Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Reported this morning that President Higgins has a 70% poll rating. So far, this is like a modern rerun of the Dev v. Higgins election, with this President Higgins conveniently absenting himself as much as possible from public scrutiny and the media happily complying. Up to Sean to do his job, get President Higgins into the studio and ask him some probing questions.

How can SO'R make him come to the studio?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Hurrache wrote: »
    Higgins is doing enough publicity. Just because you're unaware of it doesn't mean it's not happening, or he's not saying stupid things that brings him to the forefront of news reporting. He was interviewed by Pay Kenny this morning, but no doubt you'll claim he was given an easy ride of it.

Will listen back to that so. 9-10 is a good excuse here to turn off the radio.
    Brian Scan wrote: »

I dunno but if he won't, then up to SO'R to make it very abundantly clear that there was no show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

He was on outside of those hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

I dunno but if he won't, then up to SO'R to make it very abundantly clear that there was no show.

There is an all candidate debate thing on tomorrow on Radio1.... might be worn out after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,758 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

dense wrote: »
    There is an all candidate debate thing on tomorrow on Radio1.... might be worn out after that.

Is it with ‘Hang On’ at 1300?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,661 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Brian Scan wrote: »

Lure him in with some Lucky Charms presumably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

Senator Joan Freeman.

As an example of there being no viable alternative, and of "almost making Gallagher look good," sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

Roux Jr wishes for Brexit to happen in the "least painless way".

I think he might get his wish.

(Yes, it was obviously just him stumbling over the structure of his own sentence, but you know how fiendishly literal these genies of the lamp are!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

I listened to the full SOR interview with the Sinn Fein candidate today. While I won`t be voting for Liann O Riada I thought SOR gave her quite a hard time. Not necessary to keep rehashing the stuff about her kids, I think thats been done to death already and I`m not sure its approriate. Now where is Michael D........................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,610 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Drifter50 wrote: »
    I listened to the full SOR interview with the Sinn Fein candidate today. While I won`t be voting for Liann O Riada I thought SOR gave her quite a hard time. Not necessary to keep rehashing the stuff about her kids, I think thats been done to death already and I`m not sure its approriate. Now where is Michael D........................

I was surprised he didn't ask why she is distributing leaflets with no mention of Sinn Fein.

They have a nice picture of her with Mary Lou and one of her with her family in a forest but nowhere does it say she is a Sinn Fein candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,356 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Difficult not to listen to Michael D. Higgins on the radio without thinking of Oliver Callan.

Especially when he talks about his poetry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,568 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I'm convinced he's a complete shoo-in next week, and will probably vote for him - but my goodness, he's hard to listen to. Very argumentative and belligerent. And an absolute genius at dodging questions he doesn't want to answer (not necessarily this interview as I didn't listen to much, but in previous ones I've heard)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I'm convinced he's a complete shoo-in next week, and will probably vote for him - but my goodness, he's hard to listen to. Very argumentative and belligerent. And an absolute genius at dodging questions he doesn't want to answer (not necessarily this interview as I didn't listen to much, but in previous ones I've heard)

And you are voting for him, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

The fake posh accent he puts on the is hard to stomach.

What a complete windbag.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Who is the guy talking 90miles an hour ... can't understand a word

Guy Martin is taking just cod liver oil, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Callan57 wrote: »

And you are voting for him, why?
    Because look at the opposition :rolleyes:

Same reason as I voted for him last time - least worst candidate.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Because look at the opposition :rolleyes:

Same reason as I voted for him last time - least worst candidate.
    Joan Freeman is a great alternative.

Not in my opinion she isn't.

Guy Martin - legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,166 ✭✭✭✭zell12

An apology to Pat O'Donnell read out at 11:59!
    and not read by Sean

Oooh, a grovelling apology there on behalf of the Meeeeriam show a couple of weeks ago.

Anyone hear it? Was it a guest who dropped the clanger, or Meeeriam herself?

zell12 wrote: »
    and not read by Sean
    Nothing to do with Sean or his show.

and not read by Sean

Well at least they didn't get Guy Martin to read it :)

Oooh, a grovelling apology there on behalf of the Meeeeriam show a couple of weeks ago.

Anyone hear it? Was it a guest who dropped the clanger, or Meeeriam herself?
    Nothing to do with Sean or his show.
    Oh.... have I got that wrong???

8th October was a Monday, not Sunday..... but I could have sworn I heard him say it was on the Miriam show?

Jaysus, I'll wind up having to issue an apology now :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

and not read by Sean

Who is Pat O'Donnell?

The magnificient sponsor of Clare Hurling ;);)

stand-in Miriam interviewing Peter Casey

He makes for very difficult listening ... spluttering, hesiting, waffling ....
    Would you not be in the presence of
    miriam-ocallaghan.jpg

Casey just stated he'll set up a party if FF reject him!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Miriam: "And will you be claiming back your (presidential election) expenses from the state?"

Peter: "Yes I will".

Miriam (in surprised tone): "But you're a rich man you don't need the money".

I just hope Miriam asks the same question when she speaks to fellow millionaire Michael D Higgins.

Miriam: "And will you be claiming back your (presidential election) expenses from the state?"

Peter: "Yes I will".

Miriam (in surprised tone): "But you're a rich man you don't need the money".

I just hope Miriam asks the same question when she speaks to fellow millionaire Michael D Higgins.

Amazed you missed his adding "I'm entitled ..." :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Amazed you missed his adding "I'm entitled ..." :rolleyes::rolleyes:

The point is not about entitlement. Both Higgins and Casey are entitled to get their expenses back. The question was spun that he was a millionaire and could afford not to recoup his expenses. My point is that the same question will not be asked of socialist millionaire Michael D Higgins.

But Casey was the one who said he could afford to loose the cost of running for election & didn't need the salary.
    He it was who "had a go" at welfare receipients & those who thought they had any entitlements.

Just thought it was interesting how quick he was to reach for the "entitlement" word when it suited!

Also did I hear him trot out a disparaging nickname at a sitting elected TD? Now who have I heard do that ...... behind the charming whimsy is a dangerous individual :rolleyes:

But Casey was the one who said he could afford to loose the cost of running for election & didn't need the salary.
    He it was who "had a go" at welfare receipients & those who thought they had any entitlements.

Just thought it was interesting how quick he was to reach for the "entitlement" word when it suited!

Also did I hear him trot out a disparaging nickname at a sitting elected TD? Now who have I heard do that ...... behind the charming whimsy is a dangerous individual :rolleyes:

Steady up, he didn't "have a go " at welfare recipients, he criticised those who were gaming the system, and he was dead right.

Welfare is there for a reason and once you play by the rules its there to get you back on your feet.

It's not there as a lifestyle choice to be enjoyed by those operating in the cash economy and supplementing their tax free income by gaming welfare.

It's like the travellers and stable issue.

Sure horses are an intrinsic part of your 'culture' nobody minds that, but you pay for their upkeep yourself if you want them.

An awfull lot of bulldust spoken about all this and people bridling up about 'anti welfare' views.

It's anti welfare abusers and gamers, people,well some people object to and they are quite right to do so.

Doesn't matter how many, how much money involved, it's wrong and needs to be called out.

Steady up, he didn't "have a go " at welfare recipients, he criticised those who were gaming the system, and he was dead right.

Welfare is there for a reason and once you play by the rules its there to get you back on your feet.

It's not there as a lifestyle choice to be enjoyed by those operating in the cash economy and supplementing their tax free income by gaming welfare.

It's like the travellers and stable issue.

Sure horses are an intrinsic part of your 'culture' nobody minds that, but you pay for their upkeep yourself if you want them.

An awfull lot of bulldust spoken about all this and people bridling up about 'anti welfare' views.

It's anti welfare abusers and gamers, people,well some people object to and they are quite right to do so.

Doesn't matter how many, how much money involved, it's wrong and needs to be called out.

I agree with you but he didn't "call it out" as you put it ... he made a sweeping, populist, cheap & lazy comment.

Would it not be worthwhile for someone to "call out" the tax cheats, the tax exiles, the people buying items off the back of a lorry, those getting jobs done "for cash", not to mention our banker mate who finds 500,000 an inadequate salary.

Funny how all the need to "call out" only applies to one side of the equation.

I agree with you but he didn't "call it out" as you put it ... he made a sweeping, populist, cheap & lazy comment.

Would it not be worthwhile for someone to "call out" the tax cheats, the tax exiles, the people buying items off the back of a lorry, those getting jobs done "for cash", not to mention our banker mate who finds 500,000 an inadequate salary.

Funny how all the need to "call out" only applies to one side of the equation.

Of course, everybody, BREAKING THE LAW,should be called out.

Are these “tax exiles “ as you put it, breaking the law?

That’s my criterium, C, are you breaking the law, or are you not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭dball

Miriam just introduce a band - her words were " i have 5 strapping young men here .............."
    If it were Sean o rourke and it was a girl band and he came out with I've 5 fit young women here - we would never hear the end of it!"

Miriam clearly not a fan of ‘Callan’s Kicks’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,175 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Miriam clearly not a fan of ‘Callan’s Kicks’.

You could feel it, couldn't you! :)

Thirteen year old "embarassed by her mother" .... earthshattering!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭serfboard

Good discussion on the show today about Eamonn De Valera - OK, so it was Sean's RTE colleague David McCullough plugging a book he has just written, but it was actually quite informative IMO, and worth podcasting for anyone who missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

fionn davenport discussing adventure holidays now ...loves the sound of his own voice

Adventure holidays....I thought we were all struggling?

€900 for aU2 ticket....I thought we were all struggling.

Lad from Clare going to all four U2 shows.... I thought we were all struggling.

Outcry that the Spice Girls are not including Dublin in their tour...I thought we were all struggling.

Thousands flying out to ‘Vegas’ to see a lad having his ass kicked....I thought we were all struggling.

Westlife (that great band ) selling out Croker......I thought we were all struggling.

Full employment but still a huge welfare bill..... :pac: maybe some of us are struggling:cool:

What’s goin’ on?

Adventure holidays....I thought we were all struggling?

€900 for aU2 ticket....I thought we were all struggling.

Lad from Clare going to all four U2 shows.... I thought we were all struggling.

Outcry that the Spice Girls are not including Dublin in their tour...I thought we were all struggling.

Thousands flying out to ‘Vegas’ to see a lad having his ass kicked....I thought we were all struggling.

Westlife (that great band ) selling out Croker......I thought we were all struggling.

Full employment but still a huge welfare bill..... :pac: maybe some of us are struggling:cool:

What’s goin’ on?

Ah for fecks sake ... won't we be dead for years ;)

We will Callan , sure enough.

But here’s the thing, we don’t have to keep saying “We’re struggling” at the same time.

No problem with spending the moolah, but don’t come the ‘auld soldier’ all the time.

Like Lookit, you hear this crap that ‘ aaah Jaysus rural Ireland is dead’ but horse up Garth Brookes in Croker for a week and it would be sold out in seconds.

Most from rural Ireland

Don’t be putting on the poor mouth all the fcuking time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

dball wrote: »
    Miriam just introduce a band - her words were " i have 5 strapping young men here .............."
    If it were Sean o rourke and it was a girl band and he came out with I've 5 fit young women here - we would never hear the end of it!"

What were they strapping ?:)