Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Know Your Maynoothians 13/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭SeanyboyQPR

Rye 2 :), your the only person I have heard of thats staying in Rye! you looking forward to starting?

Awesome, have you stayed there before? Yeah I am but I'm heading up on my own so in a bit nervous haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 ReecesPieces

Awesome, have you stayed there before? Yeah I am but I'm heading up on my own so in a bit nervous haha!

Yeah Stayed there the last 3 years! there not the best apartments but the are grand.. ah you will be grand, you will meet loads of people durin orientation week dont worry!!.. im goin into my fourth year up there and still looking forward to freshers week and orientation week its some crack!

There's no wifi though is there?:/ yeah I hope so:D d'you know if first years are housed together? Obviously if youre in 2 and me 16 theres more than one floor? :/ Yeah freshers looks good craic, can't wait to hear who the act is for the ball! :P does everyone stay up for all of orientation week or what happens? :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Fluffy Stuff Buffer

Anyone else doing PPE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 ReecesPieces

There's no wifi though is there?:/ yeah I hope so:D d'you know if first years are housed together? Obviously if youre in 2 and me 16 theres more than one floor? :/ Yeah freshers looks good craic, can't wait to hear who the act is for the ball! :P does everyone stay up for all of orientation week or what happens? :/

theres no wifi but ye can get it sometimes, my apartment is close to john hume so i usually get it... every apartment is different, usually there would be 2 or 3 first years and a 3rd/final year student or maybe 2 first years a final year and an erasmus student, every apartment is different really... you wont want to go home for orientation cause you will be having a savage time, well I didnt want to when i was in first year anyway haha :).... in Rye there are 4 blocks, A,B,C,D, they all have 4 floors with 2 apartments on each floor, not sure which block 1 is in though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭ColmBr

Yeah freshers looks good craic, can't wait to hear who the act is for the ball! /

Word on the street is that it's Coolio

ColmBr wrote: »

Aw man you can't be serious, he played my JC night in Cork :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭ColmBr

Aw man you can't be serious, he played my JC night in Cork :L

Just checked out his website there and it turns out he's in Moscow from the 24th to the 28th so that puts those rumours to bed. They got Calvin Harris a few years back. That would be unreal if they could get him again! Anyhow, it should be a big enough name!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Nothing will beat Blazin Squad in 09. Nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Planemo

ColmBr wrote: »
    They got Calvin Harris a few years back.
    Nothing will beat Blazin Squad in 09. Nothing!
    Sometimes it sucks to be a metalhead , this is one of those times :pac:

Planemo wrote: »
    Sometimes it sucks to be a metalhead , this is one of those times :pac:

This is the one advantage of being an emo kid with a (not so secret) love for cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 karengrace93

orlaiiith wrote: »
    You just found a River person ! Which block you in ? I'm in Potters.

I'm not on campus, but one of my best friends is in Pottors 6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 quaverlou

https://www.facebook.com/groups/194795774024689/

Join this page to meet your fellow firsties :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Anyone want to offer me a couch/floor for Freshers? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 JellyBeanx

does anyone know what you need to bring to on-campus accommodation?:)

Anyone else moving in the 15th?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Anyone else moving in the 15th?

Not 100% sure but Id say I will be! Orientation is the Monday and Tuesday for me thinking of staying up till the Weds or Thurs though, whats your plan? :)

deise_girl wrote: »
    Not 100% sure but Id say I will be! Orientation is the Monday and Tuesday for me thinking of staying up till the Weds or Thurs though, whats your plan? :)

I'm the exact same, someone in another thread told me to stay up for the week and I'm contemplating that as I'm heading alone :L but yeah I'm coming from cork too so moving in Sunday is my only option :)

It's good advice!
    There's a reason everyone I know is planning on being back in Maynooth in time for Orientation Week...

It's good advice!
    There's a reason everyone I know is planning on being back in Maynooth in time for Orientation Week...

What'll I do during the days I'm not on orientation though? :/

Get used to your new place, explore Maynooth, go out, meet new people, have great craic.

Orientation week is a good time for that kind of stuff too. You'll be more prepared once lectures start too.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Yea coz originally I was only going to come up for the 2 days of it but Im hearing people say you should stay as long as possible. Nearly the exact same as you iswell in that im coming alone from Waterford :P Whats transport like from Cork, its a nightmare from here!

deise_girl wrote: »
    Yea coz originally I was only going to come up for the 2 days of it but Im hearing people say you should stay as long as possible. Nearly the exact same as you iswell in that im coming alone from Waterford :P Whats transport like from Cork, its a nightmare from here!

What course are you doing actually? :) yeah it's fairly easy like just monotonous, straight bus from cork to Dublin and ten train from Connolly AFAIK :/ I'd say I'll stay for the week, otherwise people who do will know each other fairly well and ill be something of a stranger by freshers week:/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭R_V_P 24

Anyone here doing finance!??

