Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Pat Kenny Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I better listen back to this! Need a dose of black comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,951 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Since we are currently without a Breakfast Show thread , this is the closest one. Richard Boyd Barrett was on basically saying that surgeons should be paid roughly the same as people sweeping the streets, saying both were important jobs in there own right. Not sure was he saying that with a straight face !! The socialist utopia if they ever manage to get into power with the likes of SF would be 'interesting' to say the least. I'd imagine a mass exodus of surgeons and a mass influx of street sweepers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,390 ✭✭✭plodder

2smiggy wrote: »
    Since we are currently without a Breakfast Show thread , this is the closest one. Richard Boyd Barrett was on basically saying that surgeons should be paid roughly the same as people sweeping the streets, saying both were important jobs in there own right. Not sure was he saying that with a straight face !! The socialist utopia if they ever manage to get into power with the likes of SF would be 'interesting' to say the least. I'd imagine a mass exodus of surgeons and a mass influx of street sweepers.
    I thought I'd listen to it this morning to see what all the hate towards CK is about, and heard that piece. It's hard to know how serious he is, but it's Leo Varadkar who was on later, that's being quoted on the news now, not RBB. I don't think any listeners have reacted either. That said, I think his point that the Leaving Cert is basically a memory test is worth discussing though.

plodder wrote: »
    I thought I'd listen to it this morning to see what all the hate towards CK is about, and heard that piece. It's hard to know how serious he is, but it's Leo Varadkar who was on later, that's being quoted on the news now, not RBB. I don't think any listeners have reacted either. That said, I think his point that the Leaving Cert is basically a memory test is worth discussing though.

plenty of subjects like maths, applied math and physics were far from memory exercises , and there are plenty of college courses that if you did not have a reasonable understanding of these subjects, you would have not have much business doing those courses.

The same could be said of languages. No point in the government providing free courses and grants to people wanting to do a course where German is a big part of the course, with the student being ****e at German after 6 years of it in Secondary School.

I agree too much of the Leaving Cert is a memory test thou, and definitely needs reforming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,390 ✭✭✭plodder

plenty of subjects like maths, applied math and physics were far from memory exercises , and there are plenty of college courses that if you did not have a reasonable understanding of these subjects, you would have not have much business doing those courses.

The same could be said of languages. No point in the government providing free courses and grants to people wanting to do a course where German is a big part of the course, with the student being ****e at German after 6 years of it in Secondary School.

I agree too much of the Leaving Cert is a memory test thou, and definitely needs reforming.
    I agree. It's also a test of 'ability to work hard' which is a useful thing too. I think it just needs to be tweaked a bit, made more unpredictable and less easy to game. It's really the college entry system that needs to be reformed imo.

plodder wrote: »
    I agree. It's also a test of 'ability to work hard' which is a useful thing too. I think it just needs to be tweaked a bit, made more unpredictable and less easy to game. It's really the college entry system that needs to be reformed imo.

My sister did toxicology in college. She said the first year was basically a crash course in Leaving cert Biology and chemistry, because they(the college) didn't quite trust that everyone on the course knew enough about either subject to be able for the material that is the actual course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Does the World really need another cook book ffs, there's about 35 million different ones as is, it's a total bore.

I love to cook but that interview really didn't inspire me to buy it.

I've got a fantastic recipe book at my disposal. it's called google.com.

I'm trying desperately to raise some sympathy for this caller but I'm really struggling.

Edit: There we go, thats the line I was expecting "It's their property, Im just the tenant".

After living there for 12 years with all the problems.

she waited 10 years for her 4eva home, the poor dear :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,823 ✭✭✭Allinall

She's a tenant, and the landlord is failing to maintain the property to an acceptable and legal standard.

A private landlord would be in court at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Hate that forever home expression but not everyone can afford to buy a house, the ones which are built should be of habitable quality. Having said that the local authority rents should be much higher as a percentage of income of course.

If I got 'given' a 4eva house for very little rent, and I had those list of problems with it, I'd fix them myself. I'd invite a few friends with can-do attitudes round, and fix what we can.

But her attitude, she even said it was, "its their property, Im just the tenant". Despite living there for 12 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,221 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Pat struggling to get a word in with this ex-army fella.

