Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Eric Eoin Marques Extradition (Freedom Hosting) - See Mod warning in first post

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

So by that rationale, any hosting provider anywhere in the world whose services an American citizen uses to commit a crime is suddenly subject to US law themselves? Surely it's the American citizen who uses the service who falls under the jurisdiction of the US?

Presumably the charges will be conspiracy or something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Mod:

Mod warning now inserted in first post.

Apologies if this appears awkward. It is not intended to stifle discussion. It is asked that posters will consider their words more carefully in discussing people and companies who have not been convicted. These people and companies should be regarded as innocent until proved guilty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

apologies The Mustard i thought i had phrased it better than i did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Beano wrote: »
    apologies The Mustard i thought i had phrased it better than i did.

Apologies, that remark wasn't directed at you or at anyone in particular on the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,339 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

EazyD wrote: »

I wonder how the appeal will go, think the Gardaí are letting away a golden ticket in handing him to the FBI
    The judge also looks like a hypocrite. http://theantimedia.org/cassius-methyl-ireland-refuses-extradite-man-inhumane-us-prison-system/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

I wonder how the appeal will go, think the Gardaí are letting away a golden ticket in handing him to the FBI
    The judge also looks like a hypocrite. http://theantimedia.org/cassius-methyl-ireland-refuses-extradite-man-inhumane-us-prison-system/

A golden ticket to what? The three lads that did a computer building course at FAS that are AGS's computer forensics bureau, or what ever its called, being put another three years behind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

A golden ticket to what? The three lads that did a computer building course at FAS that are AGS's computer forensics bureau, or what ever its called, being put another three years behind?

Do you know the lads personally? I've met one of the senior analysts and he's way beyond FÁS. They're understaffed alright but to insult them personally as you have is very disrespectful.

It was supposed to be tougune is cheek. However it's not insulting to suggest that the Irish authorities do not have anything approaching the level of technical expertise or man power to even approach handling this case. Very few countries do.

Furthermore why would we want to? Chasing down a load of perverts sharing pictures/movies online? Resources are much better spent else where.

It was supposed to be tougune is cheek. However it's not insulting to suggest that the Irish authorities do not have anything approaching the level of technical expertise or man power to even approach handling this case. Very few countries do.

Furthermore why would we want to? Chasing down a load of perverts sharing pictures/movies online? Resources are much better spent else where.

Considering our history and our still love of all things kiddie related we more than any country should be world leaders in catching the film makers.
    How many movie markers have we caught, finally get a guy that can help do serious damage to the culprits and we ship him off to rot in a box in a desert in America. He needs to be here and he needs to work with the Gardaí, maybe even on a wage.

Considering our history and our still love of all things kiddie related we more than any country should be world leaders in catching the film makers.
    How many movie markers have we caught, finally get a guy that can help do serious damage to the culprits and we ship him off to rot in a box in a desert in America. He needs to be here and he needs to work with the Gardaí, maybe even on a wage.

I understand the sentiment but he was a hoster, that was all. The websites themselves have already been compromised. He's done more to catch pedophiles (inadvertently) already than Ireland ever will by making people think they were safe on TOR. Ireland hasn't even a fraction of the resources or expertise to deal with something like this. We'd be like someone's country bumkin cousin getting in the way potentially compromising agencies that have years of work and tens of millions invested in this.

The one thing I'll give the guards on this - they know to stay away from it and stick to cracking passwords and encryption on pedophiles and terrorists that are reported to us bu the like of the FBI and probably NSA and GCHQ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Maybe he should have set himself up as a corporation. They seem to have more rights in situations such as this to get away with the exact same stuff and charging a fee for their services too.

If this guy goes down we have a lot of US execs visiting ireland that we can indict for the same crime....

aphex™ wrote: »
    Maybe he should have set himself up as a corporation. They seem to have more rights in situations such as this to get away with the exact same stuff and charging a fee for their services too.

If this guy goes down we have a lot of US execs visiting ireland that we can indict for the same crime....

He was a LTD as far as I know, that's why I don't get how they can do this to an Irish registered director.
    If we're going to hang the host, should we not be taking the ceo of Eircom as well for proving the pipe to him..
    If this was a drugs case, everyone would be arrested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Shep_Dog

If this was a drugs case, everyone would be arrested.
    Indeed: From RTE news
    A former Eircom worker and a film technician have admitted being involved in an online global drug-dealing operation, described as "a new era in drug dealing".....
    The Dublin Circuit Criminal Court was told that Mr Mannion admitted being in charge of the operation, while O’Connor packaged and posted the drugs to the UK, the US, Australia, Germany, Italy, Poland, Thailand, Brazil, Belgium and Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 JTPB

http://m.rte.ie/news/2016/0621/797187-eric-eoin-marques/

I don't see anything else about this on Google news except for the Sunday World..... News blackout?

"It was an Irish judge who "called out" the US on Article 3 solitary confinement issues in the extradition case known as 'Damache', Mr O'Higgins said.", says the RTE report above.

........ that wouldn't be the same Judge in both cases, Aileen Donnelly, would it?

Of course Judges will have their reasons for their decisions in extradition cases, the " ratio dedicendi" as it is called, but I feel sure that "Legal Eagles" would likely have an interest in proceedings.

JTPB wrote: »

Maybe not quite a news blackout.
    The Irish Times is the next to give us some information.

"The Director of Public Prosecutions cannot have a “blanket policy” of not giving reasons for their decisions without making it clear why she has done so, according to lawyers for the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission."

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/director-of-public-prosecutions-challenged-for-not-explaining-decision-1.2696927

Still, the news coverage seems minimalistic, considering that he is alleged by FBI to be the largest facilitator of child pornography on the planet.

I can't help getting this feeling that "they" don't "us" to know much about what's really going on.

The Philip Cairns case (or the Eamonn Cooke issue, depending on which way you look at it ) got wall-to-wall coverage just very recently...... Duh.

Again as I said in my previous posts, "Legal Eagles" would likely be interested (in such matters as "Ultra Vires", Jurisdiction, etc....... I am no Professional, I just had a First year Third Level exposure to Law as part of a syllabus).

The FBI has gotten into hot water recently in relation to how they infiltrated TOR. I doubt the coverage of this is within the means of 99% of Irish 'journalists' to be completely frank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Shep_Dog

The FBI has gotten into hot water recently in relation to how they infiltrated TOR. I doubt the coverage of this is within the means of 99% of Irish 'journalists' to be completely frank.
    Ironically, Ireland has much more a 'laissez-faire' attitude to the collection of digital evidence. Unlike the US we have state-mandated bulk collection of all citizens phone and Internet meta-data and a generous attitude by the judiciary towards unconstitutionally-obtained evidence.

Any update on this case? Did he go to usa?

Still another appeal in the High court pending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

His sentence hearing has been put back to June. He agreed a plea deal with the prosecutor but the judge rejected it.

https://www.irishcentral.com/news/eric-eoin-marques-plea-deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

27 years from Maryland Court (his time in custody here counts as part of it)

Irishman, 'one of world's largest facilitators' of Child abuse images, jailed for 27 years in US (thejournal.ie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail