Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Non-Alcoholic Wedding?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

While I agree that the food should be very nice, I disagree tha the guests will necessarily be spending a lot of money on the day. I think that a brunch/tea (I am speaking more of the time that the meal will be served, rather than the content of the meal) wedding will by nature be more casual that the usual cookie cutter Irish wedding. Also, if it is not expected to be a two day stay overnight extravaganza, it would be likely to be held in a venue that minimises the travel for most of the guests. Guests could attend the wedding, then, being sober, go on with whatever other plans they have for the day. A win/win situation for everyone.

It would be pretty thoughtless to expect guests to travel a long distance for a wedding reception that would probably last 2/3 hours.

I know its not expected to have a two day overnight stay but sometimes people have to travel a lot of the guests have to travel the last wedding I went to was in our local town in Cork(the brides hometown) but the groom guest had to travel down from county Antrim. So these people did have to stay two nights. Guests sometimes have to travel to weddings and it can be hard to avoid it. The cost of travel and accommodation can be expensive.
    A lot of people when they attend a wedding a woman might get her hair done and buy a new outfit, normal a guy can get away with the same suit. Aside from this guests also have to cope with the costs of the present normally 150-200 euro for a couple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

I think what April was referring to were comments like these:

Yes, this is exactly what I was talking about. :)

Of course there have been plenty of reasonable disagreeing posts in this thread too, but the ones quoted here are a bit nuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭Toast4532

Friends of my boyfriends got married two years ago and had a non alcoholic and non religious wedding.

They had a civil ceremony and a reception after, there was sandwiches, cakes, buns, teas/coffees etc. and it was finished by about 8pm.

I didn't go but my boyfriend said it was a fantastic day and they had a great time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭gabsdot40

Oh, I know, just saying in general, if the bride and/or groom are of one cultural background, doesn't mean they wouldn't cater for people attending from different backgrounds.

You're right most of my friends and family don't drink but there were aunties, uncles, grannies etc at my wedding who do drink and I guess they just had to do without. Same at my sister's wedding which was also 'dry'. People still came along and they all said they enjoyed themselves, ( maybe they lied).

If the OP want's a wedding without alcohol them he/she should be able to have one without feeling like she is ruining everyone's fun.
    I recently was invited to a wedding of a couple who are of my Faith and don't drink themselves but are having a wedding with alcohol. They wrote on the invite "If you're offended by alcohol, we won't be offended if you don't come".
    Maybe the OP could try something opposite to that. "If you don't think you'll enjoy a wedding without alcohol, we'll do our best to enjoy the day without you".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭emuhead

Hi OP,

Just read through the thread. Perhaps looking into how Muslims or other religious denominations that traditionally don't serve alcohol at wedding celebrations (Methodists, Quakers, Jehovah Witnesses) do catering for weddings might spark some ideas, as they are generally alcohol free. Echoing what has been said, I'd let people know in advance that the wedding is alcohol free (if that's what you intend) in case people are booking hotels instead of driving home.

All good wishes with the big day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

emuhead wrote: »
    Hi OP,

Just read through the thread. Perhaps looking into how Muslims or other religious denominations that traditionally don't serve alcohol at wedding celebrations (Methodists, Quakers, Jehovah Witnesses) do catering for weddings might spark some ideas, as they are generally alcohol free. Echoing what has been said, I'd let people know in advance that the wedding is alcohol free (if that's what you intend) in case people are booking hotels instead of driving home.

All good wishes with the big day.

Just to correct you on one, Jehovah's Witnesses do drink alcohol, but have a low tolerance of drunkenness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Buzz84

Jellybaby1 wrote: »
    We went to a non-alcohol wedding once. As I don't drink, I didn't even notice there was no alcohol, but my husband mentioned it on the way home that there had been no wine on the tables, and I said 'Really? I never even noticed that!' He said it wasn't really a problem for him and he enjoyed himself anyway. It was held in a marquee in the bride's parent's garden, and it was like a big family dinner. There was no band and no dancing. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves, the food was lovely and there was a lot of chat and laughter. I am sure the guests must have noticed the absence of the demon dhrink, but they didn't say anything as they accepted it was what the happy couple wanted - it would have been impolite to do so. I know some guests might like some consideration, but not if it makes the couple unhappy, its their day after all! Its unfortunate for you that most Irish people prefer to drink. If you tell them beforehand that there is no alcohol they will possibly bring their own, which might sour things for you. Do what makes you both happy.

