Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,615 ✭✭✭Damien360

I am sure Ooredoo are a publicly listed company and their shareholders would not take kindly to sinking profits into the deep dark money pit that is the premier league. Silly story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

What's going on here? Are we being taken over? How much truth in this? The thoughts of some billionaire coming in splashing the cash the way Chelsea and City have gone does not appeal to me in the slightest. They are everything that's wrong with football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭ush

Doyou watch any matches on sky?

We live in a capitalistic system. We all have to interact with it in. Don't throw that in somebody's face, when they state perfectly admirable left-wing sentiments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

looder wrote: »
    Without these oil rich billionaires we'll keep making £10 millions signings. With them, we could be making £40 million and £50 million signings at the moment. Bye bye Stewie Downing, hello Cavani. Bye bye Thursday night football, hello Champions League.

If Liverpool compete with the City's and Chelsea's of this World over the next decade it'll be a miracle without a sugar daddy.

I agree with you, but I wish that it was different. I don't want Liverpool to be another club that buys titles.

I know it's not fashionable anymore to slag Chelsea or City for buying titles, it's 'jealousy' now or whatever.But the truth is football has become a silly 'who has the biggest cheque book' competition, and it's only going to get worse. I'd much prefer FIFA strictly enforce the FPP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

amiable wrote: »
    Who owns this Telecom company and why would they possibly want to invest in a big Premier League club?

The Qatar government own ooredoo and that is an immediate issue for anyone who worries about human rights - the elements of Shari’a law on the statue books would not sit easily with me for example, nor the exploitation of immigrant labour through essentially owning such people. Plenty more where that came from.

Damien360 wrote: »
    I am sure Ooredoo are a publicly listed company and their shareholders would not take kindly to sinking profits into the deep dark money pit that is the premier league. Silly story.

Checked their Investor Relations PDF - State of Qatar owns 51,6% of voting shares plus the "Golden Share", government related entities own 17,5% while Abu Dhabi has 10%. Lots of state presence on their board.

I see no business interests in the UK or Europe. So why advertise there?

I'm sure a Qatar oil rich sheik type could buy Liverpool using their piggy bank. Why go through a state run telecom company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,889 ✭✭✭✭klose

Im starting to think the club and rodgers has one eye on making use of the academy wisdom/suso/sterling all had good first seasons fresh out of it and texiera/yesil/mclaughlin/ibe would be my bankers on the next crop to shine through. It might not produce instant results but these kids have very high ceilings and are already good players now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,548 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Vanolder wrote: »
    What's going on here? Are we being taken over? How much truth in this? The thoughts of some billionaire coming in splashing the cash the way Chelsea and City have gone does not appeal to me in the slightest. They are everything that's wrong with football.
    mike65 wrote: »
    The Qatar government own ooredoo and that is an immediate issue for anyone who worries about human rights - the elements of Shari’a law on the statue books would not sit easily with me for example, nor the exploitation of immigrant labour through essentially owning such people. Plenty more where that came from.

Ah come on if we started winning leagues and Champions League's again no one here would give a fuk about the owners.

Chelsea and City fans are not having sleepless nights with their owners.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Ah come on if we started winning leagues and Champions League's again no one here would give a fuk about the owners.

Liverpool supporters in Liverpool are famously "red" they might, and they are the ones who fill out most of the home seats, esp season tickets.

Beyond that, I'd prefer owners who are not controlled by a state and who can decide to impose changes on the company that might have an immediate detrimental effect on the club if they owned it. Which they never will, this being a hypothetical discussion.

I think you'd be surprised. Liverpool isn't City and certainly isn't like a London club.

Liverpool supporters in Liverpool are famously "red" they might, and they are the ones who fill out most of the home seats, esp season tickets.

Maith an buachaill.

This is basic Liverpool 101 stuff here. Shouldn't need to be explained.

klose wrote: »
    Im starting to think the club and rodgers has one eye on making use of the academy wisdom/suso/sterling all had good first seasons fresh out of it and texiera/yesil/mclaughlin/ibe would be my bankers on the next crop to shine through. It might not produce instant results but these kids have very high ceilings and are already good players now

The kids are the future! The quartet you pick are all going to see some first team action in the cups I'm sure unless any are loaned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Mumha

Pedalstool wrote: »
    What have they done that you feel so strongly about? I'm genuinely curious to know.

For my part I think they are still finding their feet after some poor decisions initially, but I think they are responsible owners.

I agree. They were completely unprepared for the charlatans in English football when they first arrived but they've learnt their lesson and seem to be going about things the right way imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

So how do Man Utd and Arsenal and Spurs do it then?

When was the last time Arsenal or Spurs paid £40 million+ for a player?

