Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arrived to Cork for work, but don't like the place. Having a cultural shock.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Grustel25

I came over here from Wiltshire, England in October to live with my Irish boyfriend, so I can empathise with the culture shock! Just small things like the different money, mobile phone numbers, shops and words completely baffled me for a long time, but it really is best to just get out and start meeting people. I was in a right state in the 6 weeks before I found employment but time spent out of the house exploring, socialising and getting to know my colleagues made me feel a bit more 'at home'. I've met so many friendly, open people who were genuinely curious to know more about me, so I'd honestly say I think you just got really, really unlucky in your first meetings with the locals. Seeing Cork in the wind and the rain also makes it seem far more dire than it actually is, so keep an eye out for a sunny day and go for a wander. The English Market was another excellent tip - it's well worth a visit!

I've actually been meaning to join a small ex-pat meet-up group or something like that, so give me a heads up if you decide to join one after all and I'll give you some company!

Hey, it is nice to know I am not alone. I joined an expat club in meetup.com, so join us! It is women's expat international group in Cork. We are going to visit Blackrock castle this Saturday at 4p.m if you'd like to join! Meeting up at Merchants quay next to Dunnes stores.
    Yes, I have been to the English market- a beautiful place. Very expensive, but well worth it. The food is absolutely amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

You took my advice then! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Grustel25

You took my advice then! :)

Definitely. I do need some good piece of advice, so it is well appreciated. In fact, I did go to Blackrock today, and Douglas. Stunning! Thanks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

You haven't mentioned (I don't think) what your budget is, but you've mentioned being on great money. If you won't house-share, then you'll have to spend a fair bit of money on rent (€600 to €700 at least, and that won't get you a great place). I'd strongly suggest revisiting your budget and allocating more money to rent, if you can, so that you can get a nice place you'll be happy in. If you're unhappy here already, living in a dump because it's cheap isn't going to make you any happier!

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭Clockwork Owl

Grustel25 wrote: »
    Hey, it is nice to know I am not alone. I joined an expat club in meetup.com, so join us! It is women's expat international group in Cork. We are going to visit Blackrock castle this Saturday at 4p.m if you'd like to join! Meeting up at Merchants quay next to Dunnes stores.
    Yes, I have been to the English market- a beautiful place. Very expensive, but well worth it. The food is absolutely amazing.
    Bah! We've family down this weekend or I'd definitely be along for the ride. I've been meaning to visit Blackrock Castle and haven't had the chance yet. But (!) if my schedule allows, I'll absolutely be in for the next one.

A tip on the English Market: certain fruits, vegetables, herbs and cuts of meat (lamb mince or whole chickens, for example) are actually similar in price to whatever you'd find in Supervalu or Tescos. The sourdough bread in there is a good idea too if you're on your own for the time being, as it lasts a fair while longer than normal bread and is really tasty. I'd also say that if you're nosing around for nice places to hang out, The Streat (one or two sideroads down) is relaxed, the staff are really friendly and they make a mean milkshake frappé!

And on the accent - believe it or not, you do start to get used to it. I was accosted by a real, rural Cork fella on the bus not a fortnight after I moved over and, being very BBC English myself, I didn't have a clue what he was talking about. Just make light of struggling with the accent and people are generally very accommodating. It's a bit tougher when you're in large groups of Cork locals because they'll speed up and run words together without realising, but one-on-one really isn't so bad if you say you're new in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Diziet

I also came to Cork for work from London - the first few weeks were hard, especially as i was on my own. They passed, I made friends, the family joined me. 15 years later, we are all still here and would not leave in a hurry :-).

Congratulations on the job, you will be fine, don't worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

"Grustel25 wrote: »
    Where can I meet decent, educated peoplr.

Believe or not there are lots of civilsed people in cork with a university education.

You're going on like it is Kabul or some other warzone.

Why not relax and give it a few months?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

evilivor wrote: »
    Also, you were unlucky arriving during the rainiest time we've had in years. Two weeks ago you would have seen a whole different city.

