Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Hurling Final 2013 - Clare Vs Cork (Megathread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭cowlick

Still not sorted for tickets, very very disappointed, my girls play camogie so not a member of the local hurling club, wonder if anymore tickets coming? Glued to clare fm for any updates!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

cowlick wrote: »
    Still not sorted for tickets, very very disappointed, my girls play camogie so not a member of the local hurling club, wonder if anymore tickets coming? Glued to clare fm for any updates!!!

Is the camogie club not affiliated to a hurling club? I play camogie myself as does my eldest but our club is a duel club covering hurling/football/camogie with a sister club for ladies football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭cowlick

angelfire9 wrote: »
    Is the camogie club not affiliated to a hurling club? I play camogie myself as does my eldest but our club is a duel club covering hurling/football/camogie with a sister club for ladies football

No I don't think it is, I was asking one of the girls over the club and she said they'd be getting nothing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

Slightly off topic but can any recommend somewhere decent for breakfast in Dublin on Sunday morning. We would hope to be parked up by 10 30 or 11 on the Northside of city so 'if anyone knows of anywhere good please post. ....

We were in the Kingfisher on Parnell St on the morning of the Limerick game 3 weeks ago. Very busy but well worth the wait. Does one of the tastiest fry-ups you could ever wish for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

So I find myself in Kilkee and am looking for somewhere that'll be great craic to watch the match tomorrow. I'll be heading home after which takes me by Ennis so I can hit up a spot in there instead if you locals recommend it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

So I find myself in Kilkee and am looking for somewhere that'll be great craic to watch the match tomorrow. I'll be heading home after which takes me by Ennis so I can hit up a spot in there instead if you locals recommend it.

There's a big screen in Abbey Street Car Park tomorrow, if it's fine weather I'd imagine that'll be the closest you'll get to being there without being there :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

No sleep tonight!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Nerves are kicking in, I had the pleasure of spending a couple of hours with some of the players today, I can honestly say that I'm more nervous that they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I couldnt couldnt go the allireland final in 1995. we are from a big family and we only got 5 tickets and i was number 6 on the list. I was only a kid. so my mam brought the table into the sitting room, my aunt, mother younger brother and I had a party while watching the game. We all crammed into the opel ascona (8people in total) being in dunnes for the home coming. it was amazing. the banner raised tape was broken from watching it. I remember fergal hergarty and jack boothman visiting our primary school with Liam, the excitement was unreal. Saving 2pounds for the heavily county board subsidised hurleys hitting anything ball shaped.

we all went to Limerick in 1996- the excitement and the disappointment that followed.

1997 my personal favourite. Having uncles and aunts from Tipp and enduring their wind ups only to forever have the reply "you can have all you titles but we still beat ye twice in the one championship."

My dad always brought us to everything - my older brothers through the bad times of the 80s and early 90s. and the younger members of my family for the good times of the mid 90s and the bit of drought in between. I still do not know how my parents paid for all the trips and tickets. I am forever grateful.

It personally meant alot for me to be able get a golden ticket for my dad now in his 70s, just after having the veins done but gunning for road.

The buzz around the county is unreal. Clarecastle as always with great retro flags and window paintings. I went for a stroll around Ennis yesterday- bunting everywhere, windows painted, people rushing to pick up last minute caps, flags and jerseys... stuck the head inside the door of tom o donnells and elverys, one worker looked exhausted- the rest realising 40 people in the shop looking for age 4-5 jerseys and only xl and xxl left and the panic that will follow- just like Christmas.

I'm excited but I am more excited for the people attending a Final for the first time- my students - my nephew sean and my lovely wife Emma -Hoping it will be as amazing for them as the mid 90s was for me.

The Clare team have already done us proud getting there- everything from here is a bonus. Play well. let the new era begin.

COME ON THE BANNER.

Great post KollegeKnight.

Clareman wrote: »
    There's a big screen in Abbey Street Car Park tomorrow, if it's fine weather I'd imagine that'll be the closest you'll get to being there without being there :)

Thanks for that, I heard the same from a few locals there a few minutes ago. I'll be there lending ye my support, come on the banner :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭999/112

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

Our 20K "BIG Screen" !!

dmv7d0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    It's tiny, I hope that thing isn't going to cost €20,000 :mad:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

Here's the discussion thread for the final over in the GAA forum if anyone is interested

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057019698

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

MrsD007 wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    It's tiny, I hope that thing isn't going to cost €20,000 :mad:

They'd want to get rid of the cars as well to see it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

wasnt too bad in the end, terrible picture quality off it from a wee distance, but the craic was mighty, good afternoon in the car park :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

There was so much security about I just went to Brandons watched it on the couch cos I couldn't be arsed smuggling cans in.

