Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 5 Episode 9: Blood Money SPOILERS WITHIN

15678911»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Zarak12 wrote: »
    Her mannerism distract "him"? Who is him?

Penn. Who else would I be talking about. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Countless times I've been surprised by an actor's nationality, so good was their accent. It's seriously not that rare.

I still find it weird hearing Idris Elba speaking with his natural British accent, so good was his American one in The Wire, and not just the accent, the mannerisms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭briany

It's not that far fetched that Lydia would speak in a halting, nervous fashion because the only times we see her are when she's dealing with Walt or something related to her illicit side business. If she spoke the same way when she was ordering Chinese from home, with the feet up, we could then maybe say it was annoying or unnecessary.

The thing I'd like to know is how she got involved in the first place. She doesn't seem to have the constitution for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,471 ✭✭✭batistuta9

briany wrote: »

The thing I'd like to know is how she got involved in the first place. She doesn't seem to have the constitution for it.

she seems alright/comfortable with it in the montage (ep8) when putting a label on a barrel to be shipped to the czech rep. so i'd think she's the type who's grand when things are going good, this would've been the case for years with Gus but when things go wrong - like Gus' death, etc. - she cracks

what i'd like to know is where did she got the list from?

how or why does she know all the people on it, at most she knows/should know 4
    ron - a guy who works in the warehouse, he's the guy she gives up, he's later killed in prison
    chow - owned a chemical company that methylamine went to before onto the lab
    dennis - runs the laundromat
    chris - know him someway as she tries to get him to kill mike & everyone on it too

used this site http://breakingbad.wikia.com/wiki/Breaking_Bad_Wiki and the rest of the list seem to be enforcers, why would she know them, does it even matter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

How many times has this shot been used?

vIGA03P.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Yes, I would agree with that.

There are no heroes in this show, but, of the principal remaining 'villains', Jesse is as close to a character with redeeming qualities as there is. He has a conscience.

Furthermore, nothing Walt says is believable any more. He tells Hank the cancer is back and that its terminal. Is it? We dont know. But it looks like Hank believes him. He tells Skylar he is finished. Her body language suggests she believes him. But is he?

I expect Jesse to go back to that therapy retreat place at some point, get himself right. I thought that scene where Jesse confronted the group leader at the retreat was one of the best in the whole show.

Jesse is the only character who (i) knows what Walt is like and (ii) can take him on.

After the Gus Fring thing do you honestly expect Jesse to come out on top?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

Walt always had a soft spot for Jesse, one things for sure, he'd never see it coming!

Maybe that's what Jessie will do with his gun. It would make a lot of sense actually. The show was always about the two of them, and I think for Jesse to shoot Walt would be a very satisfying ending. (after finding out about Jane, Brock and maybe another evil plot, of course)

Walt going from good to bad and Jesse from bad to good. Yeah, I like it!

krudler wrote: »
    I still find it weird hearing Idris Elba speaking with his natural British accent, so good was his American one in The Wire, and not just the accent, the mannerisms.

Have you heard Jimmy McNultys real accent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Melwood Kop

shrewdness wrote: »
    Notice Walt putting a towel under his knees when vomiting, another trait he's taken from someone he killed, Gus.
    and in the opening scene, Walt is wearning Jessie's jacket... has he killed Jessie?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

and in the opening scene, Walt is wearning Jessie's jacket... has he killed Jessie?:eek:

That's two things that are really putting me off. Maybe the writers are trying to lead us to believe Walt kills Skyler (& Jesse), just to throw us off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭manyoung

Jamez735 wrote: »
    Walt always had a soft spot for Jesse, one things for sure, he'd never see it coming!

Maybe that's what Jessie will do with his gun. It would make a lot of sense actually. The show was always about the two of them, and I think for Jesse to shoot Walt would be a very satisfying ending. (after finding out about Jane, Brock and maybe another evil plot, of course)

Walt going from good to bad and Jesse from bad to good. Yeah, I like it!

Jesse obviously wants to escape the world of drugs and clearly doesn't trust Walt. Throwing money on lawns will always cause suspicion and he may be brought in. I can see a Jesse-Hank alliance taking place perhaps.

Yeah, he will go mental when he finds out about Brock. Walt was more or less allowing himself to be caught by putting the plant in his car.

Don't really see how he would find out about Jane, unless Walt tells him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

manyoung wrote: »

Yeah, he will go mental when he finds out about Brock. Walt was more or less allowing himself to be caught by putting the plant in his car.

Don't really see how he would find out about Jane, unless Walt tells him.

I presume he put all the stuff in his car to dispose of it somewhere later. Also, that was his old car wasnt it? So any evidence will be long gone.

