Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaelforce West - less than 2 weeks to go...

• 06-08-2013 4:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭

It's less than two weeks to go till Gaelforce West....

I am a newbie for this type of event (have never done adventure race nor have never even walked up Croagh Patrick)
    My training has gone so so for the last number of weeks. I've been running and cycling but not getting enough hill work done. I still have no idea of target times - Sunday I ran 18k in 1.25 and could have gone out on the bike (but chose to watch the GAA instead)

I have a couple of last minute questions / thoughts, perhaps someone could help me:

1. Should I get a Camelbak and if so what type? Would plan to order online ASAP and hopefully run with it at the weekend. My race plan would be to leave it with the bike on Friday so not needing it through run 1, kayak and run 2. Does this make sense?
    2. I have bought some Nuun tablets and started taking them after exercise. Should I bring the tab and drop it in fresh to one of my bike bottles at the first bike transition? Is one tab enough in 500ml water or should I plan on taking two - one at start and end of bike 1?
    3. Still don't know whether to use my clips on the bike or buy some strap in pedals so i can leave my trail shoes on. It took me a couple of weeks last year to get used to the clips and I don't know if there is a strong preference for one over the other ( time / safety etc)

Sorry for the long post!!!
    Couple of hard runs / cycles this week and light schedule for next week - any recommendations for tapering?

• Registered Users Posts: 41 darrenoconaill

1. Most people use a Camelback or Platypus but you can get away without one. My first two years I used a Camelback but last year I changed and just brought a bum bag with bottle in it and had two more bottles on bike. It's less weight but it means you might need to fill up from the barrels of water on the course which are not the most pleasant tasting.

2. Don't know anything about Nuun tablets so can't comment on those. I prefer solid food - flapjacks and a few gels.

3. My personal preference would be to use strap pedals and leave the trail shoes on for the whole race. Will save you changing (4 times in all) and having to carry two pairs of shoes. But I've seen people using clips as well.

I would just taper as usual - reduce volume and up intensity a bit.

It's a great day out - enjoy!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

1. i wouldnt bother with the camelback, put 2 bottles on the bike, there is a water refill tank at the base of croagh patrick so you can get a drink or refill bottles if you need to, if you want the camelback for croagh patrick , again i wouldnt bother id just refill a bottle and carry it, put it in bike jersey pocket..
    2. i dont know what the proper method is but i put the hydration tablets in the bottles before the race..
    3. trail shoes and ordinary pedals all the way.. too much hopping on and off bike for me to be wearing bike shoes.. and carrying your runners will be a pain..
    its a 5 hour race , as far as im concerned i dont need to be making it any harder by carrying anything i absolutely dont need to..

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Thanks folks - didn't want to carry a backpack, and have now decided not to!

Are there any 'disposable water drinking bags' on the market? The first run is 13k and I would never take a drink in a run that long - so was thinking that I would fill a .5 litre or 1 litre 'bag' at the kayak timeout and drink it before I get through the kayak section. This would leave me with 2 bottles on the bike which I can refill as needed. make sense?

Now - where would I get one of these marvellous inventions?
    Didn't see anything on wiggle.... Have I just had a brainwave for a great new idea?

Ok, I won't be going on Dragons Den with this one.. :)
    Have spotted a Platypus reusable bag on Amazon UK for £6.99
    Anyone experience of these?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭munsterbear

I carried a Camelbak during my first Gaelforce and never again.

Now I wear a cycling top with pockets in the back. So can carry a 500ml bottle there and usually throw in a Mars bar or similar to eat while waiting on the Kayaks. Remember you are timed out at the kayaks so use the time to refill your bottle and eat something. You don't need too much as it's not a long run after the kayak.

You can leave plenty with the bike so I usually have banana & homemade flapjacks as I throw on helmet etc at bike. Two bottles on bike and they can be refilled at the bottom of Craogh Patrick. Take one up with you.

Trail runners and regular pedals are the way to go. I'd also recommend Gators if you're using road bike and make sure tyres are pumped to the max and have spare tubes.

But above all, best advice I can give is have the craic. It's a great race with banter between the competitors.

