Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Soups123 wrote: »
    With such potential why would pool sell him

Well they tried to get rid of Xabi Alonso for Garreth Barry :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

TheBza wrote: »
    Looper, i see how you got your name.

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

That's what happens when you follow Arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Corvo wrote: »
    Ye have all lost it lads.

I would suggest bookmarking this and coming back at the end of the season, if you managed to get released from the looney bin.

Shelvey.

John.

Joe.

Shelvey.

Hey I take exception to that a couple have lost it ;) not all.

Corvo wrote: »
    Ye have all lost it lads.

I would suggest bookmarking this and coming back at the end of the season, if you managed to get released from the looney bin.

Shelvey.

John.

Joe.

Shelvey.

Park.

Chu.

Young.

I can go on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,497 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Let's end this now lads.
    We're all on the same side but many of us are frustrated with the lack of signings.

Let's end this now lads.
    We're all on the same side but many of us are frustrated with the lack of signings.

Singings, I don't think Wenger has learned that word yet. But we are going to end up killing each other with words. September 1st needs to come sooner cause this needs to end. We just need to accept we ain't singing anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Quazzie wrote: »
    He's 21 btw

turns 21 next Jan (not that I'm one to pick hairs or anything)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,121 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

greendom wrote: »

According to wikipedia he turned 21 last February 27th

https://www.google.ie/search?q=jonjo+shelved&oq=jonjo+shelved&aqs=chrome.0.69i57j0l3.3821j0&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8#bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&fp=5cb6e626d4a22a5b&psj=1&q=jonjo+shelvey+age

According to wikipedia he turned 21 last February 27th

You trust Wikipedia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Pick hairs? ... not that I'm one to nit-pick mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Let's end this now lads.

Its the same in the United thread at the moment. Strange summer for both clubs

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Looper007 wrote: »
    Singings, I don't think Wenger has learned that word yet..

What you want him to do belt out a bit of Red Hurley

You trust Wikipedia

Soccerbase has him at the same age.

http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=49014

and ESPN
    http://espnfc.com/player/_/id/119005/jonjo-shelvey?cc=5739

Any links yourself to suggest otherwise or are we to take your word for it?

Its the same in the United thread at the moment. Strange summer for both clubs

I'd imagine so I know a lot of United fans who are equally as bemused and frustrated as Arsenal fans.

Soccerbase has him at the same age.

http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=49014

and ESPN
    http://espnfc.com/player/_/id/119005/jonjo-shelvey?cc=5739

Any links yourself to suggest otherwise or are we to take your word for it?

I was just saying Wikipedia isn't the most reliable of Sources geez.

Look what you started couldn't just let it be could ya :pac:.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Arsenal have signed a new Masseur/Chef/Jedi knight. here he is working with Frimmy.

BRqFMh9CYAAIXkj.jpg:large

Soups123 wrote: »
    What you want him to do belt out a bit of Red Hurley

What the hell is Red Hurley:confused:

You said singings. Red Hurley is a singer. One of the best around actually. You should check him out. His lucid tones might settle you down a bit.

I'd imagine so I know a lot of United fans who are equally as bemused and frustrated as Arsenal fans.

They are champions and have a strong squad. Still think they will win this year. Big difference, we are thread bare and lacking depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭farna_boy

Well he's playing for Arsenal and other is playing for a newly prmoted team, yeah there is a big difference.

Henry only scored 17 goals in his first season with Arsenal and that was with a team of:

Seaman
    Winterburn Keown Adams Dixon

Overmars Viera Petit Ljunberg

Bergkamp.

The teams he scored against were:
    Southampton
    Derby
    Wimbledon
    Leeds
    Sunderland
    Bradford
    Spurs
    Coventry
    Sheffield Wednesday
    Watford
    Chelsea

i.e 4 top ten teams (underlined)

Giroud scored 5 less, with our team of last year. Teams he scored against:
    West Ham
    Fulham
    Spurs
    Newcastle
    Liverpool
    Reading
    Norwich

i.e 3 top ten teams (underlined)

Does that mean you would have dropped Henry because he only scored against weak teams, when he was surrounded by that team posted above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭danlen

The striker with the two left feet. Jaysis he's going to be our main striker this season :(.

He IS left-footed...
    Rickie Lambert, I throw a few million Southampton's way. He causes big teams a lot of problems and is a better player for me then Giroud.

