average player. He is one of our better players. Like I said I think some people have been blinded by there own negativitiy. We have problems in the squad but wide areas would be one of the lowest down the list. United would to have our wide options.

I am not negative I am just sick to death of every season being like groundhog day, out of the title race by Feb and only sweating to make sure we get a Champs Lge spot. I am also sick of us buying 2nd rate players like Podolski, Gervinho, Santos etc when we now have the financial power to get the best out there. Look at Higuain one of the best strikers in world football and we wouldnt pay the extra few million for him. A player who could of took us to the next level.

Im a Wenger fan and supporter, but missing out on Higuain was inexcusable.

It sone thing to be outgunned by the Russian and Oil millionaires of Chelsea, PSG, City and so on, but Napoli?

Seriously now.