Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea v. Hull, SS1 16:00

• 18-08-2013 1:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

logo_chelsea_f.c.png v. hullcityfclogo.gif

A repeat of the opening fixture from the 09/10 Season. That day, Chelsea came out by the skin of their teeth with a 2-1 victory. Hunt opened the scoring for Hull, before Didier Drogba scored a brace (including a 92nd minute winner) to secure the 3 points for Chelsea.

Today, two very different teams, two different managers... A very different prospect.

Odds: Chelsea 1/5, Hull 16/1 and Draw 6/1

Luiz, Mata and Mikel are all carrying minor injuries and are unlikely to be risked today.

Teams:

Chelsea: Cech, Terry, Cahill, Ivanovic, Cole, Van Ginkel, Lampard, Schurrle, Oscar, Hazard, Torres

Hull: McGregor, Chester, Davies, Figueroa, Elmohamady, Livermore, Huddlestone, Meyler, Aluko, Graham, Brady

(note: these teams were gotten from the latest updated site, which was the Daily Fail, so chances are the teams will be completely different :rolleyes: )

Predictions? I'm going for 3-0 or possibly 3-1 to the hosts. COYB!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Im hoping hull give them a proper game again & Huddlestone scores the 93rd min winner & finally gets to cut his fecking afro lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

The Hull City Tigers travel to the London stadium to face the Chelsea Cowboys in this fascinating BPL National Football league encounter. Both teams have strengthened significantly in the recent draft pick with the Cowboys signing left flanker ANDRÉ SCHÜRRLE from the Germans and the Tigers signing QB Timothy Huddlestone from the Hotspurs.

Kick off 4:00pm BST

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Would love to see McShane make an appearance ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭the_doctor199

DazMarz wrote: »
    Teams:

Chelsea: Cech, Terry, Cahill, Ivanovic, Cole, Van Ginkel, Lampard, Schurrle, Oscar, Hazard, Torres

I'd be surprised if Torres started ahead of Lukaku

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

I'd be surprised if Torres started ahead of Lukaku

he will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Cech
    Ivan, Terry, Cahill, Cole
    Ramires, Essien, Lampard
    Oscar, Torres, Hazard
    Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho: "I feel good, I want to play, I've been waiting for this since the beginning of pre-season. Nobody likes pre-season, friendlies, everyone likes competition - and so here we are.

"When I go and sit down there will be 30 seconds of emotion, for sure. After that, I have to forget and focus on the game. Before the match there is this empty space when I have nothing to do, the players are preparing. I do not enjoy this so much. But when the referee comes and says 'let's go', we go."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

is that the team confirmed as starting?
    Really surprised Torres starts tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Panthro wrote: »

Not on Sky or BBC sites, I'd be very surprised to see Torres start ahead of Lukaku too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭the_doctor199

Confirmed team: Cech; Ivanovic, Cahill, Terry, Cole; Ramires, Lampard; Oscar, Hazard, De Bruyne; Torres.

Surprised about Torres myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Same team as above but De Bruyne starts ahead of Essien

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

How does Torres get a start ahead of Lukaku?

Hull City Starting XI: McGregor, Figueroa, Elmohamady, Chester, Davies, Meyler, Koren, Brady, Aluko, Sagbo, Graham

Any of ye see the Villa game?
    Benteke will be a handfull for Chelsea's CB's.

Confirmed team: Cech; Ivanovic, Cahill, Terry, Cole; Ramires, Lampard; Oscar, Hazard, De Bruyne; Torres.

Surprised about Torres myself.

Link?

Well feck that :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

It's probably better for Lukaku to play him off the bench for a few games and not put pressure on him as no. 1. After all Torres is still the leading striker on paper.

Look at it this way. If Lukaku starts 3 or 4 matches and doesn't score, that really ratchets up the pressure. Lukaku needs to be eased into the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭McDave

That's 10 seasoned CFC premiership pros. Not taking any chances there.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

Hope De Bruyne has a good game.

McDave wrote: »
    It's probably better for Lukaku to play him off the bench for a few games and not put pressure on him as no. 1. After all Torres is still the leading striker on paper.

Look at it this way. If Lukaku starts 3 or 4 matches and doesn't score, that really ratchets up the pressure. Lukaku needs to be eased into the squad.

that's a very good point actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

No Mata... Ah here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

That_Guy wrote: »
    No Mata... Ah here.
    Only just back from injury, apparently.

Come on you Tiggers

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Surprised with the Torres selection, Lukaku had a strong per season but I can understand the decision.

Very happy that De Bruyne gets his first Premier League start for Chelsea, another quality addition to the squad for this season.

Defensively we are short on the bench so that's a minor worry but it's great that we have such a strong bench that can impact and change the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

On the way to watch this
    Come on CHELSEA !!!!

Is Luiz injured too? Fantasy team gone to shít this week. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

davycc wrote: »
    Come on you Tiggers

Oh the wonderful thing about Tiggers... Is Tiggers are wonderful things!!! :P

Very strong starting XI. Delighted to see DeBruyne getting his start!

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭getuponthis

No lukaku or luiz, that's me rightly fcuked in the FF this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,523 ✭✭✭tigger123

DazMarz wrote: »
    Oh the wonderful thing about Tiggers... Is Tiggers are wonderful things!!! :P

Very strong starting XI. Delighted to see DeBruyne getting his start!

Their tops are made out of rubber, their bottoms are made out of springs!

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Hazard or KDB for MOTM is all I ask for.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Is Luiz injured too? Fantasy team gone to shít this week. :pac:

Yep, Luiz, Mata and Mikel all with minor injuries. Schurlle too, methinks.

tigger123 wrote: »
    Their tops are made out of rubber, their bottoms are made out of springs!

:D Reliving our childhoods here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Well we can see what clubs have to do for that new TV Money. Chelsea players and taking part in the ludicrously over-the-top pregame montage, had to change the channel. Always the worst thing about watching football on TV these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭Luap

I think Abramovich had a big say in Torres starting.

Is it just me or was Ruud talking through his arse?
    "Van Ginkel didn't come from a good team, he has to prove himself.."
    He's fcuking 20 and barely in the door, he has played well any preseason game I've seen him in.
    "Lukaku didn't have a good start with Chelsea."..umm ask any West Brom fan about Lukaku Ruud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

No lukaku or luiz, that's me rightly fcuked in the FF this week.

Jose said the other day “Luiz is injured and he couldn't play for Brazil so he's out,”, so was never on the cards to play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Jaysus Mourinho getting lots of cam time :)

No shame in saying I got a bit misty eyed with the big cheer José got. Magic.

AND WE'RE OFF!!! COYB!!! :D

KdB assassin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Not sure I understood Tyler's point there . Surely It would be better to play 3 at the back against one forward .

What is he at?

PENALTY!!! :D

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Peno! up ya go Hazard

Aw, god DAMMIT!!! :mad: