Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cannonball run Limerick visit *Mod warning Post 84 *

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭cottager83

Anyone know how long these cars will be around Pery square? Am heading to the Munster game so would be after 7 before I'd be up that direction. Cheers!

Not very long. 17:30 to 18:30 according to their site. Try get there for a look before the match if you can. Head away at 18:15 and you should make it in plenty of time for the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,278 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Not leaving until 10am Sun Morning apparently:
    On Saturday August 24th, CANNONBALL leaves Cork at 10.30am to take in a stunning drive through Kenmare and Killarney and arrives to Limerick at 5:30pm.

On Sunday morning Cannonballers will leave Limerick at 10am and go to Killaloe for a very special Gathering of the 'Men of the Water'. From there the cars will move on to Cashel in Tipperary at 1:30pm where they will close a Cannonball Festival before descending on Tullamore in County Offaly at 6pm for the finish line where the roars of the engines will compete with a cheering crowd of over 10,000 people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

How do they know 10,000 people. Based on what I saw coming out of Dublin the road to Cashel will one best avoided this weekend...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

Seems to be running very late...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LB6

on news today it said that it'll be 7.30 before the cars get to Limerick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 988 ✭✭✭deadeye187

what time and from where they leaving tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭Jofspring

They seem to be all over town at the moment so worth a drive in. Just got sandwiched on Henry street between a Maserati and a Lamborghini

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Kev131

Watched them leave Pery square last night.
    Awesome cars and sounds with some smoking burnouts.

Hardcore acceleration across the O Connell street junction that really needed to be on a racetrack only but it was exhilarating if also dangerous to get so close to the sights sounds and smells. The "supercars" were all over the place in the wet but the real performers were the 4WD Audi S4 and S6. They laid down their power without a twitch and were gone with snarling crackles! I defy anyone not to be impressed with some of these machines. The participants were friendly too and prepared to chat.

I'm getting up now to see them leave as last night was so much fun. :-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 988 ✭✭✭deadeye187

Was in town all morning watching the cars, the noise of sum of them is unreal!....class cars, good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭misterdeeds

Please move outta d way and let them pass ,vroooooom and der they go ha ha
    As for calling them w*nkers ,all the people who take part in cannonball are the most lovely people you could wish to meet I have met most of them over the last few years and I have to say they are so so nice and generous and always kind to many many kids who wanna sit into the cars they have ,they put alot of their OWN MONEY AND TIME into this v good cause every year
    I have nothing to do with cannonball just follow it every year for the last 3 years and hope to continue doing so
    So please do not comment on people you do not know nor have met
    and keep your opinions to yourself .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Went to this with my family and young kids.Whatever about the delay that ok cause they got tons of free popcorn but the arrival entrance was done very badly.They should have had more barriers and stewards or even just closed Mallow street fully and an hour or so.The cars letting of there engines went down well with the crowd but one car kinda half skidded and it took have ended badly.The young lads loved and my nephrew who loves cars was amazed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

As for calling them w*nkers ,all the people who take part in cannonball are the most lovely people you could wish to meet I have met most of them over the last few years and I have to say they are so so nice and generous and always kind to many many kids who wanna sit into the cars they have ,they put alot of their OWN MONEY AND TIME into this v good cause every year
    I have nothing to do with cannonball just follow it every year for the last 3 years and hope to continue doing so
    and keep your opinions to yourself

Mod Post: If you wish to continue to give your own opinion in this forum, then do not tell other posters whether or not they can give their opinions.

Had no problem with your post until the last sentence. Back seat mod like that again and you will get a break from this forum.

Some very nice machines at this event yesterday evening even though the weather was crap as normal. Still got to sit in one of the orange Lamborghini Gallardo's and the McLaren MP4-12c, spoke to some of the owners who were decent down to earth guys who just love their cars. Lots of kids poking around and left sit in the cars too which made their day, this was very nice considering the money these cars cost. The A-Team GM van was crazy and nostalgic along with the Delorean from Back to the Future.

Overall a great few hours where people had a chance to poke around hyper cars that they normally would not see in their lifetime.

and keep your opinions to yourself .

Sorry bud but anyone that goes over 100mph in busy traffic in a 60mph zone is a bit of a dick in my eyes. I don't care if they have a skoda or a porsche....

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Kev131

Kess73 wrote: »
    Mod Post: If you wish to continue to give your own opinion in this forum, then do not tell other posters whether or not they can give their opinions.

Had no problem with your post until the last sentence. Back seat mod like that again and you will get a break from this forum.

Do you mind me asking....is your issue with the posting about its content... or what you may see as a possible attempt to usurp the power of moderation?

Another viewpoint would be that moderation of the earlier comments using an offensive term beginning with the letter W... might have been of more benefit to the forum. Instead, occasional users like me are left with the impression that name calling is fine but attempts by non moderators to positively respond to abusive comments... are stepping over the line.