I am in shock.

TBH I'm really starting to think this might be a troll job. Although a troll would probably think that statement would be too ridiculous to use as it might blow his cover.

I think we all need a time-out until tomorrow.

Let's just forget Shelveygate even happened.

In other news , Santi on target for Spain against Ecuador. That's a gruelling trip across the Atlantic esp for a friendly lets hope he is fresh for Saturday.

Clive Mendonca was scoring all around him in the Championship back then. We should've bought him instead of Henry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Ok, about to read 10 new pages in last 2 hours. Better be something good in this.

If it's all paullegend crap, I'm leaving forever.

You said singings. Red Hurley is a singer. One of the best around actually. You should check him out. His lucid tones might settle you down a bit.

I might go a bit Quazzie with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

What in gods name has happened to this thread?

When I searched on Google this is what came up

Sorry I was talking about shelvey being 21. That's where the mix up happened. :o

gosplan wrote: »
    Ok, about to read 10 new pages in last 2 hours. Better be something good in this.

its worse. dont read it. dont.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    In other news , Santi on target for Spain against Ecuador. That's a gruelling trip across the Atlantic esp for a friendly lets hope he is fresh for Saturday.

That Spain bench could win the world cup too. They play a lot in south America for friendlies don't they.

Clive Mendonca was scoring all around him in the Championship back then. We should've bought him instead of Henry.

Charlton Athletic by any chance? Blast from the past that name is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Sorry I was talking about shelvey being 21. That's where the mix up happened. :o

No worries, I'll go back and delete my threads on the subject... this thread is messy enough as it is.

Charlton Athletic by any chance? Blast from the past that name is :)

I always remember a hat trick on the opening day for Charlton, and was tipped for all sorts. He ended up missing most of the season through injury though.

EDIT: Just read on Wiki that he never recovered from his injuries and got money from the PFA to train to be an oil rig worker :eek:

For the love of god man don't do it to yourself. It's excruciating reading material.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

I wouldn't waste your time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,665 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

The state of Bendtner in that photo. He looks more like a yoga instructor than a footballer.

What in gods name has happened to this thread?

the lunatics have taken over the asylum.

and the guardian now running the Gustavo to Wolfsburg story.

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/aug/14/arsenal-wolfsburg-luiz-gustavo

If some of you like Grioud that's you're choice.

I only suggested Lambert as a Squad player and I like him more then Giroud (so sue me)

I think we should be aiming higher for a first team striker. Bergkamp wasn't an out and out striker and 17 goals from that position was great but I regress.

Let's not go overboard. I hope Giroud proves me wrong and we win the EPL.

That Spain bench could win the world cup too. They play a lot in south America for friendlies don't they.

Its embarrassing the depth of talent the Spanish have, even a small principality in the country like Catalonia could win a World Cup.

I only suggested Lambert as a Squad player and I like him more then Giroud (so sue me)

I think we should be aiming higher for a first team striker. Bergkamp wasn't an out and out striker and 17 goals from that position was great but I regress.

It was Henry who scored 17 goals. ;)

The state of Bendtner in that photo. He looks more like a yoga instructor than a footballer.

Well he might make a better Yoga instructor then a footballer to be fair. Probably the best Yoga instructor in the world.

The Telegraph reporting we may bid 49m for Suarez hmmm.....

Its embarrassing the depth of talent the Spanish have, even a small principality in the country like Catalonia could win a World Cup.

Scary. Silva and Cazorla would make it into the first team England squad without any problem.

The board must know that a 50M bid would be accepted :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Scary. Silva and Cazorla would make it into the first team England squad without any problem.

not with the hodge as manager they wouldn't ;)

Milner and Welbeck, top talent those lads :D

I wouldn't get too upset over what is in fact your opinion. You support the club passionately like the rest of us and are entitled to voice your concerns. Just because they differ to others it doesn't give some users the right to say things like "the loons have arrived". I think they should come down off there high horses and realise all we want is for our great club to be successful and compete off the field as well as on it.

we ain't getting him. End. Of. Story. Let's make a bid for Rickie Lambert i'm telling you 35 goals a season. a 40 million bid ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,497 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Milner and Welbeck, top talent those lads :D

Wellbeck was very good tonight.

Jaysus some result for Northern Ireland tonight :eek: