Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pat Kenny Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Hmm. I thought Pat would be all over the Trump-Clinton debate.

Have I missed it?

Is Donal O'Shea talking about obesity bigger news?

He hasn't got to it yet, the only reason I'm still tuned in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,064 ✭✭✭✭neris

ThisRegard wrote: »
    He hasn't got to it yet, the only reason I'm still tuned in!

i flicked over to newstalk heard the voice and then "smoking" and turned straight back out before i was subjected to a nazi type lecture on bad health choices......again

I loved Pat's rather catty description of the outfit Clinton wore for the debate last night, "Chairman Mao meets Angela Merkel in Macy's bargain basement"!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

i missed it too.

listening now. if you go to the "listen back" page its part two and in the stream ribon click just below the "g" in broadcasting in the blub about pats style.

itll put ya right at the start of it.

RTEs coverage of it was a right hillaryfest.

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭jones 19

Pat is having none of this sinn fein guy. Pat is very short with him. Sorry that I didn't catch his name. Funny interview.

SF ate great for talking bollox without any idea of how to implement their airy fairy ideas

Lol, he suggested that the illegal dumping across the city is done by pensioners who can't afford their bin charges. Clown.

And despite last weeks report on how income tax is paid in the state he still claims that the squeezed middle is a myth.

hesl well able for him though.

pat going mad he cant nail him.

He used a full hilti cartridge. All he spouted was the usual nonsense, couldn't answer a straight question and contradicted himself, or just got it wrong, several times.

Answering and replying with things that are irrelevant does not mean a person is well able for him, being able to put forward logical arguments to disprove the other person does.

ya mean like telling pat he wouldnt be getting a tax cut off him like he is off noonan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

The smell is so pungent .....

I feel like a 14 year old here I'm laughing so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

Innuendo Innuendo Innuendo smile.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,406 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Is this Pat Kenny or Frankie Howerd/Kenneth Williams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,064 ✭✭✭✭neris

Don't think I've ever heard pat Kenny giggling like a little school boy before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Just can't grasp the Sinn Fein position on water charges. O'Broinn said they are all for improving public services and maintaining the 'tax base' but perversely don't approve of this particular tax.

From a socialist point of view, it's obscene that the rich in our society living in huge houses with multiple ensuite bathrooms, big gardens to water and swimming pools - would pay no more for water than Mrs. Murphy in her garret.

But that appears to be O'Broinn's twisted logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,406 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Just can't grasp the Sinn Fein position on water charges. O'Broinn said they are all for improving public services and maintaining the 'tax base' but perversely don't approve of this particular tax.

From a socialist point of view, it's obscene that the rich in our society living in huge houses with multiple ensuite bathrooms, big gardens to water and swimming pools - would pay no more for water than Mrs. Murphy in her garret.

But that appears to be O'Broinn's twisted logic.

He thinks Mrs Murphy would pay neither income tax nor any wealth tax he might introduce meaning that he would expect her to be subsidised by the likely tax take from the "rich". Whether it is the case that the bulk of the water losses are from creaking Victorian infrastructure or through waste, given that the meters are now in place, maybe they can be put to use. It was foolish creating an entirely new billing infrastructure, however. It might have been thought that Bord Gais having expanded into electricity billing would be the appropriate body, it is clear from the expenditure that significant investment would be required.

I wonder was consideration not given to requiring the electricity supply companies of every hue to collect the money, especially given the flat rate nature of the ultimate charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

ya mean like telling pat he wouldnt be getting a tax cut off him like he is off noonan ?

If that was the best he could offer when he was supposed to be making some kind of sense of Sinn Fein's tax 'plans', then Pat Kenny clearly ran rings around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

neris wrote: »
    Don't think I've ever heard pat Kenny giggling like a little school boy before.

This is a cracker https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_YKXqVzZwc move on 1 minute and sit back and laugh. smile.png

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭kazamo

Skid X wrote: »
    If that was the best he could offer when he was supposed to be making some kind of sense of Sinn Fein's tax 'plans', then Pat Kenny clearly ran rings around him.

Wouldn't be the first SF spokesman to have their financial policies destroyed.
    A few years ago Pearse Doherty was interviewed by Pat about a wealth tax.
    Everything was going well, everyone paid tax on all assets other than the family home. Private Pension pots were classed as assets as per Pearse so would be taxed.
    Pat asked how public sector pensions pots would be valued for wealth tax purposes.
    No, they wouldn't be taxed as they weren't assets..................stunned silence from Pat for a second before he tore holes in the warped logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

I might be wrong here but is Paul Williams not putting himself in a spot here with his rant about how the guards are right? How is he going to be able to have an unbiased view tomorrow morning when talking about the subject?

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭kazamo

Pat interviewing Paul Williams atm.

So one newstalk presenter interviewing another newstalk presenter.
    Is Paul really the only person that could have been asked although the Gardaí trade unions have to be happy with the best PR person they don't employ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I agree with buckfasterer, bit silly having Williams on commenting about the guards, and them interviewing the Garda unions this morning (and no dobut interviewing him again in the near future).

Pat doesnt seem to like Williams much does he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Well, after that Paul could never be accused of being unbiased could he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Pat doesnt seem to like Williams much does he?

Must be a good judge of character so.
    Williams comes across as an absolute dick, I just can't listen to him and his gangster porn bullshít.
    A girl I know used to work with him, apparently it's not just an act, she says he really is a genuine knob end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Jonathan Healy is just the wrong person to ask to do an objective piece on Donald Trump. Or anybody in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

John Drennan can't utter one sentence without using his infantile metaphors. His reporting is designed to tell us how clever he is, rather than informing us what is going on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Roger_007 wrote: »
    John Drennan can't utter one sentence without using his infantile metaphors. His reporting is designed to tell us how clever he is, rather than informing us what is going on.

No, no, no .... It's how clever he THINKS he is ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭Expunge

Whats the story with looong report on the career of Meryl Streep around 10 o'clock this morning. I thought the woman had passed away!

Some fella with a raspy voice narrating clips off YouTube. No news at 10 as a result. Did Pat need a substantial toilet break?

This is my problem with this show.
    They have (still) one of the most effective current affairs presenters on national radio and yet we have stoopid book clubs and movie star profiles.
    I know 3 hours is a lot to spin out in talk radio but LBC seem to do it well enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Hey lads and ladies, just wondering can anybody help me... I think it was the Pat Kenny show a few weeks that I heard him interview a producer for a HBO (I think) documentary in which investigated the murder of different women in where a microphone left on during filming the suspect changed everything... does anybody know the name of this documentary? I can't seem to find the podcast online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

irishfeen wrote: »
    Hey lads and ladies, just wondering can anybody help me... I think it was the Pat Kenny show a few weeks that I heard him interview a producer for a HBO (I think) documentary in which investigated the murder of different women in where a microphone left on during filming the suspect changed everything... does anybody know the name of this documentary? I can't seem to find the podcast online.

The Jinx?