I can see Walt taunting jesse in a showdown by telling him all the things he has done, never expecting jesse to actually get the upper hand somehow which is what I hope happens. Jesse kills Walt and then goes off with his money to make a new life for himself. Doubt it will be such a clean ending though!

manyoung wrote: »
    Jesse obviously wants to escape the world of drugs and clearly doesn't trust Walt. Throwing money on lawns will always cause suspicion and he may be brought in. I can see a Jesse-Hank alliance taking place perhaps.

So Jesse might go informant? It's certainly possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Jesse did pretty well down in Mexico.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

hank would have a better chance of cutting a deal with skylar using marie to get her to talk than jessie turning informant imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,431 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Was away on holidays so only got a chance to watch this now.

I didn't think they could possibly beat the opening of 5x01 but the sheer number of questions from that scene - ricin? Carol's reaction? Boarded up house? Graffiti? It's gonna be an interesting final few episodes.

Two standout scenes by far - Jesse and Walt / Walt and Hank.

First things first - Cranston, Paul and Norris just continue to bring their A game. These guys can express such emotion in a glassy eyed stare. Amazing!

Jesse and Walt's scene was a tough one to watch - still racked with guilt and Walt lying so blatantly to him about Mike. Not sure where his story goes from here - but Walt and Jesse as business / cooking partners or even "friends"? That boat has truly sailed!

Walt and Hank was one of those scenes we've all been waiting for, and it didn't disappoint. Walt throwing the idea that he'll never see a jail cell due to his cancer returning was a stroke of genius. Hank has to "tread lightly" both for his own safety and the risk of isolating Marie and Walt's family. This will eat him up inside and will be fascinating to see how the dynamic changes between them and families.

Best thing about only watching now is less of a wait for the next episode.

As I've said before - if Vince and the rest of the writers continue to the calibre they've been delivering and if the cast keep turning in top-notch performances (a given I'd say), this will remain THE show to beat in eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

Basq wrote: »
    Walt and Hank was one of those scenes we've all been waiting for, and it didn't disappoint. Walt throwing the idea that he'll never see a jail cell due to his cancer returning was a stroke of genius. Hank has to "tread lightly" both for his own safety and the risk of isolating Marie and Walt's family. This will eat him up inside and will be fascinating to see how the dynamic changes between them and families.

It'll be great to see how Hank handles all this information, He can't exactly start an open investigation on Walt. I agree with what other people are saying, He might recruit Jesse/Skyler in bringing down Walt.

But even if he does his career will be over. Like his old boss got fired for not realizing Gus was a drug lord, The same will happen to Hank. That's if Hank survives this whole mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Was Saul ridin some latino hooker just before Jesse came in? He must have lost a lot of money or you would expect her to be a bit hotter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

Was Saul ridin some latino hooker just before Jesse came in? He must have lost a lot of money are you would expect her to be a bit hotter.

Saul does very very well money wise. He's definitely a millionaire but keeps his practice because it's good business and easy to launder money through.

As for the massage therapist, Different strokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

But even if he does his career will be over. Like his old boss got fired for not realizing Gus was a drug lord, The same will happen to Hank. That's if Hank survives this whole mess.

Yeah, remember his ex-boss saying he had Gus over to his house for a barbecue once - didn't suspect a thing. Hank more or less comes and goes to Casa Walter any time he feels like a beer and someone to feel sorry for. Not to mention Walt popping by Hanks office to shoot the breeze and bug the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

While Hank might try to keep things relatively quiet (for fear of losing his job) and pursue Walt on his own (although I'm not sure where the endgame would be in that), I think he's just as likely to march ahead and not give a **** about the job, because it's about justice. I think it's within his character to do so, possibly even through emotion/anger.
    Perhaps he might lose his job as a result, and then pursue Walt as a citizen, rather than a DEA agent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Zarak12

Was Saul ridin some latino hooker just before Jesse came in? He must have lost a lot of money or you would expect her to be a bit hotter.

She was a masseuse. A proper masseuese she had the bed and everything. Most hookers don't carry orthopaedic beds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't think anybody has pointed out that the show has been getting consistently more exciting since it's beginning. There hasn't been a weak season, there's no sign that the writers are running out of ideas. Fair play to the writers for keeping a smooth ever upward trajectory to what should prove to be a very satisfying conclusion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I didnt want to watch it, but i gave in a after a few beers, one word un****ing real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Zarak12

I don't think anybody has pointed out that the show has been getting consistently more exciting since it's beginning. There hasn't been a weak season, there's no sign that the writers are running out of ideas. Fair play to the writers for keeping a smooth ever upward trajectory to what should prove to be a very satisfying conclusion.