When PK tries to ask a question yer man says "Ya, go on Pat"

I was hoping Pat would ask him did he sleep well.

Eamonn Ryan rivalling Stephen Donnelly for waffling now.

Exactly one year ago today, my brief holiday in the UK ended and I flew back to Dublin. My friend who I had been on holiday with flew back to China. Upon landing in Shanghai, she was taken to a quarantine hotel where she had to stay for two weeks.

My Question, why are we "nearly ready" to do this here, one year later?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

For someone that has eight advisers like Eammon Ryan you would think he would be a bit more clued up, the man is a complete joke, not a clue outside of taxing the motorist to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

I'd say RBB would of loved the Soviet Union back in the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

Exactly one year ago today, my brief holiday in the UK ended and I flew back to Dublin. My friend who I had been on holiday with flew back to China. Upon landing in Shanghai, she was taken to a quarantine hotel where she had to stay for two weeks.

My Question, why are we "nearly ready" to do this here, one year later?

Ain't that the question!

Almost one year after Leo scared the bejasus out of the Country with his 'and may God have mercy on us all' speech on Paddy's Day. I'm f*cking sick & tired of not being able to go to the gym, go for a cycle or go for a spin on the motorbike or even leave the house in the car without fear of being questioned by the Gardai. All while there's no mandatory quarantine for people coming into the country! :mad:

Anyway, wrong thread for this but I feel better now.

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭BarryM

Ain't that the question!

All while there's no mandatory quarantine for people coming into the country! :mad:

/rant

Understand the rant. As a GP member I am embarassed. He is a liability.

However, the real question that Ryan waffled on was the 7000 who were on their horriers and arrived back last week. Ryan said it was a Garda matter, without realising that the passport control in the airport is manned by the guards.

Ain't that the question!

Almost one year after Leo scared the bejasus out of the Country with his 'and may God have mercy on us all' speech on Paddy's Day. I'm f*cking sick & tired of not being able to go to the gym, go for a cycle or go for a spin on the motorbike or even leave the house in the car without fear of being questioned by the Gardai. All while there's no mandatory quarantine for people coming into the country! :mad:

/rant

It really is so simple a thing to set up. Anyone getting off a plane from outside the republic goes through passport control, collects their baggage and then is put on a bus to the clayton airport hotel.

I can just imagine it.

Guard: This way for the bus to the hotel.
    Person: I live in Swords, I don't need the hotel.
    Guard: Where are you coming in from?
    Person: Spain.
    Guard: Oh lovely, did you have a nice time?
    Person: Yeah great!
    Guard: Thats wonderful. Get in the feckin bus.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭PhantomHat

It was enlightening radio. A brief look into the mind of RBB and we saw sickle and hammer communism in all its glory. You could almost hear the State Anthem of the Soviet Union playing momentarily in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Cole

Ain't that the question!

/rant

I hear ye...but you needn't have much fear of meeting many Gardai. Now granted I've been sticking to the restrictions and am fortunate enough to be able to work from/stay at home, but one checkpoint is all I've encountered in a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,503 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

mgn wrote: »
    For someone that has eight advisers like Eammon Ryan you would think he would be a bit more clued up, the man is a complete joke, not a clue outside of taxing the motorist to death.

I hate that weird creaking vocal tic Sleepy Ryan makes when he's attempting to string a sentence together.

How on earth does an eejit like that hold public office? I wouldn't let him hold a cream bun.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

I hate that weird creaking vocal tic Sleepy Ryan makes when he's attempting to string a sentence together.

How on earth does an eejit like that hold public office? I wouldn't let him hold a cream bun.

And tis his second bite of the cherry so to speak, what are we like at all... fill your green welly boots Eamon you lucky lucky man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭serfboard

Get in the feckin bus.
    Preferably said in this tone ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,221 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

The message on these protests seems to me to be mixed.

Don't protest as its against Covid Regulations on St Patrick's Day.

But you can Protest today even though its against Covid Regulations.

One step away from being Former Mod

Within the day I should be back among the ranks of the foot soldiers, so any queries on the forum should be address to other Mods. Modding had become especially taxing on my well-being and time recently.