Arsenal haven't really competed with Chelsea or City or Utd in the last 3 years. . . Utd have had a better base than most to build on and instead of making 3 £10 purchases they've been able to make a £30 million purchase when needed to keep them up at the top.

Spurs aren't really competing either in fairness.

Arsenal have a lot more funds at their disposal than we do at present so it's unlikely we'll be catching them any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

£42.5m me arse, it's **** all more and not enough.

Lol @ Arsenal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Beyond that, I'd prefer owners who are not controlled by a state and who can decide to impose changes on the company that might have an immediate detrimental effect on the club if they owned it. Which they never will, this being a hypothetical discussion.

The reaction locally when Shinawatra was linked backs up your point. At the time websites and media outlets were abuzz with the huge figures he was going to pump into the club and the massive transfer kitty he would provide.

Yet locally there was very strong objections to the idea, and he would have, imo of course, brought about even stronger reactions from the local fanbase had he gotten in than the two cowboys did.

I well remember (actual that's a lie, but anyone who knows the Cites culture knows the people collectively are to some degree socialist by instinct). Obviously John W Henry can understand with him only being a bog standard billionaire ;)

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/2378643/Liverpool-deal-under-fire.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

There was serious unrest locally at the time amongst local match goers. Supporter groups were threatening to picket the club and a large number of season ticket holders got involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

looder wrote: »
    When was the last time Arsenal or Spurs paid £40 million+ for a player?

Arsenal haven't really competed with Chelsea or City or Utd in the last 3 years. . . Utd have had a better base than most to build on and instead of making 3 £10 purchases they've been able to make a £30 million purchase when needed to keep them up at the top.

Spurs aren't really competing either in fairness.

Arsenal have a lot more funds at their disposal than we do at present so it's unlikely we'll be catching them any time soon.

Doesnt matter what they have, they dont spend it. Imo, they play a very delicate game of 'chicken' with CL qualification, lets see how these fans are the first time they miss out on it. Funny how every year they are linked with very good players but always the bridesmaid never the bride (dont be surprised if that becomes a recurring theme at this club). Do people not wonder why even with CL football they lose players year on year almost?, despite having plenty of money, a location in London and the 6th best revenue on the planet for a football club?. They make 100m per year more than a club like Juve for example.

The bidding on Suarez is two fold, in the grand scheme it gets them a good player but it also significantly weakens a potential threat to them. For all we know, all of this Suarez stuff has no basis whatsoever, i wouldnt be surprised if Arsenal know/knew 100% they would never get him, perhaps its payback for Rodgers little nod last year about being interested in Wallcott before he signed a new contract. I think Suarez would go to Arsenal, i think the club would sell him to Arsenal...........i will happily join Lord Trollington (?) outside the GPO it Arsenal sanction a trebling of there most expensive player ever.

Edit...........and one other thing, i wouldnt be surprised if Arsenal's moves were whispers from a lifelong Arsenal fan who supposedly recommended Rodgers to our 'bucko's' upstairs. That'd be David Dein. Yes, im fond of the oul conspiracy now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

daithijjj wrote: »

Edit...........and one other thing, i wouldnt be surprised if Arsenal's moves were whispers from a lifelong Arsenal fan who supposedly recommended Rodgers to our 'bucko's' upstairs. That'd be David Dein. Yes, im fond of the oul conspiracy now and then.

What exactly are you suggesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,298 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Liverpool: Not for sale but if you offer £55 million we may consider it
    Arsenal: How about £42.5 million?

you really cant make this ****e up. More and more I see him staying till January atleast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,044 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Honestly, I quite like us being the underdog, trying to build something up the hard way. I think if we just had money piped in, I'd obviously love that first league win, but I think i'd kind of lose interest then...the payoff of success is completely related to the effort put in to achieve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

They're obviously keeping the fire under Suarez lit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Chelsea have long been a boogy when it comes to ethics, typical loyalist bigots imo. How an Irish person could reconsile their support of that club with their heritage is beyond me. Abramovich, his history and ethics are just another brick in their wall

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

rob316 wrote: »
    Liverpool: Not for sale but if you offer £55 million we may consider it
    Arsenal: How about £42.5 million?

you really cant make this ****e up. More and more I see him staying till January atleast.

After reading quotes from cavani re Suarez, hell be out the door shortly!

He said the reason suarez is leaving is because he can't see us making the champs league with the progress the teams above is are making.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Honestly, I quite like us being the underdog, trying to build something up the hard way. I think if we just had money piped in, I'd obviously love that first league win, but I think i'd kind of lose interest then...the payoff of success is completely related to the effort put in to achieve it.

It's hard to say how I'd feel, but I know I'd be devastated if players like Sterling, Wisdom, Suso, Ibe etc were just lost as big name after big name come into the club.

Of course, if they're good enough, you could argue, they'd make it here anyway. But players need to be given chances to show they're good enough.

