Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Batman v Superman *spoilers from post 2434*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

I wonder how many times that will be used in the future justice league threads as a reason why people didn't like those films :D

The sad thing is that I wouldn't be surprised if WB and DC go with a new design or a less well known design of Darkseid just to avoid the comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Ben Gadot wrote: »
    Even though the article didn't outright state it I detest the implication that Darkseid is a rip off of Thanos.

Darkseid came before Thanos! :mad::mad::pac:

It doesn't imply that at all, in fairness.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

Thanos design was inspired by Darkseid. The creator of Thanos was trying to do something similar to Jack Kirby's New Gods and initially had Thanos designed like Metrod who was far smaller and skinnier but his editor basically told him "if you are going to rip off the New Gods, at least rip off the best one!" and thus the Thanos we know was created :p

In that article it says that the creature Lex is communicating with is presumed to be Darkseid. If thats Darkseid and thats how Zack "I'm a complete f**king hack and crap director" Snyder sees him and makes him Im going to fly to America, find that absolute snot stain and beat the f**k out of him. Sometimes especially arrogant, slimey little turds only understand violence and I have no issue with being the one to do that. Hes SOOOOOOOO the wrong person to be going anywhere near DC, but hey, lets remake Ghostbusters and Total Recall and Robocop and whats that? The Presidents a Duck?! Rob Schneider de derp de derp de diddly derpy derpy dum.

I think it boils down to stupid people liking watered down sh*t versions which are easy to digest compared to their original material. If you have to think about it you might not understand it and that might mean you are stupid which makes you unhappy but if someone is there to water down and label that really hard thing for you, you can lap it up and pretend you aren't stupid and actually have taste.

oh and Snyder is Michael Bays little brother who takes himself too seriously. At least Michael Bay knows he makes big dumb films for big dumb people, Snyder doesn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Wonder Woman movie has changed from June 23, 2017 to June 02, 2017

THR reports two more, 'Untitled' DCEU films are slated for Oct. 5, 2018 and Nov. 1, 2019. The studio has also secured the date of Oct. 6, 2017 for an Untitled WB Event film. Here's an updated list of the current DCEU release schedule.

DCEU Film Slate:
    Summer 2016 - Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice Extended Ultimate Edition
    August 05, 2016 - Suicide Squad

June 02, 2017 - Wonder Woman
    November 17, 2017 - Justice League Part One

March 23, 2018 - The Flash
    July 27, 2018 - Aquaman
    October 05, 2018 - Untitled DC Film

June 14, 2019 - Justice League Part Two
    November 01, 2019 - Untitled DC Film

April 03, 2020 - Cyborg
    June 19, 2020 - Green Lantern Corps

Hopefully one of those is the rumoured Ben Affleck directed Batman film

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

June 14, 2019 - Justice League Part Two November 01, 2019 - Untitled DC Film

I looked it up on imdb and supposedly the Rock's Shazam film is scheduled for 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,984 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

A lot of people have speculated that the character in the deleted scene is actually Yuga Khan, Darkseid's father.

communion-yuga-khan-1.jpg?w=720

latest?cb=20111219145432

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

Steppenwolf is the other option

proving that Zack Snyder knows f-all about the style of Kirby's work and couldn't actually give a sh*t about it other than a little ego trip of his

It doesn't imply that at all, in fairness.

I saw it as an irrelevant comparison that wasn't required.

That doesn't mean it implied that Darkseid was a rip off of Thanos.

Why make the comparison at all? Instead of actually explaining who Darkseid is they basically said that he's DC's version of Thanos. It's lazy and more importantly misleading.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,084 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Wonder Woman movie has changed from June 23, 2017 to June 02, 2017

THR reports two more, 'Untitled' DCEU films are slated for Oct. 5, 2018 and Nov. 1, 2019. The studio has also secured the date of Oct. 6, 2017 for an Untitled WB Event film. Here's an updated list of the current DCEU release schedule.

DCEU Film Slate:
    Summer 2016 - Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice Extended Ultimate Edition
    August 05, 2016 - Suicide Squad

June 02, 2017 - Wonder Woman
    November 17, 2017 - Justice League Part One

March 23, 2018 - The Flash
    July 27, 2018 - Aquaman
    October 05, 2018 - Untitled DC Film

June 14, 2019 - Justice League Part Two
    November 01, 2019 - Untitled DC Film

April 03, 2020 - Cyborg
    June 19, 2020 - Green Lantern Corps

Hopefully one of those is the rumoured Ben Affleck directed Batman film

I know its a different franchise but I am a bit sad we aren't going to get to see the Levitt Batman/Robin character

Why make the comparison at all? Instead of actually explaining who Darkseid is they basically said that he's DC's version of Thanos. It's lazy and more importantly misleading.