Oh before I forget, take into account you will not be starting till approx 1 & 1/2 hrs after you get bus to start line. Has huge affect on nutrition etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭fletch

Just in relation to pedals...can anybody suggest a set from wiggle/chainreaction? (I can't seem to find any with clips, maybe I'm just not searching for the right thing)

I currently have clipless pedals (Look Keos) and would like pedals with clips, (as I don't feel secure on flat pedals anymore)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_566803_langId_-1_categoryId_212405

i got these in halfords.. not online in the actual shop.. there seems to be one close to everyone, they probably have straps if you want them instead, im sure your local bike shop will have something either, cant imagine therel be much difference in price..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

fletch wrote: »
    Just in relation to pedals...can anybody suggest a set from wiggle/chainreaction? (I can't seem to find any with clips, maybe I'm just not searching for the right thing)

I currently have clipless pedals (Look Keos) and would like pedals with clips, (as I don't feel secure on flat pedals anymore)

Like Woody points out, you buy the straps and stick them on to your pedals, if your pedals can handle them. I don't think your Keos would so you're probably need pedals too, cheap ones would do.

I've used the ones in the Halfords link before and found I couldn't get much purchase on the upstroke so I got these
    http://www.evanscycles.com/products/powergrips/pedal-straps-ec005334

You're most likely to find them in a store that specialises in fixies in Ireland, I got mine in the place near Christ Church in Dublin, can't remember the name of it at the moment, but you can get your foot in good and tight.

There's plenty of similar ones out there and with fixies being so popular these days they're probably easier to get than what they were when I went looking a couple of years ago.

Thanks Munsterbear - i am following the same fluid and nutrition plan, with the exception of Fig Rolls instead of flapjacks :)

Am heading to the Edge sports to get some new pedals at the weekend. I've had the Gators for a while now (needed for my 14stone frame).

Not sure how much Craic I'll have during the race, but am defo going to try to enjoy the views!!

Is it a good idea to eat / drink on the bus out to the start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭munsterbear

JacEim wrote: »
    Thanks Munsterbear - i am following the same fluid and nutrition plan, with the exception of Fig Rolls instead of flapjacks :)

Am heading to the Edge sports to get some new pedals at the weekend. I've had the Gators for a while now (needed for my 14stone frame).

Not sure how much Craic I'll have during the race, but am defo going to try to enjoy the views!!

Is it a good idea to eat / drink on the bus out to the start?

Sip away at a bottle of water, plenty of bins at start to dump it. Nutrition is up to you. Bus is on country roads so some might find it too bumpy etc. Find out what the breakfast situation is where you are staying, and stick to what you normally have.

Love the figrolls. But my daughter makes the flapjacks so no contest haha.

Lol - if my 6 year old made flapjacks I'd probably spend most of the race in the 'jacks'.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Peterx

JacEim wrote: »
    It's less than two weeks to go till Gaelforce West....

I am a newbie for this type of event (have never done adventure race nor have never even walked up Croagh Patrick)
    My training has gone so so for the last number of weeks. I've been running and cycling but not getting enough hill work done. I still have no idea of target times - Sunday I ran 18k in 1.25 and could have gone out on the bike (but chose to watch the GAA instead)

I have a couple of last minute questions / thoughts, perhaps someone could help me:

1. Should I get a Camelbak and if so what type? Would plan to order online ASAP and hopefully run with it at the weekend. My race plan would be to leave it with the bike on Friday so not needing it through run 1, kayak and run 2. Does this make sense?
    2. I have bought some Nuun tablets and started taking them after exercise. Should I bring the tab and drop it in fresh to one of my bike bottles at the first bike transition? Is one tab enough in 500ml water or should I plan on taking two - one at start and end of bike 1?
    3. Still don't know whether to use my clips on the bike or buy some strap in pedals so i can leave my trail shoes on. It took me a couple of weeks last year to get used to the clips and I don't know if there is a strong preference for one over the other ( time / safety etc)

Sorry for the long post!!!
    Couple of hard runs / cycles this week and light schedule for next week - any recommendations for tapering?