I know that moderation is a difficult task and often subjective - I do it myself for two motoring forums but IMHO it's important to try to avoid publicly humiliating contributors while concentrating on promoting the forum and its benefits. Btw, I don't know either of you.

Just to try to get the subject back on track and for the petrol heads out there, I went to Killaloe on Sunday morning and saw even more fantastic machinery. The participants couldn't have been nicer allowing kid after kid to jump around in their €200,000 exotics. A lot of the drivers were dressed up as characters such as Iron Man, Fred Flintstone and Bart Simpson and were delighted to wave and pose for photos. I took lots of photos and then left early to try to get some video as they headed back to the M7. Unfortunately their departure was delayed and I had to leave but I was left with the idea that I won't be missing this next year and will set aside enough time to follow them around a bit. What a genuinely nice bunch of guys and gals and they put on a very entertaining and FREE show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Kev131 wrote: »
    Do you mind me asking....is your issue with the posting about its content... or what you may see as a possible attempt to usurp the power of moderation?

Another viewpoint would be that moderation of the earlier comments using an offensive term beginning with the letter W... might have been of more benefit to the forum. Instead, occasional users like me are left with the impression that name calling is fine but attempts by non moderators to positively respond to abusive comments... are stepping over the line.

I know that moderation is a difficult task and often subjective - I do it myself for two motoring forums but IMHO it's important to try to avoid publicly humiliating contributors while concentrating on promoting the forum and its benefits. Btw, I don't know either of you.

Just to try to get the subject back on track and for the petrol heads out there, I went to Killaloe on Sunday morning and saw even more fantastic machinery. The participants couldn't have been nicer allowing kid after kid to jump around in their €200,000 exotics. A lot of the drivers were dressed up as characters such as Iron Man, Fred Flintstone and Bart Simpson and were delighted to wave and pose for photos. I took lots of photos and then left early to try to get some video as they headed back to the M7. Unfortunately their departure was delayed and I had to leave but I was left with the idea that I won't be missing this next year and will set aside enough time to follow them around a bit. What a genuinely nice bunch of guys and gals and they put on a very entertaining and FREE show.

Mod Post: Given that you are posting on Boards.ie I will assume that you read the charter for the forum as a whole and understood it.

How back seat moderation is regarded is very clear in that charter. Posters are not to try to police other users, and instead should always report what they feel is breaking forum rules. If a posters decides to ignore this they will draw the attention of a moderator. Many moderators will give a straight card/infraction or ban for this, which goes onto the poster's record and is a greater punishment as it would cause any future breaches of the charter to recieve a greater punishment , some will prefer to give an inthread warning if they deem that enough in a particular case.

Another thing that is on the charter is that all queries by the offending party regarding a mod's decision must either be done by PM or through the dispute resolution. Third parties, as you are, with no involvement at all are not allowed to get involved in thread with any moderating decisions, and must use the PM function if they wish to ask a question on a decision. A mod can show a little leeway on this, but generally only once to the same poster and after that any continuance of inthread querying will result in the mod acting due to the poster refusing to abide by the rules and terms that they agreed to when they joined the site. I have chosen to respond to you inthread this time, but in future I suggestyou have a good re read of the rules of Boards.ie and then come to me or any other mod via PM with any queries you have. We might not have the answer you would like to hear, but I would hope that you would get an honest answer nonetheless.

It may sound draconian in parts, but generally it works and most mods will try to implement the rules with as much common sense as those rules allow them to do so.

Here ends all inthread discussion on this topic as the thread will not be derailed further by it.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭Gallee

I was driving into town on Saturday evening. 2 cars came in Patrick St that were escorting some of the Cannon Ball cars. One of them was a 13 reg BMW with flashing yellow and red lights on the roof. Both of them were fitted with illegal sirens which are not permissible under law. The problem was of course that while they were blaring these sirens most of the people driving thought they were ES vehicles and started to pull in on top of those who knew they were not ES and caused consternation and almost an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,916 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Absolute dangerous ****, some of them. I was crossing the road outside my house on the Ballysimon Rd on Saturday afternoon and one of them came out of nowhere when the road seemed clear and nearly ran me over. For the next 5 or 10 minutes a whole load of them were zooming up and down the road, swinging in by the entrances to Woodlawn and Lynwood Parks doing u-turns and straight back out on main road in the opposite direction as I assume they were lost and trying to get back on their route. All in the pissing rain making their reckless driving even more dangerous.

Thankfully my husband was home and had our son with him as normally I'd have been trying to cross with the buggy and if I'd been pushing that, one or both of us would have been dead. I didn't know what they were involved with until I saw this thread and I'll definitely be complaining to the organisers.

This was my original issue. They seemed to be using public roads much like race track... Rich boys used to getting their own way methinks...