Lazy, sure. Misleading; not so much. It's pretty much how everyone explains everything though.

Quicksilver? He's like Marvel's version of The Flash.
    Sonic? He's like Sega's version of Mario.
    Hot dogs? They're like America's version of sausage rolls.
    Boyzone? They're like Ireland's version of Take That.

But whether you agree with it or not, it's overly dramatic to say they were implying Darkseid is a Thanos rip-off. Maybe you inferred that from it but it definitely wasn't implied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,414 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I think the main point of the Darkseid/Thanos comparison was more to make the "overarching alien insanely-powerful bad guy of the films" comparison rather than which came first in the comics. People who've seen the MCU films know Thanos. The comparison is just saying Darkseid is to DCEU what Thanos is to the MCU.

Penn wrote: »
    I think the main point of the Darkseid/Thanos comparison was more to make the "overarching alien insanely-powerful bad guy of the films" comparison rather than which came first in the comics. People who've seen the MCU films know Thanos. The comparison is just saying Darkseid is to DCEU what Thanos is to the MCU.

Exactly this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Thanos with the infinity gauntlet wrecks Darkseid though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,615 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

I wonder how they are going to fit Batman into the finale fights in the JL? He was pretty useless and just stood on the sidelines in BvS. It can work in the comics of course, but to do it in film and make it believable is another matter. One flick from someone like Darkseid or Doomsday and he's flat out dead. The disparity in strength between him the other hero's is far too great for it to work, unless they go down the road of having the team fight an army of pawns like in the MCU. But I'm sure they'll make it up as they go along with aload of conveniences as to how he ends up competing with the other hero's

I know its a different franchise but I am a bit sad we aren't going to get to see the Levitt Batman/Robin character

It's not the same as seeing it, but I'll tell you how it goes; JG Levitt's John Blake gets hospitalised on his first night out as new Batman/Robin. After several weeks in a medically-induced coma, he is brought out of it but his injuries are just too much and he dies during a cardiac arrest. Christian Bale's Bruce Wayne comes back from Florence when he suddenly realises 'WTF was I doing? I just got a decent young lad killed'. He resumes his Batman career, forever torn that he will be the one who has to carry the Bat burden despite his ideal that any man can wear the mask, and his longing for a 'normal' life beyond it. They aren't long back in Gotham before Anne Hathaway's Catwoman gets bored and slips back into her old ways. By this time Bruce has his hands full with the Joker who has finally sprung from Arkham...

That is the only way that goes, and one of several problems for me with TDKR. Never mind how Blake knew Batman's secret identity because Bruce Wayne gave him the secret orphan look years before, but how Blake could take up the Bat-mantle and actually make a go of it doesn't wash with me.

We saw in this movie how Blake was unable to handle himself in a group fight. We saw in Batman Begins how a younger Bruce Wayne wasn't able to handle himself in a group altercation with the scene where he confronts Falcone in the bar down the Narrows. However, Bruce then left Gotham to educate himself and train himself towards being someone who could deal with criminals. He did this for years culminating in his training with Ra's Al Ghul and the League of Shadows. Only then was he able to not only create the Batman persona, but more importantly have the power to do such a thing and be the man behind it. Physical strength is one thing, drive and motivation is another, but let's not forget that Bruce Wayne is a billionaire so financial strength was just as important for all of Batman's arsenal and gadgets.

John Blake had none of these things. At the end of TDKR, he is a cave-diver. Between him getting his ass kicked in TDKR by a group of Bane's henchmen, and him graduating to BatRobin at the end of the movie, there was nothing in between that would convince me that he wouldn't get fatally injured on his first night out on duty. In the same series of movies that showed us just what it took for Bruce Wayne to become Batman and the sacrifices involved, and did it well, it then expected us to believe that none of this mattered when it came to John Blake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I wonder how they are going to fit Batman into the finale fights in the JL? He was pretty useless and just stood on the sidelines in BvS. It can work in the comics of course, but to do it in film and make it believable is another matter. One flick from someone like Darkseid or Doomsday and he's flat out dead. The disparity in strength between him the other hero's is far too great for it to work, unless they go down the road of having the team fight an army of pawns like in the MCU. But I'm sure they'll make it up as they go along with aload of conveniences as to how he ends up competing with the other hero's
    I think it would be a better idea to ave him more in the background of sorts (which his age would help for) - using his technology, intelligence and detective skills to play a less physically active but still very important role. It's really the only realistic fit for him I can see, re. the points you mentioned above. Equipping some of the other heroes with the stuff that makes Batman, well... Batman, could be pretty cool.

That said, who here is willing to take a bet that Zack Snyder won't be able to resist the urge for another cheesy 80s guitar riffs as Batman unexpectedly holds his own, or whatever.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,654 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Just on the Thanos / Darkseid debate, Jim Starlin admitted to modelling Thanos from Darkseid.

faceman wrote: »
    Just on the Thanos / Darkseid debate, Jim Starlin admitted to modelling Thanos from Darkseid.

Ah, he pretty much ripped him off entirely like! Thanos > Darkseid though so fcuk it!

Pretty decent movie fights covering both the good and bad of BvS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

I've only just watched the deleted scene. Having already put the cave troll from the Fellowship of the Ring in there as Doomsday, why is the Balrog from the same movie in there too?!

Pretty decent movie fights covering both the good and bad of BvS.

Fair play to all those lads, great points and passionately made. We need more of this type of analysis than the endless amount of attention seeking pushing-my-gimmick type of reviews I've seen linked on YouTube.

I have to say about the lad from epic meal time, I thought I'd hate him and his critism of the movie but he was actually ok.

I didn't agree with most of his points especially the bit about kids not being able to see this, but he made his points and didn't try to push that opinion onto others.

I honestly thought he'd be one of those that thinks they are making a better argument because they are shouting louder than everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭conorhal

Wow that was a staggeringly bad movie. I hate plots that make no sense, and Zuckerberg Luthor's plan was brainless.

So the entire plot revolves around framing Superman for murder, why anybody would possibly imagine that Superman would ever need or use a gun to kill people is beyond me, why was there a senate hearings hulabalo about Superman 'murdering' a bunch of hired guns working for a terrorist when all he did was save the Americans the bother of a drone strike? Why would Luthor give these hired guns ammo that was so specialised that it could be traced directly to him is another mystery, as is the sub-plot with him looking for an import licence for Kryptonite and then just smuggling it into the country anyway.
    Then Luthor's plan goes from the ridiculous to utterly retarded when he decides that Superman is so dangerous that he'll create something ten times more dangerous to kill him. There seemed zero reason to do that and the only reason I can imagine it was done was to provide a threat big enough for Batman to bury his feud with Superman and team up with him.

Worst of all the entire film was an exceptionally dull two and a half trailer and setup for the Justice League film with endless cameos and nods to future properties that meant the entire plot revolved around setting up the next movie, something that has come to really bug me about the Marvel films also. All these films have become little more them franchise product with nothing approaching a coherent story or characters with any kind of credible motivation. What a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

382799.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭SteM

What's the point in comparing the weekly box office take for a movie that has just been released against a movie that has been on release for a few weeks?

It's to analyse the film's legs in comparison to other films within the genre, but it's beating a dead horse at this stage.

Also, clickbait websites will flog this film for as long as they can.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,566 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I saw it without spoilers or having read any reviews in full. For the first 50 minutes or so I was largely with it, though it wears the Sept 11th thing on its sleeve pretty heavily. One of the complaints I think I heard was 'it's just a bunch of scenes' and that probably applies to the early part of the film. They could have easily trimmed it down and started from when the guy paints the 'false God' graffiti rather than going from Batman's parents, again. That said, I didn't find the pacing of the second hour too bad. The aesthetic is there from the death of Wayne's parents and you know what you're going to get on the disaster front, but it generally feels pretty pointless. Considering the talent on board, director aside, it should have been a lot more interesting. A battle of wits, not who thumps the hardest - the set up of how that comes about wasn't terribly riveting. Batman's state of mind seemed under-explored. But hey, it's a superhero film, stop complaining!

Affleck - good
    Gadot - good
    Eisenberg - tedious, dead air, weightless
    Holly Hunter as the moral question, etc - script detail for sake of it
    Car and aerial chase sequences felt messy
    Soundtrack - same as MoS, didn't notice anything new
    Humour - lacking, I think maybe 4 laughs

Less of a film, more so Zac Snyder's day long masturbation project.

