Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland, I love you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

I dunno, I find the friendliness is frequently quite fake. There's often a cattiness behind it.

Like the way some women say bye on the phone. Byeeeeeeeee....slightly undulating, sounds sarcastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I dunno, I find the friendliness is frequently quite fake. There's often a cattiness behind it.

Asking someone how they are is ingrained into our culture and very few nationalities address strangers in the same way we do, we almost do it through habit so in that sense it may be perceived as fake.

I was recently flying home on Aer Lingus and in front of me was a young Canadian couple, as we boarded they commented on how much friendlier the staff were, it was the usual Irish thing, how are you etc. When we sat down, they were across from me. Beside was an anxious looking gentleman. He pull a hostess aside and asked could he move seats as his wife was sitting in the row behind and he wanted to sit with her as she was a bad flier. The hostess said the flight was full and she would see what she could do.

I was on my own and immediately offered to swap seats with his wife. I really should have looked behind as they both occupied middle seats and I gave up an aisle one :p. I think the couple were Dutch but they were very grateful, it really was no big deal to me as the flight was quite short. The Canadian couple were nattering away, about how friendly as a nation we were.

I just hope they didn't end up getting mugged in Dublin :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Asking someone how they are is ingrained into our culture and very few nationalities address strangers in the same way we do, we almost do it through habit so in that sense it may be perceived as fake.

I was recently flying home on Aer Lingus and in front of me was a young Canadian couple, as we boarded they commented on how much friendlier the staff were, it was the usual Irish thing, how are you etc. When we sat down, they were across from me. Beside was an anxious looking gentleman. He pull a hostess aside and asked could he move seats as his wife was sitting in the row behind and he wanted to sit with her as she was a bad flier. The hostess said the flight was full and she would see what she could do.

I was on my own and immediately offered to swap seats with his wife. I really should have looked behind as they both occupied middle seats and I gave up an aisle one :p. I think the couple were Dutch but they were very grateful, it really was no big deal to me as the flight was quite short. The Canadian couple were nattering away, about how friendly as a nation we were.

I just hope they didn't end up getting mugged in Dublin :p

That reminds me. I LOVE Aer LIngus. And also Kerry Gold butter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

lols.

More about you than the giver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Itwasntme. wrote: »
    Maybe it's because I am leaving soon but I woke up this morning feeling a whole lot of love for Ireland. So instead of trying to beat yet another deadline, I watched a few Rose of Tralee video clips and my love cup overflowed even more (shut up haters).

I love the accents, all of them but especially Tipperary, Donegal and the midlands; I love that there are so. many. hot men; I love the almost naked girls in the winter; I love the way people are just so friendly; I love the cold, crisp air; I love the rain; I love the green; I love the orange - off the flag and onto an astonishing amount of people; I love the gingers; I love it all.

What do you love about Ireland? What would you miss if you left? What do you miss for those of you who are not here?

This is NOT a thread about what you don't like. Start your own thread haters and don't bloody ruin my buzz.

if you love it so much why are you leaving. :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

Nightclubs (you'd be surprised how small and **** they are in some countries)

Hmmmmmm, not sure about this. Even the priciest/"poshest" places in Dublin are still kips, and the average nightclub can be fairly grim if you haven't reached the required level of insozzlement :D
    Craic
    Chipper Food
    15 cups of tea a day
    Brown Bread

Totally agree in these. Especially the brown bread and chippers - god I miss a good curry chips and battered sausage. I'm like Pavlov's dogs here drooling at the thoughts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

The mighty drying you get during a good Irish summer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I went to Ireland's Eye on Saturday and I have to say I loved it, a very magical place belonging to us.

Love that place, very wild and unspoiled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Caonima wrote: »
    Hmmmmmm, not sure about this. Even the priciest/"poshest" places in Dublin are still kips, and the average nightclub can be fairly grim if you haven't reached the required level of insozzlement :D

Totally agree in these. Especially the brown bread and chippers - god I miss a good curry chips and battered sausage. I'm like Pavlov's dogs here drooling at the thoughts...

Just try any nightclub in Nice/Cannes/St Tropez. Monaco is slightly better but full of fake people paying thousands for champagne because the wanker value of having the dearest champagne at your table exceeds any perceived class of choosing a different one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭Bananatop

I remember coming back from a year spent travelling. By that stage I was sick of planes, sick of airports, sick of airplane food etc. I flew from Sydney to LA, normal flight nothing to complain about apart from it being a journey by flight! Spent a few days, travelled to London, same type of flight no particular complaints. I then flew the last leg home from London to Dublin with Aer Lingus. My stomach was in bits, felt awful, and was sitting at the back of the plane. The air hostess asked me was I alright. I'd already refused a sandwich (back in the days when these things were free on flights), I said I was ok just not into airplane food. I'd say she approached me at least three times before the flight landed, checking on me. She gave me water and told me to call her if I needed her.

