Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you like/loathe about the US compared to home (Ireland)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

I don't live in the US but there are a couple of things I love/hate about the US as a frequent visitor

Love
    • The Wals....Walmart & Walgreens
    • Affordability (relative) of eating out
    • Price of petrol (again relative)
    • Car pool lanes
    • Turning Right on Red

Not so keen on
    • The tipping culture, why not pay people a proper wage
    • Tax added on to the displayed price rather than being included
    • Formality - Sir, Ma'am etc
    • Sometime fake niceness
    • Food portion size

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Warehouse Apartment? You mean where people renovate warehouses into apartments?

No. Warehousing refers to the illegal action of landlords limiting supply by keeping portions of their housing off the market. So they might have a building with let's say 20 apartments, but block off five of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

Bad:
    4 way stops actually drive me demented. They're grand on busy city roads but in rural areas it's basically a random stop sign on an otherwise straight road that forces you to come to a complete stop from 40 or 50 mph even though there's no traffic for a 10 miles. There's often no white line to mark stop signs either! They need to embrace roundabouts over here, maybe not quite to the extent as at home but I'm sure there's a happy medium.

Old people working jobs at McDonalds and gas stations and stuff is crazy, I still can't wrap my head around it. Even people I know here think it's terrible that very old people have to work like that.

Unions over here are pretty bad too, I understand they are there to protect the employees but in a lot of cases they've gone too far and they are dragging companies down or worse, wasting tax payer money with unrealistic expectations. The problem is that there are not very many rules governing basic benefits for employees, there's not even a mandatory lunch break requirement in an 8hr day!

Tax not on the price you see is really annoying. I also think it kind of highlights the disconnect between regular people and the government, it's pretty much there as a way to say 'look what the big bad government is taking from you' and in that sense I guess it works, imagine if every receipt at home at the VAT itemised.

They really work you to the bone over here, long hours and not very much time off, this is one of the major things pushing me to leave a job that is otherwise is pretty much perfect for me.

Politics, the whole polarised society, that really isn't as bad as it appears once you dive into it, it's just that people in the middle are forced to pick a side. It's a problem of a broken political system IMO and I (along with many of my American peers) hope the 2 party system eventually gets changed.

The price of third level education.

Good:
    Seasons: Solid hard Winter (although it can drag a bit when it's still snowing on St. Patrick's Day), Summer and Autumn, I'm actually excited for the beginning of Autumn, it's my favourite time of year :)

Turn on red is a great idea, unfortunately a lot of people don't bother with the whole stopping first before you turn which makes it really hard for pedestrians. Only this morning walking to work I almost got hit twice by people turning on red, they're ruining it for the rest of us!!

I do like that the tax system is broken down such that the tax take for a specific type of tax/fee is used to pay for a specific service.

National Parks, one of the few Government organisations worthy of the funding they aren't receiving due to the sequester.

NPR

Weather, this is kind of covered in seasons but it's worth mentioning twice.

I'm sure there's more good things...

• Registered Users Posts: 42 duck_77

1 note: The price before tax (with it added on) is due to the various state/county/city taxes that can be applied and the companies can maintain a standard price in the USA.

For example, Hawaii has a sales tax of 5% but almost 10% in CA, makes it easier for all companies to have a single set of prices (and ads etc) to market.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

duck_77 wrote: »
    1 note: The price before tax (with it added on) is due to the various state/county/city taxes that can be applied and the companies can maintain a standard price in the USA.

For example, Hawaii has a sales tax of 5% but almost 10% in CA, makes it easier for all companies to have a single set of prices (and ads etc) to market.

But its also the posted prices in local shops for local produce that dont include tax so you walk into a shop and see an item on the shelf with a certain price and when you take it to the register to pay its suddenly 10% more expensive.

Dives me nuts even after twenty years here.

• Registered Users Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Gandhi

I actually love that taxes are itemized out. I'm convinced that is the main reason that sales taxes are so low in the States, and that there is no national sales tax whatsoever.

