Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pat Kenny to leave RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

I can't agree with you there. Apart from the Late Late Show, he is a brilliant interviewer, with a wide knowledge of current and political affairs. His radio programme is second to none.

Wide, and whole molecules deep.

I trust that "apart from the Late Late" is an acknowledgement of how dire his stint on that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭irishfeen

alaimacerc wrote: »
    Wide, and whole molecules deep.

I trust that "apart from the Late Late" is an acknowledgement of how dire his stint on that was.
    He was actually better then Tubridy, I know that's not saying much but Gay Byrne was/is impossible to replace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Wish he stayed on RTE 1 where I could avoid him easily, that station is annoying to listen to. I like Newstalk, Ill have to avoid him:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Hopefully. Can't stand Dunne and his stupidly overdone nice-guy routine

Times 10000000000000000

deisedevil wrote: »
    It's very obvious you haven't listened to his radio show or watched him on current affairs programs. He never dumbed down any current affairs work he did, quite the opposite in fact when compared to some of his colleagues.

It's very obvious you're in the "low-middlebrow" market he was aiming his smug, trite nonsense at! "Not the most dumbed-down broadcaster in RTE" is a poor recommendation, when he's being consistently paid the highest fee in the place. Frontline was horrendous, and that it was used to replace Q&A a travesty. Pat with delusions of being Robert Kilroy-Silk. Why they didn't just kill off a failed programme cleanly, rather than using it to contaminate the previously solid PT brand is another inexplicable Montrose Mystery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Congratulations Pat Kenny!

Great move Newstalk!

Pat Kenny is undoubtedly Ireland's finest ever broadcaster.

He will be sorely missed by RTE, as he has been their greatest asset over the last 10 years. It will be quite a challenge for whomever is appointed to fill his various roles.

I for one will be changing the radio dial to follow Pat Kenny on Newstalk.

Pat Kenny is a proper gentleman of great intellect, I certainly wish him continued success in his career.:)

irishfeen wrote: »
    He was actually better then Tubridy, I know that's not saying much but Gay Byrne was/is impossible to replace.

Tubridy is all-around better than Kenny (though not worth the silly money he's being paid, especially for his radio show that was mainly "competing" against... Pat Kenny). He's an uncomfortable fit on the LL, though. Too much "legacy format". Better to have just moved his somewhat less formulaic (or if you prefer, different formula!) Saturday night chatshow wholesale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,679 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Anyways, with any luck there'll be a few more on the chopping block.

How long is Tubbs contracted for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

I suspect the anti-Kenny posters here only know him from the Late Late gig for which he was totally unsuitable. Think Jeremy Paxman doing the Graham Norton Show (or vice versa God help us).

On the radio though, I found him to be always on top of the subject, able to cut through the BS and he was a really good summariser of complicated scenarios. This is a real coup for Newstalk, to which my car is already tuned on ignition. Happy days!

I suspect leaving RTE was a two-fingerd salute for the cutbacks. Regardless of property collapses I suspect PK is comfortable enough. He was talking about having a self administered pension back in the 80's. What I would be worried about though, is that this will be used as an excuse to top up the other 'talent'.... Finucane, Joe et al.. Jesus wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Deise Vu wrote: »
    What I would be worried about though, is that this will be used as an excuse to top up the other 'talent'.... Finucane, Joe et al.. Jesus wept.

The DG has intimated that other 'high profile' presenters will depart. Fingers crossed!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Newstalk! Denis O Brien!
    I wonder did his aside to O Brien caught on mic after a radio interview 'saying, "Sorry, I had to ask you that" after the tribunal report give him a leg up!? ;-)

That aside, I do like Kenny on the radio and will be switching over, in fact with Kenny gone the past week or two I've been listening to Tom Dunne on NT in that slot (and I don't particularly like Tom Dunne)

• Site Banned Posts: 87 ✭✭F35

Pat who?

Perhaps it is now time for RTE to amalgamate RTE Radio 1 and 2?
    What is left on these two stations could be redesigned into one worthwhile station.

Thinking about it further the only time I switched into Radio 1 was to listen to Pat Kenny. As a fan of Newstalk I no longer need to switch stations anymore!:).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Lightbulb Sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

RTE should immediately double Tubberoo's salary or they may lose him to Sky News or the yanks who want him to take over from Letterman.

Deise Vu wrote: »
    I suspect the anti-Kenny posters here only know him from the Late Late gig
    Yeah, right, that'll be why we're pointing out how unsufferable he is on the radio, how abject Frontline was, and how he's running Prime Time into the ground.
    Think Jeremy Paxman
    No, don't. Really, really, don't. Paxman's interviewing is honed and analytical. Kenny's consists of preening, self-important long-winded leaving-cert-levels expositions on a topic, with no meaningful followup.