Ideally I'd like to see us continue to bring these young players through but to sign 2/3 first team players a season to supplement them and improve the squad.

Spending 200 million on an entire new team doesn't really interest me. No doubt I'd feel differently if that brought success.

What exactly are you suggesting?

You think its too far of a stretch that a lifelong Arsenal fan who we were taking advice off wouldnt know a few things about us?. Clearly i dont know, i was just putting it out there. When was the last time Arsenal and LFC did business?

I just don't know what you mean and why you don't be a little plainer.

I'm sure he knows nothing about us that he ought not know.

tin-foil-hat.jpg?3000e4

Lads have ye seen suarezs latest quotes?

Is he putting it to the club to make signings this summer to get us in the champs league season after next?

Is there a fairly good chance he wants to stay?

I just don't know what you mean and why you don't be a little plainer.

I'm sure he knows nothing about us that he ought not know.

If he was advising us on who to bring in as manager then he would need to know our strategy as a club overall, would be totally pointless otherwise.

Is he putting it to the club to make signings this summer to get us in the champs league season after next?

Nope got a link?

tin-foil-hat.jpg?3000e4

Hey, thats pretty funny :cool:

He was that close to FSG that there were reports he was going to be our new DOF at the time but couldnt because of his Arsenal ties.

Is that the Anfield cat?

You mean Cavani's quotes?

Nope got a link?

No, on my mobile. I think its the mirror that's running with it tomorrow with quotes from a conversation cavano had with Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Nope got a link?

If we're thinking of the same quotes, they're from Cavani. http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/transfers-liverpool-luis-suarez-unconvinced-2096399#ixzz2aHrU4xAv

Hey, thats pretty funny :cool:

He was that close to FSG that there were reports he was going to be our new DOF at the time but couldnt because of his Arsenal ties.

Im only ballhopping. But seriously thats the same thought as when we had Sir Martin Broughton as chairman who was a life long chelsea supporter and people were saying he'll sell torres and is leaking info to chelsea etc etc.

If Dein is on an advisory role with LFC then his loyalty lies with whoever is paying him the bucks, its a bit ott to suggest hes playing double agent.

You mean Cavani's quotes?

Yes, sounds to me like if we made a couple of desceant signings he would stay. Looking highly unlikely three weeks before kick off though.

Reports that soldado wrapped up he's deal with spurs tonight, so he could be put of the picture.

Im only ballhopping. But seriously thats the same thought as when we had Sir Martin Broughton as chairman who was a life long chelsea supporter and people were saying he'll sell torres and is leaking info to chelsea etc etc.

If Dein is on an advisory role with LFC then his loyalty lies with whoever is paying him the bucks, its a bit ott to suggest hes playing double agent.

Brougton was a different box of frogs altogether. He has never had ties with Chelsea other than that he has been a fan of that club. Might as well be saying Carra was an Everton double agent all these years. The ties arent nearly the same as Dein. Dein worked for Arsenal for about 25 years and owned nearly half of it at one point.

Yes, sounds to me like if we made a couple of desceant signings he would stay. Looking highly unlikely three weeks before kick off though.

Reports that soldado wrapped up he's deal with spurs tonight, so he could be put of the picture.

Well im sure thats been relayed back so we can say what we want about not selling. If Torres can down tools then so can Suarez. Thats what it will come down to in the end i think.

Brougton was a different box of frogs altogether. He has never had ties with Chelsea other than that he has been a fan of that club. Might as well be saying Carra was an Everton double agent all these years. The ties arent nearly the same as Dein. Dein worked for Arsenal for about 25 years and owned nearly half of it at one point.

But what could Dein possibly know that he could feed to Arsenal that would help them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

But what could Dein possibly know that he could feed to Arsenal that would help them?

Suarez is decent at ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭gafferino

Exclusive interview: Sterling on his injury battle & mission to prove last season was no 'fluke'

Reds winger Raheem Sterling tells the ECHO he is still grateful for all the ups and downs

Raheem Sterling may be only 18 but he has already experienced the glorious highs and crushing lows of life in professional football.

A year ago in Boston he was a rookie on the fringes of the Liverpool FC squad with three substitute appearances under his belt trying to impress new boss Brendan Rodgers.

Twelve months on, as Sterling takes a seat in the team’s Bangkok hotel, life has changed dramatically.

The 18-year-old packed a lot into his breakthrough campaign. After shining on his full league debut against Manchester City, Sterling cemented a regular place in Rodgers’s side.

His rate of progress was such that a first England cap against Sweden followed in November and before Christmas he penned a lucrative new contract.

In pictures: Raheem Sterling's emergence at LFC

However, his fairytale run didn’t last. His form and confidence dipped and he slipped down the pecking order before a serious thigh injury ended his season in March.