A few years back the government (can't remember if it was just Pennsylvania or the whole country) wanted to stop the cell phone companies from itemizing out the taxes in their bills as people were grumbling about the taxes on them. The phone companies kicked up a stink and the government backed down immediately.

Portion sizes continue to amaze me. I neither love them nor hate them - they just fascinate me. Even after 17 years here, it still blows my mind when I order the "extra small" of anything and get more food than an entire village would consume in a week in most of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭iusedtoknow

spideog7 wrote: »
    Bad:
    4 way stops actually drive me demented. They're grand on busy city roads but in rural areas it's basically a random stop sign on an otherwise straight road that forces you to come to a complete stop from 40 or 50 mph even though there's no traffic for a 10 miles.

I have grown used to these, especially in our neighbourhood as it keeps traffic moving well ( a grid). However there is no pattern, you can drive 4 blocks and no stop sign (East/West have priority), then suddenly 2 blocks of 4 ways - that does my nut in....
    Old people working jobs at McDonalds and gas stations and stuff is crazy, I still can't wrap my head around it. Even people I know here think it's terrible that very old people have to work like that

I agree, what is even worse is that one of the baggers at our local supermarket has not 2 but 3 jobs...she's 72 and deserves better at her age
    Unions over here are pretty bad too, I understand they are there to protect the employees but in a lot of cases they've gone too far and they are dragging companies down or worse, wasting tax payer money with unrealistic expectations. The problem is that there are not very many rules governing basic benefits for employees, there's not even a mandatory lunch break requirement in an 8hr day!

I agree with the concept of unions, however the BART strike here was horrific for the region, which is why the governor stepped in and forced them into talks and made the strikes impossible to happen. The union knew they had a good barganning chip, but over played it and lost the support of the people.

They really work you to the bone over here, long hours and not very much time off, this is one of the major things pushing me to leave a job that is otherwise is pretty much perfect for me.

Agreed, though I am OK - i get 18 days vacation on top of a christmas break and all the federals. My working days are pretty long, and the sucky thing is my wife gets 10 days a year and works erratic shifts (doctor) so we can't really plan time away.
    Politics, the whole polarised society, that really isn't as bad as it appears once you dive into it, it's just that people in the middle are forced to pick a side. It's a problem of a broken political system IMO and I (along with many of my American peers) hope the 2 party system eventually gets changed.

Pretty lucky here in SF, very liberal (thank god!) but even whenever I go to texas or indy for work, i like the fact that even if you do hold very diverse political opinions, people are still at the very least polite. Also, I have found not discussing politics unless you at know the persons middle name is usually a good rule of thumb here :)
    NPR

Yes! especially This american with life...with Ira Glas

I'm sure there's more good things...

This as well

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭GenericName

I'm Irish but lived in a few developing countries for the last years before arrivig in the US so like anyone from a country where electronics or luxury items are 300% taxed, I shopped! Lots of choice, cheap generally and even cheaper if you are a member of Costco, Sam's Club etc. Indulging the inner consumer is gooood.

Second thing I did was buy a Corvette Z06. I'm paid well but not a multi-millionaire. Every day is a piece of theatre.. this sort of experience just wouldn't be remotely available to me in Ireland. On the topic motoring. 4-way stops are great where I am (Atlanta) as the police don't really enforce it and everyone rolls through thus making them more efficient than round-a-bouts. I wouldn't fancy them in places like NYC where they are policed with Germanic attention or in Kansas where this is zero traffic but plenty of cops looking to add to the county coffers. Right-on-red makes so much sense and I love those center lane things that you can sit until traffic clears when trying to get on or off the road.

If my family heard how easily I adapted to fake niceness they'd roll around the floor laughing. I know it's fake but can't help but feel in a good mood when indulging in some 'yeaaa :):), you toooooo'

The country is huge, so just referring to Georgia.. the weather and outdoors are simply gorgeous. 2 hours from a day on the lake, 4 hours drive from the mountains and maybe 6 to the nearest beach on the gulf coast. The genuine out-doorsy attitude ensures that there's so much to do in your free time and people make the most of it. I like the fact that a reasonable rent gets you a spacious, designer apartment with tennis courts on site, complete gym, BBQ areas and pools that fill up with the Beautiful People.