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭ps3lover

Less of a film, more so Zac Snyder's day long masturbation project.

I thought that was Sucker Punch!

It's to analyse the film's legs in comparison to other films within the genre, but it's beating a dead horse at this stage.

Also, clickbait websites will flog this film for as long as they can.

But The Boss isn't even in the same genre!? There is no comparison to be made.

Finally got around to watching this and rather liked it, yes it's over long, it's a bit all over the place and it's a film in need to of better writer and a tighter edit. But compares to the what Marvel put it, it's a masterpiece. Even at it's worst, at least BvS has it's own unique look and style, it's esthetically rather different from MoS which makes for a nice change of pace when you consider that the Marvel universe has the look of a mid 90s day time soap, and not one of the fancier ones.

A lot of people are getting hung up on Lex and his plan. It's clear from the out that he's bat **** crazy and as such you can't judge his actions like you would a rational human being. If you accept that he's a megalomaniac psychopath then his plan to force a God to bend to his will and then slay that God isn't all that out there.

The dream sequences are also getting a lot of criticism but I don't think they are dreams so much as they are fragments of a future that may be. The Flash showing up at the end of one kind of hammers that point home. It'll be interesting to see how it all plays out but I can't be the only one hoping for a post apocalyptic entry in the series. The idea of Superman as an all powerful dictator is fun, though I'm one of those comic book fans who likes adaptations that actually do something different and aren't slavishly loyal to the source material. I like that Superman isn't a complete boyscout and that Batman uses a gun. Batman has been my hero since I was 3 and I liked what they did with the character. They showed his broken a man he had become, a man disillusioned by the world and who went against all he believed in as the world turned him cruel. The entire film is about Batman's redemption, he's seen the pit and became the evil but it's through seeing the humanity displayed by an alien that he finds his soul again, so to speak.

There's a lot more I'll say about the film but it's late and sleep is needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

SteM wrote: »
    What's the point in comparing the weekly box office take for a movie that has just been released against a movie that has been on release for a few weeks?
    Agreed, that being said, the idea that Warner can be at all happy with how it's panning out is crazy. The onslaught against the negative reviews seemed to give them so much extra attention that even the people I knew who were going on opening day were a bit embarrassed about it. The word of mouth effect following on from the opening weekend was quite lacking too.
    I'd be quite worried if Justice League doesn't get delayed by a few months, film could be a total mess if it's got some panicked execs meddling with it while it's being shot.

We are at a point now with these major event releases where the marketing campaigns and hype leading into the release combined with the rise in advance ticket sales all but guarantees record breaking opening weekends and the like. The second weekend is becoming the real telling point, with absolutely no opposition it dropped at a rate comparable to some of the least successful blockbuster films released in the peak of the summer.
    The only reason the Boss (a film geared towards people who'd likely have f*ck all interest in BvS anyway) is the biggest film coming out this week is because studios actively avoided putting anything too near the big BvS release, it was pretty much a given that BvS would own two or three weeks. The projections before release were assuming that it'd still be hoovering up a couple million per week up to memorial day.

Agreed, that being said, the idea that Warner can be at all happy with how it's panning out is crazy. The onslaught against the negative reviews seemed to give them so much extra attention that even the people I knew who were going on opening day were a bit embarrassed about it. The word of mouth effect following on from the opening weekend was quite lacking too.
    I'd be quite worried if Justice League doesn't get delayed by a few months, film could be a total mess if it's got some panicked execs meddling with it while it's being shot.

We are at a point now with these major event releases where the marketing campaigns and hype leading into the release combined with the rise in advance ticket sales all but guarantees record breaking opening weekends and the like. The second weekend is becoming the real telling point, with absolutely no opposition it dropped at a rate comparable to some of the least successful blockbuster films released in the peak of the summer.
    The only reason the Boss (a film geared towards people who'd likely have f*ck all interest in BvS anyway) is the biggest film coming out this week is because studios actively avoided putting anything too near the big BvS release, it was pretty much a given that BvS would own two or three weeks. The projections before release were assuming that it'd still be hoovering up a couple million per week up to memorial day.

I agree with pretty much all of this. Also, there seems to be a level of spin going around about BvS. I guess it's being pushed by the WB marketing dept.

Pieces like this

http://comicbook.com/dc/2016/04/10/batman-v-superman-passes-deadpool-guardians-of-the-galaxy-at-the/

The piece is essentially boasting that his movie has beat Deadpool, The Amazing Spider-Man & Guardians of the Galaxy at the box office.

We guess what, it's a movie starring the 3 most recognisable comic book heroes EVER, pop culture icons. It should have wiped the floor with all 3 above movies (a reboot no one wanted and 2 movies based on characters only book readers would really know). It shouldn't have even been in question, but the movie got such bad word of mouth that a lot of people who planned to see it in the second or third weekend held off. This should have one of those movies that people were desperate to see a second time. The people that I know that went a second time went to see if they were missing something the first time around that would improve the movie for them. I don't see how keeping the same director and introducing 3 extra super heroes will help the Justice League movies be any more coherent than BvS.

Very OT I know but I'm watching The Death of "Superman Lives": What Happened?

Really enjoyable doc, makes me wonder how how anything coherent gets made in Hollywood.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭splashthecash

Really enjoyable doc, makes me wonder how how anything coherent gets made in Hollywood.

I've been meaning to watch that - looks great and makes us all realise just how close we came to actually having Nic Cage as Superman.....<shudders>

• Registered Users Posts: 897 ✭✭✭NyOmnishambles

It is a real eye opener alright and makes me more sympathetic when a movie turns out bad but you can see that it has been dicked around by the studio
    I've been meaning to watch that - looks great and makes us all realise just how close we came to actually having Nic Cage as Superman.....<shudders>

Having watched it they had some fantastic ideas for the movie but studio interference killed the creative process and Cage's take on Superman could have been decent

I agree with pretty much all of this. Also, there seems to be a level of spin going around about BvS. I guess it's being pushed by the WB marketing dept.

Pieces like this

http://comicbook.com/dc/2016/04/10/batman-v-superman-passes-deadpool-guardians-of-the-galaxy-at-the/

The piece is essentially boasting that his movie has beat Deadpool, The Amazing Spider-Man & Guardians of the Galaxy at the box office.

We guess what, it's a movie starring the 3 most recognisable comic book heroes EVER, pop culture icons. It should have wiped the floor with all 3 above movies (a reboot no one wanted and 2 movies based on characters only book readers would really know). It shouldn't have even been in question, but the movie got such bad word of mouth that a lot of people who planned to see it in the second or third weekend held off. This should have one of those movies that people were desperate to see a second time. The people that I know that went a second time went to see if they were missing something the first time around that would improve the movie for them. I don't see how keeping the same director and introducing 3 extra super heroes will help the Justice League movies be any more coherent than BvS.

They can't be happy that Deadpool, an R rated 2D movie, is outgrossing BvS in America, That's embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,481 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

ps3lover wrote: »
    They can't be happy that Deadpool, an R rated 2D movie, is outgrossing BvS in America, That's embarrassing.

I don't see how that, specifically, would be embarassing - Deadpool has done amazingly well everywhere - better than most movies. If Deadpool had done poor/average at the box office then not beating it would be embarrassing, but that simply isn't the case. Deadpool has been a HUGE success.

Deadpool is technically out grossing BvS but that's only because it's been on release for two months at this stage and BvS will bypass it over the coming week or so. At the minute the worldwide box-office for BvS is outguessing Deadpool and BvS worldwide take will no doubt add a few more hundred million or so over the coming weeks.

I don't see how that, specifically, would be embarassing - Deadpool has done amazingly well everywhere - better than most movies. If Deadpool had done poor/average at the box office then not beating it would be embarrassing, but that simply isn't the case. Deadpool has been a HUGE success.

Aye but Batman and Superman are the biggest superheroes on the planet. A movie with just one of them should have easily wiped the floor with a movie starring Deadpool - a character that was completely unheard of by most of the movie-going public until the ads started last year. In the face of that, a movie starring both Batman and Superman should, on paper, have been set to be the biggest superhero movie of all time.

The fact that the relatively unknown superhero Deadpool was so successful (especially in terms of its budget:profit ratio) while the two heavy-hitters couldn't generate enough to leave it in the dust (again, especially in terms of its budget:profit ratio) should definitely be a source of embarrassment for WB/DC.

Side-note: Fox should also be quite embarrassed by the success of Deadpool compared to the success of their X-Men franchise to date. Fortunately for them, it's a pretty good thing to be embarrassed about in a way too...

Deadpool is technically out grossing BvS but that's only because it's been on release for two months at this stage and BvS will bypass it over the coming week or so.

That's not going to happen, the drops on BvS are too big, it will never catch up. It's going to be even worse this weekend when The Jungle Book comes out.

Also I doubt it will make another couple of hundred million worldwide, again, the drops are too big, it suffered about 75% drops in a lot of country's.
    After its opening weekend the figures looked like 1 billion was a done deal but now it may not even hit $900 million. Which isn't great for a movie like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,571 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Aye but Batman and Superman are the biggest superheroes on the planet. A movie with just one of them should have easily wiped the floor with a movie starring Deadpool - a character that was completely unheard of by most of the movie-going public until the ads started last year. In the face of that, a movie starring both Batman and Superman should, on paper, have been set to be the biggest superhero movie of all time.

The fact that the relatively unknown superhero Deadpool was so successful (especially in terms of its budget:profit ratio) while the two heavy-hitters couldn't generate enough to leave it in the dust (again, especially in terms of its budget:profit ratio) should definitely be a source of embarrassment for WB/DC.

Side-note: Fox should also be quite embarrassed by the success of Deadpool compared to the success of their X-Men franchise to date. Fortunately for them, it's a pretty good thing to be embarrassed about in a way too...

If fox are to be embarrassed by anything, surely it would be the fantastic 4.

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    If fox are to be embarrassed by anything, surely it would be the fantastic 4.

I think they're past the point of embarrassment over that turd...

ps3lover wrote: »
    That's not going to happen, the drops on BvS are too big, it will never catch up. It's going to be even worse this weekend when The Jungle Book comes out.

Also I doubt it will make another couple of hundred million worldwide, again, the drops are too big, it suffered about 75% drops in a lot of country's.
    After its opening weekend the figures looked like 1 billion was a done deal but now it may not even hit $900 million. Which isn't great for a movie like this.

It's already out gross Deadpool world wide. Deadpool world wide take is $756,808,880 and BvS is currently at $783,485,542. Now there is the whole production and budget side of things to be taken into account but BvS is well on it's way to making a lot more, plus the real money for BvS isn't in theaters but in merchandising. The biggest problem with BvS is that much of the audience won't get to see it, most parents I know aren't taking their kids to see the film as it's too dark and violent and as such many aren't going themselves. Batman V Superman has done close to $800m worldwide in two weeks which is damn impressive by anyones standard, especially so when you consider how many people wanted the film to fail. The constant comparisons to Deadpool are just ridiculous and equating the success of Deadpool with it's R rating even more so. Deadpool is one of those exceptions to the rule, an anomaly and it's great that it did so well but that hardly makes it a good film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

Studios collect significantly more from the US box office than they do from just about any other country in the world.

That kind of drop off week by week and the strong rep it immediately gained for not being kid friendly will have damaged merch sales in a big way. I was reading one article there yesterday (Forbes, I think), where it outlined in a pretty convincing manner how BvS has an uphill battle to bring in the same kind of money to WB that Man of Steel did three years ago and the expected drop off in merch was a big part of it (apparently releasing this early into blockbuster season isn't a great move for merchandising either, which I guess helps explain how the first quarter has remained such a void for major releases in general).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

The thing is though, Deadpool is a bit of a long distance punt from their exact arch rivals (DC), it's somewhat akin to Read Madrid being beaten by Barcelona's youth team squad. And in that sense, it is highly embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,571 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Billy86 wrote: »
    The thing is though, Deadpool is a bit of a long distance punt from their exact arch rivals (DC), it's somewhat akin to Read Madrid being beaten by Barcelona's youth team squad. And in that sense, it is highly embarrassing.

I think the runaway success of Deadpool is akin to Leicester's City run in the league this year and Batman v Superman is kinda like Utd (if they had been top at any stage and faded away, I coulld have said Aresnal because there is a similarity in the subsequent drop off of both after a stellar start but Arsenal aren't a big enough name to be an anaology for batman and superman).

And that's enough of the football

I don't get the whole "the film isn't kid friendly" thing, my little brother who is 8 saw it opening weekend and loved it. All he wanted to do was come up to visit me and go see it again. There's a lot of adult content there but this is a film for 12 year old boys and it's a shame that so many won't get to experience it on the big screen. The dark tone of the film reminded me a little of all those great 80s films I grew up on, those films where death was often central to the plot. There was a similar out-lash against The Good Dinosaur with a lot of opinions pieces on how it was too dark for kids and I know plenty of people who didn't take their kids, which is a damn shame given just how good a film it is. There is nothing in Batman V Superman that is too adult, yes it explored adult themes and issues but so does a lot of great kids cinema.