18k at 4.43min/km pace is faster than many on the startline. No real need for a camelpack, just two 750ml bottles on your bike and take water at the transitions if available from the marshalls.
    It's no problem to drop a NUUN tablet in the bottles with the energy gunk the day before, it won't go off.
    Toe clips or pedals is a personal choice, many go with toe clips as it cuts out a lot of shoe changes and carrying of runners on the bike.

The advantages of proper bike shoes though would be a faster cycle and maybe more importantly arriving at the base of Croagh Patrick with your calves in relatively good shape. Most toe clips pedals put pressure on your calves.

At this stage though the main thing is to get a good night's sleep tonight and eat well tomorrow.
    Best of luck:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Peterx wrote: »
    18k at 4.43min/km pace is faster than many on the startline. No real need for a camelpack, just two 750ml bottles on your bike and take water at the transitions if available from the marshalls.
    It's no problem to drop a NUUN tablet in the bottles with the energy gunk the day before, it won't go off.
    Toe clips or pedals is a personal choice, many go with toe clips as it cuts out a lot of shoe changes and carrying of runners on the bike.

The advantages of proper bike shoes though would be a faster cycle and maybe more importantly arriving at the base of Croagh Patrick with your calves in relatively good shape. Most toe clips pedals put pressure on your calves.

At this stage though the main thing is to get a good night's sleep tonight and eat well tomorrow.
    Best of luck:)

Well done Peter

Gaelforce Race report:

FINISHED !!!!!!!!

First time doing any kind of tough endurance race (well I would call it tough anyway!) and as I have got some great advice here on boards I said I should put up a race report.

Friday: Registered nice and early with the kids, no queues and was done at both locations in a jiffy. Big feed of pasta in JJ O'Malleys and I was fuelled for take off. Bad night sleep, compounded by the young fella having nightmares about the big wooden eagle statue from O'Malleys that I said would eat him if he didn't behave :)
    Had everything laid out in the bathroom of hotel bedroom from night before so as not to wake the family, got ready and down for brekkie. Find it very difficult to eat at 5.30 so just had 2/3 of a bowl of porridge and grabbed a banana for the bus. I was in the 4th wave so left Westport at 6.30 (if not a little early). I took a gambel and didn't bring a jacket as I find I sweat way too much in them and just wore an old t shirt over a tri suit and cycle top. Started to get nervous on the bus, everybody looked lean, rangy and very fit (I'm 5' 11" and 14 stone still!!!)
    Get to the beach and luckily the weather improves as there is a long delay and we are waiting nearly an hour the get going.
    Anyway, we dib, and we're off. I tried to stay towards the front at the very start of the run so I didn't get caught in traffic - it doesn't bother me when people pass me out :). Had my Garmin so kept an eye on km pacing. Once we got into the first real off road stuff my left shoe came off - I hadn't tightened my shoes nearly enough. Put it back on and tightened both much better!
    Felt great on the run but was afraid of going too fast and fading later in the race. First segment time - 1' 09.27 (my garmin had it over 14k too)

2 min break to fill my Platypus collapsable bottle (worked out great for me) and have a couple of fig rolls. Paired up with fellow MV40 for the kayak and we zipped across - my added weight added much needed ballast for the rough crossing. Kayak segment time 7.35

First part of Bog run was terrible, just a crawl up the hill as the previous runners really cut it up .... that's my excuse anyway :) Rest of run was fine - bog run segment time 18.50

Onto the bike and felt great (especially with nice tailwind). Took a gel and drank my Nuun bottle. Got up Drummin hill but felt my calf tightening. Stopped at the top to put another Nuun tab in a small amount of water so got a full tab into my system very quickly (I think this was hugely beneficial). Was making rear time on the bike until I turned into the headwind going to CP. Jaysus it was torture on those bad tracks!!! First bike section 1.29.54

Dropped bike in transition and decided I wasn't going to carry a water bottle up CP (massive mistake!!!!!). I was never this close to the mountain and it scared the hell out of me. Once I got to the rocket sections I start to feel really tired and thirsty. I felt like I was going to bonk - the. I realised I had only had two gels and 3 fig rolls since the start of the race. "Borrowed" some water from a gaelforcer and a tourist (thank you so much!!!)....and then I was at the Top! From foot to summit 40.48. Some people mentioned to me that it was good that I wore my cycle helmet up the reek for safety reasons, but in fact the real reason was I forgot to take it off!

Turned right around and felt superb, decided to run down the mountain. Went by the path and flew it down (in my mind at least). Summit to bottom - 20.30

Back on bike and soon onto a grassy road. Had heard this was a rough section but so far it was easy enough and I was thinking about 4.30 finish time. Then we hit the bad stuff and I had to run / carry the bike. Eventually back on the bike and absolutely nailed it back into Westport. 4.30 was gone but 4.45 was the latest target. Back to transition and legs did not want to engage on the run. My right knee completely locked up and it took a bit of walking / jogging to loosen up (did this in the bushes so that when I was back in the final straight I was running like an Olympic champion!). Sprinted over the line and got my time - 4.42.42

Absolutely thrilled - 5.30 was my base target and under 5 hours was my aggressive target so 4.42 was beyond expectations for my first adventure race. Lots of learnings which could have given me an extra couple of minutes even yesterday - for another post.
    Thanks again for all the advice, it really made a huge difference. Now, for a good big fry up!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Peterx

Well done JacEim!

Thanks to all at Killary and Siobhan/Mona/Ciara in particular for a great race, as always.

Dessie Duffy is a beast on the bike, Aidan McMorland has become a great runner and as usual I was hoping to be better than the bikers on the run and better than the runners on the bike and better than everybody at finishing. It nearly worked too :)

The class athlete of the field was a woman though as Kate Cronin has become simply amazing in the last year or two. Emma Donlon did very well to finish so well considering her poor hip and delighted to see Anne-Marie podium with her lovely family in support.

The massive tailwind made for fast times, the absence of the fastest man in Ireland Tim O'Donoghue meant we were all racing for a win, as opposed to second ( thanks Tim! ) and it was great craic altogether.
    My secret weapon this year was my wife! Orla coming along meant we could camp at Glassilaun and I had a relatively leisurely morning and she packed up the tent and met us at the finish. The beach was lovely on friday night in the gloaming.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

My secret weapon this year was my wife! Orla coming along meant we could camp at Glassilaun and I had a relatively leisurely morning and she packed up the tent and met us at the finish. The beach was lovely on friday night in the gloaming.

I'd say she had a choice few words for you after the race. As we were making our way down to the beach for the start of our wave (3rd) I noticed a woman struggling with a tent in the wind & rain. It looked more like a kite with the way the wind was playing with it. It was hard to know if she was trying to put it up or take it down. I'd have loved to do the chivalrous thing and gone to help but my weak bladder was leading me elsewhere after that long (delayed) bus journey.

I had a tough day at the office. With remnants of a chest infection lingering I knew going into this that I wasn't fit enough to post a decent time but I was shocked at how much I struggled. Right from the outset I was huffing & puffing and found it hard to enjoy the race at all. The bike from Delphi to the Bog Road was brilliant with the tailwind but anything that required some decent effort, I struggled with. Came home in 5.46, 20mins slower than last year (initial targets on registering were sub 5). Today my quads feel like someone took a hammer to them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

5.58, 35 mins slower then last year... Im thinking that not doing any running for the last 4 months may have hurt my time not to mention left me with some very sore muscles... :D

Good craic all the same and great incentive to get back running regularly ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

5:27 for me, knocked about 30 minutes of last year's time.

Body is shattered today. Have a badly strained calf and general pain everywhere else.

Still a great day out!

Here's my report

History
    The only Adventure races I've done before this would be a Sprint Triathlon (TriAthy) last year and the Run-a-muck challenge.

Preparation & Training
    I am currently in training for the Dublin City Marathon so I had the road running pretty much covered. I cycle to work every day although it's a totally flat route so had no training for hills. The canoe section is so short that it didn't concern me so I did no specific training for that. I also did no hill/mountain walking training. When I look at it now, I probably should have done some more varied training.

Anyways, the plan was to set off early on Friday morning, get registered, drop the bikes and on to Westport for a big meal and an early night. So Thursday night, I start to set up the roof rack and bicycle carriers so I can just throw the bikes up on Friday morning and go. My friend, who I am doing the race with, only purchased his bicycle carrier a couple of days prior to the race and upon opening the box on Thursday night discovered that the carrier box had already been opened. Disaster!, there is one vital screw missing which means the carrier can't be secured to the roof racks. It's 8:30pm and the shop he bought it in is closed. Determined not to let this little hiccup phase us, we decide to be waiting at the shop door at 9am the next morning and hopefully get sorted. Not to be, the carrier isn't in stock so we have to tear across Dublin to a branch that does have one in stock. My friend, in all the panic, also managed to lock himself out of his house so that involved an emergency pitstop at his mothers workplace to pick up a spare key....things really aren't going smoothly! Anyway, eventually we're on the road, a quick lunch in Kylemore Abbey before registering in Killary and an uneventful bike drop in Delphi. We settle into our accomodation, have an early dinner in the hotel restaurant and head off to bed. Everything seems to be going to plan now...until I get a phone call from my friend. OMG we've forgotten to collect our timing dibs in Killary! It's 9pm now, I'm tired and want a good nights sleep (I've hardly slept for the last few days worrying about this race), this can't be happening. Back into the car and a race across the N59 to Killary before registration closes...phew. The superstitous among us believe bad things happen in threes and that's our third thing to go wrong today, so hopefully tomorrow will be problem free.

Race Day
    Our bus pick-up is at 6.30am but I'm awake at 4am with not a hope of falling back to sleep. It's pretty grim out and seemingly it's even worse out at Killary as the girl checking us on to the bus informs us that it is "disgusting out there". Not really what I wanted to hear! :) The bus is so stuffy and the road bouncy that the guy in front of me spews his guts everywhere. The smell is making me feel fairly nauseous now but I manage to hold everything down. There's a 30min delay to the start which upsets me a little, particularly as I've forgotten to hydrate this morning and I'm already feeling a bit parched.

First Run
    The whistle blows and we're off. With the marathon training under my belt, I expect the run to be the least of my worries. In reality it turns out to be one of the toughest stages of the day. I'm dehydrated and wasn't expecting the terrain to be so tough. Every waterfall we pass is just calling at me to take a drink from it but I resist. I arrive at the kayak stage absolutely gasping for water. A few quick gulps from the water tanks and I join the queue for the kayaks.

The Kayak
    Once in the kayak, my leg starts to cramp up. I'm starting to get really worried now, there's still so much left to do. I'm putting it down to the lack of hydration so I'm hoping the Nuun'd water on the bike will sort it out.

The Bog Run
    Out of the kayaks and across the boggy fields. Again I expected this short running stage to be so much easier than the reality. I arrive at Dephi never so excited to see my bike.

First Cycle
    On to the bike and wow this feels so fast. The Westerly wind is pushing me down the road, my kilometrely beep from the Garmin is sounding at a much more frequent rate now. I take the time to devour a few 4:1 bars, High5 gels, the nuun'd water and generally just enjoy the fairly spectacular scenery as the sun makes a welcome appearance. I reach the top of Sheffry Pass with relative ease, drifting past a guy on a tri bike, me on my flat-bar commuter. :) My friend is really starting to struggle now and holding me back but we've agreed to stay together until the summit of the reek. I spend the next 10/15km coasting along, barely pedalling, looking back to make sure I haven't lost him. We turn off the N59 and into the strong head-wind. My friend starts to cramp up and we have to make a stop for him to stretch. The road goes from bad to worse and eventually I decide to push on and wait at the bottom of Croagh Patrick for him.

Croagh Patrick
    I'm just refilling my water at the base camp when I hear cyclists shouting that there has been a crash further back and there are men down. My heart sinks. The rescue team scramble. I hang around for about 5 minutes, hoping my friend isn't involved. I've already dibbed so this is eating into my summit time, selfish thoughts I know! I ask the marshals can they find out the name of the people involved but they tell me there is no point in me hanging around, that I can't travel in the ambulance even if it is my friend that is injured. They keep urging me to head up the mountain and complete my race. Eventually, it seems like the sensible thing to do, so I head up alone. I've now a renewed energy as I just want to get back to Westport as quick as possible to make sure my friend isn't seriously injured. I pass a lot of people on the ascent, reaching the summit in 37mins (including the 5 or so minutes hanging around at the base) and turn straight around for the descent. As I'm descending (terrified of heights so staring at the ground), I hear someone call my name...it's my friend and he's alive and well! :) The relief! A quick chat and we both go in opposite directions.