On the downside.. food is god awful. You will find every variety of ethnic restaurant but none are authentic and few even tasty. I work with guys from various places round the world and eating out in Dublin seems to produce a lot less cribbing from them.

Like everyone says, keeping a constant supply of dollar bills to satiate the tip monster is close to impossible. The constantly unkempt wallet, the internal debates over whether this specific scenario warrants a tip and.. just how much? Waiters and delivery guys. That should be it.

News channels are really just 24 hour op-eds on domestic politics targeted at people already of the same persuasion. Cheap to produce no doubt, but you can't really have a water cooler chat about the news because there is none. There's just two types of American style TV ads; acoustic jingly chintz (Apple) or humour that goes stale after the first watch (Geico). Drives you to Netflix.

I think most people here would agree that most Americans maintain a positive outlook and are genuinely friendly which is really refreshing.. but the conversation can be fairly insular. My income and property taxes, social insurance liabilities.. they're higher here than any where I've lived. The volume of entitlements and subsidies have moved the entire economy. So US really is as socialist as most of Commie Europe if not as statist in some industries. Also, I don't object to gun ownership at all, I shoot all the time.. but if by some miracle a gun amnesty took place and all the guns got handed in without civil war, there would be significantly less gun deaths. That very high cost for maintaining a personal right just needs to be accepted. Pointing out the county upstate with some archaic 'mandatory gun ownership ordinance' and the low crime rate there while ignoring the extremely high average incomes and homogeneous demographics in that county makes the argument even more farcical.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Murt10

dave2pvd wrote: »

3. Looking at (old) people working at a till in a supermarket not being allowed to sit while they are doing their job.

Where is that??

All the supermarkets that I visited have this policy. There is no chair provided at the till. Have a look the next time you visit.

Compare that with here, where I am told that the EU ordered that a chair be provided for any worker whose work could be equally well carried out by a worker sitting as standing,

I also feel sympathy for the young workers forced to stand at the tills, as they are building up health problems for the future by standing all day long.

Oh and another dislike, the method of payment for legal cases. Over there each side pays their own costs regardless of whether they win or lose. Over here, under the English system, the loser pays both sides costs.

The US system plays into the hands of people and companies with very deep pockets.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

On the downside.. food is god awful. You will find every variety of ethnic restaurant but none are authentic and few even tasty. I work with guys from various places round the world and eating out in Dublin seems to produce a lot less cribbing from them.

Get thee to Buford Hwy and areas west of Chamblee Tucker (its nicknamed Chambodia for a reason. :P ) Lots of fablis ethnic restaurants there owned and ran by peeps from Mexico, Vietnam, Korea etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

4 way stops, some people are horrible at navigating them, hate the things. You see the drivers on either side looking at each other waiting with the "no, no after you" mentality. Some states have roundabouts which is encouraging, they work better to keep things flowing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Get thee to Buford Hwy and areas west of Chamblee Tucker (its nicknamed Chambodia for a reason. :P ) Lots of fablis ethnic restaurants there owned and ran by peeps from Mexico, Vietnam, Korea etc etc.

I'm with you on that. No shortage of real ethnic food in Atlanta. Not enough Indian though.
    Pointing out the county upstate with some archaic 'mandatory gun ownership ordinance' and the low crime rate there while ignoring the extremely high average incomes and homogeneous demographics in that county makes the argument even more farcical.

Nice swipe at Kennesaw, GenericName. It's where I'm sitting at the present. Working ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,715 ✭✭✭eire4

InTheTrees wrote: »
    YOu dont like people asking for raises?

It is outrageous isn't asking for a pay raise. I mean come on the idea that they could actually earn a living wage what are they thinking;)

Being serious for a second given the US economy is based on consumption to a high degree if the fast food workers had more money in their pockets they would have more to spend elsewhere and would certainly be likely to spend a very high percentage of the extra income thus helping the economy.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭cena

Auntum like over there with the colours of the trees changing

• Registered Users Posts: 10 catreelo11

A lot of mine have already been mentioned actually, but have added a few more:

Good
    -Vast range of foods to try - sushi, Korean, new American, awesome Mexican
    -Choice of craft beers
    -Prevalence of cocktail bars with proper, tasty and strong drinks..not just yer sex on the beach and long islands!
    -Friendliness of the people. It could me where I am - San Francisco - that, as another poster mentioned, is full of transplants - but how open everyone is to meeting new people, breaking out of your social circle, saying "let's hang out sometime" and actually meaning it
    -Ability to do any number of outdoor activities within a few hours
    -The idea of having hobbies, going on trips, taking in culture/art/music/etc that's the norm. Rather than going out and getting wasted every weekend, which seems to be the only thing my friends at home do for fun.
    -Weather..duh :)
    -Service in restaurants, shops etc. With the influx of J1ers for the summer, I can almost tell off that bat if they're working someplace cos you won't get the "Good morning!" like you would from the American workers (generalising, but!)

Bad
    -Portion sizes. Feels like I will never be at my pre-US weight ever again. I used to think a grande Starbucks was big...wonder when I'll be onto the ventis :o
    -Old people working in supermarkets etc. Makes me really sad actually, to see that.
    -The bad amount of paid vacation time. I love to be at home for Christmas, so finding the time to explore the States is pretty difficult.
    -The expectation to work long hours
    -The talking shop outside of work. This isn't a universal thing, but definitely the most successful coworkers I have are those that are in work mode 24/7; if we're in a social setting with the boss, they talk of nothing else but work. Too much.
    -The difficulty in getting legal to work here
    -SF-specific, but the crazy rent and cost of living in the city. Love it too much to leave, though :)
    -I've probably been scaremongered into this by documentaries and books, but the idea of non-organic fruit/veg and of eating cheap meat bothers me. I'm also much more aware of ingredients lists now too, seeing as there could be any kind of additives etc that are banned like everywhere else in the world, ha!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭323

catreelo11 wrote: »
    A lot of mine have already been mentioned actually, but have added a few more:

Good
    -Vast range of foods to try - sushi, Korean, new American, awesome Mexican
    -Choice of craft beers
    -Prevalence of cocktail bars with proper, tasty and strong drinks..not just yer sex on the beach and long islands!
    -Friendliness of the people. It could me where I am - San Francisco - that, as another poster mentioned, is full of transplants - but how open everyone is to meeting new people, breaking out of your social circle, saying "let's hang out sometime" and actually meaning it
    -Ability to do any number of outdoor activities within a few hours
    -The idea of having hobbies, going on trips, taking in culture/art/music/etc that's the norm. Rather than going out and getting wasted every weekend, which seems to be the only thing my friends at home do for fun.
    -Weather..duh :)
    -Service in restaurants, shops etc. With the influx of J1ers for the summer, I can almost tell off that bat if they're working someplace cos you won't get the "Good morning!" like you would from the American workers (generalising, but!)

Bad
    -Portion sizes. Feels like I will never be at my pre-US weight ever again. I used to think a grande Starbucks was big...wonder when I'll be onto the ventis :o
    -Old people working in supermarkets etc. Makes me really sad actually, to see that.
    -The bad amount of paid vacation time. I love to be at home for Christmas, so finding the time to explore the States is pretty difficult.
    -The expectation to work long hours
    -The talking shop outside of work. This isn't a universal thing, but definitely the most successful coworkers I have are those that are in work mode 24/7; if we're in a social setting with the boss, they talk of nothing else but work. Too much.
    -The difficulty in getting legal to work here
    -SF-specific, but the crazy rent and cost of living in the city. Love it too much to leave, though :)
    -I've probably been scaremongered into this by documentaries and books, but the idea of non-organic fruit/veg and of eating cheap meat bothers me. I'm also much more aware of ingredients lists now too, seeing as there could be any kind of additives etc that are banned like everywhere else in the world, ha!

Summed up most of my thoughts fairly well.

