Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird/Cool Firearms

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭1shot16

U mean AR15?

Wouldnt bother asking them id know the answer id get with the way it looks in the black stock!

Once the gun is licensed and s is on the licence for a silencer i would think it should be legally okay.

A assault rifle is hardly a rim fire hunting rifle put into a black stock but the guards could could disagree

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

1shot16 wrote: »
    U mean AR15?

No I don't I mean remmington R15

http://www.remington.com/products/firearms/centerfire/model-r-15/model-r-15.aspx

Not the AR15 made by colt I think makes them.

Year and a half to get licence on dat its a hunting rifle only 5 round mag.

Nice gun though but i could never wait that long 1 month was long enough for me for the air rifle :P

I know ye well look that's what some people are into I suppose I'd to wait 17 days for my 243 and was torchured waiting for it.

Wish you could pick the gun up pay for the licence and walk out providing its not your first licence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

1shot16 wrote: »
    Wish you could pick the gun up pay for the licence and walk out providing its not your first licence!

It is or was that way in the uk, i don't know about now, you applied for and received a space on your licence for say a shotgun or whatever, you went to a dealers and when you seen one you wanted the dealer filled in the details on the licence and you could leave the shop with the gun.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,025 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Lads.
    The "politically correct " term for these are "modular sporting rifles."
    As we dont refer to our firearms as "weapons" lets refer to them as what they are ;).
    Modular Sporting Rifles.They are first of,not black,do not have any of the other deadly features of flash hiders,bayonet lugs,and all the other military features,and most importanly,are designed this way from the factory as a sporting rifle,and are referred to as such by the makers.
    Most of all,they are virtually impossible to convert to select fire as designed from the factory..
    About as removed from a M16 as you can get these days.

2 year wait and one court case for mine.:rolleyes:

RE The AR15 made by Colt. "AR15 " is now a generic term for what was an original Colt product,but is now made by everyman and his dog under every brand name.Even the Chinese are making them nowadays!:eek:
    Its a common use term like "Jeep" to describe a 4X4.

One serious gun and had a hell of alot more potential to be lethal than a 10/22 could ever have no matter what stock is on it.

Now,now!!:P We could say that for one of those deadly accurate up to ten miles "F Class sniper rifles" too couldnt we???Its the nutt behind the butt or behind the wheel that causes the trouble.
    [So take away that "dangerous nut" holding the wheel to the steering colum to prevent road deaths,and the nut holding the action to the stock and butt to prevent gun deaths.:D]

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    RE The AR15 made by Colt. "AR15 " is now a generic term for what was an original Colt product,but is now made by everyman and his dog under every brand name.Even the Chinese are making them nowadays!:eek:
    Its a common use term like "Jeep" to describe a 4X4.

Correct an right but I think colt still own the rights. And all the others build of the colt platform. I THINK.
    And armalite sold the rights to colt. Years ago.

rowa wrote: »
    It is or was that way in the uk, i don't know about now, you applied for and received a space on your licence for say a shotgun or whatever, you went to a dealers and when you seen one you wanted the dealer filled in the details on the licence and you could leave the shop with the gun.

Same in Germany.Go buy the gun ,walk out of the shop with it.Up to you to get it in on your liscense within 12 days.
    No restriction on your hunting liscense how many rifles or shotguns you can own provided they are three shts only.But you can have them as short barrelled as you want,[EG an 12in barrel shotgun,or a HK 91 K provided they have 3 shots] for searching for wounded game and only two handguns of any calibre.

Sports liscense,you can have six guns per disipline[excluding conversion kits and uppers of different calibres]. But must have them at a certain barrel length and appropriate to your disipline.

Collectors permit.You can collect certain types of guns from a historical time period[Say ww2] but you have to specialise it into say Axis or Allied,and it has to be of "historical value",and you have to give a lecture at least once a year on a specific field of your gun collection.:pac:

Inherited guns?No hassle in selling or having to put in storage,the police or designated firearms officer comes around and pops a breach block into the gun until you liscense it or sell it.Or just seal the gunsafe with an offical lead seal.Whatever is handier for both.:) Works !!

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Correct an right but I think colt still own the rights. And all the others build of the colt platform. I THINK.
    And armalite sold the rights to colt. Years ago.

Nope The exclusive patent rights ran out about 15 years ago.Likewise the 1911 platform about 25 years ago.Hence everyone makes both nowadays.:)

Same in Germany.Go buy the gun ,walk out of the shop with it.Up to you to get it in on your liscense within 12 days.
    No restriction on your hunting liscense how many rifles or shotguns you can own provided they are three shts only.But you can have them as short barrelled as you want,[EG an 12in barrel shotgun,or a HK 91 K provided they have 3 shots] for searching for wounded game and only two handguns of any calibre.

Sports liscense,you can have six guns per disipline[excluding conversion kits and uppers of different calibres]. But must have them at a certain barrel length and appropriate to your disipline.

Collectors permit.You can collect certain types of guns from a historical time period[Say ww2] but you have to specialise it into say Axis or Allied,and it has to be of "historical value",and you have to give a lecture at least once a year on a specific field of your gun collection.:pac:

Inherited guns?No hassle in selling or having to put in storage,the police or designated firearms officer comes around and pops a breach block into the gun until you liscense it or sell it.Or just seal the gunsafe with an offical lead seal.Whatever is handier for both.:) Works !!

But i believe getting a hunting licence in germany is a convoluted and difficult process, true ?

Ireland must be one of the stricted countries on guns!

Crazy facts about Somalia and guns

Just 14,000 are licence while 550-750 Hundred Thousand are illegal held meaning atleast Half a Million illegal guns!! :eek:

But i believe getting a hunting licence in germany is a convoluted and difficult process, true ?

Used to be ...
    However once the wall came down and Germany got back alot of real estate,they didnt in the confusion and partying,overhaul or integrate the new East German states into the Western states hunting law.
    Where it was a almost three year test and apprentice ship before you could sit Das Grune Abitur [Trans; The Green leaving cert:pac:].You could then do it in the East states literally within a cram24/7 course of a month.

Of course the Western hunters who had sweated this out over 3 years went mental about these "cash for hunting liscenses" schools.But it set itself thru and is now the norm all over Germany.Its still as intense but at least it doesnt drag on forever,and they did get rid some of the more obscure bits of it.
    Your big problem still as a Jung Jager[Young hunter or Journeyman hunter] is getting onto somones consortium to shoot.Its an expensive proposition,and as a lifestyle choice not a hobby.You will be expected to pull more than your weight all year and shoot the least before you are accepted into the fammily.:pac:

Used to be ...
    However once the wall came down and Germany got back alot of real estate,they didnt in the confusion and partying,overhaul or integrate the new East German states into the Western states hunting law.
    Where it was a almost three year test and apprentice ship before you could sit Das Grune Abitur [Trans; The Green leaving cert:pac:].You could then do it in the East states literally within a cram24/7 course of a month.

Of course the Western hunters who had sweated this out over 3 years went mental about these "cash for hunting liscenses" schools.But it set itself thru and is now the norm all over Germany.Its still as intense but at least it doesnt drag on forever,and they did get rid some of the more obscure bits of it.
    Your big problem still as a Jung Jager[Young hunter or Journeyman hunter] is getting onto somones consortium to shoot.Its an expensive proposition,and as a lifestyle choice not a hobby.You will be expected to pull more than your weight all year and shoot the least before you are accepted into the fammily.:pac:

And would you have to undergo all that if you just wanted to pop a few bunnies with a .22 or pigeons around your own farm ? It seems a bit ott, and the whole of eastern europe is open for business as far as hunting is concerned.

Yes Sir ..You do!! Totally different culture and mindset and law to the "British isles".If you own land you dont automatically have sporting or hunting rights to it.That is owned by the local hunting consortium,whom as a farmer you get to say yay or nay with your fellow farmers every decade or so when the shooting consortium lease is up whether they get the shooting rights again or not.Also you drop the consortium in every month or year a big bill for game damage by "their" wild boar,deer,foxes and whatnot to your crops and chicken coop.:P Imagine that one here...

Wild piegons as we know them and shoot are very rare over there.Due mostly to agirculture and not much mature timber trees like we have here.
    My relatives are always amazed by our mature trees here in Ireland.Its rare to see a tree with a 4foot dia over,and if it is its protected by the forestry dept.
    Nothing to say as a farmer that you cant pop the feral piegons or rats in your barn with a freely purchased over the counter air rifle;)
    But that s it!!Anything else is off limits and you have to call the hunters to deal with it.
    Up to the 1970s until Baader Meinhoff started mucking about,you could buy over the counter .22lr rifles and handguns and 9mm flobert shotguns with no liscense.Changed of course to counter the "terrorist threat.":rolleyes:

Yes Eastern Europe is open alright.But you still have to produce a hunting liscense from your home country to go shooting or posses firearms as well as insurance.

TBH they think our system is totaly OTT.That "anyone" can purchase a firearm and apply for a liscense without any sort of training ,or that glorified toys like air rifles ,that you give your ten year old son to shoot with and show some responsibility with are liscensed as firearms.Or that you can go shooting as freely as we do is anethema to them!:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭harmoniums

Back on the topic of weird/cool firearms.
    I just picked up a Chiappa Rhino DS40.
    Its a 357/38spl 6 shot revolver that fires from the 6 o clock chamber to minimise muzzle flip and felt recoil.
    a 38 feels like a 22 magnum and 357 like a regular 38.
    The lockwork is complicated and there were a lot of problems with the 1st generation.

I bought it because it looks cool and because Chiappa will probably screw the pooch and go out of business, in my opinion the value will rocket up then like the mateba revolvers.

heres a stock image:

40DS.jpg

dsc7262.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Should be a lot more accurate than if it fired from the 12-o-clock cylinder though harmoniums; the russians built one of those 6-o-clock designs for olympic pistol, the MC-3, a few decades ago (it was a semi-auto, but the same principle applied - get the recoil line in line with the radius and ulna and everything got far more controllable, so you had a steadier platform for rapid-fire). They only ever made a hundred or so of them though - the ISSF banned them after their first use in the 1956 Olympics showed that they were way too much of a competitive advantage (someone beat the existing world record by five points with one on pretty much their first match with the thing).

40_1_.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

Now that's pretty!

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭harmoniums

Sparks wrote: »
    Should be a lot more accurate than if it fired from the 12-o-clock cylinder though harmoniums; the russians built one of those 6-o-clock designs for olympic pistol, the MC-3, a few decades ago (it was a semi-auto, but the same principle applied - get the recoil line in line with the radius and ulna and everything got far more controllable, so you had a steadier platform for rapid-fire). They only ever made a hundred or so of them though - the ISSF banned them after their first use in the 1956 Olympics showed that they were way too much of a competitive advantage (someone beat the existing world record by five points with one on pretty much their first match with the thing).

40_1_.jpg

I must have this, you sir are the suxor

BTW, I am too poor a shooter to speak of the accuracy of the Chaippa at 10 yards with ball 38s I was doing about 2 inch groups all of that is on me I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

simi-auto revolver

Could add to that.The Gyrojet rocket pistol or the Dardick pistol/rifle

93-gyrojet%2011.jpg

dardick_1958.jpg

I don't know if this tread is going up or down a level.

But who ever made this has something seriously wrong with them.

7B474BA6-993F-4DC9-885C-4E0B9ABA604D-7703-00000AA9662A8E16_zpsd09f20ac.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Ammunition capacity is 14+1 with 2 3/4″ shells. The KSG is shown with a factory installed Picatinny rail with flip up sights and a pistol grip.
    The operator is able to move a switch located near the top of the grip to select the right or left tube, or move the switch to the center to eject a shell without chambering another round. The bull-pup design results in an overall length of only 26″ with an 18.5″ barrel while the bottom eject design makes the firearm truly ambidextrous
    KSG_3357web_zpsa806e235.jpg

I wonder if the ICSA would have issue with this at one of thier competitions

A serious canditate for the "Idonlikedelookodat" firearms clause here.:rolleyes:

Yet all it is is another advancement in technology.
    I suppose by 2113 semi rifles will be looked on as quaint and sporting and traditional and our great grandkids will be arguing about liscensing their phased plasma rifles in the 40 watt range.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

A serious canditate for the "Idonlikedelookodat" firearms clause here.:rolleyes:

Yet all it is is another advancement in technology.
    I suppose by 2113 semi rifles will be looked on as quaint and sporting and traditional and our great grandkids will be arguing about liscensing their phased plasma rifles in the 40 watt range.:rolleyes:

Anti matter guns. Less of a mess. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Anti matter guns. Less of a mess. :D

If you can dream it you can build it. Science fact is always preceded by science fiction

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

If you can dream it you can build it. Science fact is always preceded by science fiction
    We've already built one, but it's not exactly man-portable:

cern.jpg

A "rail gun" or " anti matter" gun??:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

A "rail gun" or " anti matter" gun??:confused:

Large Hadron Collider at Sern. ;)