The Final Cycle
    24mins from summit to base, I struggle to find my bike for 30 seconds or so and then I'm back on the road. I go as hard as I can now on the bike and really enjoy it (after holding back previously waiting for my friend) Once again, I'm surprised with just how bad the road surface is, it's easily the worst yet. Down the hill and there isn't another cyclist in sight. I'm wondering have I taken a wrong turn just as I spot the red arrows. Phew!

The Final Run
    Around the Quay and off the bike....I think I'm finished. I'm carefully placing my bike on the ground when I spot some guys sprinting off out towards the coast. Oh no...I start to jog and my muscles don't want to co-operate. A couple of strides later and they're loosened up again and I soon cross the finish line.

My target was a 6hr finish time, so I'm content with my 5hr 12min result (albeit slightly disappointed as I know I could have went below 5hrs). There's always next year :)

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭former

Well I have the 6 hour monkey off my back, so I'm happy about that (5:54)!

At the same time, I don't feel as fit as last year. I found it tough going.

I'm hoping GFW will help towards a better performance in Achill.

I enjoyed the night out in Westport - must drink less in Achill - yea likely story! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Insidious

I found it brilliant.. It's an awesome course to race on! This was my first full Adventure race.. I did the sprint version of Gaelforce North as training. I think Errigal is a harder climb..... I had a target time of 6 hours and was well on track heading for a 5 hours 50 finish.. but got a puncture 4 km from the end. Sickened! I lost so much time changing the tube because the valves on my new ones were too short.. A kind bystander got me going again. Thanks! I clocked in at 6 hours 4 mins. I'm coming back next year to smash that time! ;-) Seriously though.. I have huge respect for anyone that completes that course.. It's a real test of both mental and physical endurance.... Hopefully they will hire a different bus company though.. Our bus missed the turn and made us late for our wave.. At that stage we didn't know anything about the other bus drivers making such a mess of things... The organizers must have been pulling their hair out!!

48 hours later and am still in Westport enjoying family hols. My right knee tightened up considerably on Saturday evening and got worse yesterday. After getting expert medical advice from the interweb it looks like I have strained my medial knee ligament. I am able to bend my knee pretty well but find it difficult to stretch fully and it comes and goes, sometimes i can walk normally, other times i have to limp along. Am going to spend lots of time in the pool this week with the kids and loosening up the leg. I hope to be back to light running / cycling by the end of the week. (Any experts out there on medial injuries?

Have to say well done to every single competitor in the race, there were 1500 winners on Saturday as this is a genuine test of endurance. I would even think that those who are spending 7-8 hours out on the course are to be nearly more admired than the winners - this must take a huge physical and emotional toll on a person!!!

Anyway, need to set myself a new target, and am thinking of the Killarney Adventure race. Anyone complete both, and if so what are the comparisons / differences between them?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Does anyone know who the photographer was that was hanging around the finish area. He took a photo of our group for us. I thought he was part of the official photographers for Gaelforce but it seems he was there working for someone else and I've no idea how to find him. Any help is greatly appreciated :)

A group of 10 of us did this for the first time this year. Our times ranged from 4:15 to ~8hours and every one of us had a blast. Even with the range of times we all hit the same walls (the cycle up to Croagh Patrick was a killer) and enjoyed the same views. We all waited for each other at the finish line. Such a great buzz coming in to Westport on the bike and getting to that line :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Officer Giggles

This was my first event of any kind to enter so going by the website I was hoping to do it in the average time of 6 and a half hours, got in at 7hrs 10mins. Was happy to get over the line after a few mishaps.

The bus company were a joke, I went in the last wave which was supposed to leave the beach at 9am. As 9am approached my bus was in letterfrack touring around giving the competitors views they didn't expect to be seeing. The driver skidded the bus around bends a number of times and left the road momentarily on one occasion almost crashing into a drain. When the bus eventually arrived back at the turnoff to bring us to the beach we demanded that the driver stop as we feared for our safety. The steward on point duty then took over and drove the bus to the drop off. It was absolutely ridiculous carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Waylander79

Well done JacEim!

