Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At home with the healy-rae's.

• 15-08-2013 4:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭

Just seen on the journal that Tv3 have made a programme called "at home with the healy-rae's" that will be aired in the autumn. Relevance to shooting ? It says that sitting td michael healy-rae will also demonstrate his "passion for shooting" in the documentary.
    So all the work of the nargc, ssai , icpsa etc etc will come to naught when this muck is aired :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Oh suffering ducks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

Sparks wrote: »
    Oh suffering ducks...

Another rachel allen pheasants on the bonnet of the jeep moment approaches.......

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

rowa wrote: »
    Just seen on the journal that Tv3 have made a programme called "at home with the healy-rae's" that will be aired in the autumn. Relevance to shooting ? It says that sitting td michael healy-rae will also demonstrate his "passion for shooting" in the documentary.
    So all the work of the nargc, ssai , icpsa etc etc will come to naught when this muck is aired :rolleyes:.

Damn....I thought they were going to shoot the Healy Raes:o

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ace86

You have criticised him without hearing or seeing the programme, who's to say he won't make some positive statements towards hunting and the shooting community, since everyone else are only puting us down.

ace86 wrote: »
    You have criticised him without hearing or seeing the programme, who's to say he won't make some positive statements towards hunting and the shooting community, since everyone else are only puting us down.

It doesn't matter what he says good or bad, its guilt by association and odds on some controversy comes out of it. The healy-raes don't mind making idiotic statements if it gets them headlines. Remember the drink driving proposal recently :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,976 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

This is the same gob****e who saw the Zimmerman case in Florida and thought "We should have that law in Kerry!". I don't need to see an hour of TV to confirm what ten years of watching the idiot has told me and everyone else.

It doesn't matter what he says good or bad, its guilt by association and odds on some controversy comes out of it. The healy-raes don't mind making idiotic statements if it gets them headlines. Remember the drink driving proposal recently :rolleyes:.

Ya u might say the drink driving permit was stupid but with a 100 garda stations closed and gardai numbers not there you can assume whats going to happen anyway. Do you see any other politicians making things better or easier for ordinary people in all aspects of their lives these days weather it only be a permit to drink 2 pints and drive home weather people think its wrong or not.

Ya u might say the drink driving permit was stupid but with a 100 garda stations closed and gardai numbers not there you can assume whats going to happen anyway.
    Murder, drug dealing, bank robbing, assault, rape -- these all happen all the time as well despite the Gardai. Should we just change the law there?

(And before you say those are serious and this is not, remember how many people get killed while drink driving or by drunk drivers today and how many used to be)

Murder, drug dealing, bank robbing, assault, rape -- these all happen all the time as well despite the Gardai. Should we just change the law there?

(And before you say those are serious and this is not, remember how many people get killed while drink driving or by drunk drivers today and how many used to be)

Yes you're right there has been alot of changes to the way things were but I'm not saying a fellow have 22 pints and drive and as for that dundon fellow that ordered the hit on the rugby player Shane Geaghan he will be eligble for parole in 14 yrs which in my eyes is a shame and a disgrace. I won't say anymore on the subject bcos were only going off topic into another one.

There are 166 td's in the current dail , why do you think Tv3 chose the healy-raes to do this programme over the other 165 ? An in depth look into rural ireland ? An intellegent debate on irish politics ? Their opinion on the state of the economy and bank bail out ? I don't think so somehow. They were chosen on their track record for gaffes, stupid ideas and their willingness to get up on the stage and look and sound like something that fell off a paddy's day float. Personally i couldn't care less about them as they never affected me.
    But unless the interviewer for this programme is half asleep or on medication, when yer man gets the gun out, the obvious question she is going to sling at him is going to be about his previous comments about firearms licences being issued for shooting intruders and away we go again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭endasmail

Fair play lads, ye must have seen the programme already and have already thrown up your reviews

Some of the stuff they come out with, (while it is entertaining) is not to far from the truth, contrary to most peoples way of thinking

• Registered Users Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

http://www.spiegel.de/sptv/magazin/promillekrieg-in-irland-drei-guinness-gehen-noch-oder-a-908567.html

This is the link to the SpiegelTV interview about boozing and driving down in Healy Rae land from a couple of months ago:eek::rolleyes:.
    Der Spiegel is a pretty conservative sober German political and social comment magazine as is its TV channel.They dont do humour,much.But this is now what the Germans would find humourous,this kind of Irish caper.

Sorry the whole thing is in German,but you will get the jist of it pretty quick!
    Lord help us if "Trash TV3 "gets hold of it
    Especially as we had flat cap junior Haely Rae in one of our tabloids posing with the double barrel and some blonde in her bikini spouting off about shootin them criminals.:rolleyes:
    This is going to be one step forward for the Healy Rae clan,a giant leap backwards for the Irish shooting community.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

He might and one would hope so...But whats to say the editor and directors will allow it in the programme and it isnt going to be on the cutting room floor??After doing a documentary a few years ago that involved me doing some rifle shooting scenes,the pertinent bits were not on the programme and the cutting and editing was so sneakily done that statements I made on camera were taken so out of context to be meaningless or portrayed a false impression of what I was trying to convey.

You as a participant have very little input in the end of what goes into the editiong and cutting and pasting.You might get a sneak preview,if you are lucky,but most of the time its too late by then to change the programme or documentary format.

Always keep in mind with the film /TV media and guns.They are NOT our friends,and have demonstrated that amply here in Ireland with gun related topics over the years,and take their cues from the US and UK media on these subjects.:mad: They work on the adage of "If it bleeds or has the proability of causing bleeding,it leads!"

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    http://www.spiegel.de/sptv/magazin/promillekrieg-in-irland-drei-guinness-gehen-noch-oder-a-908567.html

This is the link to the SpiegelTV interview about boozing and driving down in Healy Rae land from a couple of months ago:eek::rolleyes:.
    Der Spiegel is a pretty conservative sober German political and social comment magazine as is its TV channel.They dont do humour,much.But this is now what the Germans would find humourous,this kind of Irish caper.

Sorry the whole thing is in German,but you will get the jist of it pretty quick!
    Lord help us if "Trash TV3 "gets hold of it
    Especially as we had flat cap junior Haely Rae in one of our tabloids posing with the double barrel and some blonde in her bikini spouting off about shootin them criminals.:rolleyes:
    This is going to be one step forward for the Healy Rae clan,a giant leap backwards for the Irish shooting community.

Who give a flyin' flip about what the germans say....shower of auld sauerkrauts

Ye'd think yer all so great, look what that gombeen from Dublin city and biffo from the bog did to the entire country.

the national media gives you guys your opinions.

you lads should try and meet them some time and see what kind of people they really are. bet none of you would be so critical face to face
    At least they have the courage to speak their minds publicly,

endasmail wrote: »
    Some of the stuff they come out with, (while it is entertaining) is not to far from the truth, contrary to most peoples way of thinking

What ? That's its ok to drive home pissed ? That's its a good idea to issue firearms licences to people for home protection ? Its hard enough to get the guards to issue licences for legitimate target and game shooting, they would rebel altogether if this sort of idiocy was legalised.

He might and one would hope so...But whats to say the editor and directors will allow it in the programme and it isnt going to be on the cutting room floor??After doing a documentary a few years ago that involved me doing some rifle shooting scenes,the pertinent bits were not on the programme and the cutting and editing was so sneakily done that statements I made on camera were taken so out of context to be meaningless or portrayed a false impression of what I was trying to convey.

You as a participant have very little input in the end of what goes into the editiong and cutting and pasting.You might get a sneak preview,if you are lucky,but most of the time its too late by then to change the programme or documentary format.

Always keep in mind with the film /TV media and guns.They are NOT our friends,and have demonstrated that amply here in Ireland with gun related topics over the years,and take their cues from the US and UK media on these subjects.:mad: They work on the adage of "If it bleeds or has the proability of causing bleeding,it leads!"

Ya I feel for you in that you were wronged by the tv company while you were giving your professional opinion on the subject they asked you but decided to do their own dirty tricks to what they wanted to the convey to the public. Is there any impartial or non biased tv station and reporters out there anymore???:(

4gun wrote: »
    No, it doesn't. Growing up in Kerry and knowing how things work there is what gave me my opinion of them.

BTW, is the series going to include Jackie's son? Not the TD who used to be a county councillor while his dad was a TD, but the other one, the contractor who's been lucky enough to win somewhere over 60% of all the local government contracts in the area (according to the Phoenix profile from a few years ago)?
    bet none of you would be so critical face to face
    Don't bet too much :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭endasmail

What ? That's its ok to drive home pissed ? That's its a good idea to issue firearms licences to people for home protection ? Its hard enough to get the guards to issue licences for legitimate target and game shooting, they would rebel altogether if this sort of idiocy was legalised.

Exaggerate much?

I dont think a public forum is the appropriate place to start a debate on whether firearms should or should not be licensed for home protection, so i wont get into it with you

[
    QUOTE=Sparks;86041084]No, it doesn't. Growing up in Kerry and knowing how things work there is what gave me my opinion of them.
    The story of Irish politics, they have never been cited for irregularities though.
    BTW, is the series going to include Jackie's son? Not the TD who used to be a county councillor while his dad was a TD, but the other one, the contractor who's been lucky enough to win somewhere over 60% of all the local government contracts in the area (according to the Phoenix profile from a few years ago)?

If you really grew up with an ear to the ground you'd see that happens all over the country, not just in south Kerry.

Don't bet too much :)
    [/QUOTE]

I dont usually, only on certainties ;)

What wrong with firearms being issued (I know it a taboo subject here) to people for personal defense of their homes, especially older people,
    When all you guys are too old to participate in your various sports will you willingly hand them over because you no longer have good reason to possess,

What wrong with firearms being issued (I know it a taboo subject here) to people for personal defense of their homes, especially older people,
    The words you left out there included untrained, frail and possibly even paranoid.
    This is not the forum to discuss this (and we won't - start a thread somewhere else for that and we can discuss it there), but suffice to say that giving a shotgun to a 78-year-old grandmother who lives alone with her arthritis and her hip replacement is not a solution to a crime problem that involves home invasions (your grandmother is a spry 62-year-old in peak physical condition and so highly trained to use firearms for self-defence that they based Helen Mirren's character in R.E.D. on her? that's grand, she's safe so, but what about everyone else?)
    When all you guys are too old to participate in your various sports will you willingly hand them over because you no longer have good reason to possess,
    I won't, I'll sell them on or pass them on to family or clubs, depending. But then again, I've seen a lot of lads pass away (at ripe old ages) before they weren't able to participate in their sports, so it most likely just won't ever come up.

The words you left out there included untrained, frail and possibly even paranoid.
    This is not the forum to discuss this (and we won't - start a thread somewhere else for that and we can discuss it there), but suffice to say that giving a shotgun to a 78-year-old grandmother who lives alone with her arthritis and her hip replacement is not a solution to a crime problem that involves home invasions (your grandmother is a spry 62-year-old in peak physical condition and so highly trained to use firearms for self-defence that they based Helen Mirren's character in R.E.D. on her? that's grand, she's safe so, but what about everyone else?)

Could be used to describe anyone...

Its not a solution, but it may help people feel more secure...again isolated rural areas. (no need for thread, I've said my bit on HD)

I won't, I'll sell them on or pass them on to family or clubs, depending. But then again, I've seen a lot of lads pass away (at ripe old ages) before they weren't able to participate in their sports, so it most likely just won't ever come up.

so your giving them up,... then again they wouldnt be of much use in the HD situation in the first place...maybe as a truncheon :p

so your giving them up,...
    Yeah, in about fifty or sixty years, if my health fails.
    Why wouldn't I? They're tools, not fetish objects.
    then again they wouldnt be of much use in the HD situation in the first place...maybe as a truncheon :p
    Very true!

