Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

USA Graduate Visa 2013-Boston

• 22-08-2013 5:33pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8

Hey:)

Anybody heading to Boston this year on the graduate visa? Me and my friend are in the middle of applying now (DS160 picture is a nightmare) and hoping to go mid-late September this year!

Wondering if anybody is heading over? or could tell me what it's like for jobs and accommodation :) Only two of us going together so dreading the trekking about for a house!!

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭podgie.

don't worry to much about the DS160 photo, they are going to take a photo of you in the interview and use that one for it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 KarenEnglish

Oh that's not too bad so! Thanks :)

• Registered Users Posts: 286 ✭✭GavK

Hey Karen,

Me and two of my Friends are heading to Boston on the 25th of September on the Graduate Visa.

We have no jobs or accomodation lined up either!

I had my embassy interview last Friday it was really straightforward, do you have a date for flying out ?

GavK wrote: »
    Hey Karen,

Me and two of my Friends are heading to Boston on the 25th of September on the Graduate Visa.

We have no jobs or accomodation lined up either!

I had my embassy interview last Friday it was really straightforward, do you have a date for flying out ?

No we don't have a date yet! We have to book our embassy meeting and hoping to get that done this week.
    How long were u waiting for the interview?
    Have ye any idea where ye are gonna stay? We're looking at Dorchester or Quincy.

I went through USIT so had to book my Interview myself, there are loads of dates available so you won't be waiting long, maybe a week.

My Friend was out there in college last year and he was thinking of the Mission Hill area, not sure yet to be honest! But I heard Dorchester is a strong Irish community.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 otter1988

hey.
    Just starting the grad visa application with USIT myself. the girl says it can take upto 8 weeks for visa to come through before travel. how long did it take you guys to come through. As i graduated in early november of last year if it was any longer than 8 weeks i would run out of time!!

Hey Otter,

Yeah it can take up to 8 weeks altogether. Personally mine took me 6 weeks altogether, collecting my passport with the Visa in it on Friday and then i'm off. Its costing me over 2,000 euro altogether to go through USIT so you would need to have this to give them ASAP. Where you thinking of going ?

Gavin

• Registered Users Posts: 19 petercurran1990

Interested in this visa myself. Any of you have a job lined up? Or any ideas where to even start looking? Im interested in New York!

• Registered Users Posts: 7 otter1988

Hi Gavin,
    Ye I was thinking around the 2 grand mark would be right after flights.. Have been in touch with the girl from USIT quite a bit. ye 6 weeks would be fine. had you any problems filling in the documentation or with the embassy interview?? i am going to new york. have a few friends over there already. id like to go to a different city but they say ya have to live in nyc at some stage in your life! i see youre off to boston? i spent a couple of summers there. great city. what is it you did in college? have you worked lined up?

Neither of us have a job lined up but we have been looking up craigslist so see whats available. Hoping it won't take too long to get something. Has anybody else anything lined up?

Documentation has been fine so far, haven't really had much to do. My embassy meeting is the 5th and everybody seems to find that pretty straight forward.

We were told not to book flights until after the embassy meeting and now flights are mad expensive so I wouldn't recommend doing that. If I was to do it again I would have booked well in advance so thats my only tip!

tbh I've been very disappointed in Go4less, paid so much money and they haven't really been a massive aid. USIT seem to be a whole lot better!

USIT lot a better by far, they did everything for me, I just had to show up at the embassy and fill the DS160, I was in Australia when I applied return home for the interview and I'm off Friday to the U.S, :)

Hey Otter,

Go with USIT if time is your main concern, everything is so straightforward, they are expensive though. One of my friends went with GO4less and they messed up one of his forms for the embassy interview so he has been delayed 2 weeks now. Book flights as soon as you can. The embassy interview is ridiculously easy I just talked to the guy about my previous J1 in Chicago, really straightforward. I did a general business degree in college so I can work in anything from accountancy, administration, economics etc. I've experience in banking so hopefully i'll pick up something sooner rather than later.

Karen- have you been checking Craigslist for jobs or accommodation ? or both ? Think we should have went with the IIIC as they are based in Boston and their LinkedIn page helps you out with work, but only if they sponsor you! Think we might have accommodation sorted in the Mission Hill area, I'll believe it when I get out there. No advance on jobs though!

Where you off to Podgie ?

Off to New York Gav,

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Kanney

Going to be going to Boston, myself early 2014. It looks like the 2,000 mark for prices. Did any of ye just buy a single ticket? Did it save much?

Hi kanney

What company are you going with? Either way it is about the 2000 mark.

We booked a one way ticket and it cost is 380. Flying to JFK and then onto Boston. Worked out a lot cheaper than flying direct.

When are you thinking of going over?
    Kanney wrote: »
    Going to be going to Boston, myself early 2014. It looks like the 2,000 mark for prices. Did any of ye just buy a single ticket? Did it save much?

Went into USIT today.. She said around 2300?

Anyway, seems my best bet is to leave Dec. 30th, because if I wait for the new year, its a new visa, meaning the earliest I'd get over would be March.

Who did you go with Karen? I've done 3 J1's with USIT and they booked my flights and its always been a rip off. Were you able to find your own flights?

Ya one of my friends is the same, she's leaving late Dec too! Waiting on until March is a long time especially if you can afford it now. Mine probably worked out at between 1700-2000. Just can't remember exact figures. But there doesn't seem to be much difference in price between the 2 companies.

We had to book our flights through go4less. They were then booked through AustralianHolidays and considering how late we booked we got a good price. Direct flights were about 500 which isn't much more than aer lingus If we had booked ourselves. So I was surprised at how reasonable they were. But I wouldn't base your booking on that either, we could have just got lucky.

Is it just yourself thinking of going? Or a group?

Anyway, seems my best bet is to leave Dec. 30th, because if I wait for the new year, its a new visa, meaning the earliest I'd get over would be March.

Who did you go with Karen? I've done 3 J1's with USIT and they booked my flights and its always been a rip off. Were you able to find your own flights?

Ya one of my friends is the same, she's leaving late Dec too! Waiting on until March is a long time especially if you can afford it now. Mine probably worked out at between 1700-2000. Just can't remember exact figures. But there doesn't seem to be much difference in price between the 2 companies.

We had to book our flights through go4less. They were then booked through AustralianHolidays and considering how late we booked we got a good price. Direct flights were about 500 which isn't much more than aer lingus If we had booked ourselves. So I was surprised at how reasonable they were. But I wouldn't base your booking on that either, we could have just got lucky.

Is it just yourself thinking of going? Or a group?

Going by myself, maybe with one other. I think with USIT you can't book your own flights and they fly you through London, they did that with me on my past 3 J1's and its a nightmare travel.

GavK wrote: »
    Karen- have you been checking Craigslist for jobs or accommodation ? or both ? Think we should have went with the IIIC as they are based in Boston and their LinkedIn page helps you out with work, but only if they sponsor you! Think we might have accommodation sorted in the Mission Hill area, I'll believe it when I get out there. No advance on jobs though!

Where you off to Podgie ?

The IIIC on LinkedIn? Any links to that mate?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

The IIIC on LinkedIn? Any links to that mate?

http://iiicenter.org/

I went with this crowd, they have been very helpful so far, I got to book my own flights, (return 480 Euro), own insurance. It worked out a lot cheaper than USIT or Go4Less. I'm working in Western Mass, returning home in a week.

yer man! wrote: »
    http://iiicenter.org/

I went with this crowd, they have been very helpful so far, I got to book my own flights, (return 480 Euro), own insurance. It worked out a lot cheaper than USIT or Go4Less. I'm working in Western Mass, returning home in a week.

Not interested in staying on or anything?

Where exactly do you apply on that site? Very interested to hear how you got on..

Not interested in staying on or anything?

Where exactly do you apply on that site? Very interested to hear how you got on..

I'm ending my visa earlier because my job ends in a week, I'm also getting really sick of the states right now. Where I am, people don't really go out and socialise so there's nothing to do after work. Everyone my age is in so much student debt some of them are working 3 jobs to pay it off so they don't have the time.
    I have thought about moving to Boston into the cambridge area which is the science hub but it's extremely expensive to live there and entry level employees are on worse wages than Ireland usually. Plus about a quarter of your wage goes to tax which cannot be claimed for almost a year.
    I'm not trying to discourage anyone from coming here but America isn't all it's cracked up to be. The places where people want to live are generally very very expensive, so if you're planning on making money on an entry level job here, it isn't easy.
    Oh and if you're Irish be prepared for the unbelievable bombardment of questions!!! I was asked if Ireland has police, the taliban and natural gas..... and they also found it hilarious that we watch European sports and not american.

Of course this all depends on where you go..... :P

On the IIIC website you will see instructions on the left hand side of the front page for a working visa I think.... the website takes a bit of navigation.

I'm ending my visa earlier because my job ends in a week, I'm also getting really sick of the states right now. Where I am, people don't really go out and socialise so there's nothing to do after work. Everyone my age is in so much student debt some of them are working 3 jobs to pay it off so they don't have the time.
    I have thought about moving to Boston into the cambridge area which is the science hub but it's extremely expensive to live there and entry level employees are on worse wages than Ireland usually. Plus about a quarter of your wage goes to tax which cannot be claimed for almost a year.
    I'm not trying to discourage anyone from coming here but America isn't all it's cracked up to be. The places where people want to live are generally very very expensive, so if you're planning on making money on an entry level job here, it isn't easy.
    Oh and if you're Irish be prepared for the unbelievable bombardment of questions!!! I was asked if Ireland has police, the taliban and natural gas..... and they also found it hilarious that we watch European sports and not american.

Of course this all depends on where you go..... :P

On the IIIC website you will see instructions on the left hand side of the front page for a working visa I think.... the website takes a bit of navigation.

I know what you mean man, I spent last 3 J1 in boston, living and working in Cambridge. I've plenty of mates and family over there so am usedto the stereotype questions!

You couldnt directly link me to the IIIC page where they have the graduate visa application? The website is a mess.

took me a few minutes to find it myself,

http://iiicenter.org/2011/08/11/j-1-irish-work-and-travel-program/

Thanks, managed to get in touch with them over Facebook. Have emailed them and will see how it goes.

What exactly did you need to do, that USIT or the like usually would do? Did you book your flights yourself? Aer Lingus?

Thanks, managed to get in touch with them over Facebook. Have emailed them and will see how it goes.

What exactly did you need to do, that USIT or the like usually would do? Did you book your flights yourself? Aer Lingus?

The leaflet thing they have online explains everything very well. You have to get your own insurance, I went with backpackers insurance. You have to book the embassy yourself which is pretty easy, just call the hotline number and they will give you an appt. You need to get proper US visa photos which almost all pharmacies do. You have to wait for the IIIC to send you a form which you must bring to the embassy, if that goes ok you get approved there and then, they take your bank draft in Euro or Dollar (BOI no longer issue small amount bank drafts FYI) and they send your passport back in a few days. Once I got approved I booked my flights ang got them for 480 Euro SNN-BOS return. I heard of some friends getting them for 800 Euro with USIT's travel agency.

The process took a bit of work but it did work out cheaper in the end.

The leaflet thing they have online explains everything very well. You have to get your own insurance, I went with backpackers insurance. You have to book the embassy yourself which is pretty easy, just call the hotline number and they will give you an appt. You need to get proper US visa photos which almost all pharmacies do. You have to wait for the IIIC to send you a form which you must bring to the embassy, if that goes ok you get approved there and then, they take your bank draft in Euro or Dollar (BOI no longer issue small amount bank drafts FYI) and they send your passport back in a few days. Once I got approved I booked my flights ang got them for 480 Euro SNN-BOS return. I heard of some friends getting them for 800 Euro with USIT's travel agency.

The process took a bit of work but it did work out cheaper in the end.

I'm not afraid of a little work ;)

Thanks man, that helps me a lot. USITs flights start at 700 and they usually go through London, its madness.
    This looks great man, I'll apply soon.

Hope you dont mind having the odd look at this thread if I have another query I'll post it here.

Thanks again!

I'm not afraid of a little work ;)

Thanks man, that helps me a lot. USITs flights start at 700 and they usually go through London, its madness.
    This looks great man, I'll apply soon.

Hope you dont mind having the odd look at this thread if I have another query I'll post it here.

Thanks again!

No problem, also the IIIC staff are all Irish and actively living in BOS so it really helps if you need to get some forms signed quickly and stuff for social security or international travel. Turned out I actually knew one of the staff members there who was dealing with me. my brother went to college with her. Typical Ireland...