Thanks to all at Killary and Siobhan/Mona/Ciara in particular for a great race, as always.

Dessie Duffy is a beast on the bike, Aidan McMorland has become a great runner and as usual I was hoping to be better than the bikers on the run and better than the runners on the bike and better than everybody at finishing. It nearly worked too :)

The class athlete of the field was a woman though as Kate Cronin has become simply amazing in the last year or two. Emma Donlon did very well to finish so well considering her poor hip and delighted to see Anne-Marie podium with her lovely family in support.

The massive tailwind made for fast times, the absence of the fastest man in Ireland Tim O'Donoghue meant we were all racing for a win, as opposed to second ( thanks Tim! ) and it was great craic altogether.

Have to agree 100% with Peter that the outstanding athlete from the event was Kate Cronin. I trained with a tri club this year to prepare for GFW and we have some of the strongest female triathletes in the country training with us and I just can't get over how strong she is and how effortless she makes it look. Well able to mix it with the lads on the run and on the bike.

Well done to all the first timers especially, there's so much variation in terrain in that race that it's a tough one to do for the first time. I found my second year that just the knowledge I had of the course allowed me to knock chunks of time off. And one thing that GFW has that a lot of events don't is that the course gives and it takes away. There are times when you're really struggling against yourself and against the course but there are also times when you feel like you're flying along and you're king of the course! Some events tend to be a struggle all the way to the finish line!

My love affair with GFW continues, my fifth time doing it. Have progressed each year from 750th or so in 2009 to 12th last Saturday despite a mistake on the kayak and on the reek costing me a couple of places. Now I'm struggling with the decision do I make all the sacrifices required again this year to try and improve again or do I take 12th place and frame it!!!

With that level of improvement you know there is only one answer to that question - at least a top 10 finish next year!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 254 ✭✭Excuseless

Some improvement indeed that Waylander79 :D
    Would be rude not to try to continue the trend next year.

Race Report of happenings up at the front of the pack HERE

Some super performances out there for sure - Adian Mc Moreland savage on the mountain, PeterX executing a great race plan well until unluckily puncturing when looking set for another win and Kate Cronin beating all bar 15 of the lads :)!

Onwards now to the next Series race at Achill ROAR on Sept 7th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Waylander79

Excuseless wrote: »
    Some improvement indeed that Waylander79 :D
    Would be rude not to try to continue the trend next year.

Race Report of happenings up at the front of the pack HERE

Some super performances out there for sure - Adian Mc Moreland savage on the mountain, PeterX executing a great race plan well until unluckily puncturing when looking set for another win and Kate Cronin beating all bar 15 of the lads :)!

Onwards now to the next Series race at Achill ROAR on Sept 7th

It's be rude alright I spose! Maybe next year I can finally get past Excuseless!! Thought I was ahead of you on the Reek this year only to change my mind on my route up and ended up going too high up and had to come back down to find the path. Ended up tucked in right behind you on the climb up the cone but you had the legs on me at that stage so you powered ahead for a much better finish! I'm off for 2 weeks hols now so I'll miss Achill ROAR but it's on my list for next year. Might give Killarney a blast if I don't do the dog on it on hols.

I'm actually entered for The Race in Donegal in February so if that doesn't kill me no doubt I'll give GFW another go. Have to try and integrate my training into my life better though or else I'll be single as well as broke!

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Insidious

It's be rude alright I spose! Maybe next year I can finally get past Excuseless!! Thought I was ahead of you on the Reek this year only to change my mind on my route up and ended up going too high up and had to come back down to find the path. Ended up tucked in right behind you on the climb up the cone but you had the legs on me at that stage so you powered ahead for a much better finish! I'm off for 2 weeks hols now so I'll miss Achill ROAR but it's on my list for next year. Might give Killarney a blast if I don't do the dog on it on hols.

I'm actually entered for The Race in Donegal in February so if that doesn't kill me no doubt I'll give GFW another go. Have to try and integrate my training into my life better though or else I'll be single as well as broke!

Whats the race in Donegal?? I'm interested... ;-)