Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird/Cool Firearms

• Registered Users Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭tac foley

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭eireannBEAR

• Registered Users Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Obviously by the very long barrel a Sect1 in the UK:D??
    saiga12 or Molot Veper[Viper],wouldnt mind either one for a Xmas pressie.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭yubabill1

nastros wrote: »
    Im with you on that one why would you need to silencer on a door breacher.
    Unless its like a multitool silencer means you don't need to extra gear.

Looks like it might be an expansion chamber to me.

Lets gases enter to allow better propellant combustion in short barrels.

So why not just use a longer barrel then??:confused:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭yubabill1

I'm not an expert, so just guessing - maybe with modern door construction they might like a bit more power in their breaching shotgun.

The breaching shotgun is often a secondary weapon, hence the short barrel, but I believe without slug loads they are also useful against soft targets at residential ranges.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭Boiled-egg

Again not an expert but I cannot see the reason for that. To me it serves no purpose that the toothed choke tube does not already cover. Moderator I think not as, as soon as the door does down its gone noisy and the other individual also has a shotty with no were attachment. Really leads me to think that it was just some kind of photo shoot. A 3 man team ?? With 2 shotguns ??Not a MP5 is sight ( or other suitable firearm)?? Has to be a photo shoot.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,976 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

It is a silencer according to this article, called the 'Clandestine 12'.

Bit more on it.

Dunno,it looks like a solution looking for a problem to fix and this was its selling blurb,to people who have to spend police dept money on some new toy.
    Shame to see that SWAT mag has gone to this level if it has.:( I used to buy it regular over in the states.

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

Aimpro-Mossberg-500_001_zps68c8f51c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭1shot16

Scope on a shotgun thats a first for me!

Also love the hornady zombie max ammo in the backround!What some people come up with these days! :rolleyes:

Speaking of cool ammo dragons breath is pretty cool :D

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭Irish Lion

Just had a quick Google for the Dragon's Breath ammo and found this video clip. It's kinda mental.
    I'd love to try it but I can't think of what to do with it.......

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=d24_1305002413

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

nastros wrote: »
    Im with you on that one why would you need to silencer on a door breacher.

If you ever shoot a firearm in a confined space without ear protection you will know why. Its more for the users ears than anything else. As others have pointed out though, the other lads dont have mods on so its a bit redundant really. In reality, they should all be silenced if that was the route they were going.

Irish Lion wrote: »
    Just had a quick Google for the Dragon's Breath ammo and found this video clip. It's kinda mental.

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=d24_1305002413

It probally has no use but cool!Defrosting the car in the winter ;) :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

It does look like a photo shoot alright because tactically they aren't in the right positions anyway. If them were professional your always in the right position or try to be.

Another reason for the shot gun to be Silenced would be on the modern criminals door they will have 3-4-5 locks on a door so that's possibly 3-4-5 shots to drop the door and without the silenced shot gun it takes the advantage away that you gained by your silent approach and takes severity aWay from the 2 flash bangs going into the room.

Also if you use a normal toothed choke your punching a slug through a door about an inch big with the one in the picture your prob not using a slug but punching a 4 inch hole an increasing the chance of gettin the lock or hinge the first time. Because its hard enough to tell where the hinges are from the outside.

Or it could have been they just had a 4 inch space in the jeep for a holder and said they'd make the gun to fit it.

Irish Lion wrote: »

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=d24_1305002413[/QUOTE]

Starting brush fires or having to clean away big piles of tree tops after chainsawing .:pac:
    Need to clean or have a POS barrel handy mind.It apprently very corrosive.
    Jungle round or the pit bull round sound like the job to have for those possible " extremely tense domestic unauthorised ingress by unauthorised personel"situations:p

It does look like a photo shoot alright because tactically they aren't in the right positions anyway. If them were professional your always in the right position or try to be.

Another reason for the shot gun to be Silenced would be on the modern criminals door they will have 3-4-5 locks on a door so that's possibly 3-4-5 shots to drop the door and without the silenced shot gun it takes the advantage away that you gained by your silent approach and takes severity aWay from the 2 flash bangs going into the room.

Also if you use a normal toothed choke your punching a slug through a door about an inch big with the one in the picture your prob not using a slug but punching a 4 inch hole an increasing the chance of gettin the lock or hinge the first time. Because its hard enough to tell where the hinges are from the outside.

Or it could have been they just had a 4 inch space in the jeep for a holder and said they'd make the gun to fit it.

True,but usually you dont try for the locks because of that very reason.You take out the hinges and use the locks as the hinge,if at all.
    IF it is that strong a door IE totally armoured steel frame recessed with hilti bolts etc.And its the only way in,then you need more than a 12 GA.Thats into a shaped breacher charge terrority, if in an awkward space or as some units do a SWAT APC or customised mini bulldozer these days with a battering ram.:)
    Keeping this in the US context most American houses as we know,are not sturdy bricks& mortar affairs like we have.Even one of our slapped up in a week Celtic Tiger POS houses would be stronger than the average suburban American house.So it is fine for assaulting proably somthing like that.But against a hardned crack house with 20 gang bangers in it.Call up the APC with a ram or mini dozer with a grab,and just knock it down or tear it up until they surrender.Which kind of negates any need for silencers.

To me its a very specialised bit of equipment for some unique situations.
    I just cant see the purpose of silently blowing off a door in a dynamic entry which will be coming in on at least two different doors or whatever from opposite sides,or from the top down/bottom up.To chuck in a couple of flash bangs to be followed by 14 lads bellowing at the top of their voices.:confused:

PS you are right it is a posed pic,no one is covering their arcs .

