Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UL First Years 2013

• 26-08-2013 12:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭

Oi, you lot!

Quit being rude and organising meet-ups and stuff without so much as a "How do you do?"! :mad:

I kid, I kid. I'm a lovely guy and not at all confrontational or full of rage...

So introduce yerselves and what course ye're doing to us so we can judge ye! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Chris Martin

BULBS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Hybrid_Theory

BULBS??? When and where?? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Luize

You need to join our Facebook page!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

LM080 for me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I kid, I kid. I'm a lovely guy and not at all confrontational or full of rage...

He lies! Don't believe him! He'll be the guy you see storming through campus, snorting, tearing up anything in his path with red eyes and a demeanor seething with unadulterated wrath.
    He may also turn green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pai Mei

Okay well since I am behind the times as regards social networking and the likes :rolleyes: I suppose I should introduce myself to my fellow incoming First Years :o

Real Name: Christopher, Christy, Chris whatever you like :pac:
    Studying: Incoming Law and Accounting student :P
    Staying: Plassey (shur where else ;) )
    Interests: Socialising and banter in general, anything really tbh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Oi, you lot!

Quit being rude and organising meet-ups and stuff without so much as a "How do you do?"! :mad:

So introduce yerselves and what course ye're doing to us so we can judge ye! :)

did you not already get a warning for trying to hit on first years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

garv123 wrote: »
    did you not already get a warning for trying to hit on first years?

Garda warnings don't apply to Boards.... :cool:

Heeey ladies... ;)

wnolan... the perverted hulk (not to be confused with the perverted hunk)

sup_dude wrote: »
    wnolan... the perverted hulk (not to be confused with the perverted hunk)

See now, that was just mean... :(

Aha, I'm just going by this thread alone :P

Chris Martin
    Economics & Sociology
    2nd Year

And ex-Pharmaceutical and Industrial Chem 1st year...

Done it twice but don't ask me where anything is.. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭ynwa14

Real name: Ye will end up calling me either Sam or Hendo depending on how much beer we end up drinking together (neither of which are my first name but I do hate it so middle names/abbreviated surnames are the way to go)

First year Politics. Living in Brookfield. Don't function well socially just yet. I try hard to talk in an accent people will understand but it doesnt really work out (Sunderland born freak yeah) You'll know me when you see me. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Liam
    Incoming first year
    Electronic and Computer Engineering
    Dromroe
    Up for beer.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭aarondoc

Aaron Doheny
    First year
    Economics and Sociology
    Dromroe
    Also up for beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭iLaura

Gonna hop on this bandwagon, even though I'm a second year like Chris :P

Laura
    2nd Year
    Science Ed
    Beer? Nah, I only drink that when I'm already drunk. Cider or vodka for me please! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭cgordonfreeman

LM080 for me ;)

I'm going in to 2nd year of LM083 so I did all of your upcoming modules last year (80 and 83 share 1st year).

A summary of my experience:

Semester 1:
    Maths - good lecturer, go to all the lectures and you'll be grand.

Digital electronics - great lecturer. Stay awake for the lectures, do all the labs and you'll be fine.

Java - fantastic lecturer. Keep on top of reading and get your labs in on time.

Lab skills - Uninterested but adequate lecturer. Get friendly with the lab assistants and they'll sort you out with complete past papers. Same with digital electronics actually.

Elective - I did accounting which I found horrible. Good lecturer but it wasn't for me. The alternatives are History and more history. YMMV.

Semester 2:
    Maths - Very good lecturer. Easy before the midterm and exponentially more difficult afterwards. You have been warned!

Java - same lecturer as before. Way more difficult. Keep on top of reading and get your labs submitted as quickly as possible as they eat up too much time if you put them on the long finger.

Computer systems - Really good but pretty boring lecturer. Go to every lecture as he gives quizzes that count towards your final grade.

Analogue electronics - nightmare module. Crap lecturer for AC, great lecturer for DC/labs. Really difficult of you've never done electronics before. Keep your lab book up to date, you'll save loads of time towards the end of the semester.