No drink, no band or music. That sounds awful. Did you even get a cup of Tea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Yes, this is exactly what I was talking about. :)

Of course there have been plenty of reasonable disagreeing posts in this thread too, but the ones quoted here are a bit nuts!
    It's not disagreeing with the OP's ideas to point out that she can't expect a traditional Irish wedding without alcohol. It's a deeply ingrained feature of our culture of "craic" and while some take it to excess, tourists come from all over the world to experience it (The Guinness Storehouse is actually our largest tourist attraction!). Lets not turn this into an Ireland bashing thread: alcohol and drunkenness are far from Irish inventions and while the stereotype of the Irish is one that involves both, comparative statistics on alcohol consumption between different countries rather rubbish that stereotype.

While planning our own wedding, my other half had me watching 4 Weddings US and any time a bride had an alcohol free wedding there, the other brides marked her down for it, so it's hardly a uniquely Irish thing.

There have been some wonderful alternative wedding ideas suggested to the OP that would work far, far better as alcohol free events than simply trying to emulate a traditional Irish knees up without the social lubricant that fuels such an event. The "tea party" idea suggested was actually done on one of those Four Weddings shows which might be worth searching Youtube for OP, as it looked fantastic and I'd say they got some beautiful photographs. It does tie you to an early finishing event but perhaps you could arrange something special for you and your husband to be to do afterwards?

Booking your honeymoon to leave that evening would be one great way to do this: have your wedding, afternoon tea party with friends and family and then head to the airport to fly off on your first adventure together as a married couple. Those that want to make a session of the day would be free to do so and you wouldn't have to see anyone drunk.
    gabsdot40 wrote:
    "If you don't think you'll enjoy a wedding without alcohol, we'll do our best to enjoy the day without you"
    While I'd agree it's a good idea to let guests know that no alcohol will be served at the wedding, I'd strongly advise against such a snotty, condescending way of telling them that.

Sleepy wrote: »
    It's not disagreeing with the OP's ideas to point out that she can't expect a traditional Irish wedding without alcohol.

The quoted ones were nuts, IMO. :) Did you miss the part where I said some disagreeing posts made a lot of sense? And the "nuts" quotes, by the way, were the posts that don't exactly help the image of Ireland as drink-sodden. We tend to be very high up on binge drinking tables, which is key. And people in this country do get the third degree and at the very least funny looks about not drinking, in general. As for 'Four Weddings', on that show people are looking for any excuse to bitch, so it's hardly a good example. Anyway, that's all I'm saying on the subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Buzz84 wrote: »
    No drink, no band or music. That sounds awful. Did you even get a cup of Tea?

Wasn't awful at all. I still look at the photos, lots of happiness that day. Soft drinks, juices, tea, coffee. It was all grand. By the way, the families of the couple were not short of a few bob either so it wasn't done to skimp. It was done that way because that's the way they wanted it. Simps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Wasn't awful at all. I still look at the photos, lots of happiness that day. Soft drinks, juices, tea, coffee. It was all grand. By the way, the families of the couple were not short of a few bob either so it wasn't done to skimp. It was done that way because that's the way they wanted it. Simps!

I know it sounds lovely but a lot of Irish people would consider it very tight!

I suppose you could say, 'old money' doesn't need to be flaunted! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I suppose you could say, 'old money' doesn't need to be flaunted! :)

Old money doesn't loosen the purse strings that often, I've found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,948 ✭✭✭Sligo1

lazygal wrote: »

Lol... Maybe that's why they've still got money at the end of it all. Not like the Celtic tigers that are no more.

I think it's a lovely idea.... And I love an auld drink... Or 2...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

That's reason the money gets some age. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭fleet

Where do Muslims go for weddings?

Ask in the Religion forum?

/edit - already suggested!

Meow.

We are getting wayyyy OTT now! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

logie101 wrote: »
    Having the wedding on Good Friday and say that out of religious conviction no alcohol.

Ive heard of Alcohol free weddings up North in the Free prestbertarian Bible Belt areas.

Yes. And a few down here too.
    Of the ones I've heard about the common denominator for all has nothing to do with alcoholism but is because they're Protestant (Methodist or Presbyterian) weddings.