Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

** CAO Offers - the OFFICIAL waiting thread - LINK to Points list in FIRST POST ***

• Registered Users Posts: 29 Booshmallow

I didn't get HEAR but am heading to Maynooth, are we really not back until the sixteenth?

I haven't heard when we actually start but im up Sunday to Wednesday for hear orientation so I'll find our what the story is and pass on the news (: I can't wait to start (: what course are you doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I didn't get HEAR but am heading to Maynooth, are we really not back until the sixteenth?
    Yep, that would be right for Maynooth.

It's not actually late at all vis-a-vis third level, it's just that UCD start especially early. (Trinity for example are much later.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭SeanyboyQPR

Yep, that would be right for Maynooth.

It's not actually late at all vis-a-vis third level, it's just that UCD start especially early. (Trinity for example are much later.)

And that's the one blasted place I want my rechecks to get me into! >:(

Booshmallow, I'm starting first year of the LLB Law programme :) how about you? Did you get campus accommodation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

fewtins wrote: »
    By statistics you mean number and ratio of beours, surely?
    Would probably depend on which stats they choose to highlight, and they're all proficient at picking the ones that make them look good tbh.
    7fGfdJ.jpg

:p

Motel_face wrote: »
    Business in DCU anyone?

Plus, does anybody know what the socialisation is like in DCU, seems a bit dull?

As it is my local college I can tell you it is the furthest from dull. I am not going but have been there so many times over the past 14 years. The students are very active and there is always craic to be had.
    Damn they should hire me for promotions :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

7fGfdJ.jpg

Apart for showing me the population and ratio that could be the worst comparison I've ever seen. Everywhere is equal. Whats up with that.

Apart from Royal College of Surgeons which fails in Academics.

I think he was looking at the M:F ratio.

And that one doesn't show NUIM, party, or didn't the Trinners student notice? :p:D

(Mind you, slightly more seriously, I didn't realise the ratio in TCD was that high recently; it used to be about 4th I think ...
    ranked by that *very important* consideration!! :pac:)
    Without double-checking, I think that would put NUIM on the top of the league (among the universities anyway) atm.

Sorry, it's too late to change your CAO! :p
    7fGfdJ.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

7fGfdJ.jpg

thats wrong Ucc is Irelands first 5 star university! so why do they have it as 4? also i am falrly sure we were in the mid 20,000's last year student population wise.

And that's the one blasted place I want my rechecks to get me into! >:(

Booshmallow, I'm starting first year of the LLB Law programme :) how about you? Did you get campus accommodation?
    Ill be doing business accounting and economics through arts. No I didn't get accommodation but im on the waiting list a good few people don't even get that. How about you?

I see! Yep I made it in thank Jah, I only realised how lucky it is when I saw the waiting list! Could you commute or is it too far?

Lucky, which appartment block did you get offered?
    I live in carlow and im only 5 mins from the bus which is like €50 a week even if I had gotten ofered on campus I wouldn't have been a le to take it untill the second semester cause its just far to expensive. I'm hoping to same most of the mo et from the grant and look for somewhere during the Christmas break (:

Lucky, which appartment block did you get offered?
    I live in carlow and im only 5 mins from the bus which is like €50 a week even if I had gotten ofered on campus I wouldn't have been a le to take it untill the second semester cause its just far to expensive. I'm hoping to same most of the mo et from the grant and look for somewhere during the Christmas break (:

I don't know yet, I'm just on the list of those promised a place... I think they email me later today to tell me! Yeah that's cool, hopefully you'll get something!:)

nice. (: I hope I fins somewhere too 3-4 months of gettin a bus at 7am and home at 8pm will be hard enough :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭clownface95

Hi i got offered biomedical engineering in cork I.T. and been honest i was never the best at maths i got a D3 in ordinary level maths. Im just woundering what the level of maths would be like in the course and would it be manageable thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭olazbabes

Guys what do you think.. I cant stop thinking about it.

I need 530 for radiation therapy.