Sterling also had to deal with the stress of allegations of assault hanging over him before they were dropped in May.

Yet all that belongs in the past. Happy and relaxed, Sterling is now looking to the future and is determined to recapture the blistering performances which propelled him on the route to stardom.

“Highs and lows are part of the game,” he said. “All the senior players have experienced that. You are never going to have a career where everything goes your way.

“The start of last season was great for me. To get that many opportunities to play at such a high level for such a great football club, I was really grateful to Brendan for that. Playing for England was one of the best moments of my life.

“When I was out injured all I could think about was getting back playing again. It’s great to be back out there and getting some minutes in the friendlies. I want to get back to the sharpness I had at the start of last season. It’s been on my mind all pre-season.

“I didn’t think so at the time, but the break I had probably did me good. You want to play as many games as you can but mentally as well as physically I probably needed a rest.

“At the time there were a few things going on off the field. That time I spent out means I’m raring to go for the new season.

“Now it’s up to me. I need to kick-on and prove I really did deserve those call-ups; that it wasn’t just a fluke. I have a lot to prove this season.”

Sterling’s battle back to fitness wasn’t straightforward. What began as simply a bruised right thigh developed into something more serious. The niggling injury hampered him for months before the Reds took him out of the firing line in March.

He now has a specially tailored training programme designed to ensure the problem doesn’t return.

“I did it training with the under-21s,” he said.

“I got a hit on the thigh. I got some bruising there and didn’t really think anything about it, but then there was some internal bleeding and it started to get solid.

“Around December the pain started and it affected my performances. I think the dip in my form was purely down to my injury. I just wasn’t as sharp as I had been before. I was like a snail when I got the ball.

“The injury slowed me down and mentally I was tired from playing so many games. As a young player, I understand you need to be brought out of the team sometimes. I had played a lot of games by that point.

“It’s a chronic injury so it’s one where even though I’m back, I need to keep having treatment on it and looking after it.

“I’ve got to be really professional and careful but I am over it now and I’m feeling 100%.”

Sterling has proved that’s the case with his performances in pre-season so far. He has impressed Rodgers with his attitude and application as well as his ability on this trip.

Tomorrow’s final tour game against Thailand in Bangkok tomorrow (kick-off 11.45am UK time) will bring the curtain down on a memorable fortnight for the Jamaica-born winger.

“I went to America and Canada last year but I have never seen anything like this,” he said.

“The fans have been unbelievable. I feel lucky to be a part of something like this.

“The whole team have been mobbed wherever we’ve gone in Indonesia, Australia and Thailand.

“To walk out in front of 45,000 people at Anfield is amazing, so to play in front of 80,000 in Jakarta and then 95,000 in Melbourne really is a dream come true.

“Not many players can say they have played in front of that many supporters. I am just really happy to be a part of this group and playing for a club with such great support.”

When Liverpool return to Merseyside on Monday, there will be little time to recover before preparations begin for Steven Gerrard’s testimonial against Olympiacos at Anfield next Saturday.

It’s a game Sterling is relishing being a part of considering the advice and support the skipper has given him.

“For all the lads, Steven Gerrard is an inspiration and out of all the players here he’s the one I’ve looked up to more than anyone,” Sterling said.

“I can’t speak highly enough of him. When you consider what he has achieved for the football club, he’s so down to earth.

“He’s one of the best players to have ever played for Liverpool and to get the chance to play alongside him is amazing.

“When I watched him score that goal against West Ham in the FA Cup final, I never thought that one day I’d play in the same team as him. It’s a dream come true.

“I’m just grateful we have him at the football club for me to learn from.”

Reports that Levy knocked back a 86 million pound bid for Bale from Real. That's 86 000 000 of your finest british pounds. Time for Real to bid 50 million for Suarez instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Chelsea have long been a boogy when it comes to ethics, typical loyalist bigots imo. How an Irish person could reconsile their support of that club with their heritage is beyond me. Abramovich, his history and ethics are just another brick in their wall

How do i thank this again?

Re Liverpool being taken over by a 'sugardaddy'.......

Its not just the shirts we wear that are red. A huge part of this clubs history, and the city its in, has a leftist ideology and its not confined to the recent past.

I personally would find it distasteful if the club became a trinket for some suspect corporation/individual.

I think a bit of my soul would die every day along with the clubs. I have no desire to become a zombie club like chelsea or city, having to feed off other clubs lifeforce. United, Spurs and Arsenal (even with the drought) would be a much better example for me anyway even if it takes a decade longer.

Goodnight all:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I know all the talk has been about Ibe this tour but Sterling has looked good as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

I disagree. It may be a personal thing but lets say the rumour of a Ooredoo takeover is true, the Qatar government will basically own LFC. I would be completely against it personally. I wont get into because it is way OT but it should be obvious why.