Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GW 2 - Matchday Thread

• 24-08-2013 7:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭

Time to see if the failures of last week can redeem themselves today.

Coutinho, Mirallas, Walcott...

These lads need to deliver. My own team for GW2 is below.

Yes, I'm taking a chance with two West Ham mids but Newcastle were brutal Monday night and have internal issues at the club with the Kinnear fiasco and the Arsenal bid for Cabaye. There are also rumours they'll be missing a few like Tiote.

I also can't decide if I want Cole or Nolan so have banked .5 mil and will upgrade when someone like Rosicky or Mirallas sticks their head up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,962 ✭✭✭Hogey007

pretty poor first week both in terms of points (68) and players dropping like flies leaving me taking a few points deductions just to field a team this week.

so could really do with a few things going my way, a soldado hat trick as captain would be nice, also i see brady as very much a differential and it's games like today where i'm hoping he'll get me decent points.

one good thing about having f*** all players is i've no headache this morning over team selection, if you're fit, you're playing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭G1032

Yep. Need to make up some ground on the early leaders. A Walcott double would do just nicely. He might throw in an assist too!
    Important week this. I'll have to get rid of one if Ivanovic or Hazard also.
    Soldado is my captain this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭G1032

I've got just 3 of my starting 11 playing at home!
    Shaw, Soldado and Coleman. And no RVP. Could be a long weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭jimw1988

No selection headache here either. I have 11 players who should start, hopefully. 10 of my players are playing away which isn't ideal. RVP the only one at home and he will probably be my captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Thinking of starting Boruc and having Cech on the bench. I guess if there was any time throughout the season I'd be likely to do this, surely this would be it? Solid choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Fizman wrote: »
    Thinking of starting Boruc and having Cech on the bench. I guess if there was any time throughout the season I'd be likely to do this, surely this would be it? Solid choice?

Yep, I think so. I can see United and Chelsea both scoring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Who to captain? Have dzeko ATM but thinking of switching to Walcott as I am worried about former getting less time. What do ye all think I should do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Fizman wrote: »

Thats what I've done too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Burlap_Sack

Thats what I've done too.

Me too, Hopefully captain silva does the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Still leading the FFS poll so I'm going with Soldado captain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Want2know

Quick q guys.Who do you think is likely to score more this week? Currently I have Ramires in my team

Ramires (Chelsea) - Always good for a goal in a tight game?
    Koren (Hull) - Might provide goal/assist?
    Chester (Hull) - Might get a clean sheet and if that happens bps
    Turner (Norwich) - Might get a clean sheet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 95 ✭✭Judge Roy Bean

Soldado as captain here.

Have a sneaky feeling Walcott will be a decent points scorer against Fulham

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Not sure whether to go with boruc of mignolet in goal. Opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Tinie wrote: »

I'd go with Boruc if I had him. Have Mignolet myself and he'll be playing, but I don't fancy a clean sheet the way Benteke has started the season.

I'm worried about not having RVP this week, he has a great scoring record against Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Dubron

Tinie wrote: »

I've gone with Boruc. Better chance of a clean sheet at home to an average Sunderland team than Mignolet does going away to Villa, who have played well in two very tough away games so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

Lallana or Ramirez for Southampton? Still can't decide and time is ticking! Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

new team, new week, better score hopefully

beb1c5d1121fd87deb3d9cc716bdf943.png

have 2 in the bank to upgrade aguero to rvp for the palace match in 2 weeks time. will also go coleman > 4m defender to make this happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Another thirty minutes to try and stop myself from putting Walcott as captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

SantryRed wrote: »
    Another thirty minutes to try and stop myself from putting Walcott as captain

Jesus we're in the same predicament.

Had Dzeko captain. And after 15 minutes of contemplation, switched to Walcott.

And in a moment of madness, switched to Giroud.

And keeping it that way now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

cathalio11 wrote: »
    Jesus we're in the same predicament.

Had Dzeko captain. And after 15 minutes of contemplation, switched to Walcott.

And in a moment of madness, switched to Giroud.

And keeping it that way now.

I've Soldado as captain. VERY tempted to go Walcott/Dzeko. Just can't shake that feeling the Walcott will get a brace today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,028 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Flipped a coin for captain, Soldado it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

SantryRed wrote: »
    I've Soldado as captain. VERY tempted to go Walcott/Dzeko. Just can't shake that feeling the Walcott will get a brace today.