From my 15 months living in the city, the rain is far more typical.

And pretty apocalyptic rain too, not just this recent bout.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Grustel25 wrote: »
    Hm, I think I meant Blackpool :), but mistyped:). I only passed it and the shopping centre seemed all right, though who knows?
    As for Blackrock, how do I get to Hollyhill from there? I know 202 doesn't pass Blackrock. Am I right? do i need to change a couple of buses?
    Great area if I do say so myself. Welcome to Cork and I hope you settle in and get to experience the joys of our fantastic city.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

SpaceTime wrote: »
    If you go to the Northeast it becomes a lot more affluent and leafy but kind of out of most people's price range.

Ah yes, Mayfield, The Glen, Dillon's Cross and Dublin Hill. All bastions of wealth and affluence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Remember too that you can get a bus pass for a month that will cover any bus trips. So you can make a change in Patrick's Street.

For example going from 207, 208, 206 or the other routes through Douglas to the 202

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

As a corkman I will be the first to admit far too many scumbags walking the streets, but is it any worse than the other cities, I dont think so.

The city itself has a nice mix of people but other than that it lacks any real beauty, the beautiful parts of cork are outside the city, the centre itself is a dank miserable town, and unless a native i fail to see what anyone would see in the place as a tourist bar the selection of decent people about.

dont get me wrong, its my home and I have a great affinity for the place, but its hardly venice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Welcome to Cork OP!

Focus on the positive (your husband's visit, all the new people you'll meet at work and exploring a really nice city and region!).

I've been in similar situations where I've felt very lonely but once you start working and checking out the region (get yourself a nice map to start with) you'll be fine and looking forward to showing your husband the delights of Cork.

I agree with others - the sooner you're out of hostel accomodation the better. It's never done much for my mood either!

Lots of people will have more info regarding bus routes and rental accomodation but, given you're working in Holyhill I would suggest you look at the North Mall, Sunday's Well, Cathedral area (near Cathedral road). Would be an easy bus ride up to work with the possibility of walking home on a nice day (all downhill).

Most of all - welcome and know that things will work out great for you and your husband!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Grustel25, don't let the "home sickness" get the better of you. I understand you left your husband in the UK, and I have quite a growing suspect your issue is not with missing "home" but with missing him.

About Cork, a few pointers in no particular order:

1 - Coming from other EU countries the feeling can be strange; As somebody pointed out, the best houses and buildings tend to be hidden from the street.
    Also, your idea of city centre is probably one made of tall(ish) buildings, while Cork's city centre has a "low rise" nature that makes it look like a village, even compared to smaller cities such as Limerick, which have more modernized / higher rise centres. Looks are deceiving in this case, take walks at different times to realize more or less anything you need, is there;

2 - Apartments/accommodations wise, it is true, there are a lot of absolutely rubbish places, you have to look carefully.

There is also the problem that many houses that are deemed "excellent", "fabulous" et cetera will feel cramped and uncomfortable to you; Big cultural difference here, people tend to like and wish for the kind of places they grew up in. Conversely, it's more than likely that an apartment you like would turn out to be a place no Irish person would want to live, even for a day.

Look carefully through Daft, if you go to a letting agency try asking them about some more modern apartments. Asking some non-Irish colleagues could help too.

3 - Do not underestimate work; By definition, you're more likely to meet people with similar interests and backgrounds to yours there than anywhere else; Also, there are a lot of non-Corkonians living here, both from other parts of Ireland and from abroad. There are tons of activity/meeting groups, you only need to look around;

4 - Safety should be no concern; When I first arrived here, I was kind of shocked to see single girls going out and coming home alone on a Saturday night. Where I come from, that would unfortunately be a fail safe recipe for harassment. As long as you avoid certain areas, mostly at night, and steer clear of drunks, you shall have no problem;

5 - Cork has its own timing for most things, you'll have to learn this. The very first night I was here, it was a Saturday night. Around 8pm I left the B&B and walked to the centre...it was like "The Day After Tomorrow". Nothing. Nobody. Not a soul in sight, on a Saturday night in mid September. Even pubs and bars were mostly empty. I started wondering where in heavens did I end up in. Went to the Cinema, about 20 people watching the movie. Came out of the movie, was about 11.30pm by then, to a changed scenario: people everywhere, queues outside bars and nightclubs, some pubs would turn people away due to crowding;

6 - It's not London, the drawbacks are obvious. The benefits, however, are less obvious but interesting: concepts such as "traffic" and "crowded bus/train" are very relative, and what passes for a traffic jam here would be considered a minor traffic slowdown in London/Rome/Paris/Madrid/Berlin :)

7 - Anything you can't find, there's eBay :)

Hope it might help a bit, plenty of good suggestions in this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭lostinsuperfunk

This thread has useful advice on the rental market in Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Diziet

BTW, Wellington road rough? It is a mix of rentals and posh family houses, so hardly a deprived, crime ridden area.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Ah yes, Mayfield, The Glen, Dillon's Cross and Dublin Hill. All bastions of wealth and affluence.

There's no need to be sarcastic. I'm talking about Montenotte / Tivoli / Glanmire.

You can pick any random areas out of any part of the city and decide they're good or bad. I mean, the South Side has plenty of quite rough housing estates too which is why I would suggest that anyone moving to any city anywhere get advice from the locals.

I ended up living in Shepherd's Bush in London and I was paying an absolute fortune for a complete hovel and there were a lot of problems with anti-social behaviour around that area at the time too. It's cleaned up a bit in recent years, but back in 2005/6 it wasn't great.

Yet, if you went a few mins walk down the road you were into Holland Park which is extremely upmarket.

Cities are always like that everywhere in my experience of them and Cork's no exception.

Also, remember that in older cities it was quite common to have good areas and rough areas side by side.

---

To be honest though, I wouldn't find it much of a culture shock moving from say Cork to York, Cork to Brighton, Cork to Swansea or Cardiff or Cork to Aberdeen or something like that. Cities of that kind of scale in Ireland and Britain aren't too different.

London's on a huge scale so really the only comparable places are like New York, Paris, Madrid etc etc.

Diziet wrote: »
    BTW, Wellington road rough? It is a mix of rentals and posh family houses, so hardly a deprived, crime ridden area.

I'd agree with that, it has a lot of fantastic family homes with loads of period style and features.

However, if you're renting it doesn't have a great selection of decent flats. Most of them are fairly crudely converted Victorian family homes that are divided into what amount to bedsits.

If you could find one of the smaller Victorian houses to rent there, it's a really nice spot and very handy for the city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

There's no need to be sarcastic. I'm talking about Montenotte / Tivoli / Glanmire.

In fairness you said the northeast of the city was affluent and beyond most people's price range. The fact is that the majority of the northeast is generally blue-collar and working class. It isn't a wealthy part of town by any means, aside from a few small areas like Montenotte and St Lukes.

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭wrmwit

You'll be fine OP. I have worked in difference places around the world and I know how you feel. I had the fear when I moved from Galway to New York a few years ago. I found a few nice Irish bars that helped me settle in and I suffered a different kind of fear after that!

You need time to settle and to find your feet. If you don't find a place to stay after your week in a hostel, there are a lot of nice bnb's out near the university.

Keep calm, you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

FTA69 wrote: »

In fairness you said the northeast of the city was affluent and beyond most people's price range. The fact is that the majority of the northeast is generally blue-collar and working class. It isn't a wealthy part of town by any means, aside from a few small areas like Montenotte and St Lukes.

I wouldn't even have considered glanmire part of the city. Isn't that the county?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Hi OP. I'm from Cork and am living in Sheffield for almost a year now.

Like you, I found moving to another country to be a bit of a culture shock, but Irish people and English people aren't really that different when you dig into it. You'll get used to us in no time:).

Cork is a wonderful city, and I hope you'll get to see that over the course of your stay here, however staying in Wellington Road is not the best place (even though three of the city's most respected secondary schools are based just off that road).

