Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Historicity of Jesus. Now serving Atwil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Im starting to think Bannasidhe could disprove my existence...... :D

Given the amount of records I have access too in my professional capacity I would be well impressed if there was no record of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,371 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Yup. Don't like it.

I have also tried
    Tetleys
    PG Tips
    Twinings
    that stuff they sell in Aldi.
    Tesco finest.
    some Aussie ones with a lot of j's in their name.
    Indian/Turkish ones my mates make me try in the UK.
    Russian tea my Nan brought home from a trip to the USSR.

I did a lot of research and the results so far are that I don't like tea. I cannot say it is an absolute fact that I do not like tea as I haven't tried them all - however it is probable.
    Thank you for your measured and considered response. I accept that 'Bannasidhe does not at this time like tea, but is open to the possibility that in the future she may like an as yet un-sampled variety of tea' is a most reasonable hypothesis indeed.

How was your coffee? I too am about to have a coffee. Not, I hasten to add, because I don't like tea. I'd just prefer a coffee at this time.

Ah, sure you can't beat a bit o' reasonable discussion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Given the amount of records I have access too in my professional capacity I would be well impressed if there was no record of you.

Yes Garda :pac:

endacl wrote: »
    Thank you for your measured and considered response. I accept that 'Bannasidhe does not at this time like tea, but is open to the possibility that in the future she may like an as yet un-sampled variety of tea' is a most reasonable hypothesis indeed.

How was your coffee? I too am about to have a coffee. Not, I hasten to add, because I don't like tea. I'd just prefer a coffee at this time.

Ah, sure you can't beat a bit o' reasonable discussion!

Your hypothesis sums up the current situation precisely. I am indeed open to the possibility that I may at some point in the future develop a fondness for tea despite the fact that to date I have never been partial to it.

Coffee was very nice thank you for asking. Sadly, I had no biscuit to accompany it as I ate the last 3 last night and all I could find were j*ffa Caccas my father brought for the grandchilder which I had forgotten to send home with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭nagirrac

I did a lot of research and the results so far are that I don't like tea. I cannot say it is an absolute fact that I do not like tea as I haven't tried them all - however it is probable.

Have you tried any Chinese tea, Oolong, jasmine (oolong with jasmine flowers) or green tea? I find I can drink these all day unlike western style tea.

nagirrac wrote: »
    Have you tried any Chinese tea, Oolong, jasmine (oolong with jasmine flowers) or green tea? I find I can drink these all day unlike western style tea.

I do, on the occasion of my eating North Africa food/being in North Africa, indulge in mint tea.

Not fond of the floweryness of jasmine rice so don't think I would like the tea but sure I'll try anything twice*.

* to be sure, to be sure.

Yes Garda :pac:

Oh don't - I stupidly agreed to do a day educating trainee gardaí in Templemore about 7 years ago....oh, the horror. The horror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Oh don't - I stupidly agreed to do a day educating trainee gardaí in Templemore about 7 years ago....oh, the horror. The horror.

They loved Jesus too much didn't they?

All I am prepared to say is that the trainee Guardee I encountered that particular day did not appear to believe in over exerting themselves in the cognitive function department.

Best part was that the person who had invited me was mortified by the whole 'duuuuuhness' of her students. It's always fun to watch someone with whom one shares a deep and mutual dislike squirm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

robindch wrote: »
    Five seconds with Google suggests that I've missed a western. A spaghetti western.

/sheesh

Deadwood is possibly one of the greatest, most underated shows of ALL time. I ask you sweetly, give it a bash and enjoy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

But that's my point precisely. According to records, Spartacus was a little known Thracian gladiator until his participation in the Third Servile War. He was a historical non-entity, yet as soon as he became a thorn in the side of the Empire, there are all kinds of written contemporary documentary evidence of him, and of his actions. Which coincidentally were of the same historical period as the writing of the gospels. How come this rebel was so carefully documented, and the 'King of the Jews', also a rebel of a sort and a thorn in the side of the empire was not?
    Well first off E we have to compare scales here. Sparty was raising an army and successfully with it and bringing it to Rome's doorstep. This was a toga staining moment. He wasn't just a thorn, he was the whole fecking rose bush. Jesus if he was a rebel, was a very local one in a pretty far off province of empire. I'm quite sure if Jesus had rode through the gates of Rome on the back of an ass with locals gilding his path with palm leaves you'd have heard about it and in a big way. Plus chances are he wasn't a direct threat to Roman rule. Again it may well have been as oldrnwisr said a local religious issue dealt with by the locals, so Rome were pretty meh about the whole thing, until later on it started to spread by word of mouth and a religion kicked off on the back of it. Cue hungry lions, stage left.

Or... let's imagine for a mo that the texts are somewhat accurate and this guy did say stuff like "give all to Caesar that is Caesars" and my "kingdom is not of this earth"*. If that got back to the local Italians, it would have taken the heat off him straight away from that quarter. They had bigger ichthys to fry(see what I did there :D). "Ok Lucretius, to business, so we have all these local religious nutjobs, any we should worry about? Well yea Claudius, here's a list of the ones calling for our heads. Feckus! there's a fair few of them L. Hang on, who's this Galilean bloke? Oh yea, well he seems to not be too anti Rome TBH C. No death to Roman's guff, just your usual local fear god shtick. Ok L, stick him on the keep an eye, but meh pile".

That said, at least some of his followers were armed. Note the bit in the garden of Gethsemane when Peter in a precursor to Van Gogh lops off one of the arresting guards ears. Now JC stuck it back on so the story goes. You'd think something like that would have had the soldiers crap themselves and fall on their knees to him? Funny that.
    Can I have coffee instead? I don't like tea.
    Burn her. For verily she is a witch and we cannot suffer a witch to live. Plus coffee is of Saracen origin. Clearly a heretic.

*it's just possible. Catchy phrases like that are the kinda thing that can survive well enough in oral histories. Reading the gospels it does seem like a collection of stories stitched together, with often very clumsy(and geographically awkward links), which may betray something of it's oral origins. Now we rightfully take a gimlet eye to oral history as reliable, but in non literate societies they can transmit stuff pretty well. Look at modern reciters of the entire Quran from memory without mistakes. Hell Julius Caesar notes this about the celtic bards he encounters and learns about and wonders at their prodigious memories. He slightly laments how memory can atrophy because of the otherwise brilliant invention of writing. On that note, I recall reading that the Our Father, a clumsy as fook prayer in English, actually rhymes in Aramaic. Must look more on that. If so it might indicate an origin in that general area. That said, I'm not so solid on whether Jewish culture of the time was as highly practiced an oral tradition as the Celts were, so... In other words, I'd more "trust" a Celtic "Christs" oral tradition story that was written down within 60 years, than I would a Jewish, or indeed Roman one.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,257 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I was enjoying this thread up until people started saying Spartacus was a bad show.

You're all terrible people.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Deadwood is possibly one of the greatest, most underated shows of ALL time. I ask you sweetly, give it a bash and enjoy.
    Well, being a paid-up Pastafarian, in retrospect there seems to be nothing more suitable than a good dose of spaghetti western. So, with this in mind, I'm heading now to the Grand Telly, a plate of unchocolate ice-cream awaiting, and a beer in my fist, and in a state of the mildest -- the very mildest, mind -- anticipation.