Shut up :D You're making me change :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Nathan Redmond or James Chester? Do we think Hull could be solid at home? I'm fearful of leaving a CB on the bench who now has a chance to score 8 points rather than 5/6 but Redmond has been my gut gamble in pre-season and could easily grab a goal OR be dropped

Also RVP or Soldado captain? I was siding with RVP all week but Soldado is making me nervous now and there's safety in numbers early on.

Dzeko went up in price so J-Rod will have to remain in as another hit is too risky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Boruc or Mignolet today? I'm thinking Boruc....

Nathan Redmond or James Chester? Do we think Hull could be solid at home? I'm fearful of leaving a CB on the bench who now has a chance to score 8 points rather than 5/6 but Redmond has been my gut gamble in pre-season and could easily grab a goal OR be dropped

Also RVP or Soldado captain? I was siding with RVP all week but Soldado is making me nervous now and there's safety in numbers early on.

Dzeko went up in price so J-Rod will have to remain in as another hit is too risky.

Stuck with Chester and RVP as captain. If Redmond scores and doesn't play I will be more sickened than if I didn't have RVP and he scored a hat-trick. 0-0 in Hull-Norwich now please. Lets make use of the new BPS

RVP is RVP and still seems to almost be a differential in here. If anyone scores against Chelsea it should be him, his hat-trick for Arsenal against them was in my head too for the last month. Last minute changes didn't pay off last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Any chance of Darren Bent getting some game time this week? I reckon as soon as he gets back to himself he could be amazing value at 6.5m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Honestly, this is the worst hour of each GW. Nothing you can do, no speculation, no team news, no games.

I suppose I could put some clothes on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭Sooner or Later

Dempsey wrote: »
    Boruc or Mignolet today? I'm thinking Boruc....

Have both and played Boruc, who has plays a weak Sunderland.

Benteke will cause Liverpool a lot of problems, and I say that as a Liverpool fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

#Arsenal team to play Fulham: Szczesny, Jenkinson, Mertesacker (c), Sagna, Gibbs, Ramsey, Rosicky, Cazorla, Walcott, Podolski, Giroud

#Arsenal substitutes: Fabianski, Monreal, Frimpong, Zelalem, Wilshere, Gnabry, Sanogo #FFCvAFC

Fulham team to face Arsenal: Stockdale; Riether, Hughes, Hangeland, Riise; Duff, Parker, Sidwell, Taarabt; Kasami; Berbatov #ffc #coyw

Fulham subs: Etheridge, Briggs, Boateng, Karagounis, Kacaniklic, Ruiz, Bent #ffc #coyw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

That darren bent gamble at the start is killing me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I will regret this bench
    QLImhKs.png

I couldn't decide who to drop for Hazard and then forgot, hopefully United and Chelsea play out a boring 1-1 with plenty of cards, own goals and no assists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,058 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Where is Soccer Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Raf32 wrote: »

Amen brother

KevIRL wrote: »
    Where is Soccer Saturday?

Sky Sports News

I'm an idiot

Time for Walcott to make up for last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Come on Theo, do stuff.

Good move by Arsenal, and good save by keeper from Walcott (who's been anonymous otherwise so far)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,593 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Raf32 wrote: »

Me too. But as soon as I take him out, he'll start, and continue his record of scoring on every debut. Hazard is first sub for me, so I'm hoping that Bent just stays on the bench!

Giroud scores again!!! Ramsey assist. A scrappy one but a real strikers goal.

Giroud (Ramsey)

Talk on the commentary of possiblity of game abandonment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Giroud scores again!!! Ramsey assist. A scrappy one but a real strikers goal.

Twas coming though. Arsenal looking dangerous. Wonder will the game last with all this rain though

KevIRL wrote: »
    Talk on the commentary of possiblity of game abandonment

No mention of it on BT Sport? It really is lashing it down though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 95 ✭✭Judge Roy Bean

I never lost faith so many times with Giroud when he let me down

Looks like my faith this season has been justified :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,551 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Arsenal seem to be playing quite narrow. Walcott hasn't had many opportunities to do much on the ball yet.

After 25 minutes the BPS have Giroud 3, Ramsey 2 and Roscicky and Santi 1

Walcott the only player still on 0 in game whereas Giroud is on 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭Thanos

Come on Walcott do SOMETHING!!!!

Thanos wrote: »
    Come on Walcott do SOMETHING!!!!

Careful now, something could involve yellow/red card, get injured or score an own goal :eek:

He'll be out on the wildcard if he doesn't shape up in the next 2 weeks. Woeful today so far, although conditions don't help him.

Parker in the mix for a BP with Sagna now on 4, with Ramsey on 6 and Giroud still on 9 for the 3