Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Christ. Footballers really are a shower of absolute fcuking idiots.

They don't live in the real world, in all honesty. Quite a lot of them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,410 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

from the Daily Fail:
    Raheem Sterling has spent the night in a police cell following an allegation of assault on Merseyside.

The Liverpool winger will appear at the city's magistrates court on Friday to answer the charge of assault after he was arrested at 10.30pm on Thursday in Page Moss.

The Criminal Justice Act 1988 explains the charge, a section 39, could lead to imprisonment should Sterling be found guilty.

It reads: 'Common assault and battery shall be summary offences and a person guilty of either of them shall be liable to a fine not exceeding level 5 on the standard scale, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding six months, or to both.'
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2387705/Raheem-Sterling-arrested-appear-court-assault-allegation.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Christ. Footballers really are a shower of absolute fcuking idiots.

You're only realising this now?!! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

Mr Alan wrote: »
    If that is the case, it makes it even more frustrating that we're not in Europe this year-something people were seemingly happy about at the time-as in addition to helping us attract players, that'd likely be our best bet at getting back to the CL :(

I never really subscribed to this notion of its better to not be in the EL. Yeah on one hand it makes sense in terms of playing on Thursday nights and having Sunday kick offs and all that but at the end of the day its a European competition and we should always want to be there if we are not in CL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

I really hope he's not a little knacker.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Paulegend wrote: »
    ive been expecting a title win for 23 years now. we are a very resiliant and loyal bunch lol:D

If only Suarez was more like us!

gafferino wrote: »
    If only Suarez was more like us!

If that was the case he'd still be at Groningen ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭poundhound

Re "Suarez is meant to be back for Sunderland on the 29th of September".

Nope, Crystal Palace, Oct 5th.

poundhound wrote: »

Nope he will be back for the game against WBA on Oct 6th :cool:

http://www.arsenal.com/fixtures/first-team

gafferino wrote: »
    Nope he will be back for the game against WBA on Oct 6th :cool:

http://www.arsenal.com/fixtures/first-team

If Benzema is to Arsenal is to be believed, his first game back will be vs Atletico Madrid on 29th Sept

http://www.realmadrid.com/cs/Satellite/en/Actualidad_Primer_Equipo_en/1202817745826/1330154382956/noticia/Noticia/Real_Madrid_fixtures_for_La_Liga_2013_14.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,690 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Grayditch wrote: »
    I really hope he's not a little knacker.
    I've read plenty about him before that already made up my mind in that regard. You'd hope he'd grow out of it and cop on to himself, but again from all I hear about him he's not one to take advice from anyone as he already thinks he knows everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

was the last allegation of assault with his girlfreind aswell??? is she the trouble maker??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Ravel Morisson II init

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

If he goes to Real his ban doesn't carry afaik

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

A lot of off the pitch stuff seems to follow Sterling, but it has to be remembered that he's young, and in the public focus a lot more. Young lads do stupid stuff all the time.

I'm not justifying what he did/didn't do, but just saying he's gotta mature, and not to blow this outta proportion.

He's just upset Jay was sold anyway.

He's a good mate.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,856 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Eh, no. If he stays at Liverpool his suspended games are:

17/8 Stoke
    24/8 Villa
    TBC Notts County - League Cup
    1/9 Utd
    16/9 Swansea
    21/9 Southampton

He will be eligible for the 3rd round of the LC on 23/24 Sep if LFC beat Notts County and he is still there, and obviously eligible for subsequent league games, including Sunderland away on 29/9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ravel Morisson II init

Just what I was thinking. Turning into another street urchin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭witnessrenegade

Cup games have to be taken into account with a game being played on the week of the 26th against Notts County, and a game in the next round being played on the week of the 23rd of September

So his banned games are
    Stoke
    Villa
    Notts County
    United
    Swansea
    Southampton

Then he's back for the Capital One Cup game if we get past Notts County

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Only because there has been so much bitter posts towards arsenal, why would we care about Liverpool fans, it all started a week ago with Liverpool fans in the arsenal thread calling our club classless etc.

There are some Liverpool fans that think Arsenal did something wrong too, don't know why though. The supposed 'clause' was public knowledge about 2 months before Arsenal even bid, probably Guardiola's fault. I'm even okay with their cheeky £1 bid, if they thought that was the minimum required, why bid more.

There is a tonne of bitterness coming from Arsenal fans too though, and it's almost entirely down to the fact that we wouldn't sell them a very good player. If it had been Stewart Downing, there wouldn't be one Arsenal fan in here complaining right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

SlickRic wrote: »

I can't imagine him being able to do much damage. Be like getting savaged by a baby pangolin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Because we needed more publicity . . .

Luis, we've someone for you to train with for a few days.

Will be interesting to see if he plays against Celtic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

There are some Liverpool fans that think Arsenal did something wrong too, don't know why though. The supposed 'clause' was public knowledge about 2 months before Arsenal even bid, probably Guardiola's fault. I'm even okay with their cheeky £1 bid, if they thought that was the minimum required, why bid more.

There is a tonne of bitterness coming from Arsenal fans too though, and it's almost entirely down to the fact that we wouldn't sell them a very good player. If it had been Stewart Downing, there wouldn't be one Arsenal fan in here complaining right now.

Meh, that's just because both clubs are supported by a load of knuckle dragging tools along with normal people.

Liverpool FC have come out of this very well.

Anyway, we should swap Downing for Bendtner for the laugh and as a consolatory gesture.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Soups123

The last part is wrong, a large majority of Arsenal fans aren't keen on Suarez and sympathise with Liverpool because we've been on the receiving end enough times.

Only bitterness from Arsenal fans is the **** about classlessness and the bollix comparing club V club and a lot of the delusioninal **** that went with it.

People like Kess, Rarnes and a few others have had reasonable discussion others not so much.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭amber69

gosplan wrote: »
    Meh, that's just because both clubs are supported by a load of knuckle dragging tools along with normal people.

Liverpool FC have come out of this very well.

Anyway, we should swap Downing for Bendtner for the laugh and as a consolatory gesture.
    Ah.. no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Soups123 wrote: »
    The last part is wrong, a large majority of Arsenal fans aren't keen on Suarez and sympathise with Liverpool because we've been on the receiving end enough times.

Only bitterness from Arsenal fans is the **** about classlessness and the bollix comparing club V club and a lot of the delusioninal **** that went with it.

People like Kess, Rarnes and a few others have had reasonable discussion others not so much.....

I still think if the comments Henry/Rodgers made were in the context of an approach for Stewart Downing (or some other crap Arsenal fans wouldn't want), they'd barely have even noted them, much less been upset by them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Soups123

I still think if the comments Henry/Rodgers made were in the context of an approach for Stewart Downing (or some other crap Arsenal fans wouldn't want), they'd barely have even noted them, much less been upset by them.

Tbh Henry's comments mean jack. Rodgers did grate a little but as I said this is all just a circus at this point

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Still smirking reading Henry's quotes this morning. Wouldn't surprise me if we sold the eejit in January to Real or some club on the continent, perhaps even still now though I really don't think we will unless Real go ape**** with a bid in desperation for a star signing after missing out on Bale. But at least Arsenal have no chance in hell of getting him I believe now.
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Cissokho is uninspiring.

Who should we buy then? Lahm? Marcelo? Cole? Alba?

I'm being totally serious here just to add.

I've already said my piece on Cissokho, as has Kess. So I won't repeat my thoughts on signing him.
    El Spearo wrote: »
    1 day until I evolve fully
    8 days until the new season
    11 days until my dissertation is due
    12 days until I move to Dublin
    15 days until I start work in Dublin
    22 days until the transfer window closes

August will be a month I will either never forget or one I never want to remember.

Use a Thunderstone you noob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,372 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

If he goes to Arsenal or Real Madrid he can play in Europe so that will be his 1st game back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Liverpool footballer Raheem Sterling has appeared in court to deny an allegation of assault.

The 18-year-old winger entered a not guilty plea at Liverpool Magistrates' Court, a court official said.

He spent Thursday night in a police cell after being arrested at 10.30pm following an incident in Page Moss, Huyton, Liverpool.

Sterling was granted conditional bail and will stand trial at the same court on September 20.

This kid really needs to start paying attention, whatever about his domestic life and prospects with women (not looking too clever) he needs to remember there is a player a year younger (and already better in some regards) just waiting to take his place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,424 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Sterling needs to cop himself on, jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

mike65 wrote: »
    This kid really needs to start paying attention, whatever about his domestic life and prospects with women (not looking too clever) he needs to remember there is a player a year younger (and already better in some regards) just waiting to take his place.

If rumours are to be believed, I think it is more a case of him needing some savvy heads around him when in certain parts of the city to avoid chancers/baiters trying to use him as a potential mealticket rather than the kid being a troublemaker himself.

Knowing Page Moss pretty well, it is an area where good kids can get suckered in very easily or just chewed up altogether. There is also another connection for Sterling in that area/Huyton in general, and my gut instinct is the kid was played and that the other half of the alleged charge will turn out to be female already linked to him.