It was the first time in a year of flying (I'd say I had taken 12 flights all with different air carriers) that an employee had actually stepped outside his/her bounds to look after a passenger who wasn't really all that ill or in danger. I loved seeing all the other countries, but I really felt at home and welcomed when I was on that Aer Lingus flight. It cost the airline nothing, but I certainly came away feeling delighted to be back home.

I think these things can sometimes be taken for granted in this country. This kind of hospitality (and I'm sure there are many other examples) would cost a fortune in training to implement for businesses in another country.

I love Aer Lingus for this reason, and I also love Ireland for the feeling that for the most part, we look out for each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Priests..there I said it. (Joke) For the slow people out there.

Oh,and Father ted. The liffey, O'Connell st, Luke Kelly, Christy Moore. The cliffs of Moher, 1916, Galway, Guinness, My Daughter, wife and Dad.

The session, Music, Howth, Wexford, Kinsale, The old B+I ferry, Arnotts, Christmas with Family, Pubs, Old people, yeah old people have lived it and know so much. The Pheonix Park, Dublin Bay, Wicklow, Rain, Foggy nights,

And last but by no means least....Solphadine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

That's not what I'm talking about. I, an Irish person, have witnessed this kind of behaviour countless times.
    listermint wrote: »
    lols.

More about you than the giver.

If you like. :)

Anyway, suppose I'll leave it at that, this is a feel-good thread.

Just try any nightclub in Nice/Cannes/St Tropez. Monaco is slightly better but full of fake people paying thousands for champagne because the wanker value of having the dearest champagne at your table exceeds any perceived class of choosing a different one.

Same as here in Shanghai; couple of hundred to a couple of thousand to hire a table and then it's all the overpriced, watered-down grog you can drink.

Some of the regular clubs here are good craic, though. You can dance on the bar or on the tables or whatever without some 'doormonkey' putting you in a full nelson and turfing you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Funerals - the whole 3 day wake/removal/burial and all that goes with it.

The fact that people will get into a car on a cold dark rainy night and drive for 2 hours to stand in line and commiserate with a friend they hadn't seen in 10 years for 30 seconds....then hop into the car and drive the same 2 hour journey home...

I've always found them so comforting at a times of loss - nobody does a funeral better than us...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

The bit in bold is another reason why I love Ireland - swearing without missing a beat and it's complimentary too! :) Love it! PS: *blushing* Thanks :).

Hurling! A friend and I tried to watch a match in Galway and we were completely befuddled. We couldn't follow what was going on. Is it a football? Is it a rugby? Is it a hockey? NO! It's HUUUURRLING!

Or you could describe it like Tommy Tiernan did and say hurling is like a cross between hockey and murder :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Sometimes, it's the thinks you lack can make a country.

No excessive heatwaves (I know several non-Irish who love the Irish summers)
    No excessive cold in winter.
    No tornadoes or hurricanes.
    No earthquakes nor tsunamis.
    No sandstorms or chances of desertification.
    No deadly animals (sharks, snakes, massive/poisonous spiders/insects..)
    No chance of military coups.
    No (well, little) chance of a terrorist attack, or civil war.
    No chance of being invaded.

The biggest issues a lot of us face are other peoples' driving habits or what some girl did at a recent music concert. That says a lot.

On another note (and this might sound like a whine) but I love the way Irish people will say everything is grand to the waiter when he enquires, then start moaning the second he leaves. :) We don't like insulting/confronting people, but we love a good whine!

who_me wrote: »
    ...but we love a good whine!

Some whine with your wine, sir?

Caonima wrote: »
    Some whine with your wine, sir?

No, I'm grand! Thanks for asking!
    Jeez, that Caonima... "Some whine with your wine, sir?" Who do they think they are.... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Strange, quirky things some Irish people do like......

What are you waving at?
    Magpies

Hiding packets of biscuits in the sleeves of an overcoat, so the kids won't eat them all. You have biscuits for visitors, so you won't have to get the oldest child to cycle to the local shop to buy half a pound of sliced ham, some tomatoes and a white sliced pan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭ONeill2013

Sometimes, it's the thinks you lack can make a country.