Particularly the pathetic amount of holidays, most in Europe just not aware how bad the US is on this. in most cases 10 days unless you have been with company for many years and fairly common not to be allowed to take more than one week at a time.
    Was 7 years there but, seen much more of the US since moving back to Ireland as never had the time off to do so while living there.

Much as people like to bitch here, myself included,The level of taxation is the US is generally much higher than in Ireland.

Do miss the genuine friendliness that that just does not exist in Ireland.

Was a fan of American heavy metal and really my V8 engines.

Ahh, come on!

"seeing as there could be any kind of additives etc that are banned like everywhere else in the world, ha!"

Think you may have over there too long, this is one of the biggest areas of dispute between the US and Europe. Pretty much all US produce is banned here as it is loaded with multitudes of additives, hormones and steroids never allowed or banned in Europe decades ago.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I'm with you on that one. After reading Michael Pollen it's difficult to not take more time to really look at the foods that we buy and eat.

Ponster wrote: »
    I'm with you on that one. After reading Michael Pollen it's difficult to not take more time to really look at the foods that we buy and eat.

I always remember that Simpsons episode where their fruit starts eating each other. Nowadays, all of our meat is organic, as is our fruit. We're lucky that we live across the street from a great market where it is all organic. Our staples come from trader joes, but we are very very careful about out meat and veg.
    That said, even the meat at trader joes is organic, we just got into the habit of buying across the street.

I always remember that Simpsons episode where their fruit starts eating each other. Nowadays, all of our meat is organic, as is our fruit. We're lucky that we live across the street from a great market where it is all organic. Our staples come from trader joes, but we are very very careful about out meat and veg.
    That said, even the meat at trader joes is organic, we just got into the habit of buying across the street.

Yeah but grass fed beef costs a fortune.

I think buffallo is healthier, can't get that at trader joes, or not in my local one.

Yeah but grass fed beef costs a fortune.

I think buffallo is healthier, can't get that at trader joes, or not in my local one.

not ours either - I had buffalo before, it was delicious and I'll move heaven and earth to get it again.

I'm sure you can get it down in SF. Try one of your larger supermarkets. I can get it where I am but I have to go to the supermarket that sells specialty foods, also sells coke made in Mexico in the old fashioned coke bottles with real sugar and not corn syrup. Yum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭rockonollie

Going to add this like to follow on from earlier comments.

Like: Been with my company for 3 years and my wage has gone from $9.50 per hour to $12.75 per hour (as of 5 minutes ago).....and I didn't go on strike once!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Good:
    - Weather, I love it especially the summer. It's long and hot and the jeans are put away from June until late September.
    - Travel, this place is so huge and so many places to see.
    - Food, so many different ethic types to choose from.
    - Customer Service, really Ireland and the Euros can take some good lessons. There's a sign at a very successful grocery store near us that says "Rule 1: Customer is always right. Rule 2: If the Customer is wrong, reread rule 1".
    - Opportunities for work - probably a bit less in the last 6-7 years but there's usually ways to improve your work situation and try different things - if you are willing to give it a go.
    - Unlike in Ireland where everybody seems to know everybody's business, that stuff doesn't matter much to the locals here.

Cons:
    - Education system is banjaxed - I've got 3 kids and the education system leaves a lot to be desired, at elementary and middle school level anyway. I think the teachers are fine, it's the methods of teaching that are quite poor.
    - Politics is rotten to the core with the 2 party systems and more importantly the influence of money and lobbyists.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭Aprilmay

323 wrote: »
    Summed up most of my thoughts fairly well.

Particularly the pathetic amount of holidays, most in Europe just not aware how bad the US is on this. in most cases 10 days unless you have been with company for many years and fairly common not to be allowed to take more than one week at a time.
    Was 7 years there but, seen much more of the US since moving back to Ireland as never had the time off to do so while living there.

Much as people like to bitch here, myself included,The level of taxation is the US is generally much higher than in Ireland.

Do miss the genuine friendliness that that just does not exist in Ireland.

Was a fan of American heavy metal and really my V8 engines.

