Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Might be purchasing an RS4..

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

tossy wrote: »
    Rs4's and cars like them are taken by high end scumbags looking for getaway cars or cars to tour the country in while robbing petrol stations etc. They want a car that sits 4 or 5 comfortably with room for 'tool's' (not including the humans) a car that doesn't stand out to your average Joe citizen and a car that will outrun everything. ( I heard recently of a stolen M5 out running the helicopter on a motorway stretch). No Offense to the DC5 but it's not their target car - as Joe citizen would never forget 4 sacks squashed into a white honda screaming through the town :D the lines on crime watch would be hopping out of it.

Agree entirely tossy, would see this kind of thing as a potential issue in Dublin but if the OP is from Cork it would be a different story, these kind of robberies would be much rarer down here. If I had the money for a car like this I wouldnt be too worried about it unless I was visiting somewhere unfamiliar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭VeVeX

tossy wrote: »
    No Offense to the DC5 but it's not their target car - as Joe citizen would never forget 4 sacks squashed into a white honda screaming through the town :D the lines on crime watch would be hopping out of it.

I was full sure you were going to throw in at least one reference to baseball caps when I started to read that sentence. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

VeVeX wrote: »
    I was full sure you were going to throw in at least one reference to baseball caps when I started to read that sentence.

Stereotype much? :D

I forgot lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

With regards debadging.. the first A6 I bought had the 3.0 TDI Quattro badge on the back and I left it as is.

The 2nd one doesn't have anything except for A6 at the back and given the rise in thefts of decent cars I'm thinking I'll leave it like that to avoid unnecessary attention (although it still has a Quattro badge in the front grille)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

Wibbs wrote: »
    Jesus. Though you would think if the cops had heard this and knew the location and general timeframe when this crime would kick off maybe actually waiting to catch the scum would be in order. Crazy idea I know... I wonder if they'd had similar info only concerning a TD would they have been as carefree? I doubt it.

I deliberately left this bit out, their suggestion was that they would put a rapid response unit on standby and provide yer man with some sort of direct comms so when the boys came calling he could alert the unit..... Now can you imagine going to bed and trying to sleep knowing that this was on the cards? For three nights? And what if they didn't show up? Would it be the next weekend?? :eek:
    So he said thanks but no thanks....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    With regards debadging.. the first A6 I bought had the 3.0 TDI Quattro badge on the back and I left it as is.

The 2nd one doesn't have anything except for A6 at the back and given the rise in thefts of decent cars I'm thinking I'll leave it like that to avoid unnecessary attention (although it still has a Quattro badge in the front grille)

When I first got the 535d I was considering putting a 518d badge on the back. I love the Q car idea. But when push came to shove I couldnt do it to her!

Max Power1 wrote: »
    When I first got the 535d I was considering putting a 518d badge on the back. I love the Q car idea. But when push came to shove I couldnt do it to her!

Yea (or no?) I couldn't "underspec" mine like that either.. It'd have to be what she is, or nothing at all.

It does look a bit bare though but it is nice watching cars shrink in the rearview as you put the foot down too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

I think people over think this way to much. At the end of the day even with a car like this the chances of it being stolen are very small. I would just simply refuse to live my life in fear of what might happen and would not change anything about where I kept my car from a worrying about theft point of view if it was a fiesta or a Ferrari. Now the better the car the more I'd want it parked off street or even better in a garage but that would be nothing to do with theft just purely down to looking after the cars bodywork .

Even in the extremely unlikely event you were targeted they have to get the keys and I wouldn't be leaving the keys around to be found.

Your dead right, that is the right attitude , having had a little personel experience of this problem I'm probably a little paranoid but the chances of problems are remote and taking the usual precautions to deter joyriders etc and keeping it out of sight if possible at home should be enough..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

So they are standard in other words. If I order the car and specify nothing it has badges therefore standard. You have to make a request to have them not added.
    I sold Audi for a Dublin dealership, and here's how it worked: I'd go through the specification of the car with the customer, double checking colour, wheels, cost options, no cost options, and yes, badge delete. I'd ask them whether they wanted power badging, and order the car accordingly.
    Standard to me means how the vast majority of a particular car are spec'd. I'd say 99% have badges therefore this is standard.
    And you'd be wrong.

You like your plastic badges, and that's fine. But a car can be just as much standard without power badges as with. Neither way is more 'right' or more 'original', it's generally down to whether or not the owner wants the engine advertised on the back of the car. Or sometimes they just wouldn't want another badge to wash around/get pulled off by kids/whatever.

Anan1 wrote: »
    I sold Audi for a Dublin dealership, and here's how it worked: I'd go through the specification of the car with the customer, double checking colour, wheels, cost options, no cost options, and yes, badge delete. I'd ask them whether they wanted power badging, and order the car accordingly.
    And you'd be wrong.

You like your plastic badges, and that's fine. But a car can be just as much standard without power badges as with. Neither way is more 'right' or more 'original', it's generally down to whether or not the owner wants the engine advertised on the back of the car. Or sometimes they just wouldn't want another badge to wash around/get pulled off by kids/whatever.

Its like talking to a brick wall trying to talk to you because no matter how obvious it is that you're wrong you keep saying you aren't.

The badges will be put on by default unless otherwise specified that means badges are standard no ifs no buts that's just a fact. The fact you keep saying its an no cost OPTION and you have to ask the person you are selling it to all suggests the way Audi would make the car as standard would be with the badges.

Let's say alloy wheels are standard on a car and I ask for upgraded ones from factory. The car no longer had standard wheels it has upgraded ones. This is the very same but in the other direction, you have the option to downgrade to car to having no badges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭scwazrh

This thread is supposed to be about a boardsie test driving a RS4 , not waffle about de-badging .Any chance you can start different thread about de-badging so that the rest of us who would like to read about an RS4 dont have to wade through the crap posts about badges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

scwazrh wrote: »
    This thread is supposed to be about a boardsie test driving a RS4 , not waffle about de-badging .Any chance you can start different thread about de-badging so that the rest of us who would like to read about an RS4 dont have to wade through the crap posts about badges.

Ooooohhhh tough words from the new guy :P :D

You're 100% correct though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

Don't debadge it!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

scwazrh wrote: »

I agree, tbh I'm not gonna be bothered updating this thread due to the amount of crap in it.

The main reason I don't really bother posting here anymore.

Pity really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Did u purchase/test drive??? And if u want to debadge/ rebadge or just give it to me, do what ever u like but I'd be more inclined to give it to me 😉

To be fair, whatever about some of the more "extreme" posts, security IS a concern with a car like this - or any "higher end" car these days.

Given the sadly almost daily threads here about some poor feckers pride and joy being nicked, I don't think it's too much of a stretch to be discussing options of deterring/diverting the scrotes that do such things - especially where people don't have locked garages or even driveways to help protect it.

Just my 2c but personally I just skim anything drastically off-topic or by posters I know to be generally baiting (site-wide, I'm not just referring to this thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Ok so security is a concern and de-badging is an option .Most of probably know that but I doubt many of us drove an RS4 today.

If the OP did get to drive it today , Any chance of telling the rest of us what it was like?

Can we de-post (I'll get my coat :P) and just talk about the rs4? Having never driven one I am curious as to how the OP's test drive went!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

mik_da_man wrote: »
    I agree, tbh I'm not gonna be bothered updating this thread due to the amount of crap in it.

Pity really.

Start another thread "i test drove an RS4" and the first mention of badging recieves a ban :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭wotswattage

Never noticed a car having a non-linear speedo before. Se how the scale is completely different on the left side and right side of the dial? The pic is from the 2nd (less nice) blue RS4 mentioned in this thread.

Is this common on high-end cars/modern cars? Its an interesting feature.

no-image-large.gif

Gorgeous car by the way!!

its linear in any e60 I've seen, maybe it is only in newer cars? Bit silly imo? Is that not photoshopped?

Just did a quick google and found one on a Polo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Never noticed a car having a non-linear speedo before. Se how the scale is completely different on the left side and right side of the dial? The pic is from the 2nd (less nice) blue RS4 mentioned in this thread.

Is this common on high-end cars/modern cars? Its an interesting feature.
    It was non-linear in my V10TDI Phaeton too, 2004 plate.

Matt Simis wrote: »

Totally OT, but niiice
    Must have been practically the only one in Ireland with the proper TDI engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Killinator

Matt Simis wrote: »

Think it's non-linear in the MK V GTI, I think I noticed that in mine, judging by posts here it's common in VWs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RedorDead

And you'd be wrong.