Tubridy is all-around better than Kenny (though not worth the silly money he's being paid, especially for his radio show that was mainly "competing" against... Pat Kenny). He's an uncomfortable fit on the LL, though. Too much "legacy format". Better to have just moved his somewhat less formulaic (or if you prefer, different formula!) Saturday night chatshow wholesale.
    We will have to agree to differ on that one, Tubridy is awful interviewing on current affairs issues... The reading from the cards is completely pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Tubridy is a far inferior broadcaster to Pat Kenny IMHO.No comparison.

Yeah, right, that'll be why we're pointing out how unsufferable he is on the radio, how abject Frontline was, and how he's running Prime Time into the ground.

No, don't. Really, really, don't. Paxman's interviewing is honed and analytical. Kenny's consists of preening, self-important long-winded leaving-cert-levels expositions on a topic, with no meaningful followup.

Nonsense. It's easy to read the bitterness between your lines.

We will have to agree to differ on that one, Tubridy is awful interviewing on current affairs issues... The reading from the cards is completely pathetic.

Tubridy rarely tackles "current affairs" as such, but when he does do "serious" topics, he does them considerably better than PK ever did. (Glorious to be talking about him in the past tense!) Perhaps (and I'm speculating here, I've no idea how his show is run) that's because he focuses more on topics he has an actual knowledge of and interest in, as opposed to the "I can tackle anything! (... and do it badly)" approach.

Perhaps it is time to bin The Late Late Show? It is embarrassing , so easy to switch channel and watch Graham Norton, who is entertaining and lively.

Tubridy is a lightweight on TV, better suited to radio.
    Have heard him on BBC Radio 2 when he he stood in for Graham Norton while Graham was holidaying in West Cork. To be fair Tubridy was received well on those slots.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Let's take a moment to remember him as he was, the early years, the Remington Steele years....

https://sphotos-b-lax.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-frc1/q71/375658_579797828736957_549165530_n.jpg

(shamelessly stolen from Keep Going Sure it's Grand)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Tubridy rarely tackles "current affairs" as such, but when he does do "serious" topics, he does them considerably better than PK ever did. (Glorious to be talking about him in the past tense!) Perhaps (and I'm speculating here, I've no idea how his show is run) that's because he focuses more on topics he has an actual knowledge of and interest in, as opposed to the "I can tackle anything! (... and do it badly)" approach.
    no he doesn't

Tubridy is the man who asked the Taoiseach did he drink too much.... :rolleyes: what kind of a stupid question when we were in the middle of the worst recession since the great depression...

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Nonsense. It's easy to read the bitterness between your lines.

Thanks for that detailed rebuttal. :D

I've nothing to be bitter about. This hopefully means better output from RTE, and assuredly is saving half a million quid or so. (And no, that doesn't mean "lowering the licence fee", it means "fewer cuts elsewhere".) If PK is happy in his retirement home at Newstalk, then good luck to him; it certainly takes him entirely off my "inadvertant tuning in" radar.

Now, if someone can just nobble Ronan Collins, it might actually be safe to listen to Radio Radio One before one o'clock in the afternoon.

I've nothing to be bitter about. This hopefully means better output from RTE, and assuredly is saving half a million quid or so. (And no, that doesn't mean "lowering the licence fee", it means "fewer cuts elsewhere".) If PK is happy in his retirement home at Newstalk, then good luck to him; it certainly takes him entirely off my "inadvertant tuning in" radar.

Now, if someone can just nobble Ronan Collins, it might actually be safe to listen to Radio Radio One before one o'clock in the afternoon.
    My god if you think PK and RTE are so bad then don't ever ever turn TV3 on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

jank wrote: »
    Apparently he lost millions due to the collapse of the banks. A lot of old wealth was destroyed by the banks going bust but you never hear much of it.
    Exactly.. The greed got them all... Hungry fcuk**s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Ben D Bus wrote: »
    I can't believe that this has been the top headline on the RTE news page all afternoon.

It may be popular but it's entertainment gossip, not headline news.

Totally self-obsessed of RTE.

Just about to post that. Its actually quite shocking. Even if he died it should be an addendum at the end of the news and we could do our RIP posts.

RIP Pat.

Good Radio Broadcaster. Appalling TV broadcaster.

Perhaps it is time to bin The Late Late Show? It is embarrassing , so easy to switch channel and watch Graham Norton, who is entertaining and lively.
    There'd be such a hue and cry if the "brand" were abolished, it's much more likely to be progressively "modernised". The big step would be for someone to take the plunge and cut back the time slot. (An hour would make more sense, but I bet they do it by inches, instead.)

Having GN take it over would be quite a sight to behold...

I will probably be doing a little less listening, to Newstalk.