I met all subject requirements to get a total of 505 (not my best 6)

I'm eligible for HEAR. Should I have gotten an offer? If not I'm appealing some exams hopefully picking up 5-10 points.

I'd appreciate any honest opinions here (:
    What is your best 6.My friend got hear and got 50 points extra. I only needed 5 points extra from hear. maybe people got hire than you. Your still competing between hear applicants.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,240 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Hi i got offered biomedical engineering in cork I.T. and been honest i was never the best at maths i got a D3 in ordinary level maths. Im just woundering what the level of maths would be like in the course and would it be manageable thanks!

The ITs are great for supporting students. If you have any issues in Maths (or some other subjects), you can visit this place http://www.cit.ie/academiclearningcentre for help and support.

Enjoy your course.

would you think a person getting a d3 would be capable of doing the course i found the leaving cert maths difficult

With a D3 in ordinary level you will have to work hard in any engineering course.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,240 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

A D3 will definitely mean you'll need extra work, but then again, if it was impossible, the IT would have set a requirement for a higher grade for your course.

Just make sure you get as much help as you can as early as possible in the Maths to make sure you keep up with the others.

Ya i understand, hopefully il survive it the course, do you no if the maths in the course are easy the get a hang of?

You would get a better answer here in the CIT forum than you will in the LC forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Bumblefoot

ray2012 wrote: »
    Can't wait! What languages do you want to study?

I'm going for french and german, I'm not sure what elective to take but it won't be a language :pac: wbu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Denis322

Ag Science UCD was first choice but missed it by a good bit. Got 400 so I thought I'd get Ag Sci in Waterford since i was 380 last year, but it went up 30 points!

Do you reckon there's much hope of it coming down 10 points in round 2?

Denis322 wrote: »
    Ag Science UCD was first choice but missed it by a good bit. Got 400 so I thought I'd get Ag Sci in Waterford since i was 380 last year, but it went up 30 points!

You're the second person around here in almost exactly the same situation.

The honest answer is that no-one knows at this stage. 10 points is a fair bit, but with the jump this year, maybe not totally impossible ... all you can really do is cross your fingers and toes and hope for the best, I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

Bumblefoot wrote: »
    I'm going for french and german, I'm not sure what elective to take but it won't be a language :pac: wbu?

Ah cool. I'll be taking French, Spanish and probably German as the 3rd subject. The other electives like economics or whatever don't interest me at all really. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,671 ✭✭✭✭Daniel7740

Denis322 wrote: »

exact same as yourself only I got 405 points.
    ive been told that the points didn't come down in the second round last year :confused:

ill take engineering in cit if I don't get the second round offer though so im not to badly off

• Registered Users Posts: 6 ShefflinAlong

Jaysus, if I knew the points would be up here early, could have saved myself a long night waiting! :p

Well, I wasn't really that worried for myself, I eventually decided to do Arts with NUIM in Kilkenny rather than in Maynooth because it's near me, and being able to do first year there will save a fair few bob, and money is a bit on the scarce side at the moment. Besides, the girlfriend is going to WIT, so there will be other advantages to being around home for the year ... if ya know what I mean!! ;)

Anyway, I kinda guessed it being new the points would be lower, and I was fairly well over the points for Maynooth last year, so I wasn't ****ting myself too much really.

Good mate though fecked his Leaving up pretty bad and got well below what he expected, so he came over to mine and we sat it out together with a few cans. Missed Arts in Maynooth by 30 and UCD, his second choice, by 10. :(

Tough on him, but it might all work out for the best in the end, seems they're offering some extra places in Kilkenny and its on vacant places so he's throwing an application in for that and we might end up both going there and then on to Maynooth next year which would be class! He was a bit down of course, looking forward to hitting the big campus and lots of fresh talent but he's coming round to it now. Sure theres plenty of talent round Kilkenny too!! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 22 LCchancer

who's joining me in Mary I :D

LCchancer wrote: »
    who's joining me in Mary I :D

That could be read the wrong way

• Registered Users Posts: 22 LCchancer

That could be read the wrong way

its all innocent hahahaha