Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cannonball run Limerick visit *Mod warning Post 84 *

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

gambithh wrote: »
    jaasus there is some pain and suffering in this thread.
    Reckless endangerment? a little ott?

there is a lot more likelihood of ending up in the regional by walking down the ballysimon rd on a Saturday night than been hit by a Ferrari.

what about the drug fuelled teens speeding on the ballysimon rd driving stolen cars which usually end up a crispy shell on the Garryowen green most weekend?

as for the gentleman taking great offence having been overtaken by a Ferrari at 100mph all I can say is lucky you mate :D

we aren't exactly a car loving country with these laws and these taxes but the cannonball is a hugely popular and supported event through Europe and the usa where it is known as the gumball.
    Yes I want to hear v10 engines roar and I want to smell their tyre smoke of these loud,brutal machines,which I did athe finish line.was anyone in danger at the is well organised and marshalled event? not for a second.

you cant explain it to people that don't get it (which makes you wonder why they were present at the event in the first place :confused:)
    And if you think these machines should drive through a controlled environment like a pensioners in a yaris you definatly don't get it.

The gumballers themselves are the nicest people you could meet.Most are hugely successful businessmen who are doing a good deed for a very,very good cause.
    They are car fanatics themselves and believe me they have huge respect and love for there own 250,000 supercar they have worked hard for.They are not going to risk damaging them and know their own and their cars limits.

They are not 18 year old hooligans doing doughnuts in housing estates like they have been portrayed in this thread.

So many things wrong with your post I don't know where to start!!:mad::mad:

Yes I agree, I could walk in front of a bus and die tomorrow, but the odds of it are slim.

I took offence at being overtaken at 100, and why shouldn't I? More chance of a guy causing an accident going 100 in a 60 zone than not. it was busy Friday traffic coming out of Dublin, and yer man was only interested in himself. THAT'S the problem.

We aren't a car loving country with these laws? I don't get you? What do you mean? What's the problem with the laws in this country? I have no problem with the roar of a V10, but preferably on a racetrack if they're going to be speeding, not around the city.

And if you think these machines should drive through a controlled environment like a pensioners in a yaris you definatly don't get it.

So basically what you are saying is high powered cars should be allowed do what they like on the road? They shouldn't HAVE to drive like a Yaris in town, just because they are high powered? So, you are sneering at people who would prefer cars to obey the law? You are advocating speeding, you are saying it's ok to speed and break the law? God only knows what you get up to on country roads.

They are car fanatics themselves and believe me they have huge respect and love for there own 250,000 supercar they have worked hard for.

What do they want? A medal? Who gives a sh*t how much the cars cost. Reminds me of scumbags in fancy clothes. Scumbags like to boast about how much their jacket cost or their jeans or their shoes. Who gives a f*ck. Yes they are obviously well to do if they can afford these cars, but they're attitude seems to have been that everyone else is a nuisance or getting in their way while they have their little private race around Ireland. Comes across as being arrogant. Just because I have a Porsche doesn't mean I can speed. Laws are laws. If they want to get a hard on speeding, do it on a racetrack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭redron74

Some of this discussion reminds me of an amusing song by Joe Walsh:

For the purists, here's a link to the full-length version:
    http://youtu.be/-XyTpENuoCI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

for the sake of a few hours that brought a lot of joy to people there is some moaning going on here. you don't like cars, then just sit inside watch one soap and by the time that's done its practically all over.

how often does a couple of million worth of supercar's/hypercars come through limerick? for some its the only time they will ever see a collection like that moving. aren't there plenty of people wishing for more events and things to come to limerick? this does and then there's just giving out.

some of ye would want to get a little bit of perspective and stop being as begrudging. personally im delighted they came. wish they'd stayed longer and really hope to see them back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LB6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭tony1980

Just came across this thread, have only glanced at it. I was coming out of Glenbrook estate that day, can't remember the time. Had the pregnant wife and the small fella in the car. The lights went green to come out and turn right to go down by the parkway, they were green about 4 seconds when I entered through them, luckily you have to go a good bit across that road before turning right to get on to that lane as not 1, not 2 and I am not making this up, 6 of those cars came straight at me through a red light, luckily I hadn't reached the point where they would meet me head on, so I avoided them, luckily! One of the cars managed to obey the rules of the road and stop at the red light!! I was stopped in the middle of the road with a green light waiting for this blind ****ers to go by.

I am sure they brought plenty of money into town, that is fantastic. I also like cool cars like that but as far as I am aware, the rules still apply to them and what I witnessed that day was very dangerous, luckily no accident was caused but just because they brought business to town and people saw a few cool cars, doesn't give them the right to do stupid things like that!!

Mc Love wrote: »
    Just sounds like ye are a bunch of moaners to be honest! Time to get off your high horses, they let people, kids even sit in dream cars that the average joe like most of us here couldn't afford in our lifetime.
    They even were raising money for charity. It doesn't give them the right to do 100 in a 60 but i ask you, who hasn't done the same?