My god if you think PK and RTE are so bad then don't ever ever turn TV3 on.

I only ever watch TV3 for Vinnie B. Even then, the risk is that one doesn't change channel fast enough afterward, then Martin King booms and shoulder-swaggers into view. (Not for nothing was he namedchecked on Irish Pictorial Weekly's "The Eejit".) OK, I tell a lie, I might have seen a few Law and Order reruns. That really is about it.

TV3 is mainly there as a cautionary tale as to what all Irish TV might be like if the licence fee went, as some vultures demand. (i.e., not very Irish at all.)

Detailed? All you have done is say he didn't satisfy your intellect.
    Where are the examples of his constant preening and school boy questioning?

The tone of your posts just shows bitterness.
    Collins is a very popular presenter (not my cup of tea) but then I can understand that RTE can't broadcast to my tastes alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

Cut his pay from 950k to 730k in 2009. What did we expect? Rise the tv licence by 50% immediately I say. How many more stars are we willing to lose? Pat Kenny first. Who next? God forbid Brendan O'Connor leaves or Bryan Dobson?!! Or think of it we might lose Turbirdy?! Who will provide the background noise to people in their fifties every friday night?!! Slippery slopes lads. Slippy slippy slope. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I don't mind him when he's on, but I never go out of my way to hear his programmes, no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Gerry Ryan should have been given the LLS after Gay Byrne retired. He could have easily handled both the serious and light entertainment aspects of the show.

As mentioned above, Pat Kenny is an excellent current affairs radio presenter, a decent current affairs TV presenter but he is abysmal in TV light entertainment.

This is a big coup for Newstalk.

I only ever watch TV3 for Vinnie B. Even then, the risk is that one doesn't change channel fast enough afterward, then Martin King booms and shoulder-swaggers into view. (Not for nothing was he namedchecked on Irish Pictorial Weekly's "The Eejit".) OK, I tell a lie, I might have seen a few Law and Order reruns. That really is about it.

TV3 is mainly there as a cautionary tale as to what all Irish TV might be like if the licence fee went, as some vultures demand. (i.e., not very Irish at all.)
    .... and PK is a much better current affairs broadcaster then Vincent Browne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Gerry Ryan should have been given the LLS after Gay Byrne retired. He could have easily handled both the serious and light entertainment aspects of the show.
    QUOTE]

Oh yeah, a bigmouth, opinionated,hypocrite junkie with an ego the size of the Phoenix Park, I don't think so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Great now can all the other overpaid fatcats at RTE also leave and the broadcast charge wont be necessary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Well I be following pat to newstalk :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I'm actually delighted to see some competition in the market though.

It will sort the wheat from the chaff in terms of who's actually worth their pay cheques as the commercials will only pay based on ratings and income generation.

The only issue is that if you move the presenter, you also need the production expertise too and newstalk seems to have a huge churn rate for production staff. There was a time there when they seemed to be wishing someone the best of luck in Australia or Canada every week on various programmes as they lost producers, researchers and sound ops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Does this mean the broadcasting tax won't be needed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15 ugly_mug

.... and PK is a much better current affairs broadcaster then Vincent Browne.

+1 , PK never made his show a platform for minority fringe political opinions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Oh yeah, a bigmouth, opinionated,hypocrite junkie with an ego the size of the Phoenix Park, I don't think so!

Too soon. Have you no respect for his family? Tsk. Tsk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Does this mean the broadcasting tax won't be needed?

No! There will be some equally expensive replacement found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

Lads, G Ryan and Pat are radio types. The LLS didn't work for either of them.

Happily, Newstalk is a radio station. A national one at that. Now they have the best three chat show types in the country. Pat, Hook and Moncreif.

With the much maligned T Dunn gone I predict their ratings will soar.

Of course Denis O'Brian will be delighted that there is now one less decent journalist to ask those difficult questions. Pat must be pretty broke to allow himself to become another one of O'Brians tamed tigers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

RTE said they couldn't match the salary that Newstalk offered Pat. So what kind of wage will he be on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It's the end of an era!!!

I'm not sad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

It's the end of an era!!!

I'm not sad!
    In Pat's own words "it's the termination of an epoch!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Howe can Pat be broke when for years he was on 750 k a year?. I understand he made some property investments that lost money but if the average Joe Soap just put his money in the bank when they were earning big 6 figures sums I'd say they might have been able to retire at 65?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

JJayoo wrote: »
    RTE said they couldn't match the salary that Newstalk offered Pat. So what kind of wage will he be on?

RTÉ possibly wanted him to renew a contract which was based on much lower than he was previously on. .

Let's say 350k (still crazy money I know)

Pat wouldn't sign deal

newstallk offer him 400k for a radio only gig.

RTÉ refuse (unable due to cut backs)?

Purely a guess from me obviously.