A few pointers:

Irish people are informal in the extreme, so don't be surprised if someone addresses you by your first name in Ireland where you might expect to be addressed as 'Ms x' in England.

Irish people are inclined to swear a lot more than the English are. We're not really into formalities in Ireland that much :D. The class system that exists in England does not exist to anything like the same extent in Ireland (though it is still there, of course).

Unlike in London, Irish people will generally talk to anyone, and on buses and trains, or just out and about in general, you will notice that people will talk on these and will sometimes start up a random conversation with others even though they don't know you or anyone else. In that regard, we're the same as northerners in England.

Customer service in Ireland is pretty poor, especially compared to the UK. Irish people are generally less polite in just about every situation, which is probably related to the poor customer service that Irish people have to put up with. Don't be surprised if you're asked to do something at work without the person ending the sentence with 'please', and don't be surprised if you don't get thanked for doing something. Also, most people will say 'what?' or 'what's that?' whereas in England you would say 'pardon?'.

Also the cost of groceries and some other things is a lot higher (as you know, Tesco in the UK is expensive compared to Asda, and yet if Tesco in Ireland charged the same as Tesco in the UK did, they'd be an absolute bargain compared to the other Irish supermarkets), but property tax is so much lower than council tax and take home pay is a lot higher as well, as PRSI (the equivalent of NI in the UK) is a lot lower and the income tax credits are more generous than the tax free allowance in the UK is.

Long distance train fares are a hell of a lot cheaper in Ireland than in the UK, but are slower and don't have the same range of departures. For long distance travel, the express bus services to Dublin, Limerick and Galway are the best options, almost as quick as the trains, and some parts of the country have an excellent motorway network, which, unlike the motorways in the UK, will only be really busy on Friday evenings. The express buses are very cheap and most have toilets and Wi-Fi, so it's no wonder they are very popular.

Although Irish people will usually do things by the book at work (especially if you're working in a multinational), outside of work, we are far less inclined to do things by the book than you are.

For an example of what I am talking about, I remember going into a lift in a car park in Sheffield, and there was a man monitoring the lift to ensure we didn't exceed the lift's maximum capacity:eek:, that simply does not happen in Ireland, and if it did, we'd all ignore the person anyway:D. Another time, I was in Go Outdoors, and there were separate doors to enter and exit the store, and we couldn't go out the entrance door (there was actually someone there to ensure that this 'rule' was being enforced). Again, in Ireland they wouldn't try to enforce such a rule, as we'd ignore things like that anyway. Things like that Irish people just ignore even if it's what you're supposed to do.

Cork people are extremely proud of their city and county (all Irish people are, but especially in Cork people are proud of where they're from) - you will hear references from time to time about the 'real capital' for example (Dublin is of course the capital, but some people in Cork like to claim otherwise), and you may see maps of Ireland where the island is divided into two - one part being county Cork, and marked with 'Cork', and the other part being the rest of the island, marked with 'not Cork'.

Like in England, there is rivalry towards other counties/regions of the country, although it's all good natured and is not sinister (sometimes I get the impression over here that the North-South divide is a bit more than just a bit of banter).

Some of the words and expressions used in England are not used in Ireland, and vice-versa. The following are examples of what I am talking about:

- people in Ireland don't get 'cross' with someone or something, they 'give out' to the person or about something (it's derived from the Irish language)
    - we don't have 'mates', it's always 'friends'
    - flats are called apartments
    - lorries are called trucks
    - a "cupboard" is called a press
    - an "airing cupboard" is called a hot press
    - a loft is called an attic

If you use cupboard or loft etc, people will understand you, but they're rarely used by Irish people.