If the pilot's no good, well, maybe the second, but if there are no fireworks by then, I suppose it's back to Attenborough's magnificent [url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Africa_(BBC_documentary_series)Africa[/url], and a third run through House and 2012.

Sonics2k wrote: »
    I was enjoying this thread up until people started saying Spartacus was a bad show.

You're all terrible people.

Good soft porn tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Quatermain

Jeez, all the nudity and adult situations he got himself into, no wonder people were lining up pretending to be Spartacus.

Quatermain wrote: »
    Jeez, all the nudity and adult situations he got himself into, no wonder people were lining up pretending to be Spartacus.

Can you imagine the bedlam at the local STI clinic -
    Nursicus - we need to contact every who had sex with this bloke named Spartacus....here, help me with these scrolls. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Quatermain

Can you imagine the bedlam at the local STI clinic -
    Nursicus - we need to contact every who had sex with this bloke named Spartacus....here, help me with these scrolls. :D

"Spartacuses one through 70, Asclepius will see you now."

What price glory, after all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Sweetest may be divine or may not!

I object to people saying something is a demonstrable fact when it bloody well isn't.

That's it.

But NOTHING in the past is a 'demonstrable' fact, because it is in the past and therefore cannot be demonstrated in the present. Perhaps you mean something other than demonstrable?

You are being demonstrably tiresome now.

I'm not going to apologise for continuing to ask you a simple question which for some strange reason you seem disinclined to answer.
    Also I would note you are now attempting to personalise the debate.
    It's really simple: since almost all respectable historians accept that there was a Jesus around whom a cult, later a religion, formed, what is your issue exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

and 2012.

Oooooh, I loved that. Fierce funny :D One of those shows where you're laughing so hard that you miss the next line....

I'm not going to apologise for continuing to ask you a simple question which for some strange reason you seem disinclined to answer.
    Also I would note you are now attempting to personalise the debate.
    It's really simple: since almost all respectable historians accept that there was a Jesus around whom a cult, later a religion, formed, what is your issue exactly?

I never asked you to apologise but yet you feel I may require you to.....*adopts faux-Austrian accent* ....how veeerrryyy interesting.

What is my issue with what exactly?

How do you know these historians are respectable? Do you have empirical evidence or is your statement re: their respectability pure conjecture?

Define 'respectable'?

How many historians are there- or have ever been - and what exactly is the percentage who accept(ed) that there was a Jesus?

How many of these historians (respectable or otherwise) stated we have the evidence to support this claim vs those who said it is 'probable'?

Lastly - do you actually read people's answers to you as they write them or are you a bit of a Derrida fan?

Take your time responding.

Edit - In the interests of full disclosure I should state that I accept there probably was a Jesus - whether he was as described in the Gospels is whole different kettle of post-modern piscines. I have been called respectable by people who don't know me very well...and my sister.

I never asked you to apologise but yet you feel I may require you to.....*adopts faux-Austrian accent* ....how veeerrryyy interesting.

You're getting really strangely defensive about this. It's not a trick question, you know. There is a clear consensus among professional historians that there was a Jesus around whom a religion eventually formed. You appear to deviate in some way yet clarified from that consensus and I'm curious about that. The fact you go on the personal attack when asked makes me more curious about it.
    What is my issue with what exactly?
    How do you know these historians are respectable? Do you have empirical evidence or is your statement re: their respectability pure conjecture?
    Define 'respectable'?
    How many historians are there- or have ever been - and what exactly is the percentage who accept(ed) that there was a Jesus?
    How many of these historians (respectable or otherwise) stated we have the evidence to support this claim vs those who said it is 'probable'?
    Lastly - do you actually read people's answers to you as they write them or are you a bit of a Derrida fan?
    Take your time responding.

Let's try another tack - do you or don't you agree that there is a general consensus among professional historians that there was a Jesus? If you don't agree, why don't you agree? If you do agree, then what point exactly are you trying to make?
    Also, no, not a Derrida fan nor a fan of poststructuralism in general. Emperor's new theoretics and all that. But I do raise a wry eyebrow at people in the humanities talking about empiricism. Empirical data is the proviso of our friends in the sciences, to my mind.
    Edit - In the interests of full disclosure I should state that I accept there probably was a Jesus - whether he was as described in the Gospels is whole different kettle of post-modern piscines. I have been called respectable by people who don't know me very well...and my sister.

Ok, we appear to be in agreement that there likely was a Jesus and he likely didn't walk on water or raise the dead. So far, so good. So what point are you trying to make, then? I'm genuinely curious?

You're getting really strangely defensive about this. It's not a trick question, you know. There is a clear consensus among professional historians that there was a Jesus around whom a religion eventually formed. You appear to deviate in some way yet clarified from that consensus and I'm curious about that. The fact you go on the personal attack when asked makes me more curious about it.

Let's try another tack - do you or don't you agree that there is a general consensus among professional historians that there was a Jesus? If you don't agree, why don't you agree? If you do agree, then what point exactly are you trying to make?
    Also, no, not a Derrida fan nor a fan of poststructuralism in general. Emperor's new theoretics and all that. But I do raise a wry eyebrow at people in the humanities talking about empiricism. Empirical data is the proviso of our friends in the sciences, to my mind.

Ok, we appear to be in agreement that there likely was a Jesus and he likely didn't walk on water or raise the dead. So far, so good. So what point are you trying to make, then? I'm genuinely curious?

I always get frustrated when I encounter those who seem to argue for the sake of it and haven't the basic courtesy to appear to actually read the responses. It's a fault of mine...but what can one do eh?

On what evidence to I base my conjecture that you have not read the responses? Because if you had you would have noted that time and time again I stated that my issue was with people declaring that the existence of Jesus was a documented fact when it is not.

Neither are The Buddha and Mohammad's existences documented facts - but they probably existed too.

Got it?

Bye Now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,371 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Reza aslan on newstalk now...

On what evidence to I base my conjecture that you have not read the responses? Because if you had you would have noted that time and time again I stated that my issue was with people declaring that the existence of Jesus was a documented fact when it is not.

We're back to the problem we had earlier. It is of course a documented fact, insofar as anything is factual by virtue of documentation, since documentation relating to him exists. The exact locus of your problem seems to be with the non-contemporaneity of that documentation, and its apparently partisan authorship. Those are reasonable things to be concerned about if one is querying the depicted actions within the documents, but much less so in relation to querying the existence of the subject.
    So again I ask, what exactly is your issue? Be assured I am reading your responses carefully.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭oldrnwisr

We're back to the problem we had earlier. It is of course a documented fact, insofar as anything is factual by virtue of documentation, since documentation relating to him exists. The exact locus of your problem seems to be with the non-contemporaneity of that documentation, and its apparently partisan authorship. Those are reasonable things to be concerned about if one is querying the depicted actions within the documents, but much less so in relation to querying the existence of the subject.
    So again I ask, what exactly is your issue? Be assured I am reading your responses carefully.

OK, there are two problems here.