Ya I feel for you in that you were wronged by the tv company while you were giving your professional opinion on the subject they asked you but decided to do their own dirty tricks to what they wanted to the convey to the public. Is there any impartial or non biased tv station and reporters out there anymore???:(

Errrr..No!

Who give a flyin' flip about what the germans say....shower of auld sauerkrauts

Errr..US actually as in the Irish people.We do owe their banks a few billion give or take,which was borrowed off them by greedy Irish bankers like Fitzpatrick to support his dick measuring exercise against AIB and BOI.
    As any banker will tell you,thry are there to make money and dont give a fig how you or a country repays so long as it is repaid.
    Speaking as one of the "old Sauer krauts"[very original BTW:p] it is actually the old sauerkrauts on the street life savings and hard work that supported "prolifigate Paddy's" lifestyle,and gave Biffo and Bertie the arrogance to go and lecture the people who loaned them the money for their lifestyles on how to turn their ecnomies around by selling each other overpriced real estate!!! Arrogance...Much???
    Its election time over in Kraut land this Autumn and Angelica is going to the polls with a major disadvantage,so you can bet a tougher stance on debtor countries will be on the election ticket..AKA get squeezed more in our Berlin approved budget.
    So yeah we should be paying very close attention to what they think just right now.
    Ye'd think yer all so great, look what that gombeen from Dublin city and biffo from the bog did to the entire country.

Well who voted them in???We the Irish people who didnt want the good times and property porn party to end did.Only ourselves to blame for that one.

Dont worry,we all know the type you find them in every electorial constituency here in the 26.The Healy Raes just are the more flamboyant and out of the closet version of the average dynastic parish pump gombeen Irish politican.

you lads should try and meet them some time and see what kind of people they really are. bet none of you would be so critical face to face
    At least they have the courage to speak their minds publicly,

I have had the pleasure and TBH I got the impression of meeting the Irish version of "Boss Hawg" from the Dukes of Hazard in a peaked cap crossed with the average parish pump politican.

Did he ever sort out who was going to feed the gondalas on the lakes in Killarney in Winter??:pac:.
    I honestly dont know,does he play at idiot savant genuinely or is a natural??:confused:

Errr..US actually as in the Irish people.We do owe their banks a few billion
    So yeah we should be paying very close attention to what they think just right now.

Irish people are collectively self conscious..We care more about what other nations think of us, they are more focused on trying to be the good little servant.

Had Ireland told the Gerries to feck off...what condition would their banks be in now...anyway Global financial crisis..couldn't give a toss
    i have no interest in politics

Well who voted them in???We the Irish people who didnt want the good times and property porn party to end did.Only ourselves to blame for that one.

I'm a blue shirt...so didn't vote for them

Dont worry,we all know the type you find them in every electorial constituency here in the 26.The Healy Raes just are the more flamboyant and out of the closet version of the average dynastic parish pump gombeen Irish politican.

As the say " whats worse that being talked about?, Not being talked about"

I have had the pleasure and TBH I got the impression of meeting the Irish version of "Boss Hawg" from the Dukes of Hazard in a peaked cap crossed with the average parish pump politican.

Did he ever sort out who was going to feed the gondalas on the lakes in Killarney in Winter??:pac:.
    I honestly dont know,does he play at idiot savant genuinely or is a natural??:confused:

You could be describing half the Irish population there lad
    Ireland is a backwater state in the E.U...We are the European equivalent of hillbillies

As the say " whats worse that being talked about?, Not being talked about"

Maybe in this case of the people being discussed.
    "Best to keep ones mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.":P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Ireland is a backwater state in the E.U...We are the European equivalent of hillbillies

At least I bring some class to the place, the rest of you need to pull your socks up a bit to be honest :pac:

The Aussie wrote: »
    At least I bring some class to the place, the rest of you need to pull your socks up a bit to be honest :pac:

Don't get me started with ye antipodeans....I married one :eek: