Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone heading to St.Pats drumcondra?

• 18-08-2013 4:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

So it looks like I'll be doing primary school teaching in St.Pats in September and I know nobody else going there so I'm pretty nervous but also really excited!
    I'm 18 and from Galway and I'm not sure where to look for accommodation? I know campus is probably the easiest but I've heard its awful strict :p
    If anyone else is going to Pats and wants to get in touch pm me! :)
    Also if anyone has any accommodation advice that would be great! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 49 emzz

Hey!:)

Huge congrats on getting into Pats! - sure it's pretty much in black and white at this stage!
    I'm in my final year and If I could give you any advice - GO FOR CAMPUS! Strict, yeah, reasonably..BUT it's GREAT craic, a huge leg up in terms of making friends and a stones throw from the college which trust me, once the weather turns bad you'll be happy about:)
    It's also so much easier as you've no bills, the rooms are decent sized - compared to what I had in a house last year anyways! Most of us wanted to go back to campus when we got into our own houses 'cause everyones in the same place!

It's strict when it comes to drink usually, but you'll find there are ways around that :P

I can honestly tell you, you are about to begin the best few years of your life! I'd do anything to be at the start again! If you've any questions just fire away:)

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭PashaMasha

I've got a place in primary teaching in St. Pat's as well this year but I'm still not sure whether to go on campus or off campus. Not too worried about the strictness of being on campus but rather the facilities. All the recommendations I'm getting are to go off campus. I was told today that the bedrooms don't even have sockets (Don't know if that's true or not) and other people I know doing the course are saying that the overall quality is quiet shoddy. :( How many people would you be sharing kitchen and shower facilities with? I'm getting confused with people telling me to go on campus or go off campus and it would be great if someone could set the record straight. Thank you! :o

Here's the craic with campus!

There are roughly 60 rooms in every house of which there are five. 60 rooms, over four floors!
    The buildings are divided into two sections so there are seven or 8 girls or lads to each floor so you're sharing two toilets and two showers with that amount of people. Same as a house really!
    The kitchen is another matter, there are two per house, one big one and one small one, there's two fridges, a hob for cooking, microwaves and toasters.. though when I was there, there were no ovens! Most people had pasta, microwave meals and stuff you could cook in a pan or boil anyways so it wasnt a huge issue. Just annoying if you wanted to have pizza or something like that! Anyways, those two kitchens are for 60 people.. and you'd be surprised at how it just works out, people are coming and going at different times, you'll only ever have a handful of people in each kitchen at a time and a lot of people make dinner with their friends so it cuts down on a lot of things!

The rooms are fine, theres a decent sized wardrobe, a desk and.. ehhh a sink..! the no sockets thing is bull to me 'cause when I was there two years ago there was two by your bed and two by your desk, sure how could they charge phones and use laptops and stuff?! They probably mean in the common room! - thats the big conservatory type room in all of the houses with seats and a television.

Campus is by no means perfect, but when you get out into living in houses you could be dealing with worse! Our house was damp, there was ants even though it was clean, the oven buttons came off after a few weeks, the landlord never answered our calls,the carpet was dusty and the rooms were much smaller than campus! We were all sick throughout the year and we were paying 450 a month for the privilege without bills! Obviously that's not the case for everybody but those kind of complaints are common. For a first year, particularly if you're going to Pats on your own, campus is great for making friends, it's safe, it's so close to the college..it's across the road from Tesco, near Derwins, there's a bus stop outside and across the road. There's always someone around the place.. I definitely recommend taking if you get the chance!
    I know laods of people speak negatively of it but we were all wishing we could go back after a month on the outside!

