Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Pat Kenny Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Pity about Shaw, great bar and food yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,909 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Pity about Shaw, great bar and food yard.

The wailing and gnashing of teeth over the Shaw is ticking me off a fair bit.

Outside of Dublin, and particularly in small towns and rural areas there have been at least 3 decades of stories such as this, coupled with dwindling populations as people have had to leave to follow work.

Many of the commentators bemoaning the loss of our cultural heritage over the last few days were perfectly fine with the recentralisation of Ireland to within the M50 until they realised this new society would be a boring shade of sameness.

And anyone who stood up against this was heretofore called a parish pump gombeen by people now posting 'don't @ me' along with their cries of loss about this pub.

The wailing and gnashing of teeth over the Shaw is ticking me off a fair bit.

Outside of Dublin, and particularly in small towns and rural areas there have been at least 3 decades of stories such as this, coupled with dwindling populations as people have had to leave to follow work.

Many of the commentators bemoaning the loss of our cultural heritage over the last few days were perfectly fine with the recentralisation of Ireland to within the M50 until they realised this new society would be a boring shade of sameness.

And anyone who stood up against this was heretofore called a parish pump gombeen by people now posting 'don't @ me' along with their cries of loss about this pub.

Just saying I liked the place, hardly a crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Just saying I liked the place, hardly a crime.

Their prices probably were though

Evocative stuff from MLOD IMHO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

It's infuriating hearing these incessant dopey 'gotcha' texts about climate protestors having phones or driving cars etc.
    Pat loves them though, such an intellect. It's reddit edgelord level of discourse, there's a bigger picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭serfboard

parasite wrote: »
    It's infuriating hearing these incessant dopey 'gotcha' texts about climate protestors having phones or driving cars etc.
    Pat loves them though, such an intellect.
    I don't think it's as much a reflection of his intellect as it is of his political outlook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,448 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Pat loves them though, such an intellect. It's reddit edgelord level of discourse, there's a bigger picture

No good protesting if it's other folk you want to make the sacrifices.

Maybe they could start by teaching the youths not to leave a mess behind them everywhere.

kneemos wrote: »
    No good protesting if it's other folk you want to make the sacrifices.

Maybe they could start by teaching the youths not to leave a mess behind them everywhere.

people are protesting for radical structural changes, you're not engaging with their demands, just irrelevant bad-faith nitpicking whataboutery
    what is the level of sacrifice & perfect behaviour these 'youths' have to achieve before you'd deem them worth listening to ?
    science is on their side, it's not going away

what is the level of sacrifice & perfect behaviour these 'youths' have to achieve before you'd deem them worth listening to ?
    As Michael D Higgins said one time: "Just because I'm a socialist doesn't mean that I have to be going around town with the arse hanging out of my trousers!"

credit where it's due, Moncrieff has roasted a load of these texters today
    Pat should be raising his level of debate, he's making himself look foolish, just don't encourage them

What a fcukwit "organic makes me switch off" wake up

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Henry McKean has one handy number for someone so one dimensional. Plummy accent has made his entire “career”.

Irish fans in Japan slot is so wearisome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,672 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Henry McKean has one handy number for someone so one dimensional. Plummy accent has made his entire “career”.

I caught literally 3 seconds of it, then I remembered from previous years that the rugby world cup is highly enjoyable if you don't hear any rugby fans, but absolutely intolerable if you do.

Something that unreasonably grinds my gears, and is now seeping into colloquial language, is the nonsense expression "Sleep Hygiene". :mad:

Why is he a journalist? Why is he in Japan? What kind of dirt must he have on DO'B?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I caught literally 3 seconds of it, then I remembered from previous years that the rugby world cup is highly enjoyable if you don't hear any rugby fans, but absolutely intolerable if you do.

Not radio, but there was an Irish fan interviewed on the TV news last week, and it was such an absolute stereotype that I thought they were actually taking the piss. "Breffni" had the green jersey with the upturned collar and was on about how "the lads" (may have been Fionn and Lorcain, or I could be just imputing...) were coming over and that they'd be "going on the lash. It'll be absolute carnage!".

Why is he a journalist?
    Henry McKean is not a journalist in any real sense of the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,672 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Not radio, but there was an Irish fan interviewed on the TV news last week, and it was such an absolute stereotype that I thought they were actually taking the piss. "Breffni" had the green jersey with the upturned collar and was on about how "the lads" (may have been Fionn and Lorcain, or I could be just imputing...) were coming over and that they'd be "going on the lash. It'll be absolute carnage!".

I saw that. Absolute cornage. That news was on in my house and everybody just burst out laughing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

"Absolute carnage". :D

The fans will hopefully provide more comedy gold over the next few weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭BillyBird

serfboard wrote: »

I think he's going for that Louis Theroux vibe. Doesn't work for me, even
    Theroux I can only stomach in small doses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

serfboard wrote: »

He's the luckiest man on radio. Only a station like Newstalk would let him near a microphone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,764 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

mzungu wrote: »
    "Absolute carnage". :D

The fans will hopefully provide more comedy gold over the next few weeks.

One of the current Second Captains 'stings' plays a clip of this
    BillyBird wrote: »
    I think he's going for that Louis Theroux vibe. Doesn't work for me, even
    Theroux I can only stomach in small doses.

I've never cared for vox pops no matter who is doing them. Probably my innate intellectual snobbery, but I don't care what some randomer thinks about a no-deal brexit. To quote that fount of wisdom Sid Vicious, "I've met the man in the street and he's a c**t."

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭BillyBird

Probably my innate intellectual snobbery

You're not alone, add call ins from the public.

We've Gerry an accountant from Swords on the phone, "Well Gerry how do you think we should solve the hospital crisis"

636192333437263217-v2nytoon.jpg

Yeah the Dart is a real treat, real classy. ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

If he says "fetch up" once more I think I'll fetch up my breakfast, or, should I say, my breakfast will fetch up in my mouth :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭5555555555

I don't think I've ever heard anyone as enthusiastic about their job as this Irish mythology lady !!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭mattser

PK left himself wide open at the end of that interview, and Sammy delivered a sucker punch.

What the hell is this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,940 ✭✭✭✭zell12

"The boy puts his where his water comes from into where the girl's water comes from"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

zell12 wrote: »
    "The boy puts his where his water comes from into where the girl's water comes from"

So Glenpatrick into Volvic?