Firstly, the existence of Jesus is not a documented fact, it's not a fact of any kind. By fact, I am proposing to use Stephen Jay Gould's definition:

"something confirmed to such a degree that it would be perverse to withhold provisional consent"

Jesus' existence is indeterminate. We don't have writings by Jesus nor do we have contempraneous accounts (either biblical or extrabiblilcal). And this is not an argument from silence since we should expect to find such documents given the claims made in the sources that do speak of him (i.e. Luke 4:37). What we can say is that based on the evidence available (which is scarce) that it is likely that someone called Jesus existed and this is what the academic consensus is really saying. It's not saying that we know for sure but that we have a reasonable idea. However, this doesn't stop people (Christians mostly) from coming in here and claiming that the existence of Jesus is a fact. It's just not.

Now, secondly, there is another point to be made here about using documentation like the bible as proof of the existence of Jesus. Just because a book like the Gospel of Mark or 1 Corinthians mentions Jesus doesn't mean there was a Jesus. Take this book, for example.

cryptonomicon.jpg

Neal Stephenson's Cryptonomicon spans a wide time period and mixes historical figures with fictional creations. You have real people like Alan Turing interacting with characters like Lawrence Waterhouse. Furthermore, the characters and their backstories receive further development in Stephenson's Baroque Cycle as well as being mentioned in Disco 2000. So imagine in even 200 years trying to determine whether Lawrence Waterhouse actually existed. He's there mentioned alongside real people who we have evidence for but there's no writings of his own and little other evidence outside Stephenson's work. The same claims could be made about him as are being made about Jesus. Does his inclusion as a character in this book make his existence a documented fact? Of course not.

oldrnwisr wrote: »

Firstly, the existence of Jesus is not a documented fact, it's not a fact of any kind. By fact, I am proposing to use Stephen Jay Gould's definition:

"something confirmed to such a degree that it would be perverse to withhold provisional consent"

Jesus' existence is indeterminate. We don't have writings by Jesus nor do we have contempraneous accounts (either biblical or extrabiblilcal). And this is not an argument from silence since we should expect to find such documents given the claims made in the sources that do speak of him (i.e. Luke 4:37). What we can say is that based on the evidence available (which is scarce) that it is likely that someone called Jesus existed and this is what the academic consensus is really saying. It's not saying that we know for sure but that we have a reasonable idea. However, this doesn't stop people (Christians mostly) from coming in here and claiming that the existence of Jesus is a fact. It's just not.

Now, secondly, there is another point to be made here about using documentation like the bible as proof of the existence of Jesus. Just because a book like the Gospel of Mark or 1 Corinthians mentions Jesus doesn't mean there was a Jesus. Take this book, for example.

cryptonomicon.jpg

Neal Stephenson's Cryptonomicon spans a wide time period and mixes historical figures with fictional creations. You have real people like Alan Turing interacting with characters like Lawrence Waterhouse. Furthermore, the characters and their backstories receive further development in Stephenson's Baroque Cycle as well as being mentioned in Disco 2000. So imagine in even 200 years trying to determine whether Lawrence Waterhouse actually existed. He's there mentioned alongside real people who we have evidence for but there's no writings of his own and little other evidence outside Stephenson's work. The same claims could be made about him as are being made about Jesus. Does his inclusion as a character in this book make his existence a documented fact? Of course not.

I would have gone with Stephenson's Baroque Cycle but your choice was good too. ;)

Neal Stephenson's Cryptonomicon spans a wide time period and mixes historical figures with fictional creations.
    Never read Cryptonomicon, but A Canticle for Leibowitz, yes, and it seems like it might tread familiar ground:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Canticle_for_Leibowitz

Highly recommended.

I'll respond to this since Bannasidhe seems to concur with this post. You appear to have missed the caveat I offered - insofar that anything is deemed factual by virtue of documentation.
    Jesus' existence is indeterminate. We don't have writings by Jesus nor do we have contempraneous accounts (either biblical or extrabiblilcal).

Neither of which would necessarily make his existence determined, of course.
    Now, secondly, there is another point to be made here about using documentation like the bible as proof of the existence of Jesus. Just because a book like the Gospel of Mark or 1 Corinthians mentions Jesus doesn't mean there was a Jesus. Take this book, for example...

Stephenson is such an overrated writer. Why not offer actual literature, like Pynchon, or Doctorow, or the finest of all such works, Burgess's Earthly Powers?
    In any case, you've just made my point for me. Documentation doesn't render things factual. Which brings me back to my question for Bannasidhe - what is the apparent importance of when the documentation dates from if it makes no difference to the factuality of the subject when the documentation dates from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Some on here might find this interesting.

Christopher Hitchens vs four Christians - Does the god of Christianity exist?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2j3VU1T8ALU

I'll respond to this since Bannasidhe seems to concur with this post. You appear to have missed the caveat I offered - insofar that anything is deemed factual by virtue of documentation.

Neither of which would necessarily make his existence determined, of course.

Stephenson is such an overrated writer. Why not offer actual literature, like Pynchon, or Doctorow, or the finest of all such works, Burgess's Earthly Powers?
    In any case, you've just made my point for me. Documentation doesn't render things factual. Which brings me back to my question for Bannasidhe - what is the apparent importance of when the documentation dates from if it makes no difference to the factuality of the subject when the documentation dates from?

OK, I'll try and break this up into distinct points to try and clarify.

Firstly, with regard to writings by Jesus, these would be important if there were any. There are a number of criteria used by scholars to determine whether something is written by its claimed author or not. This article has a relatively worthwhile summary explanation of what I mean:

Authorship of the Pauline Epistles

If we had texts that purported to be written by Jesus we do have a framework for assessing their authenticity and this would have an impact on existence claims.

Now, as for contempraneous accounts. While contempraneous biblical accounts would be great because we might have more confidence of their accuracy (as opposed to authenticity), contempraneous extrabiblical sources would be better. Let's remember that the earliest NT writings come from Paul, a man who never met Jesus and only had minimal contact with the apostles (he spent two weeks with Peter and met James in passing). Everything else comes long after and is influenced by these writings. Yet the writings we do have keep telling us that Jesus' activities caused quite a stir and word of him spread far and wide. So we should expect there to be some indepndent reference to him at the time, which again we don't find.

To summarise, again, Jesus' existence is not a documented fact and this is not what the scholarly consensus is either. The scholarly consensus suggests that based on the scant and entirely circumstantial evidence that Jesus nevertheless is likely to have existed. It is not a fact, documented or otherwise, either by the decree of consensus or by the claims of Christians. As I've said before the idea that we can say that Jesus definitely existed or that we could know what Jesus would or would not have said, taught, done, preached etc. is ludicrous. However, this is only a problem for those on one side of the debate, those making the theistic claims.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Let's remember that the earliest NT writings come from Paul, a man who never met Jesus and only had minimal contact with the apostles (he spent two weeks with Peter and met James in passing).
    Actually Paul and the above is why I'd swing far more towards the existence of the bloke. Like you say we know he spent time with two people who knew him in life. IIRC James was his brother(and was engaged in theological stuff with them in writing). If this guy Jesus had never existed how would this make any sense? The convo would have gone "tell me about Jesus your rabbi/brother". "Who? Never heard of him".

How might this be explained if Jesus never existed? For me Paul is the ground zero of Christianity as we know it today. Now we might go further for a moment and imagine that Paul invents the whole thing from the get go. The road to Damascus moment being the first in a long line of divine hallucinatory encounters with a supreme being that he codifies into a religion.

Could have happened. See Muhammed for exactly that kinda thing, his "jesus" being Gabriel another intermediary for god. Further stretch it out and imagine that Paul, himself born a devout Jew who was also a Roman with all the greco roman infuences he'd be exposed certainly had the chops to come up with a new hellenistic Judaism that would sit well with that wider urban Roman world rather than the more rural provincial world.

Of course in this notion the biggest difference between him and Muhammed would be that in Paul's case he makes him flesh, the godhead in man, in recent history for a wider audience. A wider audience that would pretty much have to take his word for it, even a couple of decades after the "fact". To find the truth, they would have to hotfoot it personally to Judea and ask around the older people if they had heard of any of this.
    Everything else comes long after and is influenced by these writings.
    Which would lend some credence to the above notion. Christianity for me is Hellenistic Judaism, who better to codify it's basic principles than a Hellenistic Jew? He's the only example of one in the game at the start. Hmmm...

Now it may well be a little of this and a little of the other and this would be my view. That a Jewish Rabbi who may well have been called Jesus* with some blasphemous teachings for the mainstream Jewish faith, gets executed by them as you outlined brilliantly earlier and that would otherwise have been that. He leaves a few Jewish followers behind. Paul being a hardarse in defence of his faith is persecuting all such schismatic knockoffs hears bits about this particular one. Maybe out of some heavy psychological guilt with a side order of epilepsy/extreme fatigue has a vision on the road and this vision focuses his attention on this particular group and the ball starts rolling. Years later this god made man needs a backstory, so very vague memories and spiritual and theological needs get embellished and this gives us the first gospel, from which all followed.

*it was a very common name at the time. Mary ditto. Inventive with kids names they were not. If you shouted Yesua in the street a lot of heads would turn towards you.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Post modernism spin-off created here. Please keep all discussion of postmodernism to that thread.:)

Wibbs wrote: »
    Actually Paul and the above is why I'd swing far more towards the existence of the bloke. Like you say we know he spent time with two people who knew him in life. IIRC James was his brother(and was engaged in theological stuff with them in writing). If this guy Jesus had never existed how would this make any sense? The convo would have gone "tell me about Jesus your rabbi/brother". "Who? Never heard of him".

Not to split hairs here, but there's one or two points I want to make.

Firstly, as far as Pauline writings being authentic on the basis of his meetings with two of the apostles, we don't know whether what Paul wrote met with approval from the other apostles really. Neither of the Petrine epistles are considered to be authentic and James, well, most of James' work involves a soteriological spat with Paul anyway so I don't think they saw eye to eye.

Secondly, while Paul is a useful data point in building an overall case for the existence of Jesus, I'm inclined to take the logia gospels such as Thomas and Q (if there really was a document such as Q) as better indicators. To me it makes more sense that the earliest things to be written down would be "Jesus said this". Between that and the empty tomb narrative I think that that represents the core of what was originally passed around. All the backstory stuff is IMHO a later addition, particularly the prophecy-laden infancy stuff.

How might this be explained if Jesus never existed? For me Paul is the ground zero of Christianity as we know it today. Now we might go further for a moment and imagine that Paul invents the whole thing from the get go. The road to Damascus moment being the first in a long line of divine hallucinatory encounters with a supreme being that he codifies into a religion.

To me, this is the real problem we have in discussing the character of Jesus. On quite a few occasions, there have been posters (Christian and non-Christian alike) who have posted along the lines of Jesus wouldn't have said this or he wouldn't have agreed with this. However, Paul, in his writings, creates a Jesus very much in his own image, heavily anti-Jewish (or at least anti Jewish custom) which follows on into Mark's gospel. Then you have a polar opposite Jesus portrayed in Matthew's gospel. So trying to find the real story in such wildly contradictory work is impossible.

Now it may well be a little of this and a little of the other and this would be my view. That a Jewish Rabbi who may well have been called Jesus* with some blasphemous teachings for the mainstream Jewish faith, gets executed by them as you outlined brilliantly earlier and that would otherwise have been that. He leaves a few Jewish followers behind. Paul being a hardarse in defence of his faith is persecuting all such schismatic knockoffs hears bits about this particular one. Maybe out of some heavy psychological guilt with a side order of epilepsy/extreme fatigue has a vision on the road and this vision focuses his attention on this particular group and the ball starts rolling. Years later this god made man needs a backstory, so very vague memories and spiritual and theological needs get embellished and this gives us the first gospel, from which all followed.

In fact +∞

Just putting this out there - did James, brother of Jesus learn to write after Jesus died or could both brothers read and write?

Just thought that was interesting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Just putting this out there - did James, brother of Jesus learn to write after Jesus died or could both brothers read and write?

Just thought that was interesting...

Both? Perhaps neither. I've not seen any documentation to say that the swami son of a carpenter could read & write

Like I said earlier, I'm not convinced of the extreme poverty of Jesus as is assumed and certainly as is represented in art and media of the last two thousand years. His father is written as a carpenter. OK what kind of carpenter? In movies and such the trade is shown as near banging rocks off wood carpentry.

In a world where wood was one of the primary materials a carpenter by trade would have had plenty of work. Maybe he was a local shipwright. Given the proximity of the sea of Galilee and his sons interaction with fishermen this wouldn't be unrealistic. His father may have had a local boat building and repair business, even employing others. Maybe, as upwardly mobile peeps will, he paid for his son to enter a school of rabbinical studies(oh we've a son in the priesthood you know), which would explain much. Other sons may have been equally exposed to some schooling.

Even if a son apprenticed to him, carpentry requires measurement and understanding and the ability to read scales and measures. Plus a carpenter even back then wasn't usually chopping down trees himself, he'd have been buying in raw material and the selling the results. About the earliest forms of writing we have from the ancient world concerns such activities. TBH I'd be surprised if a carpenters son couldn't read. Doubly so a religiously minded one who would have been exposed to and reading the laws of Moses from early on.

• Registered Users Posts: 846 ✭✭✭Gambas

How come there is sooooooo much other, and often entirely insignificant stuff, that we can verify from those times and earlier, using 'modern' standards of inquiry?

Chance?

Hmmm... I watched the pilot last week and half of the second episode, but it's yet to catch fire for me. Ian McShane puts in perhaps the greatest performance of his career -- faint praise I know -- but even he can't overcome (a) Calamity Jane, (b) that guy with the woejous, brutal, drama-school "Irish" accent and (c) the planet-sized karma deficit caused by whoever taught the scriptwriter the word "c*cks*cker".

On the plus side though, I saw the first two doses of Breaking Bad, which is a laugh and a half.

Hmmm... I watched the pilot last week and half of the second episode, but it's yet to catch fire for me. Ian McShane puts in perhaps the greatest performance of his career -- faint praise I know -- but even he can't overcome (a) Calamity Jane, (b) that guy with the woejous, brutal, drama-school "Irish" accent and (c) the planet-sized karma deficit caused by whoever taught the scriptwriter the word "c*cks*cker".

On the plus side though, I saw the first two doses of Breaking Bad, which is a laugh and a half.

ummm...they got Calamity pretty spot on...you were maybe expecting Doris Day?

they got Calamity pretty spot on...you were maybe expecting Doris Day?
    It's her accent. That and looking like Dick Emery. They burnses us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

The Jesus as myth adherents tend to want to dismiss any reference to Jesus in the Gospels or any other record - like Josephus. However in many ways that's a bit like the anti-Stratfordians not accepting the First Folio.

A good proportion of the New Testament may be made up, but there are indications a lot of it is true. It's certainly factual historically as far as we know; Pilate existed as the archaeological records shows. John the baptist has plenty of references. The political structure of then Palestine is described correctly - the relationships between Roman and Jewish authority, the fact that Herod Antipas was a Tetrarch not King and had jurisdiction over Galileans, and the fact that all of these groups would be in Jerusalem for passover, and only then. Then there are the lies which hint at the truth. Jesus probably wasn't born in Bethlehem ( necessary for the Messiah), however he probably did grow up in Nazareth. If he was made up circa 100 then you might as well have him be born and grow up in Bethlehem, it saves a trip. Hat-tip Chris Hitchens.

I could go on with the logical arguments for Jesus here, and will in future, but lets be clear what the Jesus Myth proponents propose. The Religion was made up in circa 100 AD.

This begs the question:
    If the religion was not founded by Jesus and popularized by Paul then who created the religion? It has to be somebody, or somebodies.

Lets call him Bob. ( Bob can be multiple people if you like but that makes their existence even less probable).

So the founder is either Jesus c 33AD. Or Bob circa 100AD. The story of Jesus we know: mendicant preacher may have clammed to be messiah, died on cross, his teachings spread across the empire particularly with the preachings of his follower Paul, divisions between gentile and Jewish Christians etc. Eventually seen as Son of God. Followers merge Jewish religion and Greek philosophy.

Bob we don't anything about. Was Bob rich? Was he religious? Did he want to found a religion? Was it a lark? What was in it for him? How did he fool people, how could the first people be fooled into thinking they were following an older religion? Where was he from? Was he also Jewish, or was he from Gaul? Or Britain? why not make himself the religious prophet, and leader, why instead make up and deify this Jewish chap from an obscure region? Why did he write 4 Gospels ( and their precursor Q), or cause them to be written, and then the Acts of the Apostles, and then fake Paul, the writings in Josephus and and other references to Jesus, or people touched upon in the Gospels ( i.e. get all copies of Josephus and interpolate both Jesus and John the baptist in them). These are, or were, the actual claims of the Jesus as Myth proponents.

And, then suddenly in 100AD, the religion is big enough to be noticed by Rome. And not in Palestine either. ( An argument from silence would get you that, by necessity, of course, since you can't go further forward in time from the first undisputed non-Christian source - Pliny).

And, as is clear from the archaeological record, Bob spreads Christianity to the places where ( he says) Paul preached and wrote letters to - but since Paul was made up he needed to convince these places that both Christ and Paul existed, and they had always existed and Paul had sent these letters to previously existing Christian communities which didn't actually exist. The gentile Christians accepted that, and then forgot all about Bob and his letters, for he wrote none. None in his own name anyway. He was faking it as Paul, Matthew, Mark, Luke and John.

I'd go with the simpler solution. Occam etc.

The Jesus as myth adherents tend to want to dismiss any reference to Jesus in the Gospels or any other record - like Josephus. However in many ways that's a bit like the anti-Stratfordians not accepting the First Folio.

A good proportion of the New Testament may be made up, but there are indications a lot of it is true. It's certainly factual historically as far as we know; Pilate existed as the archaeological records shows. John the baptist has plenty of references. The political structure of then Palestine is described correctly - the relationships between Roman and Jewish authority, the fact that Herod Antipas was a Tetrarch not King and had jurisdiction over Galileans, and the fact that all of these groups would be in Jerusalem for passover, and only then. Then there are the lies which hint at the truth. Jesus probably wasn't born in Bethlehem ( necessary for the Messiah), however he probably did grow up in Nazareth. If he was made up circa 100 then you might as well have him be born and grow up in Bethlehem, it saves a trip. Hat-tip Chris Hitchens.

I could go on with the logical arguments for Jesus here, and will in future, but lets be clear what the Jesus Myth proponents propose. The Religion was made up in circa 100 AD.

This begs the question:
    If the religion was not founded by Jesus and popularized by Paul then who created the religion? It has to be somebody, or somebodies.

Lets call him Bob. ( Bob can be multiple people if you like but that makes their existence even less probable).

So the founder is either Jesus c 33AD. Or Bob circa 100AD. The story of Jesus we know: mendicant preacher may have clammed to be messiah, died on cross, his teachings spread across the empire particularly with the preachings of his follower Paul, divisions between gentile and Jewish Christians etc. Eventually seen as Son of God. Followers merge Jewish religion and Greek philosophy.

Bob we don't anything about. Was Bob rich? Was he religious? Did he want to found a religion? Was it a lark? What was in it for him? How did he fool people, how could the first people be fooled into thinking they were following an older religion? Where was he from? Was he also Jewish, or was he from Gaul? Or Britain? why not make himself the religious prophet, and leader, why instead make up and deify this Jewish chap from an obscure region? Why did he write 4 Gospels ( and their precursor Q), or cause them to be written, and then the Acts of the Apostles, and then fake Paul, the writings in Josephus and and other references to Jesus, or people touched upon in the Gospels ( i.e. get all copies of Josephus and interpolate both Jesus and John the baptist in them). These are, or were, the actual claims of the Jesus as Myth proponents.

And, then suddenly in 100AD, the religion is big enough to be noticed by Rome. ( An argument from silence would get you that, by necessity, of course, since you can't go further forward in time from the first undisputed source - Pliny).

And, as is clear from the archaeological record, Bob spreads Christianity to the places where ( he says) Paul preached and wrote letters to - but since Paul was made up he needed to convince these places that both Christ and Paul existed, and they had always existed and Paul had sent these letters to previously existing Christian communities which didn't actually exist. The gentile Christians accepted that, and then forgot all about Paul and his letters, for he wrote none. None in his own name anyway.

I'd go with the simpler solution. Occam etc.

Did you actually read the thread before writing that?

I am wondering as if you had you would have seen that there have been few, if any, claiming Jesus never existed. Most have said he probably did but that it is incorrect to say his existence is historical fact as you are claiming.

Like I said earlier, I'm not convinced of the extreme poverty of Jesus as is assumed and certainly as is represented in art and media of the last two thousand years. His father is written as a carpenter. OK what kind of carpenter? In movies and such the trade is shown as near banging rocks off wood carpentry.

In a world where wood was one of the primary materials a carpenter by trade would have had plenty of work. Maybe he was a local shipwright. Given the proximity of the sea of Galilee and his sons interaction with fishermen this wouldn't be unrealistic. His father may have had a local boat building and repair business, even employing others. Maybe, as upwardly mobile peeps will, he paid for his son to enter a school of rabbinical studies(oh we've a son in the priesthood you know), which would explain much. Other sons may have been equally exposed to some schooling.