Elective - I did marketing. I thought it was a joke of a module. There are 2 multiple choice exams. All possible exam questions + answers will be put online by the tutor. After that its a case of regurgitation. There's also a group project. Get in a group with people you know and you know will actually do the required work.

That's pretty much it. Probably not the thread to discuss it but if you've any questions, gimmie a shout.

iLaura wrote: »

Laura
    2nd Year
    Science Ed
    Beer? Nah, I only drink that when I'm already drunk. Cider or vodka for me please! :D

Sent a shiver up my spine that,
    Up for beer as well :P

iLaura wrote: »

Laura
    2nd Year
    Science Ed

You're my favourite. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

When is everyone moving in? Was thinking of waiting till Sunday week myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭Hybrid_Theory

When is everyone moving in? Was thinking of waiting till Sunday week myself.

Moving in this Sunday anyways, can't wait to get outta home! Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭ynwa14

This monday for moi!! Bring it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭21 Schump Street

Chris Martin
    Economics & Sociology
    2nd Year

And ex-Pharmaceutical and Industrial Chem 1st year...

Done it twice but don't ask me where anything is.. :P

just going into first year of economics and sociology; are there much books to get and are they necessary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,481 ✭✭✭brianregan09

No course for me work on campus though guess where :P

just going into first year of economics and sociology; are there much books to get and are they necessary?

First semester:
    Economics Module- Thorough lecturer and tutorials very good. 1 book, necessary as you get a code with it for online tests, can buy as textbook or ebook, about 50/60 euroish if I remember, ebook 30/40.
    BIM - Computer-y part of business, vital you do quite well in practicals as class as a whole found test very hard. Practical easy enough if you follow videos. (No book required.)
    Intro to Soc - Good lecturers, get good feedback from main lecturer, assignment and MCQ test. Requested to get a book pack for about €60, main textbook, smaller textbook and sociology dictionary (very handy).
    Soc of Work - Decent enough lecturer, essay style Xmas test and mid semester assignment. (No book required.)
    Soc of Media - Good module, easy to follow, class graded very well, media diary and MCQ test. (No book required.)

Wont go into mass detail but for second semester, recommended you buy Maths book pack as well, two big textbooks, about 60/70ish, I should remember really.. Might be able to buy second hand if you go looking. Economics book from first sem is good here too. Don't think you need any more books really. Library has good amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭iLaura

Sent a shiver up my spine that,
    Up for beer as well :P
    You're my favourite. :)

Oh shucks you guys, you sure know how to flatter a girl on her drink choices :P

Two extremes :P

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭21 Schump Street

First semester:
    Economics Module- Thorough lecturer and tutorials very good. 1 book, necessary as you get a code with it for online tests, can buy as textbook or ebook, about 50/60 euroish if I remember, ebook 30/40.
    BIM - Computer-y part of business, vital you do quite well in practicals as class as a whole found test very hard. Practical easy enough if you follow videos. (No book required.)
    Intro to Soc - Good lecturers, get good feedback from main lecturer, assignment and MCQ test. Requested to get a book pack for about €60, main textbook, smaller textbook and sociology dictionary (very handy).
    Soc of Work - Decent enough lecturer, essay style Xmas test and mid semester assignment. (No book required.)
    Soc of Media - Good module, easy to follow, class graded very well, media diary and MCQ test. (No book required.)

Wont go into mass detail but for second semester, recommended you buy Maths book pack as well, two big textbooks, about 60/70ish, I should remember really.. Might be able to buy second hand if you go looking. Economics book from first sem is good here too. Don't think you need any more books really. Library has good amount.

thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 29 6YearStruggle

Is it too early to move into campus tomorrow? My orientation isnt until Wednesday so like dont want to be bored for the few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭phish

There might not be much on but by moving down you'll get to meet your housemates who might have an earlier orientation. Also you can get to know the campus by walking around it.

If you do decide to go down defo don't stay in the house all day. Walk around the campus or get the bus into town and try to familiarise yourself with the place and get your bearings.