When was the Sterling verdict?

Has not gone to trial yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭billy2012

mike65 wrote: »

He is bigger, quicker, stronger, a better shot on him, better passer, better dribbler, doesn't lose possession as often, isn't a headless chicken half the time AND, he don't beat on women.....Saying that, I do rate Sterling very highly, I just think IBE is currently better, and has the potential to be alot better, I really think he will be world class one day.

billy2012 wrote: »
    He is bigger, quicker, stronger, a better shot on him, better passer, better dribbler, doesn't lose possession as often, isn't a headless chicken half the time AND, he don't beat on women.....Saying that, I do rate Sterling very highly, I just think IBE is currently better, and has the potential to be alot better, I really think he will be world class one day.

Sterling has not been proven to have beaten any woman.

As for the rest of the Ibe vs Sterling comparison, hard to see how you are making it given Ibe has so little game time at the same level that Sterling has had.

But just using the pre season games as an indicator, I would say that Sterling looks a much better passer of the ball at present (and more so due to him coming inside a lot more than Ibe attempts to), and that Sterling showed a lot more positional awareness during pre season.

Maybe Ibe will be the better player, but given his entire competitive senior game time consists only of minutes in a single game rather than games, it is way too soon to make comparisons with Sterling let alone start thinking he will be world class in the future.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,856 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

According to the echo now, he pleaded not guilty to assaulting his girlfriend. Hopefully it's as Kess says and it's people using who he is to get stuff, although if the involved female is actually his gf that doesn't stack up quite so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭amber69

Kess73 wrote: »
    Sterling has not been proven to have beaten any woman.

As for the rest of the Ibe vs Sterling comparison, hard to see how you are making it given Ibe has so little game time at the same level that Sterling has had.

But just using the pre season games as an indicator, I would say that Sterling looks a much better passer of the ball at present (and more so due to him coming inside a lot more than Ibe attempts to), and that Sterling showed a lot more positional awareness during pre season.

Maybe Ibe will be the better player, but given his entire competitive senior game time consists only of minutes in a single game rather than games, it is way too soon to make comparisons with Sterling let alone start thinking he will be world class in the future.

I think Sterling is showing serious improvement on this time last year, Ibe is a great talent also but I think this time next year we will see him near to the 1st team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

If it was a random female the "he was set up" excuse is believable but since it seems to be his girlfriend it's a completely different matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

If Suarez does have to make a public apology, it'll be something like this IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,422 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

People hoping to file this under 'kids do dumb stuff' should know that while that may wash for disorderly conduct type stuff or recreational drug experimentation, etc; striking your partner is bad business. I've personally yet to come across a truly decent person who physically assualted someone they were involved with.

That said, if he's a piece of **** it doesn't really matter so long as he stays eligible to come to work and plays well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

Obviously, hitting women is lower than a snakes belly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Anybody know if the match is on the box tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,422 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    Who should we buy then? Lahm? Marcelo? Cole? Alba?

I'm being totally serious here just to add.

I've already said my piece on Cissokho, as has Kess. So I won't repeat my thoughts on signing him.

Would rather play Johnson left back and give Kelly game time. We could survive with:

Johnson
    Enrique
    Kelly
    Wisdom

with the option of recalling Robinson on loan.

It's uninspiring because it's more squad filler. I don't think he'll improve the starting XI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Cissokho isnt a good signing at all
    much prefer if we signed Siqueira

If it was a random female the "he was set up" excuse is believable but since it seems to be his girlfriend it's a completely different matter.

Last time he had a "girlfriend" try to run to the papers and authorities with claims about him it got thrown out as a fake accusation. The lovely female at that time then went to try and sell her story to a tabloid.

Right now anything about him is alleged, and I would be very surprised if I don't see familiar names again either in the Echo or in a tabloid along with an offer being made to Sterling for the charges to be dropped if a cash settlement gets offered.

As suggested earlier the lad seems to attract a high level of parasites/hangers on (male and female), and may not have the cop on to realise when he is being used because of his status/wallet.

Short memories on here though. Was not too long ago that Downing was being called a scumbag and worse on here because a girlfriend/partner/ex claimed he physically assaulted her in Middlesbrough. She went as far as to get the police involved and pressed charges for it to go to trial. Then CCTV and witnesses came into play and the accuser was found to have made it up to damage the player's name after he had had a verbal row with her earlier in the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭RainMaker

Anybody know if the match is on the box tomorrow?

BT Sports showing it as far as I know