Get used to your new place, explore Maynooth, go out, meet new people, have great craic.

Orientation week is a good time for that kind of stuff too. You'll be more prepared once lectures start too.

I guess once I meet my housemates it'll all come together perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Studentlife

Name: Lass...

Course: Comp Science & Software Eng

Interests: are ever evolving. Lately it's - Swim, Cycling, Running & Hill Walking.... oh and most recently.... Maths (had to refresh), & complaining about how damn difficult it is to go through the CAO, SUSI and general collage application process from deciding, to paperwork. Thankfully that bit is all over for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 karengrace93

JellyBeanx wrote: »
    does anyone know what you need to bring to on-campus accommodation?:)

I was in a river apartment last year. The kitchens come fairly kitted-out with microwave, toaster, kettle, oven/grill, enough plates, mugs, glasses, cutlery etc for the number of people in the apartment but no more so it doesn't hurt to bring a few of your own. There are also saucepans, frying pans and most of the utensils that you'll need, but you'll have to provide things like a grater, chopping board and strainer yourself. There is an iron and ironing board as well as a hoover, drying rack, sweeping brush, mop, dustpan and brush in the closet. The bedrooms are really left up to yourself. Apart from the basic bed and mattress, desk, chair, bin, desk lamp and wardrobe/shelves, they're completely empty. Hope this helped, best of luck! :)

Thanks for the information, super helpful. I didn't have a clue what I needed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭R_V_P 24

Is that the same for the village apts. as well!? Are they similar in any way!?

R_V_P 24 wrote: »
    Is that the same for the village apts. as well!? Are they similar in any way!?

Pretty much!
    My only advice for kitchen stuff is to wait til you (and your roomates) get there and check out your own kitchen ad some have more/less than others.

It's also a good idea to put in a kitty with your roommates to buy supplies for kitchen/cleaning/bathroom supplies. It saves the "well I got this" fights later on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

I fully endorse this statement

Thwip! wrote: »
    I fully endorse this statement

But like how and where?:L

It's easy, you just run at close-knit groups of strangers while shouting your name and hobbies, just like in this thread.

But like how and where?:L

You're livin on campus, go knock on other apartment doors and introduce yourself

Thwip! wrote: »
    You're livin on campus, go knock on other apartment doors and introduce yourself

And meet people in your orientation groups and other groups. And Go out and meet people in the SU and other places. Sure I met some of my best friends just happening to be sitting outside my apt block (at 3am while they were breathing fire...)

Sounds like I haven't a clue what to expect!

Learn in time you will young one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

Learn in time you will young one.

ArdJuJn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Toshi101

Your orientation group is great for making friends, their gonna be in your course most likely. I remember mine, i saw a really interesting looking bloke with dreadlocks and i said to a girl i met earlier, i gotta be friends with that guy!. we are now living in the same place this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,989 ✭✭✭PictureFrame

I met my best friend in February in a shít 4pm Sociology lecture in Iontás. We really came together over our mutual hatred for the subject :pac:

You make friends in the strangest places/times in Maynooth :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 orlaiiith

I'm not on campus, but one of my best friends is in Pottors 6?

Think I'm in 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Orlaghx

Anyone doing Science?? :)

K, I did it wrong :P

Name: Orlagh
    Course/Year: 1st year Science
    Interests: Im bad at this stuff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

The relevant Facebook group is heyor.

Orlaghx wrote: »
    K, I did it wrong :P

Name: Orlagh
    Course/Year: 1st year Science
    Interests: Im bad at this stuff..

Hey :D I am doing science too! :P

banquo wrote: »
    The relevant Facebook group is heyor.

JOIN IT

JellyBeanx wrote: »
    Hey :D I am doing science too! :P

Really? Yay! hi :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Paczini

I met my best friend in February in a shít 4pm Sociology lecture in Iontás. We really came together over our mutual hatred for the subject :pac:

You make friends in the strangest places/times in Maynooth :p
    It reminds me of how I met my best friend that changed my life in college. We sat beside each other in our first ever language lab, our tutor told us to turn to person beside us and introduce ourselves ;) It took us a long while to actually become good friends but now I know that he will be a life long friendship :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

Hello! I too am like banquo...bloody ancient

Name: Kellie
    Course: I DON'T EVEN GO HERE (anymore, did my BA and MSc here)

Still knocking about though cos I live in the town and I teach Geography in the village

Tis a fab place, yisser gonna have a ball!

kellief wrote: »
    Hello! I too am like banquo...bloody ancient

Name: Kellie
    Course: I DON'T EVEN GO HERE (anymore, did my BA and MSc here)

Still knocking about though cos I live in the town and I teach Geography in the village

Tis a fab place, yisser gonna have a ball!

You think you're old, I'm 22 and I'm going into 1st year, they're going to call me Grandpa and ask me in wonder what life was like before the internet.