Even if a son apprenticed to him, carpentry requires measurement and understanding and the ability to read scales and measures. Plus a carpenter even back then wasn't usually chopping down trees himself, he'd have been buying in raw material and the selling the results. About the earliest forms of writing we have from the ancient world concerns such activities. TBH I'd be surprised if a carpenters son couldn't read. Doubly so a religiously minded one who would have been exposed to and reading the laws of Moses from early on.

Why wouldn't a religiously minded Jew read anyway? It was a literate society. The Empire was plenty literate too. Nothing like today, but lots of people could read.

No. Just no.

You're wrong about this idea, badly wrong, for four reasons.

1. The Spiderman Fallacy

"Just because there's a New York doesn't mean there's a Spiderman". I've highlighted this idea not even twenty posts ago. Just because there are people whose existence we can verify doesn't mean that the events of the bible are accurate as described in the gospels. This is why I introduced Cryptonomicon. It's a novel but constructed using real events (WWII, the SE Asia tech boom) and real people (Alan Turing). However, the story contained in the novel is fictional. So pointing out that Pilate existed doesn't really get you anywhere in trying to verify the authenticity of the gospel narratives.

2. Contradictions

One of the biggest problems faced with analysing four stories telling the same story (which Christians would have us believe agree completely) is that contradictions between the different accounts make the process of historical verification incredibly difficult. The problem for Christians is that the gospels are replete with them.

For example:

"After Jesus was born in Bethlehem in Judea, during the time of King Herod, Magi from the east came to Jerusalem"
    Matthew 2:1

"
    (This was the first census that took place while Quirinius was governor of Syria.)"
    Luke 2:2

So, Matthew's gospel places Jesus birth no later than 4 BCE, while Luke places it no earlier than 6AD. So you've got a ten year gap (probably more) to resolve in figuring out whether this event happened and whose version (if any) is correct.

Staying with the nativity:

"
    Now Jesus himself was about thirty years old when he began his ministry. He was the son, so it was thought, of Joseph, the son of Heli, the son of Matthat, the son of Levi, the son of Melki, the son of Jannai, the son of Joseph,"Luke 3:23-24

"Azor the father of Zadok, Zadok the father of Akim, Akim the father of Elihud, Elihud the father of Eleazar, Eleazar the father of Matthan, Matthan the father of Jacob, and Jacob the father of Joseph, the husband of Mary, and Mary was the mother of Jesus who is called the Messiah."
    Matthew 1:14-16

So they can't even agree on a family tree and it's not like they get the order mixed up, not even the names are the same.

OK, so if we're going to go through all the contradictions in the gospels, we'll be here all night so just a few more (without bible quotes) to reinforce the point.

• In Mark 14, the Last Supper is described as the Passover seder, making the evening of the last supper Passover eve. In John 13, Jesus washes his disciples feet but on the evening before Passover eve. (This has important ramifications for the trial of Jesus later on)
    • In Matthew 5, Jesus gives the famous Sermon on the Mount. However when describing the same event in Chapter 6, Luke describes the sermon as having been on a flat plain.
    • In Mark 15, Jesus is crucified at the third hour (rougly 9am) and dies at the ninth hour (3pm). However, John 19 says that Jesus was only taken away to be crucified at noon.
    • Jesus' last words according to Matthew is "My God, my God why have you forsaken me", while according to Luke it is "Father, into your hands I commend my spirit" while John goes with the short yet pithy "It is finished."
    • Then of course there are the resurrection accounts. We have among other contradictions, the being who greets the women at the tomb. It changes from one young man to two men to one angel to two angels depending on which gospel you read. Also the number of women changes with each gospel too.
    • Straying slightly outside the gospels for a minute, the gospel of Matthew tells us that in the aftermath of the trial and death of Jesus that Judas hangs himself in remorse having given back the money (Matthew 27). However in Acts 1, Judas buys a field with the money and then somehow, while walking across it, trips and his guts burst open (somehow).
    Yet, we are asked by Christians to believe that these stories are the reliable testimonies of eyewitnesses. Right.

3. Factual errors

This is the more important category since in every case above, one of the posited alternatives could be true. Not so here however. The first point to make here, which is something I will deal with in more detail in the last section, is that Mattew copies over 90% of his gospel verbatim from Mark with Luke also borrowing heavily although less than Matthew. So Mark will be the principal text dealt with here for this reason.

3a - Geography

The first point to be made is that Mark is woefully ignorant of Palestinian geography. This is something I mentioned before so I'll begin with this example from Mark 5.

"A large herd of pigs was feeding on the nearby hillside. The demons begged Jesus, “Send us among the pigs; allow us to go into them.” He gave them permission, and the impure spirits came out and went into the pigs. The herd, about two thousand in number, rushed down the steep bank into the lake and were drowned."

Now, the chapter opens by mentioning that Jesus and his posse have just landed in Gerasa (the land of the Gerasenes). So the demons who possessed the pigs run down the steep bank into the sea of Galilee.

Palestine.gif

As you can see on the map, Gerasa is quite far from the Sea of Galilee (about 30 miles to be exact), so that would have to be one massively steep hill.

Later in Chapter 7, Mark makes another criminal geography mistake:

"Then Jesus left the vicinity of Tyre and went through Sidon, down to the Sea of Galilee and into the region of the Decapolis."

Again, when we look at the map we see the problem:

"Palestine2.gif

Going from Tyre to Sidon means going almost completely in the opposite direction to the Sea of Galilee. Also, since there was no road between Sidon and the Sea of Galilee, this verse makes even less sense. It's also worth noting that older translations of the Bible make an even bigger mistake by having go through the Decapolis (a group of 10 cities SE of the Sea of Galilee) on his way to the Sea of Galilee from Sidon.

There are many more geographical errors in Mark but there's more to get through so let's crack on.

3b - Law

In Mark 10:11-12, he talks about Jewish divorce law saying:“Anyone who divorces his wife and marries another woman commits adultery against her. And if she divorces her husband and marries another man, she commits adultery.”

However, under Jewish law a woman would have had no such right.

Of course, throughout Mark Jesus and the disciples violate Jewish law all the time but whether that's ideological or out of ignorance of the author is debatable.

The biggest legal screw-up committed by Mark though is the trial of Jesus. This is described in detail in Mark 15.

The key problems with the trial are:

• The trial would never have been held at night as it would have been contrary to Jewish law.
    • The trial would only have taken place in the Hall of Hewn Stones in the temple and not in the home of a council member.
    • The trial would never have been conducted so close to Passover (Passover eve in the synoptics)
    • Sentences in such trials were not pronounced for 24 hours and not immediately in the case of Jesus.

3c - Historical/Chronological

Given that Mark is the shortest of the gospels and the earliest, it is also the lightest on detail so in some areas it doesn't stick it's neck out as much as the other gospels. However that isn't to say it's totally error free.
    In Mark 6, we see the death of John the Baptist during the life of Jesus. In Josephus (Antiquities 18,5) John the Baptist's death is described as having taken place in 36CE, after Jesus' death.

