Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Europa League Thread 2014/2015

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

If we win tonight and the other match ends in a draw, then we will guarantee qualification tonight. :D :cool:

still wanna win every game though, winning is a good habit ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Bad Ade has travelled and may start, but should definitely get some game time. Townsend, Walker and Paulinho are the only senior players left behind.

Starting XI - Lloris, Naughton, Vertonghen (c), Chiriches, Fryers, Lennon, Dembele, Eriksen, Sandro, Lamela, Defoe
    Subs - Friedel, Dawson, Holtby, Chadli, Sigurdsson, Adebayor, Soldado

Strong first team and bench, though hopefully the majority of the bench will not be used. Very interested in seeing whether Lamela can impose himself. He's been looking for a chance to impress so let's see how hard he's been working.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭DubPerryman

Does anyone else think that Adebayor coming on would be refreshing, he'd be great for holding up the ball/linking the play with the likes of Lamela and Eriksen. He'd just need runners to go beyond him when he drops to link the play - "third man running" it's called in the game.

It's a simple scenario which can be worked on in training. Eriksen has the ball midfield, plays it up to Ade who holds it up plays it back to Eriksen, then Eriksen plays it on to the 'third man' Lamela or Lennon, whoever gets in behind. I think Ade is more suited to this than Soldado or Defoe.

Definitely - plus, Ade is excellent at bringing the ball to the wing or corner and dragging a couple of players with him, which should free up Eriksen and others in the middle, assuming Ade can get a pass to him. It would be great if he came back hungry though.

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭curraghyid

Is the game on the box ???

• Registered Users Posts: 6,910 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

curraghyid wrote: »
    Is the game on the box ???

ITV4

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Rob094

Lovely bit of skill from Vlad, nice assist from Erikson :)

Vlad! Focking awesome defending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭White Heart Loon

Wow, awesome defending by Chiriches

• Registered Users Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

setanta sports ireland for UPC users

...well done vlad for keeping his concentration there ..so far so good

Surprisingly good game, Sheriff not afraid to attack and much the better team at the moment.

lennon should do way better in a 1 v 1 with goalie....esp on his strong foot

• Registered Users Posts: 13,753 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Brutal defending, lucky he was just offside.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

we look wide open at the back every time they attack, think we are very lucky to be leading

same again we should be 2-1 down already.....too casual at times,,daws on for fryers

• Registered Users Posts: 345 ✭✭curraghyid

We are playing too high a defensive line against a team breaking from deep, and they are good at it,

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Left Back on the Bench

anyone else's setanta very jumpy?

This shítty high defensive line will never work....ever
    These should be 3 or 4 up, absolute disgraceful performance. Be lucky to go in 1 up.

anyone else's setanta very jumpy?

my setanta is fine....

shame the diabolical tatics are ruining my night,

high line go take a hike,,,,tonights not the night for it..these lads obviously have done their homework & know our worse weaknesses

I want to see Ade, Defoe offers nothing, not a team player. He's even started shooting from outside the box

Im far from Ades biggest fan but I wouldnt mind seeing him on after 60mins..Id fancy him to nick a goal V this crowd

Aye get Ade on, should be raring to go. Looks like the entire team are on prozac.

great tackle sandro saved the day....

chadli on for lamela....

Sheriff look banjacked, Lamela had another terrific game.

unlucky lennon
    looking lik its gonna take a deflection or an og for us to score again

AVB must still be punishing Ade otherwise he would of been brought on much, much earlier.

Great goal Mr Defoe

Oh, big deflection

I take that back, great goal by Defoe