Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back a page or two to re-sync the thread and this will then show latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Pat Kenny Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

He interviewed Sting today who declared "I'm an eternal student, and always will be"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Trumps advertising his hotel on the show again.

Always cracks me up. Now THAT'S trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Always cracks me up. Now THAT'S trolling.

Yes, because Donald obviously personally dictates the placement of ads for one of his minor properties on minor radio station thousands of miles from anywhere he cares about.

Or, more likely, the marketing guy at Doonbeg couldn't give a **** about the editorial tone of whatever show s/he decides works out as the best advertising spend in terms of cost and audience...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Yes, because Donald obviously personally dictates the placement of ads for one of his minor properties on minor radio station thousands of miles from anywhere he cares about.

Or, more likely, the marketing guy at Doonbeg couldn't give a **** about the editorial tone of whatever show s/he decides works out as the best advertising spend in terms of cost and audience...

Trump is such a pathetic excuse for a human being that I wouldn't put it past him to take such a petty interest in Doonbeg.

Del.Monte wrote:
    Trump is such a pathetic excuse for a human being that I wouldn't put it past him to take such a petty interest in Doonbeg.

Jaysus, you're probably right. Though he'd be more likely to directly attack shows on Twitter if he was aware of them. That'd be some crack! Imagine Sean dealing with an abusive Trump tweet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

There's ads for it across the whole day on Newstalk, they're not targeted at Pat Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

You couldn't make it up - Jess Kelly the Tech 'expert' learns that mobile phones are a potential health disaster. Has she been under a rock for the last decade? She and Pat move swiftly on. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I generally like Jess Kelly and have taken her advice a number of times and have been happy with products.
    But this morning wasn't her best. I didn't know you could use wi-fi in aeroplane mode either, but I'm no tech expert.
    Every day's a School day, even for the experts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

humberklog wrote: »
    I generally like Jess Kelly and have taken her advice a number of times and have been happy with products.
    But this morning wasn't her best. I didn't know you could use wi-fi in aeroplane mode either, but I'm no tech expert.
    Every day's a School day, even for the experts.

I explained the airplane mode WiFi thing to a colleague recently and his response was “but airplane mode only works when you’re in a plane, doesn’t it?”. :rolleyes:

Agreed though, she was poor this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Roger_007 wrote:
    I assume it's because the term 'pro-life' implies that all those who do not agree with their stance are anti-life, which is untrue. Pro-choice means exactly what it says:- supporting the freedom to choose. I think someone suggested that a more accurate term for the 'pro-life' side would be 'anti-choice'.

Also, many of those who self identify as 'pro life' are simultaneously in favour of stuff like the death penalty, especially in the States.
    Roger_007 wrote:
    I assume it's because the term 'pro-life' implies that all those who do not agree with their stance are anti-life, which is untrue. Pro-choice means exactly what it says:- supporting the freedom to choose. I think someone suggested that a more accurate term for the 'pro-life' side would be 'anti-choice'.

Also, many of those who self identify as 'pro life' are simultaneously in favour of stuff like the death penalty, especially in the States.
    Pro-chance at life.

If you fook it up further down the line then there has to be repercussions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Probably the softest of all the interviews that Halawa has had. This interview makes Tubridy's interview look like the Spanish Inquisition.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Why do people keep slavishly listening to all his interviews? Those commenting the most clearly had an unshakeable opinion while he was still languishing in prison.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

jooksavage wrote: »
    Why do people keep slavishly listening to all his interviews? Those commenting the most clearly had an unshakeable opinion while he was still languishing in prison.

Because they want to keep up to date with the lies and half truths told by Halawa and his supporters with the craven connivance of the mainstream Irish media. Pat Kenny used to be a balanced interviewer not a facilitator of deception.

Slagging his hair now Pat? Really?
    Could you imagine if somebody started slagging Pat about his big belly. Presumably that would be just considered immature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭griffin100

The councillor on this morning talking about the flood wall in Clontarf was hilarious. He had no clue what he was talking about. He waffled on about the bay being the only Capital City based Biosphere in Europe. When Pat asked him what a biosphere was there was seconds of silence followed by some ehhing and ahhing and then he said it was a place where orgasms (yes that's what he said) could live. He was then asked about flooding and the fact that if the park was being used as a flood plain then surely the road would flood as well, as it's between the sea and the park. No says he, why not says Pat, because it's engineered not to flood......how so asks Pat.....because its engineered not to flood says he...... Pat backed off early in the interview as it was obvious the guy had no idea what he was talking about. He actually made Dermot Lacey sound reasonable, which is quite an achievement considering how big of a tool he is.

griffin100 wrote: »
    The councillor on this morning talking about the flood wall in Clontarf was hilarious. He had no clue what he was talking about. He waffled on about the bay being the only Capital City based Biosphere in Europe. When Pat asked him what a biosphere was there was seconds of silence followed by some ehhing and ahhing and then he said it was a place where orgasms (yes that's what he said) could live. He was then asked about flooding and the fact that if the park was being used as a flood plain then surely the road would flood as well, as it's between the sea and the park. No says he, why not says Pat, because it's engineered not to flood......how so asks Pat.....because its engineered not to flood says he...... Pat backed off early in the interview as it was obvious the guy had no idea what he was talking about. He actually made Dermot Lacey sound reasonable, which is quite an achievement considering how big of a tool he is.