Now, while I have mostly dealt with errors in Mark, errors which largely get incorporated into the later synoptics, that's not to say that Matthew and Luke are capable of some whoppers on their own. Take this one from Luke for example:

"In the fifteenth year of the reign of Tiberius Caesar—when Pontius Pilate was governor of Judea, Herod tetrarch of Galilee, his brother Philip tetrarch of Iturea and Traconitis, and Lysanias tetrarch of Abilene— during the high-priesthood of Annas and Caiaphas, the word of God came to John son of Zechariah in the wilderness."
    Luke 3:1-2

Just one minor point, but Lysanias of Abilene died in 36BCE.

And then there's Matthew, poor Matthew. Matthew tries really hard in his gospel to craft a prophetic backstory for Jesus (virgin birth etc.) However he really sucks at quote-mining (or comprehension).

For example in Chapter 2 he references Hosea ("out of Egypt I have called my son"). Maybe though if he had read Hosea in more detail, he would have come across this: "When Israel was a child I loved him, and out of Egypt I called my son." See, not a reference to Jesus at all.

4. Plagiarism/Syncretism

There are two aspects of plagiarism to consider here, but neither should be associated with the kind of negative connotation that plagiarism usually carries. If anything it's more of a syncretic borrowing since the source work is still part of the bible.

The first aspect is the degree to which the synoptics (and to a much lesser extent John) copy from each other. While this does not have much of an influence on the objective authenticity of the accounts, it does pretty much rule out the notion that they are eyewitness accounts.

The second aspect of this plagiarism is a bit more damning from the whole "this all factually happened" point of view. Throughout Mark's gospel and the synoptics in general, many of the stories about Jesus and the miracles he performs are borrowed from older sources. Take this one for example:

"When Jesus had again crossed over by boat to the other side of the lake, a large crowd gathered around him while he was by the lake. Then one of the synagogue leaders, named Jairus, came, and when he saw Jesus, he fell at his feet. He pleaded earnestly with him, “My little daughter is dying. Please come and put your hands on her so that she will be healed and live.” So Jesus went with him. A large crowd followed and pressed around him. And a woman was there who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years. She had suffered a great deal under the care of many doctors and had spent all she had, yet instead of getting better she grew worse. When she heard about Jesus, she came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak, because she thought, “If I just touch his clothes, I will be healed.” Immediately her bleeding stopped and she felt in her body that she was freed from her suffering. At once Jesus realized that power had gone out from him. He turned around in the crowd and asked, “Who touched my clothes?” “You see the people crowding against you,” his disciples answered, “and yet you can ask, ‘Who touched me?’ ”
    But Jesus kept looking around to see who had done it. Then the woman, knowing what had happened to her, came and fell at his feet and, trembling with fear, told him the whole truth. He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.”
    While Jesus was still speaking, some people came from the house of Jairus, the synagogue leader. “Your daughter is dead,” they said. “Why bother the teacher anymore?” Overhearing what they said, Jesus told him, “Don’t be afraid; just believe.” He did not let anyone follow him except Peter, James and John the brother of James. When they came to the home of the synagogue leader, Jesus saw a commotion, with people crying and wailing loudly. He went in and said to them, “Why all this commotion and wailing? The child is not dead but asleep.” But they laughed at him. After he put them all out, he took the child’s father and mother and the disciples who were with him, and went in where the child was. He took her by the hand and said to her, “Talitha koum!” (which means “Little girl, I say to you, get up!”). Immediately the girl stood up and began to walk around (she was twelve years old). At this they were completely astonished. He gave strict orders not to let anyone know about this, and told them to give her something to eat."

This is the story of Jairus' daughter which is a retelling of the story from 2 Kings 4:25-35 with Elisha below (I have highlighted the similarities).

"So she set out and came to the man of God at Mount Carmel. When he saw her in the distance, the man of God said to his servant Gehazi, “Look! There’s the Shunammite! Run to meet her and ask her, ‘Are you all right? Is your husband all right? Is your child all right?’”
    “Everything is all right,” she said. When she reached the man of God at the mountain, she took hold of his feet. Gehazi came over to push her away, but the man of God said, “Leave her alone! She is in bitter distress, but the Lord has hidden it from me and has not told me why.” “Did I ask you for a son, my lord?” she said. “Didn’t I tell you, ‘Don’t raise my hopes’?”
    Elisha said to Gehazi, “Tuck your cloak into your belt, take my staff in your hand and run. Don’t greet anyone you meet, and if anyone greets you, do not answer. Lay my staff on the boy’s face.” But the child’s mother said, “As surely as the Lord lives and as you live, I will not leave you.” So he got up and followed her. Gehazi went on ahead and laid the staff on the boy’s face, but there was no sound or response. So Gehazi went back to meet Elisha and told him, “The boy has not awakened.” When Elisha reached the house, there was the boy lying dead on his couch. He went in, shut the door on the two of them and prayed to the Lord. Then he got on the bed and lay on the boy, mouth to mouth, eyes to eyes, hands to hands. As he stretched himself out on him, the boy’s body grew warm. Elisha turned away and walked back and forth in the room and then got on the bed and stretched out on him once more. The boy sneezed seven times and opened his eyes."

In Mark's gospel we also see other stories being borrowed such as the loaves and fishes, the raising of Lazarus and the exorcism I previously mentioned in Chapter 5 (borrowed from Homer's Odyssey, no less).

Summary

In short, there is very little in the gospels that we can be confident about as far as the story goes. While we can verify the people and places, this doesn't help us with the narrative itself. What we have to go on are accounts which are not eyewitness accounts, written decades after the events they describe, full of contradictions and inaccuracies. How can we possibly begin to describe anything they contain as factual. Moreover, if we treat the gospels as a single source it gets even worse.
    We have ways of verifying things like eyewitness testimony as these accounts purport to be. Things like this:

Federal Rules of Evidence

These rules give us guidelines which allow us to determine when an eyewitness isn't reliable. The rules above allow for impeachment of witnesses if any of the following conditions are met:

• Anonymous
    • Incompetent
    • Hearsay
    • Bias
    • Inconsistent statements
    • Untruthful
    • Contradiction
    Every gospel account breaches multiple categories in this list. And that would be even if we didn't know all the other things that we have learned from textual scholarship about the authorship, date of composition etc.

There is no-one in this thread who has yet to propose that Jesus is a de novo myth, created from scratch. What I will say, however is that while Jesus probably existe, much of what we think we know about his life is a later invention. The only things that we can even begin to be confident about in relation to Jesus are scattered sayings (i.e. Q, Thomas) and the empty tomb narrative. Claiming anything beyond that about Jesus as if it were fact is either dishonest or foolish or both.

No. Just no.

You're wrong about this idea, badly wrong, for four reasons.

1. The Spiderman Fallacy

"Just because there's a New York doesn't mean there's a Spiderman". I've highlighted this idea not even twenty posts ago. Just because there are people whose existence we can verify doesn't mean that the events of the bible are accurate as described in the gospels. This is why I introduced Cryptonomicon. It's a novel but constructed using real events (WWII, the SE Asia tech boom) and real people (Alan Turing). However, the story contained in the novel is fictional. So pointing out that Pilate existed doesn't really get you anywhere in trying to verify the authenticity of the gospel narratives.

