Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Obscure football careers

• 27-08-2013 3:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭

I just saw someone on facebook post about a lad who started his career at St. Etienne and played for Southampton, Sheffield Wednsday and Aberdeen and he now works in a JD sports shop in Sheffield. He had to retire at 26 due to health problems. It must be hard going from earning a nice wage playing football to earning minimum wage working in a shop.

Any similar or worse stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

This is the dude in question : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yoann_Folly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

At least he got his goal at Aberdeen.

Tony Hibbert must be jealous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 817 ✭✭✭audman

• Registered Users Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

razorblunt wrote: »
    At least he got his goal at Aberdeen.

Tony Hibbert must be jealous.

Hibbert scored in his testimonial. We rioted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

One thats going to join that list in the near future, Bebe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Savio_Nsereko

Signed by West Ham for £9m in 2009, later accused of extorting money from his family by faking his own kidnapping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭- bo -

Jimmy Aggrey. Centre-half, absolute donkey. Pottered around the lower divisions in England and signed for us (Bohs) from TNS of Wales around 2005. Scored on his debut in the derby against Rovers, then played a handful more games. Possibly the worst player I have seen play for us in the 14 years or so I've been watching Bohs. He left us and went on to become an actor in Sky One's Dream Team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Kerrea Gilbert

2005–2010Arsenal2(0)2006–2007→ Cardiff City (loan)24(0)2007–2008→ Southend United (loan)5(0)2008–2009→ Leicester City (loan)34(1)2010→ Peterborough United (loan)10(0)2011–2012Yeovil Town8(0)2012Shamrock Rovers15(0)2013–Maidenhead United0(0)

Arsenal to Maidenhead in the space of 3 years

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

- bo - wrote: »
    Jimmy Aggrey. Centre-half, absolute donkey. Pottered around the lower divisions in England and signed for us (Bohs) from TNS of Wales around 2005. Scored on his debut in the derby against Rovers, then played a handful more games. Possibly the worst player I have seen play for us in the 14 years or so I've been watching Bohs. He left us and went on to become an actor in Sky One's Dream Team.

Saw him play. Thought he was like the crap friend you bring along as your stuck for numbers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Kerrea Gilbert

Arsenal to Maidenhead in the space of 3 years
    I raise you Joe O'Cearuill!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

And I'll raise you this guy, Terry Dixon a Staunton special

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terry_Dixon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Soups123 wrote: »

Speaking of Staunton....who's career is this....?

Years Team Apps† (Gls)†
    2003 Louisiana Outlaws 4 (1)
    2004 Lafayette Swamp Cats 2 (0)
    2007 Baton Rouge Capitals 7 (3)
    2008–2009 Nybergsund 55 (16)
    2011 United Sikkim FC 3 (2)
    2011 Nybergsund 8 (1)
    2013- Nybergsund 0 (0)
    National team‡
    2007 Republic of Ireland 1 (0)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

8-10 wrote: »

Years Team Apps† (Gls)†
    2011 Nybergsund 8 (1)
    2013- Nybergsund 0 (0)
    National team‡

The great Joseph Lapira??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Years Team Apps† (Gls)†
    2011 Nybergsund 8 (1)
    2013- Nybergsund 0 (0)
    National team‡

Easy, Joe Lapira!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

Oh Terry Dixon, I remember him when he played for spurs in one of the older Fifa's possibly 2007, where he rose to an overall of around 92 or 93 or something ridiculous in manager mode. :pac:

The great Joseph Lapira??

Easily the most obscure career of an Irish international. Of currently active players anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Cherno Samba.

djPSB wrote: »
    Cherno Samba.

Poor man's Tó Madeira

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Poor man's Tó Madeira

Mark Kerr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Riddled with injuries not really up there with the likes of Johnson and the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,429 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

There was a Irish guy called Ryan I think that played in the 04 FA Cup final for Millwall.
    Read in WSC afew years back that he now works on maintenance staff of the London underground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Is this obscure footballers thread or the usual good footballers who went from the top to the bottom quickly? There is a difference.

Professional leagues are full of players who blew it, never had it or couldn't maintain a consistent level of performance, in fact this is probably more common than the minority unusually gifted or extra dedicated players who actually carve a career out in the top leagues. Failure to hit the highlights reel and come to the attention of the average premier league fan is par for the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

There was a Irish guy called Ryan I think that played in the 04 FA Cup final for Millwall.
    Read in WSC afew years back that he now works on maintenance staff of the London underground
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robbie_Ryan

Don't think he had too bad a career, tbf.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robbie_Ryan

Don't think he had too bad a career, tbf.

That's why I think he is a good subject for the thread, had a decent career and now has an obscure job for a former player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

That's why I think he is a good subject for the thread, had a decent career and now has an obscure job for a former player

Yeah, That's the main idea for the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Terry Dixon, the young London-Irish lad had seriously bad injury issues in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Derek"Maradona'' Dunne

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Stuart Ripley won the league with Blackburn Rovers. Now, he's a solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

geeky wrote: »
    Stuart Ripley won the league with Blackburn Rovers. Now, he's a solicitor.

Didn't Neil Webb become a postman after he hung up his boots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭The Mulk

kfallon wrote: »
    Didn't Neil Webb become a postman after he hung up his boots?

Well in fairness he telegraphed a lot of his passes

Mick Channon, former England international now successful race horse trainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Mick Channon, former England international now successful race horse trainer

Micky Quinn former Newcastle Utd & Coventry legend now successful race horse trainer :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Rob Jones Nursery School Owner

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Friend of mine went to buy a house in Italy, he was been shown around by Tony Dorigo.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Jaysus lads if you are going to include any ex footballer who now has a normal job then you have to inlcude all players pre the money swamped 90s/2000s.

Ray Wilson who was on England's 1966 team ened up being an undertaker in Huddersfield.
    He could have used the old catchpharse about thinking if it was all over. ;)
    Not all of them were as lucky as the Charltons.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Ronnie O Brien

One time front runner for Time magazine Person Of The Century.

Played for Juventus, before a number of loan deal.

Fizzled his career out in MLS.

probably made a handy career for himself in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Trials with some clubs, work application support for an IT company

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRvsCCpeHv0LLbMdRZVB3RRHgCqgKPw7LhAQxjd7VpGyJS7eyve:www.my-coloring.net/Images/Large/Famous-characters-Troll-face-Troll-face-poker-177134.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,786 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Lee Martin, who scored the winner for Man Utd in the 1990 FA Cup Final replay is now a truck driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

gimmick wrote: »
    Ronnie O Brien

One time front runner for Time magazine Person Of The Century.

Played for Juventus, before a number of loan deal.

Fizzled his career out in MLS.

probably made a handy career for himself in fairness

One of the best players for a number of years in the MLS, a league which doesn't get the credit it deserves in my opinion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Richard Irving

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Irving_(footballer)

From United, to Forest, to Macclesfield, to flying planes in the space of 4 years.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Micky Gynn who played for Coventry in the 87 FA cup final is a postman.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Micky Gynn who played for Coventry in the 87 FA cup final is a postman.
    Hardly obscure to take up a job outside of football after retiring though. Neil Webb (ex Forest, United & England striker) is also now a postman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,066 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

John Chiedozie, ex-Spurs, owns a bouncy castle company.

$%28KGrHqJ,!i!E-0+m0ZJ,BQCWFGgZJQ~~60_35.JPG