Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hotel near Aviva

• 24-08-2013 1:36am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭

Im looking for a fairly inexpensive hotel near Aviva stadium.

We"re going to the Ireland vs Sweden game on 6th Sept. with two kids.
    Looking for preferably somewhere within walking distance with parking.
    What hotel would ye recommend?

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 HelloFluffy

I'd really recommend the Sandymount Hotel. Cheap enough and not even a five minute walk from the Aviva and Landsdowne Road dart station!
    Not sure about the parking situation though..

• Registered Users Posts: 24 diwit

probably one of the closest you can find is the Grand Canal Hotel (http://www.grandcanalhotel.ie/). It is a 3 star but I don't know the pricing. Check if it fits what you are looking for...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

You could try the Mespil Hotel too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Thanks but they"re all booked out lads.
    Is there an alternative,maybe near the Luas or Dart.
    Ill be heading in to Dublin from the naas road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Tara Towers might be an option maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

All the above suggestions although appreciated are booked out.

Any other alternatives possibly on the same Dart line as the Aviva.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Bewleys Ballsbridge definitely has rooms.

Further out but Royal Marine Dunlaoghaire also. It's near the DART.

Neither of these would be that cheap at such short notice though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Galaxie

I wouldn't recommend the Luas if you've young children - unless you plan on also getting the Dart as it's a long walk to the Luas from the Aviva. Darts run pretty frequently after matches anyway as it's so busy - but tbh with this one I wouldn't be expecting a full house.

Have you looked into bus routes? The 46a is close enough, get off it in Donnybrook and then it's a walk through Herbert Park to get to the Aviva.

Jurys in the city centre (Custom House) might be an option? And probably good for kids :)