However, my main point was that Bob was a bit too familiar with the events in Palestine in 30AD since he was writing in 100AD. And possibly not from Palestine. Remember that Jerusalem was destroyed in AD 70, and therefore being aware of who was actually in power at the time and how that actual divisions of power worked would put the writers closer to the dates of the Gospels.
    There is no-one in this thread who has yet to propose that Jesus is a de novo myth, created from scratch. What I will say, however is that while Jesus probably existe, much of what we think we know about his life is a later invention. The only things that we can even begin to be confident about in relation to Jesus are scattered sayings (i.e. Q, Thomas) and the empty tomb narrative. Claiming anything beyond that about Jesus as if it were fact is either dishonest or foolish or both.

I am ignoring the rest of your guff. The only argument here is the historicity of Jesus, not the total accuracy of the bibles. I said the Gospels weren't exact, and maybe the trial of Jesus was an entirely Roman affair, maybe not. Maybe Mark didn't know his geography, maybe not. Your entire list of conflicts is against a straw man I didn't make. Since I never said : Mark is totally accurate. I was arguing, as you have to if you claim founder X didn't exist, you have to propose founder Y instead, and prove Y existed.

In fact I even said that Jesus was a mendicant preacher who might, or might not have, declared himself the Messiah. Thats all, and hardly Christian rhetoric. I neither know nor is it relevant to that statement what might have been taken from Elisha, or may not have been Jewish law regarding trials. I have no doubt that Mark or Q was writing based on other people's sources - although the sources may have been eye witnesses, they would have biases. The argument for the exact historicity of the bibles is a different argument you are having with a Christian straw man who believed the Gospels exact in entirety, rather than in parts. Which is not only not dealing with my points, but is not even countering the only argument I mentioned with regards to the Gospels being accurate in parts - why would Jesus not be born and raised in Bethlehem if nonexistent . And of course by engaging in that kind of argument against he Christian bogeyman A&A is going to thank you, profusely. Look at what the Christians believe. But I am not one.

Simply put it's either Jesus, or someone else. Feel free to argue against the points made in my actual argument. Prove Bob. If we prefer Jesus to Bob, then Jesus is most likely - we can only talk about probabilities. The thread is about that, whatever else people may think in the interim, the OP and others were doubting the existence of Jesus. The resident genius asked

"Please link me a document contemporary with Jesus (i.e not a gospel) that proves he existed?

Otherwise, it is speculation based on second hand, noncontempornious accounts - aka hearsay."

Which would also be , if you ignore the first folio, what you could say about proving the historical shakespeare did actually write the plays. "Sure he was an actor but can you prove he really wrote all the plays." Answer: can't without a time machine.

I make the same arguments with anti-Stratfordians, which is what this argument often resembles. Yes, you find a lot of flaws with proving that this historical Shakespeare cannot be proven exactly to be the writer of the plays. But then, who did? And then they flounder.

So it comes down to probabilities. Jesus, or Bob. I go with Jesus.

However, my main point was that Bob was a bit too familiar with the events in Palestine in 30AD since he was writing in 100AD. And possibly not from Palestine. Remember that Jerusalem was destroyed in AD 70, and therefore being aware of who was actually in power at the time and how that actual divisions of power worked would put the writers closer to the dates of the Gospels.

I am ignoring the rest of your guff. The only argument here is the historicity of Jesus, not the total accuracy of the bibles. I said the Gospels weren't exact, and maybe the trial of Jesus was an entirely Roman affair, maybe not. Maybe Mark didn't know his geography, maybe not. Your entire list of conflicts is against a straw man I didn't make. Since I never said : Mark is totally accurate. I was arguing, as you have to if you claim founder X didn't exist, you have to propose founder Y instead, and prove Y existed.

In fact I even said that Jesus was a mendicant preacher who might, or might not have, declared himself the Messiah. Thats all, and hardly Christian rhetoric. I neither know nor is it relevant to that statement what might have been taken from Elisha, or may not have been Jewish law regarding trials. I have no doubt that Mark or Q was writing based on other people's sources - although the sources may have been eye witnesses, they would have biases. The argument for the exact historicity of the bibles is a different argument you are having with a Christian straw man who believed the Gospels exact in entirety, rather than in parts. Which is not only not dealing with my points, but is not even countering the only argument I mentioned with regards to the Gospels being accurate in parts - why would Jesus not be born and raised in Bethlehem if nonexistent . And of course by engaging in that kind of argument against he Christian bogeyman A&A is going to thank you, profusely. Look at what the Christians believe. But I am not one.

Simply put it's either Jesus, or someone else. Feel free to argue against the points made in my actual argument. Prove Bob. If we prefer Jesus to Bob, then Jesus is most likely - we can only talk about probabilities. The thread is about that, whatever else people may think in the interim, the OP and others were doubting the existence of Jesus. The resident genius asked

"Please link me a document contemporary with Jesus (i.e not a gospel) that proves he existed?

Otherwise, it is speculation based on second hand, noncontempornious accounts - aka hearsay."

Which would also be , if you ignore the first folio, what you could say about proving the historical shakespeare did actually write the plays. "Sure he was an actor but can you prove he really wrote all the plays." Answer: can't without a time machine.

I make the same arguments with anti-Stratfordians, which is what this argument often resembles. Yes, you find a lot of flaws with proving that this historical Shakespeare cannot be proven exactly to be the writer of the plays. But then, who did? And then they flounder.

So it comes down to probabilities. Jesus, or Bob. I go with Jesus.

'Guff'
    'Resident genius'

Oh dear - when one needs to resort to such tactics it begs the question who exactly is clutching at straws?

You have stated that 'The only argument here is the historicity of Jesus, not the total accuracy of the bibles.' but failed to grasp that these same gospels which you concede 'weren't exact' form the only evidence for the existence of Jesus therefore, logically, the evidence is flawed.

Frank -
    I was arguing, as you have to if you claim founder X didn't exist, you have to propose founder Y instead, and prove Y existed.
    Have a read of oldrnwisr's post again.
    There is no-one in this thread who has yet to propose that Jesus is a de novo myth, created from scratch.
    You've missed the point with a totality that's almost enjoyable.

No need to resort to "resident genius" or "guff" level prose either -- your point is poor enough already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭nagirrac

You have stated that 'The only argument here is the historicity of Jesus, not the total accuracy of the bibles.' but failed to grasp that these same gospels which you concede 'weren't exact' form the only evidence for the existence of Jesus therefore, logically, the evidence is flawed.

I would argue that the contents of the Nag Hammadi library represents not alone alternative evidence for the existence of Jesus but a potentially more accurate depiction of who he was. The Gnostics were pronounced as heretics in 180 CE and had been ostracized and had most of their texts destroyed by 400 CE. The Nag Hammadi library dates from this time and likely represents the best original unaltered documents we have on the question of Jesus. There would have been no motive to alter the texts to fit a myth, the motive actually was to hide the texts to avoid destruction, and they did not get incorporated into the bible.