I thought the
    plane crash in season 3 was stupid and unsatisfying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Hank is one of those guys who we know will go all out to get his man. This one will be off the books which will make it more interesting. That last scene was a cracker. And Walt saying to Jesse 'I need you to believe me' that strange phrasing made the scene. Tv is miles ahead of hollywood film at the moment, who would have thought there would be such a reversal, watched 'Elysium' the other day over an hour of boredom then I watch this around 40 minutes of pure gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

For me its trajectory has been the simple up-then-down trajectory of most other shows. Which isn't to say I think it's gotten bad either.

So Jesse might go informant? It's certainly possible!

As someone alluded to early talking about badgers star trek story, two guys left in the pie eating comp , ie walt and Jesse, but someone is helping Jesse behind the scenes, ie hank, hank gets distracted by female like skylar which leads to Jesse death....

Sirsok wrote: »
    As someone alluded to early talking about badgers star trek story, two guys left in the pie eating comp , ie walt and Jesse, but someone is helping Jesse behind the scenes, ie hank, hank gets distracted by female like skylar which leads to Jesse death....

You mean Walt*. I didn't think of that, good interpretation!

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Jesse did pretty well down in Mexico.....

We all know theres only going to be one winner in that showdown if it ever comes off.

Sirsok wrote: »

My Jesse and Hank spit roasting Skylar suggestion is still a runner so.

WTF!!!

I'm just gonna go to the bathroom, place a towel under my knees and get sick now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Have you heard Jimmy McNultys real accent?

It's this one right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭theholyghost

Wow I signed up to Netflix just to catch the last episodes, I have this fear that if I don't see them more or less live by the time they come to TG4 someone will have blurted out how it all ends.

What a confrontation! Im glad they got it out of the way rather than drag it on, makes things interesting. I've always found Hank to be the most likeable and charasmatic person in the show, I hope it works out good for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Tomfla

Am I the only one on here who is rooting for Walt, I like Hank and think he will give Walt a ridiculous hard time. In fact I’m still not sure who will win in their inevitable fight till the death.

Its similar to the Sopranos in that it was all about the trials and tribulations of one man providing for his family and dealing with whoever has the nads to get in his way.

I’m rooting for Walt to stay on top and I don’t care who knows it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭Mousewar

Tomfla wrote: »
    Am I the only one on here who is rooting for Walt, I like Hank and think he will give Walt a ridiculous hard time. In fact I’m still not sure who will win in their inevitable fight till the death.

Its similar to the Sopranos in that it was all about the trials and tribulations of one man providing for his family and dealing with whoever has the nads to get in his way.

I'm rooting for Walt to redeem himself a bit. That's what I'm after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Tomfla

I’m rooting for Walt the same way I was rooting for Tony Soprano. Its made up TV land first off so I don’t need to feel guilty. Also they are the central characters who scrape through and turn the tables time and again. Also I love the way Walt told Hank to thread lightly in the face off in Hanks garage. He got his chance to be nice and when that didn’t work he went the other way and let him know who is boss. Trump card.

Can’t wait till next week, looks like Hank will try to get Jesse to join him in bringing down Walt but I personally reckon that at the last minute Jesse will tell Hank to get lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I’m rooting for Walt the same way I was rooting for Tony Soprano. Its made up TV land first off so I don’t need to feel guilty.

I agree. So many films have the bad guy win, and it makes the story.

Well, considering there's an episode near the end entitled 'Ozymandias', I wouldn't hold your breath...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭snausages

Well, considering there's an episode near the end entitled 'Ozymandias', I wouldn't hold your breath...

OMG SPOILER :eek: ;)

snausages wrote: »

I know, right? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

snausages wrote: »

Life time ban from the Internet! :mad:

Might be annoyed if I had any idea what that word meant :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

"Have Skylar bring the kids here, and then we'll talk" - Hank to Walt, S5E09 ("Blood Money")
    m5ii.jpg

This is the scene when Hank confronts Walt about being Heisenberg. I've been wondering about this statement. If Walt agreed to this, do you think there's a chance Hank would've not turned him in? How do you think it would've panned out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I think Hank would have turned him in either way.

Hank views Walt as a monster at this stage, someone who ordered a successful hit on multiple witnesses, who mass manufactured a destructive drug and who bombed a nursing home to save his own skin.

Basically he sees Walt as something now unknown to him, and someone who may be capable of anything (including hurting his own family).

So I reckon Hank asking Walt to bring the kids to him was just Hank's way of, in his own mind, ensuring they're safety.