Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi hijacker/ never talk ill of the dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Tbh, and I know people have their opinions and thats fine and perfectly normal, but a young man is dead from a tragic accident.
    I would say think of the grieving family and friends of his and any bad thoughts you may have for whatever reason, keep it in your head, its a horrible thing for anyone to go through.
    Opinions are all well and good, but where a death is concerned like this, there best kept quiet if they are anything but decent, for the sake of the family/friends at least.

I know of this young man who died, and I can honestly say he wasnt a scumbag as people are saying here, and believe me I have no problem calling anyone a scanger/scumbag when I can see that they are from their actions towards myself etc no matter who they are, but I never once had any reason to see him as that.

He made a a major mistake, a very very tragic one, and now he has past, dont see why he deserves to be slated like this imho.

The deceased's brother was on the journal last night defending him
    From the journal I was able to access the brothers Facebook page, and from there the page belonging to the deceased
    He put education down as "mountjoy" he was a drug addict (that had apparently been clean for a week or two)
    His page is not that of a "misguided" nice young fella, this was a lad with a string of previous convictions who was not long out of prison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

His red 2010-registered Chevrolet Epica got just 700 metres before it smashed into a lock bridge close to the National Convention Centre.It is believed that the driver lost control after hitting a speed bump while driving up the quays the wrong way.

I guess the deceased won't be a role model for his child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

Poor lads RIP, If only this tragedy could have been prevented :(

Ohhh hang on....just read the background story :P:D:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Ilik Urgee wrote: »
    No winners there unfortunately. Best thing is at least they didn't kill any innocents.

We're all winners at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭OCorcrainn

I never talk ill of the dead.

Unless they are scumbags, and this fellow fits the profile of being a scumbag.

And the child is going to grow up without a role model to emulate. In this case, it is perhaps a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭truebluesac

RIP karma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Good.

Knew a friendly, middle aged fella who used to do taxi runs in my town before some scummers put a knife to his face, rope around his neck, stole everything off him, left him in the middle of nowhere, and then burnt out his car.

He never went back to the taxi runs after that, understandibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭truebluesac

We're all winners at the end of the day.

Well not really . Our insurances will be hit . The family will get a widow and orphans contribution , quiet possibly get buryied by the state .

Oh oh oh and dont forget all thoes lost taxes hed pay with his dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭thetl

(Never talk ill of the dead) f##k them they had a choice.The victims of these low life scumbags don't, I just hope that taxi driver they hijacked has a speedy recovery and that he will be able to return to work .Save your tears for the people that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I read the first person's brother's comments. He insists his brother didn't steal the car and it is made up by the media!

Can I imagine his friend threaten the taxi driver and then called for him to get in? Possible alright. Could something similar while his friend doing it while he was in the car. Again possible.

How the brother knows this would be questionable. His brother didn't tell him, I doubt the guy who just died told him. The remaining alive guy could have.

Still hanging out with friends who would steal a car at knife point is not something many people would do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I've no problem talking ill of the dead, no point being hypocritical about it.

If somebody was a c*** when they were alive, then there's no reason not to call them a c*** when they're dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Wow, that article really does not help things at all - just makes me have even less sympathy for him than I did before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    I read the first person's brother's comments. He insists his brother didn't steal the car and it is made up by the media!

Can I imagine his friend threaten the taxi driver and then called for him to get in? Possible alright. Could something similar while his friend doing it while he was in the car. Again possible.

How the brother knows this would be questionable. His brother didn't tell him, I doubt the guy who just died told him. The remaining alive guy could have.

Still hanging out with friends who would steal a car at knife point is not something many people would do.

so the dead guys brother is claiming the taxi driver is a liar ?? and the cops knew internal affairs were after them :rolleyes:

2 dead, its a tragedy yes, but I'm not going to mourn them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭arse..biscuits

What would Meat Loaf say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Wish i had a crystal ball to see which crimes are NOT going to be committed because of the death of these two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I can see paradise by the dashboard light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Im not saying ignore it if thats what your thinking etc, but there is no point in slating someone whos gone now - I think hes suffered tbh - Im not saying put on any type of fake niceness if you dont mean it but just keep your opinions to you if yourself, for the sake of the family/friends if nothing else.

Theres a lot more point in slating him with the truth than bull****ting about how loving and caring he is. If it was my car id say **** him, so its no different just becaise he happened to pick someone else at random.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,191 ✭✭✭trashcan

I would do anything for love, but I won't do that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Two out of three aint bad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

mikom wrote: »
    I'm saying nothing.

Is everyone with a bolt of lightning in their hair a scumbag or something?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2 joe_bloggs_

The two dead guys just got a whole lot tougher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

ALiasEX wrote: »

No. But he had two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Is that a rhetorical question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,689 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

kneemos wrote: »
    I don't understand how people get off on calling a recently dead young man who they know nothing about every name under the sun,scummy carry on in my opinion.

Personally, I like to call people who hijack cars at knifepoint scumbags, whether he died afterwards or not is irrelevant. Ergo, this hijacker was a ****ing scumbag.
    I know of this young man who died, and I can honestly say he wasnt a scumbag as people are saying here

Wasn't a scumbag? He hijacked a taxi at knifepoint, he is by definition a scumbag.

Meanwhile, in other news....

Stuff that matters to non scumbags happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

Shame he managed to breed before he was killed.

endacl wrote: »
    No. But he had two.

http://www.reichslieder.com/0947_ss_runes.jpg

Shame he managed to breed before he was killed.

A shame on two levels. That also means he's ineligible for a Darwin Award. The circumstances around the crash would have made him a shoe-in.

Anyway, we're avoiding the real tragedy here.

Was the taxi a write off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I wouldn't judge someone for stealing what they need. Times are rough, people aren't perfect....if someone steals food or money to go and buy bread for their family....well, it's not right and I wouldn't encourage it - but I wouldn't judge someone for doing it.

But if you resort to violence, and worse, a weapon....putting someone's life at risk....then you are a scumbag. There are plenty of cars you can steal, hell, you can make a decent living just stealing bicycles - when nobody is around. Without hurting anyone, without causing psychological damage to anyone.

I honestly believe Ireland, and everyone in it, would be better off if all three of them died. As it is, I'm sure the tax payers will be stuck with the hospital bill for their care, the cost of the legal proceedings, the cost of the punishment they are given and, almost certainly, we'll just sit back and wait for them to commit another crime.

Corkbah wrote: »
    so the dead guys brother is claiming the taxi driver is a liar ?? and the cops knew internal affairs were after them :rolleyes:

2 dead, its a tragedy yes, but I'm not going to mourn them

I think he is suggesting his brother didn't steal the car and one of the others did. His brother being gullible or going along with the others did seems to be his suggested defense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Have any of these fools got a facebook page I can view?.

I'd a cousin killed in a stolen car a long time ago, he was decapitated and tbh I've no problem gloating.

I'd a motorbike stolen a few years back and I wished hard that the thief would be killed on it..

**** the lot of 'em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

endacl wrote: »
    Anyway, we're avoiding the real tragedy here.

Was the taxi a write off?

Complete wreck and I mean complete wreck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

There is way too much gurrerism and crime like this hijacking going on.
    But posters might bear in mind that despite the actions of these lads, they are dead now, and they have families.
    Is it really neccessary to sneer and celebrate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭dukedalton

But posters might bear in mind that despite the actions of these lads, they are dead now, and they have families.

The families chose to come out in public, and described their loved ones character in ways many people would find objectionable. If they didn't want to hear people's thoughts, they shouldn't have talked to the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

I doubt there'd be a tenth as much vitriol and scorn if his family hadn't attempted to paint the gurrier as an angel and victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

when we used to go robbin cars we would do it in the middle of the night.we certainly wouldn't have the balls to hijack someone. and definitely wouldn't pull a knife on someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

when we used to go robbin cars we would do it in the middle of the night.we certainly wouldn't have the balls to hijack someone. and definitely wouldn't pull a knife on someone

Nice to hear they are still honest car thiefs around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    I think he is suggesting his brother didn't steal the car and one of the others did. His brother being gullible or going along with the others did seems to be his suggested defense.

that defense is a load of sh1t considering he was the driver of the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

UCDVet wrote: »
    I wouldn't judge someone for stealing what they need. Times are rough, people aren't perfect....if someone steals food or money to go and buy bread for their family....well, it's not right and I wouldn't encourage it - but I wouldn't judge someone for doing it.

But if you resort to violence, and worse, a weapon....putting someone's life at risk....then you are a scumbag. There are plenty of cars you can steal, hell, you can make a decent living just stealing bicycles - when nobody is around. Without hurting anyone, without causing psychological damage to anyone.

I honestly believe Ireland, and everyone in it, would be better off if all three of them died. As it is, I'm sure the tax payers will be stuck with the hospital bill for their care, the cost of the legal proceedings, the cost of the punishment they are given and, almost certainly, we'll just sit back and wait for them to commit another crime.

There is no such thing as a victimless crime.
    Wrong doing is wrong doing.

Why should someone who works hard for what they have excuse criminals?
    If someone stole my bike, my car or my money it would have a big impact on me.
    I am not in a position where I have shed loads of money to replace things.

We have a social welfare system that caters for these people. Inevitably, this is paid for by their victims who work and pay taxes.

It's not as if these guys were on the breadline - they could afford to go out and get hammered.
    These scumbags weren't shoplifting bread - they stole a man's livelihood for kicks, endangering other people in the process and ultimately lost their lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

One of the their facebook pages;
    for the people who i did wrong on hahaha so fuckin wat

Later on his brags of being off drugs a month and gotten himself a new job ~ the fooker was turning his pathetic life around then goes and stupidly gets himself killed like this!.

I'm actually trying to find some sympathy for him and his loved one's..

Lists his education as 'Mountjoy College of Crime'.

May he rest in peace all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I hope the poor Taxi Driver will be ok after his ordeal.

Clarehobo wrote: »

I can think of at least one.

Having a family doesn't absolve you of your crimes or behaviour. Their actions speak volumes about their actions. The family also highlighted Daniel's FB page by posting on the Journal . It doesn't do any favors for suggesting he was nice guy. He doesn't look like a meek gullible sort either.

The could have said they were ashamed of his actions and say he had a good side. Instead they are suggesting he was a nice guy which isn't believable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Have any of these fools got a facebook page I can view?.

Quote easy to find from the previous post http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=85863211&postcount=52

I ain't linking it, do the work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

One of the their facebook pages;

Later on his brags of being off drugs a month and gotten himself a new job ~ the fooker was turning his pathetic life around then goes and stupidly gets himself killed like this!.

I'm actually trying to find some sympathy for him and his loved one's..

Lists his education as 'Mountjoy College of Crime'.

May he rest in peace all the same.

May he trudge the quays as a spectre with a blunt knife and a chain for eternity to remind his buddies of the fruits of their labours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

dukedalton wrote: »
    The families chose to come out in public, and described their loved ones character in ways many people would find objectionable. If they didn't want to hear people's thoughts, they shouldn't have talked to the media.
    Dubl07 wrote: »
    I doubt there'd be a tenth as much vitriol and scorn if his family hadn't attempted to paint the gurrier as an angel and victim.

So when the tabloids came banging on their doors looking for a quote what did you expect them to say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Clarehobo wrote: »