- the expression 'are you alright?' is generally not used, not least because it would be considered to be quite uncomplimentary. I mean, why would you only want to be feeling 'alright':D? Better to say 'how are you', or 'how's it going' instead

- Irish people will say 'sorry' in situations where 'excuse me' and 'pardon' would be used in the UK, especially younger people

- 'poorly', in the context of someone feeling unwell, is likely to either result in the person you are talking to not understanding what you're talking about, or cause offence - don't say this! People usually say they are 'sick' or 'ill' rather than 'feeling poorly'. In fact the word poorly is just not used in Ireland at all

- sometimes in England people use the word 'shall' whereas in Ireland 'will' is used instead (Irish people rarely use the word 'shall')
    - Irish people are more inclined to say 'thanks' rather than 'thank you' like in England, and 'ta' or other slang for expressing gratitude is not used
    - 'college' in Ireland is the same as 'uni' in Britain, it does not have the same meaning as it does in the UK

- slices of 'bacon' are called 'rashers' in Ireland (though bacon is understood)

- craic (pronounced 'crack') is an Irish loan word, and is used a lot, and does not at all have the slang meaning of the English word 'crack'. It can mean lots of things, 'What's the craic?' is another way of asking someone how they're feeling, 'No craic' means no news, 'for the craic' means for a laugh, 'we had mighty craic last night' means we had a great time last night, 'any craic?' means is there any news, and if you see the word 'craic' outside a pub, it means fun (usually accompanied by 'ceoil agus craic', which means music and fun). Also, people will say things like 'I will check that again just to be sure to be sure' to emphasise the fact that they are checking that something is as it should be

- People from the north side of the city are sometimes disparagingly referred to as 'norries' by people from the southside
    - 'Pana' is the nickname for St Patrick Street
    - 'film' is generally pronounced 'fil-um'
    - 'eejit' is sometimes used instead of 'idiot'
    - 'soccer' is used instead of 'football', as 'football' in Ireland means Gaelic football
    - 'Taytos' are sometimes used instead of 'crisps' (as Tayto is a crisp brand)

The accent and phraseology might be strange for an outside, but I love it. If you're addressed as 'girl', take it as a compliment. If you're called a 'langer' (although this is quite archaic these days), again it's usually a term of endearment. If someone ends a sentence with 'yeah', such as 'I will, yeah', that means the exact opposite - it's another way of saying 'I won't'.

The thing I miss most about home is the food actually, no English sausage tastes as nice as Clonakilty sausages, and you can't beat a Galtee rasher (slice of bacon). Also, there's nothing like a cup of Barry's Tea. Irish food is generally excellent, and there are lots of nice restaurants in the city centre in Cork; Luigi Malones, the Electric, the Farmgate for example.

Irish people are extremely good fun to be around with, we don't take ourselves seriously and we love having a laugh, we have a sense of humour that although a bit different, is just as good as the English sense of humour.

You'll notice that Irish people are quite anglicised in many ways; anything on TV that has been successful in the UK always makes its way over to Ireland, and Irish people have more interest in the premier league than our own football teams. Just chillax, talk to people, and it won't be long before you make friends, we're a friendly bunch, honest :).

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭wrmwit

Customer service in Ireland is pretty poor, especially compared to the UK.

Very true. Anytime I'm over in the UK I always comment on the big happy smiley customer service. Nothing like that over here!

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭Dan Dare

As a Dubliner living in Cork who also lived in London for 15 years, I have found this thread most interesting. I live in Blackpool which I really like (though the village looks like its just been through the Blitz). In London I lived in Brixton, Clapham and Stockwell, all of which had nice and awful parts, often remarkably close to one another. OP I hope you do settle in. The replies to your first post have been honest, friendly and helpful. Take that as a sign of things to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

As a corkman I will be the first to admit far too many scumbags walking the streets, but is it any worse than the other cities, I dont think so.

The city itself has a nice mix of people but other than that it lacks any real beauty, the beautiful parts of cork are outside the city, the centre itself is a dank miserable town, and unless a native i fail to see what anyone would see in the place as a tourist bar the selection of decent people about.

dont get me wrong, its my home and I have a great affinity for the place, but its hardly venice.

The glass is very much half empty with this fella!:D:rolleyes:

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

The glass is very much half empty with this fella!:D:rolleyes:

I bet you are a corkman too.

Only cork people get personally threatened if you say something negative about their city or gaa.

I am not sure why exactly my post on cork bothers you.
    As a corkman myself I am well aware of the city I live in, its people and their mentality.

I already stated cork is not as bad or as good as any other city, yet you view that as negative.
    Are you that insecure and shallow that you need to be told only "positive" things about the city.

I suggest you travel the world a bit, get some experience on life, and then come back to me and see if you still have that closed mindedness of yours.Cork is not the epicentre of the universe and has as many bad faults as good.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I suggest you travel the world a bit, get some experience on life, and then come back to me and see if you still have that closed mindedness of yours.Cork is not the epicentre of the universe and has as many bad faults as good.

As another Cork person, I have to agree with this. Some Cork people can be incredibly narrow minded, they think Cork is the centre of the universe. While I can understand the desire of anyone from Cork not currently living in Cork wanting to get back to real capital:D, there is so much more to Ireland than just Cork. While the vast majority of Cork people are very friendly and easy going, there is an element of clubbishness amongst a small minority of people, for some people their only friends are the people they went to school with 60 years ago.

Galway is an amazing city, better than Cork in some ways; there's more going on there, Salthill is only a 30 minute walk from the city centre and they're even more laid back than Corkonians are. Galwegians are so much more outward looking, probably because one third of the city's population is students and because most of the people living in the city are not from Galway county let alone Galway city. Nevertheless, I do love Cork and I miss the way people speech and the accent so much. The accent is very musical and people always sound jolly even when they're not. I certainly hope to be back in da real capital in time to come.

For the benefit of the OP, Cork people have a tendency to end sentences with 'like', which doesn't mean anything really, it's just how we speak, like:D.

I love cork as i am from cork, its my home, and always looked forward to coming home.

but as I said people need to take the blinkers off and realise its not the paradise some would have you believe.
    The mentality of people there is that if you dislike cork, say anything negative about the GAA clubs, rugby clubs, city centre etc then you must be a hater.

The inability of most cork people to comprehend some others might have a different opinion is lost on them, they feel personally threatened, and cannot take anything deemed negative

I have ofter been asked by people where I am from as I dont speak like a cat with a strangulated hernia like most cork people and when I say cork they typical type of reply is "oh..you are one of us".
    This us and them mentality as if somehow Cork people were any better as a whole that people from any other part of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

I love cork as i am from cork, its my home, and always looked forward to coming home.

but as I said people need to take the blinkers off and realise its not the paradise some would have you believe.
    The mentality of people there is that if you dislike cork, say anything negative about the GAA clubs, rugby clubs, city centre etc then you must be a hater.

The inability of most cork people to comprehend some others might have a different opinion is lost on them, they feel personally threatened, and cannot take anything deemed negative

I have ofter been asked by people where I am from as[b{ I dont speak like a cat with a strangulated hernia like most cork people[/b] and when I say cork they typical type of reply is "oh..you are one of us".
    This us and them mentality as if somehow Cork people were any better as a whole that people from any other part of the country.

Your complaining about the us and them attitude found in Cork that can be found in every county/state/country. I know its a shock people are proud of where they are from everywhere.

Yet at the same time you have the biggest attitude of me and them. Where apparently you are superior in every single way.

It would be interesting to see how great you really are. From here you sound like a narcissist with an ego based on your belief of being better "than most".

Only a narcissist with "blinkers on" wouldn't see how nice people are here compared to other cities and the nice scenery here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Imo the city center is becoming one of the least nice parts of Cork. I know its had a fair bit of development over the last few years, but its become this bizarre stratification of boom time upmarket areas like opera lane without any character, the more traditional streets are slowly loosing interesting shops.

At the same time I would say its on a par with most cities of its size around the UK and Ireland, probably nicer than places in the midlands in the UK.

The real strength in living in Cork is being able to visit the outlying towns and attractions, and the quality of food in the area is brilliant.

I think for the best quality of life you would want to aim for a house in the nicer suburbs and a car for travelling during the weekend.