Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Chelsea match thread.K/o 20.00 26/8/2013 SS1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I don't think anyone is saying he is not a very good keeper. He is just not at the level some utd fans think he is at yet. He is a bit like Lucas for liverpool a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I think Mourinho will be out to prove a point tonight, he made it clear that he would have taken the United job and Moyes was picked ahead of him. I just can't see him settling for a draw

Any quote of Jose saying he wanted the United job?
    Me no findy any

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Zico

If Utd and City have below standard goalkeepers who are the quality keepers in the Premier League these days then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

^^^^^^^^^a wimbaway a wimbaway

no sign of team sheets lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Rooney starts

United XI vs Chelsea: De Gea; Jones, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra; Valencia, Cleverley, Carrick, Welbeck; Rooney & Van Persie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Jaysus. The match hasn't even started and the "neutrals" are sticking the boot in. Must be terrible following a club you know has no hope of doing anything this season.

Liverpool thread is fairly quiet though.......weird that

Blatter wrote: »
    Rooney starts

For who?!:pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Rooney in, Giggs out.

Chelsea going without a recognised striker. De Bruyne can play the false nine, have a feeling it'll be Schürrle though.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

Schurrle leads the line for Chelsea, I am speechless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

de Gea, Jones, Ferdinand, Vidić, Evra; Carrick, Cleverley; Valencia, Rooney, Welbeck; van Persie

Subs:
    Lindegaard, Smalling, Buttner, Anderson, Giggs, Young and Kagawa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Pretty strange line up for Chelsea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Rooney to play out of his skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Chelsea Starting XI: Cech, Ivanovic, Cahill, Terry, Cole, Ramires, Lampard, De Bruyne, Oscar, Hazard, Schurrle

Subs: Schwarzer, Azpilicueta, Essien, Mikel, Mata, Lukaku, Torres

Really interesting choice by Mourinho. The big debate was would it be Lukaku or Torres to start. Mourinho throws the rule book out and starts André Schurrle as his striker. Could be genius, could be insanity. That will be measured by the success of the move come 10pm tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I'm really not digging Jones at right back. Fabio is well able to play there.

Welbeck out left. Meh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Would be much happier with Rooney off the bench tbh. Give Kags a game.

In fact I'd have him in over Welbs.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

Bye bye Torres I think. Lot of pace for us God knows what will happen though

Shurrle 11/2 anytime seems a bet given he's playing up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

No striker for Chelsea, is that a message to Abramovich?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Will Welbeck definitely be on the left?

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭yohan the great

Did Kagawa **** in Moyes' breakfast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

No Kagawa, no play-a-make

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

Cmon Rooney!!!!!!

Rooney Anytime GS 13/5.Worth a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

No Ba, Lukaku or Torres in the starting eleven.

Some show of confidence from the new boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Bit of a head scratching line up for chelsea

No Ba, Lukaku or Torres in the starting eleven.

Some show of confidence from the new boss.
    Jose giving the dig to Roman to but a forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

While I think Schurrle's pace and link up play with Hazard, Oscar and De Bruyne might worry Man Utd, my big concern is whether he has the presence and physicality to be able to hold the ball up top against Ferdinand and Vidic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

1-4-6 is an interesting formation.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Rooney going to turn heel at the end and reveal himself as Chelsea's striker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Strange that Mata isn't starting. Chelsea have six midfielders on the pitch yet he's on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Felexicon wrote: »
    Jaysus. The match hasn't even started and the "neutrals" are sticking the boot in. Must be terrible following a club you know has no hope of doing anything this season.

Liverpool thread is fairly quiet though.......weird that

What the **** you on about. What boot is being stuck in as you say.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Fancy Chelsea to get a result, whether they play with a real striker or not.

Mourinho will have a plan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

Rooney's name when announced at OT got the biggest cheers apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Rooney's name when announced at OT got the biggest cheers apparently.

From which fans?

Some vote of confidence for Lukaku, Ba and Torres. A penny for their thoughts at the minute, it's a bit embarrassing to see Schurrle start ahead of them.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Show up to Old Trafford without a striker??

Jose your arrogance just might eat you this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Neville getting bored of Carragher's crap, taking over analysis :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Imagine Rooney just started playing like a Chelsea player in the second half, as in picking out passes, shooting on de Gea - would be hilarious. Utterly disrespectful, but hilarious.

Odds on Chelsea to sign Rooney at half time?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Some vote of confidence for Lukaku, Ba and Torres. A penny for their thoughts at the minute, it's a bit embarrassing to see Schurrle start ahead of them.

A Tactical selection is hardly one to be embarrassed,

Jose just said he cant explain his Line because David will be in his room watching this interview

A Tactical selection is hardly one to be embarrassed,

Jose just said he cant explain his Line because David will be in his room watching this interview

Tactical?

Having a slight attacking midfielder leading the line against Ferdinand and Vidic seems very bizarre.

Schurrle Chelsea can't win with no striker...

RVP @ 7/1, Rooney @ 14/1 or KDB @ 33/1 for MOTM please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Jose "Team was picked on ability"

That's some **** you to Torres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Pudsy33 wrote: »

He said mobility.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Tactical?

Having a slight attacking midfielder leading the line against Ferdinand and Vidic seems very bizarre.

He went for mobility , thinks united defence is suspect in the pace department would be my reading into it ,

Comes off , he looks a tactical genius ,

If it doesnt , sure it was worth a try and it can be changed quite easily

Either way he has nothing to loose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Mobility I think.

Still a **** you to Torres because he's a slow coach these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Torres will come off the bench and either score, or set up the winning goal.

Tactical?

Be funny if he scores.

Mobility.

A big **** you to Torres still :pac: