Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Price Of Drink In Pubs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

How can Diceys in Dublin Harcourt street do drinks at 2.2.50, etc on different think 4 is the dearest ive seen adverised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,042 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

techdiver wrote: »
    If the breweries are the issue, why do micro brewery operations such as "The Porter House" charge so much for their own beers? Surely the fact that they are not reliant on Heineken etc means that their own product should be sold cheaper, but it's not. In fact it's as high if not higher than what is charged for mainstream beers in ordinary pubs.

Large brewers with huge scale, and massive brews/tanks/production runs can make millions of litres per day, and so drive down cost per unit.

The large brewers don't pass on these economies of scale to pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Tube

If the breweries are the issue, why do micro brewery operations such as "The Porter House" charge so much for their own beers? Surely the fact that they are not reliant on Heineken etc means that their own product should be sold cheaper, but it's not. In fact it's as high if not higher than what is charged for mainstream beers in ordinary pubs.

I think it is a little cheaper. But they don't have the same distribution costs.

Also, anyone in business will charge what people will pay, regardless of how much it costs to make the product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

sasta le wrote: »
    How can Diceys in Dublin Harcourt street do drinks at 2.2.50, etc on different think 4 is the dearest ive seen adverised

Three reasons how they can may go like this.
    • The massive volumes that they'd sell would allow them to tick over far easier. If they make 10 cent of a margin on a drink and say they sell 10,000 drinks, that's a grand. The place is busy most days and nights and several bars on the go at any one time so you can let your crayons do the guess sums.
    • I've worked in that said hotel in the past; they are a low cost business and they do not like to spend on wages, services, fitments etc.
    • They more than make up for the low prices when they charge you thrice the price during the rest of the week, charging for fuctions, hotel rooms, meals and from income on rental and door fees from their nightclubs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

I was really supised to see the price of many craft beers on taps in bars in New England reaching for the $6.50 mark for a 16oz (473mL) pint. They taste amazing but I found them to be very expensive... The only cheap stuff is the bud and miller which is about $7 for a pitcher in a crappy bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Leroy42 wrote: »
    I'm not suggesting a €3 difference, the market conditions are. Of course the publican is entitled to charge for clean-up, premises etc in the same way a restaurant or cafe does, but selling a can for €5 which can be bought in your local Centra of €1.5/€2 is not going to fool anyone.
    Dunno how you come up with this notion. Pubs are full of people paying €5-5.50 for bottles of heineken/bud which can be got for 75cent at times. These are the current market conditions, why would cans be so wildly different. People are already being "fooled".

My idea was to be making the same profit per ml including all costs, and highlighting the reason to the customer, shaming the breweries and not being bothered which the customer chooses. I am sick of seeing the end retailer getting the blame, when often its the manufacturer setting prices.

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Remember that alcohol used to be much harder to get in prior years. No local Centra, no late night shopping etc. The market for their product has changed. It is now much easier to get and much cheaper. Why pay €5 for a pint in a bar when you can have a few of them at home for the same amount.
    I never found any hassle getting drink 20 years ago. The price differential is huge though. Many do not acknowledge the off licence drinks have just remained the same or got cheaper, many just never copped it. 20 years ago the cheapo cans were £1, €1.27. I think bottles of bud or heineken were about £1.19.

You can see the guinness price index shows there was no wild increase in pint prices relative to "average weekly wage". People do not appreciate what good deals they get in off licences.
    http://www.finfacts.ie/Private/bestprice/guinnessindex.htm

Geuze wrote: »
    33cl bottle at 3.50 = 6 euro per pint.

Why would I pay 6 euro per pint for the same beer, in a bottle??
    You might not, loads do, and pay far more than €6 per pint. A guy I know was slagging/commenting on me buying "posh fancy beer" as though people just do it to be "different". His bottle of corona was 5.30 or so and I was pointing out it was about €9 per pint. Instead of taking this in and questioning it he was saying stuff like "what?!? its a bottle, not a pint", -thats just how some people think, they don't question the status quo.

Takeaway pizza places have ridiculous margins compared to other takeaways, and likewise many have just grown up with this crazy difference and do not question it. Emporer's new clothes stuff. Spirits are the same.

A few I know were amazed when the calculations on longnecks is realized. I came in late to a pub and some of my fiends were getting 5x heineken longnecks for €17, came in a bucket of ice as a deal, and the lads were all amazed thinking it was great value. I got a 500ml of budvar, €5, which is cheaper per ml, stronger (more ingredients) and nicer, and not forced to buy 5.
    Surely the fact that they are not reliant on Heineken etc means that their own product should be sold cheaper, but it's not.
    Surely you do not expect them to base their prices solely what it costs them. They charge what the market will bear and what will maximise their profits. If I was a publican and found a magic bottle with free beer I would not give it away free.