Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First time lecturing

Options
  • 24-07-2013 1:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭

If this has been asked - SORRY! but ive been searching for hours, days , weeks and cannot seem to find appropriate information.

Im soon to graduate with a MSc in marketing and wanted to get into lecturing. I have 5 years real world experience in the field which includes international positions. For the purposes of this query lets just assume I would be accepted with an MSc.

But how the hell do you actually get into it?> I have no 'teaching experience' which all part-time lecturing posts seem to require. Do i just email a cover letter applying for any future parttime positions while stating I have no experience in actual lecturing? - or email colleges asking for the opportunity to gain experience i.e. do hours for free to build experience? Its quite confusing. Milky bars are on me for every appropriate response.

My head hurts.

Fin.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭TheBody

To begin, you will prob need to get a Phd to get a job in a college. There are too many people with phd's floating about for a college to employ people with a masters.

What usually happens is that in course of doing a phd, you take tutorials to get a start teaching at third level. Then if your lucky, you may get to teach a course. (All the while you are publishing papers etc)

When you graduate, you hopefully get a postdoc. Again, you will prob cover tutorials and perhaps lecture a bit while publishing.