Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trying a Tri

• 28-07-2013 8:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭

Hi, would like to try a tri, I've been running for years now and want to have a go at something new, is there a short race series etc.. I haven’t swam in about 20 years, I was a strong swimmer though and at this stage I'd probably need swimming lessons just to get back to swimming properly, no problems with that.

I'm also not sure how to go about getting the bits together, usually if im just starting out I go cheap and cheerful, just to get out and back over the line, I've no shame and don't mind finishing last at all, so what bits would I need, it all looks very polished and professional from my experience watching tri's, I dont fancy being laughed out of the gates but is there a fun aspect to it, or is everyone really serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Hi, would like to try a tri, I've been running for years now and want to have a go at something new, is there a short race series etc.. I haven’t swam in about 20 years, I was a strong swimmer though and at this stage I'd probably need swimming lessons just to get back to swimming properly, no problems with that.

I'm also not sure how to go about getting the bits together, usually if im just starting out I go cheap and cheerful, just to get out and back over the line, I've no shame and don't mind finishing last at all, so what bits would I need, it all looks very polished and professional from my experience watching tri's, I dont fancy being laughed out of the gates but is there a fun aspect to it, or is everyone really serious.

What you need:
    Swim - goggles, wetsuit, Speedos
    Bike - bike, helmet, Jersey
    Run - runners

That's all you actually need. And for a large part of the field in every race that's all that they will have.

A tri suit (can get cheap) can help with the nipple Nazis but other than that a willingness to try and a smile.

Enjoy!

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭c07

JJJJNR wrote: »
    I've no shame and don't mind finishing last at all, so what bits would I need, it all looks very polished and professional from my experience watching tri's, I dont fancy being laughed out of the gates but is there a fun aspect to it, or is everyone really serious.

Well, I've just done my third super sprint/try a tri and it's by no means serious or polished. It's a mixed bag of experience and fitness and, in general, everyone is doing it for their own reasons rather than competition. More competing against themselves. There's a great, friendly vibe at any of the events I've done and I'd say you'd enjoy it.
    There's also a huge range of money spent from nothing to thousands. Definitely best to start without spending much (if any) at the start.

Tunney has listed all you need. You will have a blast, and I bet you'll catch the bug. There's an infectious buzz to the events! Have fun!!
    You should be able to find a range of races on the triathlon Ireland website!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

tunney wrote: »
    What you need:
    Swim - goggles, wetsuit, Speedos
    Bike - bike, helmet, Jersey
    Run - runners

That's all you actually need.

Shorts. For the love of god, don't do the bike and run in the speedos

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Maximus7

Bit late now but there is a small sprint on tomorrow in Mayo called the Bronzeman (winner gets a stone age sword - its class). 100m swim (3-5 mins), 4km cycle (10-15mins) and a 4km run (15-20 mins). Winner usually does it in 30 mins and its great craic. All ya need is a pair of GAA shorts (not really) and goggles for the swim, any bike will do for the cycle and a decent pair of runners for the road. Only costs €20 to enter. Great introducion.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭<bert>

i am going to give the try a tri a go in castleconnell on the 24th in limerick. i also am a bit confused about the equipment needed.
    From looking at the pictures people seem to have a full lenght wetsuit like this one here for the swim then change into a shorter suit like this for the run and cycle.

Could i just do the whole thing in the shorter one?
    thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭donegaldude

you need both. Not necessarily the lycra suit , I've seen people throw a t shirt and shorts under the wetsuit. No nakedness allowed in transition either. wear the lycra/t-shirt shorts combo under the wetsuit for the swim. take wetsuit off, grab bike and go.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭<bert>

you need both. Not necessarily the lycra suit , I've seen people throw a t shirt and shorts under the wetsuit. No nakedness allowed in transition either. wear the lycra/t-shirt shorts combo under the wetsuit for the swim. take wetsuit off, grab bike and go.