Man - you are anal! Badges are standard equipment on all Audis - trust me. Just because theres an option to delete them doesnt mean they arent standard? Its just like on some models we offer upholstery downgrades from leather to cloth or from 18" alloys to 17" for fleet and tyre running costs. It doesnt mean the standard equipment has changed.

And please OP - buy it and dont debadge. Just get a really really good tracker and home security system. These cars are the mutts nuts!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Have you not bought that yet!

RedorDead wrote: »
    Man - you are anal! Badges are standard equipment on all Audis - trust me. Just because theres an option to delete them doesnt mean they arent standard? Its just like on some models we offer upholstery downgrades from leather to cloth or from 18" alloys to 17" for fleet and tyre running costs. It doesnt mean the standard equipment has changed.
    *Yawns* Read what I posted, and then maybe move on?

Have read, cannot move on as your post makes nonsense.

Standard = Default = what happens if nothing is said = badges present

Now please, please drop it. This silly nonsense about debadging is ruining a great thread about a fast car, one which many of us would love to own (myself included, even though Im a bmw fanboy)

I can't stress enough the importance of realising when one is wrong and slinking away quietly!

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Have read, cannot move on as your post makes nonsense.

Standard = Default = what happens if nothing is said = badges present

Now please, please drop it.
    You're really insistent on making sh1t of this thread, aren't you? Read my post #90 again. Whether you get it or not i'm done here. Apologies to the OP for the sidetrack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Guy who sold Audi being told his post are nonsense by lots of people who have not sold audi. amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

1596127.jpg

Technically yes, but that's really clutching at straws, no? The original buyer decides whether or not they want power badging, meaning that some cars are technically standard with and some without.
    You're really insistent on making sh1t of this thread, aren't you? Read my post #90 again. Whether you get it or not i'm done here. Apologies to the OP for the sidetrack.

Excuse me? Read your post #90 again, which is factually incorrect?

How about you go through all your posts on this thread and come back with something that is actually accurate.

As for this remark
    You're really insistent on making sh1t of this thread, aren't you?
    You are the one who incorrectly claims that debadging is standard, therefore it is you good sir who has made sh!t of a potentially good thread.

MaxPower1

In fairness Anan that is Max's first post on the issue, this also my only one.
    You've been dragging this on for pages yourself man.

If a car is being bought and neither party specify anything about badges, the badges will go on yeah?
    If on the other hand it is said that the badges are not to go on then that has to be noted as it is away from the norm, a €0 option but an option none the less.

Can't wait to here what went on with the RS4 yesterday man, I'd love a spin in one.

YbFocus wrote: »
    In fairness Anan that is Max's first post on the issue, this also my only one.
    You've been dragging this on for pages yourself man.

If a car is being bought and neither party specify anything about badges, the badges will go on yeah?
    If on the other hand it is said that the badges are not to go on then that has to be noted as it is away from the norm, a €0 option but an option none the less.

Can't wait to here what went on with the RS4 yesterday man, I'd love a spin in one.

I actually haven't, I take issue with that.

However your second paragragh (italicized) is the start and end of what I have been saying for "pages" (i believe I have less than 5 posts on this thread since its inception, of which at least some if not the majority are talking about the RS4 and not the other thing.

As you have spelled out the "other thing" now too, I am going to leave it at that.

You read that wrong Max, didin't say anything against you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

mik_da_man wrote: »

Pity really.
    YbFocus wrote: »

There you have it, we won't be hearing a thing. Well done lads, just keep going, one of those nails you put into the coffin of this forum will be the last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭serious3

i had the pleasure of being absolutley murdered by an RS6 avant on the way into holyhead yesterday, i was doing *ahem 95mph ish officer and saw two lights waaaay back so rolled off slightly, next thing another bike came passed on the limiter in top gear closely followed by the RS6.... caught up with the lad on the bike at holyhead, gsxr1000 with a power commander and race pipes, he reckoned he saw 295kmh on the speedo before the RS6 backed off:eek: good thing we were on irish plates in the UK:D

so OP did you buy it????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I think we're done with this, if I cleaned it up there'd be not much left.

Hopefully this thread goes down better.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057013888