If you dont get on campus, all hallows across the road offer accommodation, as does Marino but that's a bit of a treck! There'll be houses on collegecribs, grabagaff, daft.ie and on rent.ie! If you're still stuck drop a mail to the SU, you can find them on Facebook and they have a list of accommodation to let! That's all I can think of! If you have any other questions about Pats.. just shoot:)

Thanks very much for clearing this up, apparently whatever people have been telling me is a load of bull so! :pac: I've applied for on campus anyways and we'll find out on Thursday whether I get a room or not. Plus the price seems reasonable, 97 euro a week (Could be much worse). By the way is there a canteen or anything like that? Thanks a lot for your help again! ;)

Oh definitely and no bills! Happy parents :P I know there'll be times where you'll be like.. "whatta kip" but other times you'll love it:P

There is indeed, there's a big canteen that has breakfasts, wraps, sandwiches, dinners, salads.. soups and all that craic 'til 4 O'Clock!It's reasonably priced for the portions, but just wait until you meet Bia Blasta! It's the sandwich shop beside Pats on Millbourne Avenue.. it's one of the best things about Pats!! And it's fairly okay price wise as well! Then there's a smaller cafe type loungey place called Java and that does coffees, pastries chocolate and those kind of snack type things! Beware of the vending machines by the way, they're evil! Especially the one that has all the sweets in it!:P

Not at all, any questions at all I'm happy to answer them! I wouldn't be surprised if ye start wondering where the registration packs are, ours didnt come out til really late so dont panic!:) We're one of the last colleges to go back so..!

You're in for the best few years of your life!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Kevin95

Hey emmz, I'm just wondering how strictly enforced the "no electrical appliances in room" rule is enforced? I wanted to bring a tv and xbox for my room but now I'm not sure if I'll risk it.. I remember seeing a thread on this website before where someone who had campus accommodation advised to bring a mini fridge for your room, so I presume they got away with electrical appliances! I was wondering could you help me out? Also, is there any form of Wifi or internet in the rooms? Thanks! :)

Hey Kevin95!
    It's strict but once you plug things out when you're not using them and put them away, they dont really have much of a case against you! I think they're more strict with alcohol! If you dont draw attention to yourself you'll be grand:) and with internet, there is access, I dont know the technical term but there's a thing on the wall at your desk where you can connect by buying a lead in the resource centre in the college, they're around five euro! But limits you to your desk, so if you dont like the sound of that you can get one of those dongles where you top up by 20 a month! I had one for o2 and it was terrible, but three have really good reception and the data iss almost impossible to use up! Hope that helps:)

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭monaghanmissus

I've just finished my course in Pats and I can't really give any more advice than emzz already did, she's basically covered everything! :P Like she said, definitely go for campus! It's easily the best option for first years in terms of making friends and settling in.. If you're not successful with campus you'll find an accommodation list for the surrounding area here - http://stpatssu.com/index.php/accommodation/

All I can say is enjoy your 4 years! I'd love to do it all over again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 LCert

I got offered Pats campus accommodation and accepted. The joys of not having to look for somewhere to live. I've heard that its fairly strict about having people over. Is that true? From what people have said it sounds worse than living at home. Gaaaah!

Yeah I'm afraid it's kind of strict in that respect! Some people have managed to have people stay over but by the rules on campus, no one is allowed stay over! To be honest it's something you kind of take for granted 'cause most people you are friends with will be on campus anyways and off-campus friends will usually put up visitors!

It all depends on security really, ye might be luckier than we were:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3 cicid

hi everyone hope you can help
    i just missed out on campus accomodation but am number 28 on waiting list
    what are my chances of getting in ???
    i dont want to go looking elsewhere if there is a chance of getting in
    any advice greatly appreciated

cicid wrote: »
    hi everyone hope you can help
    i just missed out on campus accomodation but am number 28 on waiting list
    what are my chances of getting in ???
    i dont want to go looking elsewhere if there is a chance of getting in
    any advice greatly appreciated

I'm number 31 on the waiting list, my advice is to go looking off campus, very unlikely that 28 people will reject the accommodation

Guys if ye're looking for people to share join the freshers group on FB:) https://www.facebook.com/groups/1410720872476517/

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭computer44

Girls and Guys go on-campus if you can get it. I am a mature BA and it certainly saves a lot of hassle. You have friends from day 1, no bills or landlords chasing. Must say the craic is always good.

computer44 wrote: »
    Girls and Guys go on-campus if you can get it. I am a mature BA and it certainly saves a lot of hassle. You have friends from day 1, no bills or landlords chasing. Must say the craic is always good.

Already got rejected for on campus unfortunately, not too sure where to look now! Anyone wanna share :P

You will have to go off-campus, which is dodgy at the best of times. I am a mature BA living in Clontarf west and especially in the good areas you will need references and that you have the ability to keep up with your studies.(They actually take that as a part of reference) With rent gone up in Dublin you will have to look at Santry and maybe Whitehall which are all DCU students anyway.

I am a mature and live in Clontarf have my own place and your blessed. Its actually great craic and you will make friends from day 1. Well look at the lads and girls here wishing they were in your place. In digs, not nice. Traipsing around looking for a place even worse. Dublin is different this year rents are up and accommodation is scarce for good accommodation.

If you drop a line to Pats SU, or search "Pats Primary teaching" there are is plenty of accommodation in the Drumcondra area and lots of people looking for others to share with!

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭nifheorais

Can off-campus students call in/viait friends on campus accom?

They can visit up til 10pm..as in they can get in the gates 'til that time, but they're not supposed to stay after night.. it's risky business after that :P

I am a mature student but you will have a great time in St.Pats. Its a lovely small college and everyone looks out for each other and I think most of the counties are represented. I'm Tipp myself but have been living in Dublin for abt 6 years. (Wheres Kilkenny).

Enjoy your college years

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭timewilltell

I can't even begin to describe how jealous I am of all you freshers/ current students. I lived on campus in Pats and loved every minute of it. They year I lived there was the year before it got strict. We had a ball.Yes the rooms are a bit draconian and it is a bit annoying not being allowed guests but it's the best way to make friends! THe girls I lived beside on campus became the girls I moved in with in 2nd year.

Few years finished now and the nostalgia is eating me alive! Enjoy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Orlab2013

Anyone still looking for accommodation ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Dlowry

Hi. I'm a mature student starting B Ed the 23rd sept. I received my subject choices today and I'm not sure what to pick. I was thinking Music and Geography. Does anyone know if those subjects are tough? Any advice/help would be much appreciated

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭timewilltell

Dlowry wrote: »
    Hi. I'm a mature student starting B Ed the 23rd sept. I received my subject choices today and I'm not sure what to pick. I was thinking Music and Geography. Does anyone know if those subjects are tough? Any advice/help would be much appreciated

Geography has a lot in it but friends that did it found it extremely interesting. I believe there is a lot of human geography etc. Music also required a lot of effort, but of course if you are interested it makes all the difference! I did Irish and English in first year and kept on English. It was extremely manageable!

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭irishlad.

Geography has a lot in it but friends that did it found it extremely interesting. I believe there is a lot of human geography etc. Music also required a lot of effort, but of course if you are interested it makes all the difference! I did Irish and English in first year and kept on English. It was extremely manageable!

Hey heading to Pats this year too, and wondering how hard does English and Irish get in first year if you pick it as a specialism, like i got a C1 in irish and wondering if i would be able for it...

Anyone ever do history in Pat's. Is it difficult? Or would I be better off pick Biology? Think I'll pick Irish and English anyways

Do subjects that appeal and interest you. It would be a nightmare to do a subject
    that you would have no interest or aptitude in.

computer44 wrote: »
    Do subjects that appeal and interest you. It would be a nightmare to do a subject
    that you would have no interest or aptitude in.

Yeah it's hard to judge, some subjects I hated doing was because of the teacher we had :P Think I'll just pick subjects I got better grades in

• Registered Users Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

PashaMasha wrote: »
    Anyone ever do history in Pat's. Is it difficult? Or would I be better off pick Biology? Think I'll pick Irish and English anyways

Just finished three years of history, there is a lot in it. Lots of essays and long exams, enjoyable and manageable though. Sure if it were easy everyone would be doing it.