No excessive heatwaves (I know several non-Irish who love the Irish summers)
    No excessive cold in winter.
    No tornadoes or hurricanes.
    No earthquakes nor tsunamis.
    No sandstorms or chances of desertification.
    No deadly animals (sharks, snakes, massive/poisonous spiders/insects..)
    No chance of military coups.
    No (well, little) chance of a terrorist attack, or civil war.
    No chance of being invaded.

The biggest issues a lot of us face are other peoples' driving habits or what some girl did at a recent music concert. That says a lot.

On another note (and this might sound like a whine) but I love the way Irish people will say everything is grand to the waiter when he enquires, then start moaning the second he leaves. :) We don't like insulting/confronting people, but we love a good whine!

How do you know the Scandinavians aren't plotting something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

The fact that people will get into a car on a cold dark rainy night and drive for 2 hours to stand in line and commiserate with a friend they hadn't seen in 10 years for 30 seconds....then hop into the car and drive the same 2 hour journey home...

I've always found them so comforting at a times of loss - nobody does a funeral better than us...

I've actually seen that the Irish attitude to death is very healthy, one of the best parts of our culture.

ONeill2013 wrote: »
    How do you know the Scandinavians aren't plotting something?

Have you seen their standard of living over there?

I, for one, welcome our new tall, blonde overlords (and overllllladies!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

I'll take the lower* standard of living in Ireland over the higher Scandinavian standard of living any day.

Lower with a star because I don't think being more organised and having a more efficient system and government makes up for the general lack of warmth and incredible (not in a good way) individualism I've encountered among the Scandinavians I've met. And I once shared a house with five of them for over a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭ONeill2013

Norway's eurovision entrance this year causes me to agree with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I never drink Club Orange, except when I get back to the airport after being away; and I used to bring it with me to London.

Not a hope in hell I'd buy it in a shop/pub normally but for some reason the second I'm off the island I desperately need it.

I also sometimes get oddly emotional walking down a pier in an airport and seeing the green top - last time being in Birmingham SIX HOURS after I'd landed on a day trip. Must make sure never to do it over an Iraqi plane though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Going home for my niece's christening next month and already there's talks of sending the niece home with the grandparents from the states (not big drinkers) for the massive piss up with the Irish part of the family. I think that's the only reason my sister is having one - for the massive sesheroonee after. Where else in the world would that happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭xgwishyx

I love that when you tell friends you're moving to a new place for every one person that asks "Where is it, how are you finding the place?" you'll get twenty who ask "When's the housewarming?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Grafton Street in the week before Christmas.
    The Spanish Arch in Galway in the summer.
    Blessington Lakes any time of the year.
    St Stephen's Green on a sunny day.
    The humour and genuine comedy of any Irish crowd.
    Friday night pints in the local.
    Irish women - all of them.

and Brennans batch loaf .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

To be fair, traditional New Orleans funerals are.. Well, I'm not sure which adjective to use, but for want of a better term, they're great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sinfonia wrote: »
    To be fair, traditional New Orleans funerals are.. Well, I'm not sure which adjective to use, but for want of a better term, they're great.

Deadly, no need for funerals to be so grave in fairness.

Both puns intended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

mattjack wrote: »

bleedin love a good old freeze dried loaf of congealed flour.

Potatoes
    Standing at the back of mass
    The craic that does be had with an ethnic plays GAA
    the way the country comes together to get obsessed in a sport if someone does half decent at an international tournament
    spuds
    Priests
    Everyone voting for whoever comes from their village

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,640 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Mayo
    the craic
    Nice creamy pints of guinness in an old mans pub
    Dublin at christmas
    Mayo
    The galway races
    Croke park
    Cycling anywhere in Ireland
    The girls, might not be as stunning as others but they get it and thats the main thing, well 80% anyway!
    Mayo, did I mention that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Rega

Leftist wrote: »

Potatoes
    the way the country comes together to get obsessed in a sport if someone does half decent at an international tournament
    spuds
    Priests

The craic when an ethnic plays GAA?

What? You mean racism is it?

mattjack wrote: »

Toasted with a bucketful of kerrygold butter spread on it, it's positively orgasmic.

Potatoes
    spuds
    Priests

Awww...you came around after all. Group hug :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

Rega wrote: »
    The craic when an ethnic plays GAA?

What? You mean racism is it?

Yes we all love a bit of racism. You know what he means. The older GAA "heads" are the best for the craic. The O'Hailpíns from Fiji started it...and the fecking Greeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭long range shooter

I'll take the lower* standard of living in Ireland over the higher Scandinavian standard of living any day.

Lower with a star because I don't think being more organised and having a more efficient system and government makes up for the general lack of warmth and incredible (not in a good way) individualism I've encountered among the Scandinavians I've met. And I once shared a house with five of them for over a year.

Being scandinavian and lived 13 years in Ireland,i have to say at the end of the day its every man for himself,no matter where you are from.;)

:pac::pac: Like this?

:pac::pac: And finally, the point you were so subtly trying to push sinks in (:eek: horrible horrible pun not intended).

I am suitably chastised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

That's a terrible attitude to have. My American cousins are very much like that. They're all "dog eat dog" and "look out for no.1" and all this shite. All I did was ask them why nobody in America will hold the door for you if you're behind them. They present it as some sort of empowering, individual thing but honestly I think it's just a national excuse for bad manners.

That's a terrible attitude to have. My American cousins are very much like that. There all "dog eat dog" and "look out for no.1" and all this shite. All I did was ask them why nobody in America will hold the door for you if you're behind them. They present it as some sort of empowering, individual thing but honestly I think it's just a national excuse for bad manners.

Maybe I am being optimistic but I read it as a tongue in cheek rebuttal to my previous post and he really meant that my assertion that Scandinavians are individualistic does not hold for everyone. But yeah, I agree that the 'look out for no. 1" is just bad manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

That's a terrible attitude to have. My American cousins are very much like that. There all "dog eat dog" and "look out for no.1" and all this shite. All I did was ask them why nobody in America will hold the door for you if you're behind them. They present it as some sort of empowering, individual thing but honestly I think it's just a national excuse for bad manners.

the monsters.

Almost as bad as those beasts from the uk who break fences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭JanaMay

Fèck yis anyway... got to page 2 before bursting into tears. I've been living away for far too long and it's made me homesick. What I miss about Ireland? (Ok some of these have already been mentioned):

When you get to Dublin airport and someone always calls you 'love'. Just makes me feel 'minded'.

A stranger chats to you, you don't assume there's an ulterior motive. (Especially love how on a night out women are nice to other women. I always get chatting to some woman at the bar/in the loo etc...and within 5 mins we know all about each other. Good Irish female solidarity. Not every other woman is a 'rival'.)

Our literary past. Unbelievable for such a small country. This goes for music too.

Trad music and an oul singsong.

Great food. Meat, dairy, seafood. Also batch loaf and chipper chips.

Willingness to help others. Kindness.

How you'll be home and it's like you never left.

The indescribable sense of belonging you have when you get home.

Rugged Irish men!

Hiberno-English. Fascinating language variety. Colourful turns of phrase.

Proper pubs.

The smell of turf.

Covering your schoolbooks in woodchip wallpaper. (Do kids still do this?)

Santy.

But mostly because it's where my family and friends are. It's in my blood. I grew from there and part of me is rooted there and always will be.

Better stop now cos I'm all weepy, but I have thousands more to add.

I bloody love that mad little Ireland.

JanaMay wrote: »
    Fèck yis anyway... got to page 2 before bursting into tears.
    I bloody love that mad little Ireland.

Awww....now I feel teary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭JanaMay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

JanaMay wrote: »
    Fèck yis anyway... got to page 2 before bursting into tears. I've been living away for far too long and it's made me homesick. What I miss about Ireland? (Ok some of these have already been mentioned):

When you get to Dublin airport and someone always calls you 'love'. Just makes me feel 'minded'.

A stranger chats to you, you don't assume there's an ulterior motive. (Especially love how on a night out women are nice to other women. I always get chatting to some woman at the bar/in the loo etc...and within 5 mins we know all about each other. Good Irish female solidarity. Not every other woman is a 'rival'.)

You're breaking my heart here, and I'm only after being home for nearly 5 weeks... god I miss the old turf, imperfections n all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

the monsters.

Almost as bad as those beasts from the uk who break fences.

Or selfish assholes who belittle anything that doesnt affect them directly

That's a terrible attitude to have. My American cousins are very much like that. They're all "dog eat dog" and "look out for no.1" and all this shite. All I did was ask them why nobody in America will hold the door for you if you're behind them. They present it as some sort of empowering, individual thing but honestly I think it's just a national excuse for bad manners.

Terrible attitude,i am being honest,you obviously need a trip abroad soon to see other cultures:rolleyes:

It must be weird having over 300million cousins.