+1. I posted this on Da Lahv Lahn forum earlier:

Will Joe be able to stay away from local hot topic de sea wall of Clontarf today so to speak? Not that he has a vested interest or anything.....plus he could humblebrag and “subtly” mention his wunderful, fantastic rescue of de woman trapped behind de wall of death dat is de wall rolleyes.png

Speaking of which, it was being discussed on Pat Kenny this morning. Pat asked some local councillor what a biosphere was (as de councillor brought it up) and said councillor obviously hadn’t done any prep on this as he paused for a long time before saying “it’s a collection of orgasms....organisms” rolleyes.pngpacman.gif This was followed by a giggle from someone - but I don’t think it was Pat to be fair. Whoever he was he was woefully unprepared. He also couldn’t explain how the sea water got to the park if there was a flood - he just kept saying “it’s engineered that way”.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

^^It's well worth a listen back. Pat definitely backed off realising this guy wasn't informed/intelligent.
    But when he was saying that in parts the wall has to come down a foot and in other parts it has to be raised, who's responsible for that? Was any of the wall implemented correctly?
    I live around there and that work has been going on for ages. Ages doing all the wrong work?
    I think Pat should revisit this mess of a story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

But when he was saying that in parts the wall has to come down a foot and in other parts it has to be raised, who's responsible for that?

He said that it's currently violating planning and parts of it were done wrong, but it hasn't received any kind of inspection / certification check because it's not yet finished so therefore no one is responsible for doing it wrong as it currently stands...or something.

No one can be held accountable for the extra 300k+ it will take to rectify it.

Country is run by clowns. And either the public are clowns for voting them in, or only clowns run for these positions.

Maybe the Internet should be run like Newstalk, Pat. No free speech at all.

Pat getting angry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,671 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

doylefe wrote: »
    Pat getting angry

I'm getting angry. This guy is an arrogant spanner.

If you have fixed prices on houses that had to sell for that exact price, surely that would always be to the benefit of the buyer who has the capital up front.

griffin100 wrote: »

+1. I posted this on Da Lahv Lahn forum earlier:

Will Joe be able to stay away from local hot topic de sea wall of Clontarf today so to speak? Not that he has a vested interest or anything.....plus he could humblebrag and “subtly” mention his wunderful, fantastic rescue of de woman trapped behind de wall of death dat is de wall rolleyes.png

Speaking of which, it was being discussed on Pat Kenny this morning. Pat asked some local councillor what a biosphere was (as de councillor brought it up) and said councillor obviously hadn’t done any prep on this as he paused for a long time before saying “it’s a collection of orgasms....organisms” rolleyes.pngpacman.gif This was followed by a giggle from someone - but I don’t think it was Pat to be fair. Whoever he was he was woefully unprepared. He also couldn’t explain how the sea water got to the park if there was a flood - he just kept saying “it’s engineered that way”.
    ^^It's well worth a listen back. Pat definitely backed off realising this guy wasn't informed/intelligent.
    But when he was saying that in parts the wall has to come down a foot and in other parts it has to be raised, who's responsible for that? Was any of the wall implemented correctly?
    I live around there and that work has been going on for ages. Ages doing all the wrong work?
    I think Pat should revisit this mess of a story.
    doylefe wrote: »
    He said that it's currently violating planning and parts of it were done wrong, but it hasn't received any kind of inspection / certification check because it's not yet finished so therefore no one is responsible for doing it wrong as it currently stands...or something.

No one can be held accountable for the extra 300k+ it will take to rectify it.

Country is run by clowns. And either the public are clowns for voting them in, or only clowns run for these positions.

Same councillor was on The Last Word later the same day and had done a bit more research before 5:30 at least. Wasn't much better overall, but was at least more authoritative in the delivery of his comments to Matt Cooper and Matt didn't press him too hard on things. Had he (or any of the researchers) heard the interview with PK he'd have had plenty of open goals to shoot at.........

Ciaran Cuff (Greens) was also on and sounded like Einstein compared to the other councillor (I've forgotten his name already he was so bland).

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Same councillor was on The Last Word later the same day and had done a bit more research before 5:30 at least. Wasn't much better overall, but was at least more authoritative in the delivery of his comments to Matt Cooper and Matt didn't press him too hard on things. Had he (or any of the researchers) heard the interview with PK he'd have had plenty of open goals to shoot at.........

Ciaran Cuff (Greens) was also on and sounded like Einstein compared to the other councillor (I've forgotten his name already he was so bland).

Matt needs a change (or less work). Sounds bored these days, also suffering from the unthinking PC disease. If there was such a thing as a PC mosquito .

Jesus, 'Smashy' from Hot Press is insufferable...

There was an increased "demand" for betting on Trump. i.e. the poor addicts that these b*stards prey on needed something a bit more enticing than the cartoon horses that they normally waste their money on.

You could even hear that the chap himself was embarrassed by the childish "penis enhancement" bets that they offer as well. Like a porn star who had just walked in to studio and found provocative images of herself pasted all over the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,920 ✭✭✭✭zell12

All hail de Bertie
    919.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Happy birthday to the best in the biz. Still looking and sounding great at 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,260 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Damp squids this morning instead of squib, provincial putzes