Thanks for the help

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Maximus7

So I tried a tri at the weekend. Did that Bronzeman I was on about. It was great craic. Did it in 34.40 mins - well proud of myself. I think I got the bug - buying a bike this weekend, a wet suit and some of the gear. Going to hit the training hard over the Winter! Any recommendations on a bike (under €1,000)? I borrowed my friends cheapish bike at the weekend and it was a flyer so I cant imagine how a better bike will be. Also, any more advise for me is welcomed before I get too far ahead of myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

Maximus7 wrote: »
    So I tried a tri at the weekend. Did that Bronzeman I was on about. It was great craic. Did it in 34.40 mins - well proud of myself. I think I got the bug - buying a bike this weekend, a wet suit and some of the gear. Going to hit the training hard over the Winter! Any recommendations on a bike (under €1,000)? I borrowed my friends cheapish bike at the weekend and it was a flyer so I cant imagine how a better bike will be. Also, any more advise for me is welcomed before I get too far ahead of myself.

A credit card limit is a target to aim for :D

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Gtec

Sorry for a slight thread hijack, but my question is closely related... I am doing my first Tri on the 31st August (Have done the swim a few times in a relay team), and was told that I had to wear the cycling / running stuff under the wetsuit.

Is this really the case? Can I not swim with long Speedos and wetsuit then pull a t-shirt and shorts over the Speedos after taking off the wetsuit? I certainly don't want to shell out the cost of "specialised" tri clothing for my first attempt!

The only thing I can see in the rules is:
    "Nudity or indecent exposure is forbidden"

Les

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭mirrormatrix

Gtec wrote: »
    Is this really the case? Can I not swim with long Speedos and wetsuit then pull a t-shirt and shorts over the Speedos after taking off the wetsuit?

I'm assuming you're a guy les? Speedos won't cut it unfortunately - you'll be penalised or DQ'd - i'm not sure what the regulations are. Nudity (including lads bare chests) is forbidden in transition.

One or two piece tri-suits may be worn, as may T-shirts and shorts. Nudity is unacceptable at any time and competitors are expected to observe a high standard of decorum. Regardless of which type of kit is worn, the uniform must be attached at both shoulders for the duration of the event. The torso must remain covered with front zips being undone no lower than a horizontal line running between the nipples.

If you don't have a tri suit you could probably get away with a rash vest or even a t-shirt under the wetsuit. Not ideal, but if you're stuck for cash...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

Sorry for a slight thread hijack, but my question is closely related... I am doing my first Tri on the 31st August (Have done the swim a few times in a relay team), and was told that I had to wear the cycling / running stuff under the wetsuit.

Is this really the case? Can I not swim with long Speedos and wetsuit then pull a t-shirt and shorts over the Speedos after taking off the wetsuit? I certainly don't want to shell out the cost of "specialised" tri clothing for my first attempt!

The only thing I can see in the rules is:
    "Nudity or indecent exposure is forbidden"

Les

Yup, its really the case. A cranky auld bint got DQ'd for nudity in transition earlier this year- bare breasts- and complained to the nations favourite radio whinge-fest about the absolute sexism of the whole thing, so TI have decreed that a man can't be changing his top in transition either. It's that stupid, no-one really likes the rule, but we're stuck with it.

Wear a technical running singlet under the wetsuit, pull a pair of shorts over your speedos in transition.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Mr.Fred

/QUOTE]

I'm not sure if they still are but aldi/lidl were selling base layer tops for around €6 or so you could wear this under your wetsuit without any problems it would be very similar to a tri top.

Then as you say if you have your long speedos on (I assume you mean a jammer.) you can whip off your wetsuit and put on your shorts or save time and run in your jammer it's a short run.

I'd say that's the easiest solution without going and buying a tri suit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    Yup, its really the case. A cranky auld bint got DQ'd for nudity in transition earlier this year- bare breasts- and complained to the nations favourite radio whinge-fest about the absolute sexism of the whole thing, so TI have decreed that a man can't be changing his top in transition either. It's that stupid, no-one really likes the rule, but we're stuck with it.

Wear a technical running singlet under the wetsuit, pull a pair of shorts over your speedos in transition.

Jesus I didn't even know that and in my two races and I just ran from the river to transition while taking of me wetsuit with no top on thankfully nothing was said. Mr Fred I must look into Lidl it would sort out that problem until I get a suit.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Gtec

Thanks all for clarifying that.

Must go training with something under wetsuit to check it out!

Les