Some match. My nerves were shot after. We played a stormer all the same so I think we've reason to be optimistic about the replay. Cork were a shambles. They just had more goal chances and played phenomenally well in the instances where they had possession. Keepers on both sides played a blinder as well.

Thank god they let it run (and the last Cork ball went wide) or I'd have been a very unhappy camper. Fair on balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Worztron

It seems the ref allowed optimum extra time for Clare to equalise. What's the deal with the phantom extra half minute?

Mitch Hedberg: "Rice is great if you're really hungry and want to eat two thousand of something."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Worztron wrote: »
    It seems the ref allowed optimum extra time for Clare to equalise. What's the deal with the phantom extra half minute?

To make up for the 2 frees that cork got scores from in the first half where clare players were actually fouled.

The screen in the car park was pretty poor as you couldn't read the score or time in the top left. They were showing the score separately after each score but my brain just could not retain anything.

There was a lot of families and young children about and security did a good job in keeping things as they should.

Worztron wrote: »

Over a minute was taken up by Cork taking sideline balls during extra time alone, the amount of extra time being played is just an indicator and not a "hard stop", it also needs to take into account stoppages during the injury time as well.

The screen was very poor quality - it had the resolution of an old Nokia phone. You couldn't make out the score or time, you couldn't see the HD in the RTE Two HD logo, and worst of all you could only see the sliothar when the camera was on individual players, every shot/goal could only be seen by the ripple of the net or the raising of a flag. Sure, for commentary and say live video of a concert it'd be grand but for hurling it was really, really poor.

The atmosphere was great; the last few minutes the place was like a library it was so quiet and when the equaliser went over ye celebrated like ye'd won :D Security were grand, lots and lots of kids and families about and a lovely day over all. Best of luck in the replay, though I'll not be in Ennis for it ;)

Took Literally forever to get home yesterday. Ten to 1 I hit my bed in west clare. We had to park at the stadium for my dad so that was nearly 2hours.

Unbelieveable is all I have to say. If I had one, my pacemaker would need new batteries.

My aussie wife is not used to finals- AFL grand finals are too expensive- you select your team. she is used to rugby international games where if you loose, its dissappointing. In the last few years, since she moved to ireland has been attending matches with me and she was so buzzed. She is still ranting about it.

My nephew and students are all buzzed.

Proud of clare...always

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

For anyone who is interested, Clare FM have podcasts of Syl's All Ireland commentary on their website.

They also have an interview with Davy, John Cooke interviewed him this morning for his Morning Focus programme.

http://www.clare.fm/music/Sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭melonstar

I came back from Oz for this game and am so happy I did. What a day!! My dad is from Kilkenny and I'm used to going to finals with him. I'm glad I got my day out after the last few years! I'm delighted with these young lads that are here. The skill and passion in them is unbelievable. I am so happy and proud to be from Clare. The way they came back after every goal showed some amount of courage. Many other teams would just throw in the towel. It's a huge testament to Davy and all the lads that have been putting in great work at underage over the last 5 years or so. We have a great hurling future ahead of us.
    Unfortunately I won't be here for the replay but ill celebrate in style in Melbourne :)

I just got a facebook page pointing out that Clare supporters looked outnumbered on the TV for the match, I would say it was 50/50, maybe even a slightly larger Clare crowd, but because of all the different colours Clare supporters were wearing it didn't look as good on TV.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Wear-the-Colours

Clareman wrote: »
    I just got a facebook page pointing out that Clare supporters looked outnumbered on the TV for the match, I would say it was 50/50, maybe even a slightly larger Clare crowd, but because of all the different colours Clare supporters were wearing it didn't look as good on TV.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Wear-the-Colours

Link broken?

No way clare man. We were seriously outnumbered. I was in Quinns and only 5 corkonians... Thinking to myself we would out number 2:1. In the stadium... I felt 'twas a sea of red.

Maybe it could be that most cork fans were wearing red and we had every variation of gear. (I for 1 was wearing A white clare tee shirt but face painted) but I do think we were outnumbered.