Are you for real? I am sure it was a fantastic event and the vast majority of them have the common sense to not endanger the public while in town but just because it was a good event and they raise charity, does not mean that some of them can act as carelessly as that! Really good argument by the way "Who hasn't done the same"..I would think the same if it were someone who was not involved in this event. For anyone to act like that, plain stupid!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭source

Can I ask, did anyone who witnessed these cars engaged in illegal activity actually call the Gardai? It's not like the cars were inconspicuous and difficult to track down if a complaint was made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

tony1980 wrote: »
    Are you for real? I am sure it was a fantastic event and the vast majority of them have the common sense to not endanger the public while in town but just because it was a good event and they raise charity, does not mean that some of them can act as carelessly as that! Really good argument by the way "Who hasn't done the same"..I would think the same if it were someone who was not involved in this event. For anyone to act like that, plain stupid!!

May i direct you to post below your own! Did you witness the scant regard for driving? If so why didnt you report it?

I had a toddler in the back of the car who was in a lot of pain at that moment in time, there was a fair bit of crying and my priority at that moment in time was to get to a chemist to help the poor little guy. Amazing that instead of agreeing that was poor driving and judgement on their part (obviously if it is true, since you would have to take my word for it), you instead decide to question me! I have reported dangerous driving in the past but on this day, my son took priority as he was in so much pain.
    Let me ask you something, If you were to believe me about what I saw, Would you agree that it is poor driving and that they should be acting a bit more responsibly? Im sure you will have another clever comment in your next post too :rolleyes:

In my honest opinion I'd say you are over-reacting a small bit in order to get a bit of attention and perhaps some sympathy. Afaik they had a police escort into town so I'd say they wouldnt be stopping at a red light

lol...avoiding the question again. Should be a politician ;) I love getting attention on boards.ie, it makes my day pal, it is what I live for :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

.....Let me ask you something, If you were to believe me about what I saw, Would you agree that it is poor driving and that they should be acting a bit more responsibly? ....

seems like a simple question

It does but so does over-reacting because they went through red lights (how many times do we see people break the lights every day?)
    Maybe tony didnt see the police car giving the escort, so it could be that it wasnt dangerous?
    Maybe tony is jealous that people have nicer cars than him and that they broke the law and got away with it?

lol...that is all..still didn't answer the question. Keep deflecting, you are pretty good at that! Quite amusing really :D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Maybe tony is jealous that people have nicer cars than him and that they broke the law and got away with it?

Dude, that's pathetic.

It does but so does over-reacting because they went through red lights (how many times do we see people break the lights every day?)
    Maybe tony didnt see the police car giving the escort, so it could be that it wasnt dangerous?

What age are you? As if any sane adult would base their life's worth around the car they drive........

I seem to get the feeling that people seem to think it's ok these loons in their high powered cars had fun on our streets simply because they drive expensive fast cars??

lol...that is all..still didn't answer the question. Keep deflecting, you are pretty good at that! Quite amusing really :D

I've given you enough attention now tony, jog on thats a good lad!
    Dude, that's pathetic.

Thought better of you!
    seachto7 wrote: »
    What age are you? As if any sane adult would base their life's worth around the car they drive........

I seem to get the feeling that people seem to think it's ok these loons in their high powered cars had fun on our streets simply because they drive expensive fast cars??

A lot of adults regardless of age would be jealous of someone else's worth or the car they drive!

Its never ok to drive dangerously, I just think a lot of posters on this thread are over-reacting, just because these lads have exotic cars! Again going back to jealousy and angry as a result.

Like someone else said, why didnt anyone bother to report such dangerous driving, when they would rather waste their time coming on to a message board and complaining about it, which isnt doing any good at all

A lot of adults regardless of age would be jealous of someone else's worth or the car they drive!

Also known as shallow f**kers with self esteem issues....

seachto7 wrote: »
    Also known as shallow f**kers with self esteem issues....

Which is obviously not you :eek:

For one, I couldn't give a toss if my mate showed up in a Skoda Fabia or a Ferrari. Both can still only do 40mph in the dock road. He's a nice person whether he has money or not. Not everyone bases success in life on a piece of metal with 4 wheels.

On my way now Mclove, I won't jog though. Thought Id pick myself up a new car to be part of the cool gang...also, I am getting loads of the attention that I so need now...you saved me Mclove, I see the light now... Now to break some red lights and run down some innocents..went a bit mad today, feels so good!!

Don't get carried away now tony for fear that people will complain about you and your driving on a message board instead of taking action and reporting you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Mod Post: Folks I have no problem with a bit of heated debate on this topic as long as it does not turn into needless sniping at one another.

I understand that there are a number of folk in this thread who have strong but opposing views on certain aspects of the cannonball run and also on the alleged actions of a small minority involved with that run, but please do not let what has been for the most part a thread with some heated (but civil for the most part) debate/discusssion/disagreement turn into some pointless bout of personal digs at each other.

Nobody has stepped majorly out of line at this point, and I would much prefer if you could all keep it that way rather than escalating and forcing mod action.