We moved from the corner of the Peoples Park,upper Mallow street/pery junction cause it got too crowded and the kids could not see.Should have been more stewards and barriers set up better.We walked down Mallow street to watch them turning up from o Connell st
    Saw one car roar its engine and skid the car in a very dangerous manner.Also saw that car posing as a german police car I think with the sirens aswell they tried to overtake in the oncoming lane with a bus eireann bus coming from the station.Shocked at this behaviour for a charity event
    Should have been at better venue but does not excuse the dangerous drving

Suddenly the posters from a few pages back are gone very quiet after the event....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Just sounds like ye are a bunch of moaners to be honest! Time to get off your high horses, they let people, kids even sit in dream cars that the average joe like most of us here couldn't afford in our lifetime.
    They even were raising money for charity. It doesn't give them the right to do 100 in a 60 but i ask you, who hasn't done the same?

Plenty of fools in cars doing silly things on the roads every day of the week, only gets a bit of attention when the cars are a bit fancier. If people see something they consider dangerous then report it.

Mc Love wrote: »
    Just sounds like ye are a bunch of moaners to be honest! Time to get off your high horses, they let people, kids even sit in dream cars that the average joe like most of us here couldn't afford in our lifetime.
    They even were raising money for charity. It doesn't give them the right to do 100 in a 60 but i ask you, who hasn't done the same?

Yeah, you're right. It's fuçking awesome nearly being hit by a high speed car and then terrified to cross the road outside your house for 10 minutes in the pissing rain while a bunch of jerk-offs zip around and do u-turns on a residential street. I forgot that for a minute and was just having a moan, sure if I'd been killed my husband and son would have gotten the widows and orphans pension every week. Those drivers never stop giving do they? Silly me for ballsing up their latest charitable actions by jumping out of the way and then moaning about it?:rolleyes:

Grow up. They way they were driving around busy residential streets was inexcusable. Defending them because their cars are expensive is pathetic.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Plenty of fools in cars doing silly things on the roads every day of the week, only gets a bit of attention when the cars are a bit fancier. If people see something they consider dangerous then report it.

There are but I've lived on the Ballysimon Rd for half my life and I have never, ever before seen the type of reckless driving on this road that just one of those drivers displayed on Saturday. Never mind numerous drivers all behaving the same way. It's the road I learned to negotiate heavy traffic on and while it's busy and not always easy to cross I have not ever once felt scared on it for even a moment until those drivers were on it. And however bad it was on the main road (and it was disgraceful), the way they used the entrances to two small, quiet housing estates, both full of young families, to change direction without any due care and attention was absolutely reckless endangerment.

Mc Love wrote: »

I haven't done the same actually, because I'm not a twat. I don't do wheel spins because I'm not a twat. Speaking of twats, used to live out by Superquinn, and a bunch of twats used to go into the car park every weekend in souped up sh*tbox cars pretending they were on gone in 60 seconds. Twats.

Nothing personal if some people on this thread are boy racers, but it's something I really really hate - speeding, wheel spins, etc.

My thinking is a 1 litre Skoda is as much use as a 4 litre Porsche in Limerick city, as you can only legally go particular speeds no matter which one you are driving!

Charity and happy young kids is great but not excuse the bad driving of these people.Anyone else see them acting the maggot in the city centre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭gambithh

jaasus there is some pain and suffering in this thread.
    Reckless endangerment? a little ott?

there is a lot more likelihood of ending up in the regional by walking down the ballysimon rd on a Saturday night than been hit by a Ferrari.

what about the drug fuelled teens speeding on the ballysimon rd driving stolen cars which usually end up a crispy shell on the Garryowen green most weekend?

as for the gentleman taking great offence having been overtaken by a Ferrari at 100mph all I can say is lucky you mate :D

we aren't exactly a car loving country with these laws and these taxes but the cannonball is a hugely popular and supported event through Europe and the usa where it is known as the gumball.
    Yes I want to hear v10 engines roar and I want to smell their tyre smoke of these loud,brutal machines,which I did athe finish line.was anyone in danger at the is well organised and marshalled event? not for a second.

you cant explain it to people that don't get it (which makes you wonder why they were present at the event in the first place :confused:)
    And if you think these machines should drive through a controlled environment like a pensioners in a yaris you definatly don't get it.

The gumballers themselves are the nicest people you could meet.Most are hugely successful businessmen who are doing a good deed for a very,very good cause.
    They are car fanatics themselves and believe me they have huge respect and love for there own 250,000 supercar they have worked hard for.They are not going to risk damaging them and know their own and their cars limits.

They are not 18 year old hooligans doing doughnuts in housing estates like they have been portrayed in this thread.

bigpink wrote: »
    Charity and happy young kids is great but not excuse the bad driving of these people.Anyone else see them acting the maggot in the city centre?