Any millionaire out there wiling to sponsor the little clare flags similar to the ones they out at Munster games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

I was in the Big Tree and totally out numbered. My aunt was at the match and also said we were out numbered and was wondering about the ticket allocation.

Can't wait for the replay. Such an amazing game :)

Tis my 30th the tuesday before the replay. So hotel room booked for the Saturday and going to stay above- avoid the mental traffic on the way down.

We came home the Galway road and were in Gort in 3 hours. Only small bit of traffic in gort and loughrea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Too late to be coming home. Hotel booked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

i'm not a GAA man so forgive for asking but.....isn't playing under floodlights going to have a major factor on this game??..will the slitor not be impossible to see with the floodlights glare?? or are modern day hurlers use to it??

They train under flood lights on a regular basis due to work commitments. But I stil wouldn't be a fan of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭relaxed

Is there extra time or a replay if its a draw?

Extra time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭finbarrk

philstar wrote: »
    i'm not a GAA man so forgive for asking but.....isn't playing under floodlights going to have a major factor on this game??..will the slitor not be impossible to see with the floodlights glare?? or are modern day hurlers use to it??
    The U 21 final was under lights last year. It was a 7pm throw in. The Clare lads are used to it anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

No way clare man. We were seriously outnumbered. I was in Quinns and only 5 corkonians... Thinking to myself we would out number 2:1. In the stadium... I felt 'twas a sea of red.

Maybe it could be that most cork fans were wearing red and we had every variation of gear. (I for 1 was wearing A white clare tee shirt but face painted) but I do think we were outnumbered.

Any millionaire out there wiling to sponsor the little clare flags similar to the ones they out at Munster games.

I think the variation of Clare gear colours is easily drowned out by red. I wore a navy long sleeved o'Neills Clare top over my yellow jersey at the match because I was cold. I'm definitely going head to toe yellow if I (hopefully) get a ticket for the replay.

I'm the same was wearing my club gear which is navy and yellow
    Won't be making that mistake again!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

relaxed wrote: »
    Is there extra time or a replay if its a draw?
    Extra time.

and if its still even steven what then?? penalities??

> has there ever been a penalty shoot out in a gaa match before??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

would never have the same appeal as soccer one aganst 3 just dose'nt have the same ring to it.

no the gaa just keep going with replay after replay until the players are burned out and the fans flat broke!!

they use it in football here in clare though for lesser compitions at the start of the season!!

It goes to another replay. Technically extra time at the end of a match is a new game as well, so if a team has a player sent off during the normal game they can bring on a sub in their place, teams also have more subs to bring on.

As mentioned, some pre-season competitions or competitions that have to finish by a certain time, will have some kind of "Skills Competition" to decide the winner, but that wouldn't be in place for national competitions.

I have a premium hurling ticket for swap only for a football premium ticket. Any interest?

Mods I also have this post in the GAA forum too. If im not allowed to double post can you delete and apologies.

Olympic Gold medalist, World Champion and world record holder at 800m David Rudisha in a clare jersey

http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-news/pic-yes-thats-david-rudisha-in-a-clare-gaa-jersey-with-his-olympic-gold-medal/

272256.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭babygirlz

Not so much of a buzz around town, hopefull it will pick up.
    Hopefully getting my ticket in the morning.

babygirlz wrote: »
    Not so much of a buzz around town, hopefull it will pick up.
    Hopefully getting my ticket in the morning.

didnt think the tickets would be released until the weekend or the middle of next week? but yeah very little buzz anywhere at the moment!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭babygirlz

didnt think the tickets would be released until the weekend or the middle of next week? but yeah very little buzz anywhere at the moment!!

Well the person getting my tickets just text me the section and row so he must have them, unless the players get them earlier, his brother plays on the team.

babygirlz wrote: »
    Well the person getting my tickets just text me the section and row so he must have them, unless the players get them earlier, his brother plays on the team.

ya they would have first preference to tickets the rest will start floating around the place later next week,

if his brother happens to be from the same town as yourself tell him i hope he gets a run the next day ..... we could do with a goalscorer ;););)

The first people to get the tickets are the county boards, they'll look after their own people first (this included players), then the tickets are given to the clubs who look after their members. AFAIK the county boards got their tickets yesterday for distribution by this weekend, because the game is on a Saturday and there is less "structured" distribution cause of the fact it's a replay there'll be more tickets available earlier.