Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Block Adult Content

• 31-07-2013 12:38pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭

My 8 year old son wants to buy his first laptop today with money he saved up.
    Is there any preferably free software I can put on it to prevent accidental access to adult content online.
    He loves to use youtube but alot of that is unsuitable.
    Any help would be appreciated lads,thanks.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

K9 Web Protection. It's completely free and very good. It's a "Net Nanny" type program, you can block categories, restrict time on net and also allow exceptions, if necessary

Nick

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Thanks Nick,ill give that a go.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

OpenDNS is worth a look too. Make sure he doesn't have admin rights though or any filter can be circumvented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭RikuoAmero

I would recommend sitting down with your son and teaching him why to not watch unsuitable videos or webpages, rather than just a "Don't watch them cause I said so", and then relying on the NetNanny to block. Try and be non-hypocritical across the board e.g. if you don't want him watching pornographic videos or extremely violent ones, don't let him play Grand Theft Auto on a games console. Trust me on this, no NetNanny type program actually works, all the kid has to do is a simple Google Search and they can find ways of getting around them, so it's better to teach them not to want to watch the videos in the first place. I should know, when I was a kid, I found my ways past similar programs and this was before we had broadband or Google.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,312 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

When setting up his user account under Windows 8 you can enable Family Safety features for it. Additionally if you create a "Live" account for him so he can download games etc. from the app store you can list it as a Child account at the end of the creation process and specify your account as the Parent so you'll be able to access a log of activities and set up controls.

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

If I recall correctly, and if you're using UPC, they have a filter you can enable through the router, which requires a password to be input to access adult stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

yoyo wrote: »
    K9 Web Protection. It's completely free and very good. It's a "Net Nanny" type program, you can block categories, restrict time on net and also allow exceptions, if necessary

Nick
    Thanks to all of ye lads.
    I went with Nicks suggestion,works like a dream.
    Anyone with young kids should install this programme.