Ye I know exactly what your saying alright. Every single house and situation is different and needs to be approached like so. But with so much agression speed and force that when gang bangers are finished ****ing them selves there already in the back of the van. Haven said that most assaults will always tryed to be carried out when there asleep or at least tired so middle of the nite very early mornings.

That's my point because you would opt to go for hinges 9/10 times you can very very rarely see hinges from out side so that's another reason for the big hole to be blown out of the door.

Haven said that maybe its just why did you make the gun like that

Because we could.

Anyone have any tatical looking stocks for there 10/22 might get a 10/22 if i dont get a shotgun and put a badass stock on it.

Something like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eu-kU_-l6UY

1shot16 wrote: »
    Anyone have any tatical looking stocks for there 10/22 might get a 10/22 if i dont get a shotgun and put a badass stock on it.

Something like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eu-kU_-l6UY

You'd need a restricted licence for it.

Blay wrote: »
    You'd need a restricted licence for it.

Hmm why would that be so same action shouldnt judge a book by its cover ;)

I suppose it does look like a non friendly firearm,To be fair same gun just black plastic on it!Maybe apply for a non restricted and when asked for accessories like sights put down the name of the stock?

Hmm why would that be so same action shouldnt judge a book by its cover ;)

I suppose it does look like a non friendly firearm,To be fair same gun just black plastic on it!Maybe apply for a non restricted and when asked for accessories like sights put down the name of the stock?

You can't apply for a stock as an accessory, if it's in the standard stock it's unrestricted and in that stock it's restricted, so you choose the stock and then apply for the correct licence.

Though i was bein smart and puttin into the tactical stock after to prevent goin for a restricted licence!Might as well be goin for a sig 552.Ive no reason for havin the stock just as a novelty or the look and they wouldnt think a 16 year old just likes the look to be fair which i honestly do :(

Whats the story with the takedown model restricted

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

Though i was bein smart and puttin into the tactical stock after to prevent goin for a restricted licence!Might as well be goin for a sig 552.Ive no reason for havin the stock just as a novelty or the look and they wouldnt think a 16 year old just likes the look to be fair which i honestly do :(

Whats the story with the takedown model restricted

This again! LOL your going to get some people saying a ruger 10/22 is retricted in a certain stock and some who say it isnt.

My opinion, it isn't, because it doesn't work like an AR15 or look like and AR15. It looks like a 10/22 in a black synthetic stock.

Might as well say a base model 10/22 in a wooden stock is an assault rifle because it looks like an m14. :rolleyes:

bravestar wrote: »
    This again! LOL your going to get some people saying a ruger 10/22 is retricted in a certain stock and some who say it isnt.

My opinion, it isn't, because it doesn't work like an AR15 or look like and AR15. It looks like a 10/22 in a black synthetic stock.

Agreed If the gun isnt restricted in its standard stock how is it restricted in a black stock it dont change the gun into fully automatic rapid fire assault rifle.
    bravestar wrote: »
    Might as well say a base model 10/22 in a wooden stock is an assault rifle because it looks like an m14. :rolleyes:

It should be down to the definition of assault rifle.

The look of it is growing on me but i wouldnt say the guards wouldnt be in favour of it and id say if someone spotted a young lad with a assault rifle looking gun the guards would be getting alot of calls along with the neighbors absolutely crapping their pants :p :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

Agreed If the gun isnt restricted in its standard stock how is it restricted in a black stock it dont change the gun into fully automatic rapid fire assault rifle.

The look of it is growing on me but i wouldnt say the guards wouldnt be in favour of it and id say if someone spotted a young lad with a assault rifle looking gun the guards would be getting alot of calls along with the neighbors absolutely crapping their pants :p :pac:

Whats an assault rifle ? During the clinton ban, the house of representatives, the senate and the whole american government spent countless millions and endless time debating what exactly makes an assault rifle different from any other rifle, they failed.
    when someone is arrested and charged for having an unlicenced restricted firearm because he put a black plastic stock on his 10/22, then i'd start worrying. But most of the gardai i know don't know one end of a gun from the other.

Yeah i get ya hard to draw a line but its hardly a hunting rifle but into a black stock to be fair!

Ye i know they wouldnt know a thing weather its a shotgun or rifle when they should really be armed IMO but self defensive using guns is off topic here so no more discussion about armed guards.

Why don't you license the gun as per normal then if they ask for a picture show them all they care about on the license is the 10/22 part.

And as we are starting to find out in DC cases regarding this,as one Limerick Dist justice pointed out.The legislation and definition on this is very "wishy washy",with neither the statutes or guidelines being of any help to come to a rational decision for legislature or applicant..
    As there is no clear cut definition as what an assault rifle is in Irish legislation[There's a surprise!Like silencers ,or nite vision scopes no clear definition.]

So if there isnt a clear definition of what an assault rifle is...Despite the entire worldincluding the UN weapons experts,bar Ireland,having a criteria of it being [1] firing an middle power cartridge,[2] having a detachable box magazine and most importantly [3]BEING capable of select fire of semi and full auto.

How can we define then what a "looks like an assault rifle" is??

We dont have assault rifles in Ireland.We have semi auto modular sporting rifles.

I fired a remmington r15 in 223 two weeks ago. Serious gun and semi auto it took the guy a year and a half to get the license for it but he says there is another few of them in Ireland.

One serious gun and had a hell of alot more potential to be lethal than a 10/22 could ever have no matter what stock is on it.

The problem is its all down to the opinion of your local station.
    Would that be fair to say.