Ahh, come on!

"seeing as there could be any kind of additives etc that are banned like everywhere else in the world, ha!"

Think you may have over there too long, this is one of the biggest areas of dispute between the US and Europe. Pretty much all US produce is banned here as it is loaded with multitudes of additives, hormones and steroids never allowed or banned in Europe decades ago.

This is my thing I dislike the most about the US, everything has more salt, more sugar more additives.
    Kraft make a special European version of their Mac & Cheese ( I hate M& C) but the European version does not contain the colors that the US version has as they have been linked to cancer.In Europe we advertise clearly the additives and get warnings, not here.This is not the only product that this happens with.

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/

This lady launched the campaign against Kraft she was on GMA speaking about the issue. Her blog is all about living on real food and doing it on what someone gets in food stamps. She from Charlotte too, We are lucky here we can get access to local organic farmers and they sell the meat at local markets or you can arrange to buy a cow(a split it among your friends pardon the pun).

My husband complains about the amount of money I spend on organic milk because it has to be free of BGH, which is in a lot of the ordinary milk and the FDA says is fine but its banned in Europe.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,658 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

FatherTed wrote: »
    Cons:
    - Education system is banjaxed - I've got 3 kids and the education system leaves a lot to be desired, at elementary and middle school level anyway. I think the teachers are fine, it's the methods of teaching that are quite poor.

This reminds me of something a chap i worked with told me a few years ago.
    He was english and moved to Chicago with his wife and son, I think the son was 7/8 when the incident happened.

Anyway for christmas this guy Ian, buys his son a globe and says "Son this is the world!" the son replies "no day its not, only this part is" pointing to the 48 states, part of Canada and part of mexico.

Ian wonders whats going on, so after the holidays he goes into the school (private school) and the "world" map is on display in all its glory showing the 48 states with Hawaii and Alaska off the the left of Cali.

He asked for a transfer home 3 months later when he started going over what his son was taught each day..

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

My better half is from a very academic family. Her father was a professor, she has two brothers who are professors, and a sister who is a teacher. She herself has two degrees.

Yet she never had History or Geography classes at school.

I didnt believe her. I grilled her on it. It made no sense. But its true. So I'm not surprised a map on the classroom wall constitutes the geography syllabus.

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭Kathnora

Good Points about U.S.: (from a frequent tourist's point of view)

Politeness of the people...no barging past you in shops or on the street and friendly greetings too. Our children could learn a lot from these role models!
    Reasonably priced restaurants
    Good deals in some hotels with good breakfasts
    Polite drivers who will allow you to change lanes and be patient when you are slowing down trying to find a location.
    Turning right on red light
    Absence of reckless drivers and high speed traffic...speed limit is obeyed by many drivers and they are actually reluctant to overtake even when you slow down to allow them pass on rural roads.
    Good condition of the roads
    Fabulous National Parks with the annual pass costing only $80 per car load. Stunning scenery with great amenities in many of them.
    Cities have a lot to offer in terms of sight seeing, historical districts that are well maintained etc.
    Weather is reasonably reliable for summer hols.
    Rangers and Museum staff etc who do their homework and are walking encyclopaedias when it comes to talking about their subject.
    Good range of pharmacy products on sale without prescription needed.
    Generous hand luggage size allowed even on internal flights.
    HBO freely available in some hotels and they don't have many ads.

Bad Points:

All those dollars look the same and hard to see what's what in a dark restaurant
    Hate those small coins especially the 10c that is smaller than the 5c...always making mistakes!
    Tipping...currently expected to be around 18% in restaurants and some include it in the price! One hotel had 3 tip jars in different locations in the breakfast dining area!!
    Hate the way servers expect you to know what you want from the menu in less than one minute after sitting down.
    Servers bringing you the main course IMMEDIATELY after the starters or even before you are finished the starter
    Huge food portions and Americans bringing home "doggie" boxes for the next day's lunch....yuch to re heated burger etc.
    Americans unfamiliar with the Irish accent thinking we are German!
    Americans telling you they are Irish when their great, great, great grandfather came from Ireland.
    Americans thinking that America IS the world
    Old women working in Macys who are at least 70 and who look exhausted.
    LOUD children who have an awful lot to say.
    LOUD adults who don't seem to realise that we can hear every word of their conversations at the opposite side of the room.
    Americans who insist on giving you the "minute" detail of a particular story
    Ridiculous cost of going to college and the snobbery attached to going to particular colleges like Notre Dame etc.
    Total absence of black people in some areas (e.g. The Mall in Washington ..when they live nearby)
    Over reaction of Highway Patrol when you commit a minor offence (e.g. pulling you in for not giving enough space for patrol car that is parked on the shoulder..i.e. not moving over to the fast lane). Cops are everywhere and some seem to have a quota of cars they must stop every day in order to keep their jobs (seems that way anyway)
    Being hassled on entering shops..."Are you alright ma'am?" Pushy sales assistants (e.g. Macy's definitely...paid on commission basis??)
    Not great quality coffee in restaurants and often luke warm
    Serving you your drink 20 mins before your meal....we always insist on getting the drink WITH the meal especially if alcohol is limited owing to driving etc.
    NO wine on sale in a HUGE place like Walmarts...have to go looking for a liquor store.
    Poorly lit towns at night time and absence of footpaths for walking back to hotel from a restaurant.
    Americans attached to their cars and not willing to walk anywhere. A 15/20 min walk to a restaurant considered way too long.
    T.V. ads that give you 40 different side effects to something like viagra...funny too!
    T.V. ads that are far too long and too frequent.
    Trial by television that goes on on CNN and Fox...they have the guy hung drawn and quartered before he even gets a chance to say his name in a court room!
    Repetitive news channels and over detailed analysis of particular stories e.g.imprisonment of 3 women in Ohio house.

Aprilmay wrote: »
    This is my thing I dislike the most about the US, everything has more salt, more sugar more additives.
    Kraft make a special European version of their Mac & Cheese ( I hate M& C) but the European version does not contain the colors that the US version has as they have been linked to cancer.In Europe we advertise clearly the additives and get warnings, not here.This is not the only product that this happens with.

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/

This lady launched the campaign against Kraft she was on GMA speaking about the issue. Her blog is all about living on real food and doing it on what someone gets in food stamps. She from Charlotte too, We are lucky here we can get access to local organic farmers and they sell the meat at local markets or you can arrange to buy a cow(a split it among your friends pardon the pun).

My husband complains about the amount of money I spend on organic milk because it has to be free of BGH, which is in a lot of the ordinary milk and the FDA says is fine but its banned in Europe.

You can get a half gallon BGH free milk for 1.99 in trader joes. Organic is3.99-

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Kathnora wrote: »
    Over reaction of Highway Patrol when you commit a minor offence (e.g. pulling you in for not giving enough space for patrol car that is parked on the shoulder..i.e. not moving over to the fast lane).

I'm with the cop on that one. Not changing lanes for emergency vehicles in the shoulder (when safe to do so) is a ticketable offense in many states. For good reason - plenty of cops/medics/hwy workers have been killed from being swiped by drivers coming too close.

But yeah, broadly speaking, there are cops that are rather unbalanced in how they wield their power. Scary in this day and age when you consider how 'militarized' the US police agencies have become.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

dave2pvd wrote: »
    I'm with the cop on that one. Not changing lanes for emergency vehicles in the shoulder (when safe to do so) is a ticketable offense in many states. For good reason - plenty of cops/medics/hwy workers have been killed from being swiped by drivers coming too close.

Yep, a few years ago, the state where I used to live got really serious about giving out stiff fines and points on your record for not slowing down and/or pulling over to the next lane if you come across any emergency vehicle with flashing red or blue lights. Five emergency responders (three cops & two firemen) were assisting at an accident scene. A woman talking on her phone slammed into them and killed them all. Their lives could all have been saved if she knew the law & moved over into the next lane. If you can't do that, you are supposed to slow down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit. Makes perfect sense to me.