Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Why do they have to drag the site out of these Lotto win stories? Sean knows and we know she can't divulge any of that info. We'll have Aine Lawlor doing the same thing at lunchtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,750 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

sligojoek wrote: »
    Why do they have to drag the site out of these Lotto win stories? Sean knows and we know she can't divulge any of that info. We'll have Aine Lawlor doing the same thing at lunchtime.

Because Paddy loves these stories of huge wins for doing fuhhrke all.
    Someone beat the system.

You can bet your bottom dollar, sorry euro,that there will be a heap of stults investing this week,firmly believing they will be roasting their ballbags or ..erm ..lettuce,on a tropical island off the Florida Keys next week.

It’s like Xmas, how do you cook a turkey.....every year the same, never happened before!

WHACK THE LAD INTO THE FORKHHING PRE HEATED OVEN AND WAIT:mad:

Anyway good luck to the winners.:cool:

There was an investment advisor on Morning Ireland giving advice to the prospective winners. Like, why? I guarantee you the winner wasn't like the rest of us, making our way to work at that hour of the morning, they're probably still in bed with a hangover.

Stop taunting us, Dobbo.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I'm in favour of the work Amnesty (Ireland) does, I suppose, but it's worth remarking that they don't put food on anyone's table.

They're just a lobbying organisation. I find it difficult to sympathise with them, and Colm O'Gorman is a bit of a douche, tbh

Wonder whose table Iona et al put food on? What are they only another lobbying organisation?

Because Paddy loves these stories of huge wins for doing fuhhrke all.
    Someone beat the system.

You can bet your bottom dollar, sorry euro,that there will be a heap of stults investing this week,firmly believing they will be roasting their ballbags or ..erm ..lettuce,on a tropical island off the Florida Keys next week.

It’s like Xmas, how do you cook a turkey.....every year the same, never happened before!

WHACK THE LAD INTO THE FORKHHING PRE HEATED OVEN AND WAIT:mad:

Anyway good luck to the winners.:cool:
    As my grandfather used to say, pluck him, bone him, roll him, stuff him, put him on the oven and cook the sh1te out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

There was an investment advisor on Morning Ireland giving advice to the prospective winners. Like, why? I guarantee you the winner wasn't like the rest of us, making our way to work at that hour of the morning, they're probably still in bed with a hangover.

Stop taunting us, Dobbo.

Sure what if one of the people involved is a teetotaler ?

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Sure what if one of the people involved is a teetotaler ?
    They just won a gazillion quid. Under those circumstances, the Gods would be annoyed if you *didn't* break your Confirmation pledge.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

That CO'G V. Steen was painful listening.

Steen is such a throw back in time of how moralistic dabates were carried out in this country. 30 years ago she would have been in the majority and that majority attempted to stifle any open discussion by isolating their opponents, wagging a judgemental fingers at them and tutting-tutting over every word they disagreed with.
    Now since the 8th referendum a double line has been clearly drawn under that minority's style of influence and now they're drowning, not waving.

CO'G is a pain in the hole. He (IMO) has used his position in Amnesty International as a personal battering ram. Since he's taken the reigns of Amnesty International Ireland it's hard to seperate the organisation from the man. He's the only voice from A.I.I that I hear and it's nearly always on domestic social matters. I can't recall the last time I could associate an A.I.I project or cause that was highlighting an international outrage.
    Pre O'Gorman A.I.I were pretty good at publicising International stories that had fallen down the back of the couch of caring. Nowadays I associate Amnesty with O'Gorman and a condescending air of smugness.

However I thought Sean was very lacking in his handling of what could of been an interesting debate. He was all at sea with the 2 beauts opposite him and allowed them to behave as the humans they are and not as the representatives they should be.

Callan57 wrote: »
    Wonder whose table Iona et al put food on? What are they only another lobbying organisation?
    I know, but at least everyone knows that about Iona, and I daresay most people think of them as an organisation whose only intention is to defend the 'interests' of Holy Joes.

Perhaps I'm very naïve, but it was only last year or so when I realised that Amnesty (Ireland) just spend their time writing press-releases. As the above poster has said, far more eloquently than I did, they rarely even raise issues of international significance - in fact, they even neglect human rights issues of national relevance, such as the housing crisis and the conditions in which travellers are expected to live.

It's great how they've supported the Repeal movement, but its hardly good leadership to advance a cause which already has overwhelming public and grassroots support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Interesting (maybe not?) that no podcasts have been published since the Maria Steen v Colm O'Gorman discussion, which I didn't hear. Was planning to listen to it on podcast, but still hasn't been published. Wonder why?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

dulpit wrote: »
    Interesting (maybe not?) that no podcasts have been published since the Maria Steen v Colm O'Gorman discussion, which I didn't hear. Was planning to listen to it on podcast, but still hasn't been published. Wonder why?

I listened back on RTE from my browser.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Aska

Anyone listening to the Dublin Mayor (Ring) re: mansion house bar running low on the free beer he was allocated etc... seems to come across as a party time guy with all the free drink given out that we are paying for like 20k of wine in 6 months

If the Lord Mayor keeps digging he'll have Metro north done by this evening :rolleyes:

Really? I listened to the podcast on Tuesday evening. Just checked the app, and all of the recent episodes are there.

Just had a look at the Radio 1 app on android. No podcasts up since Monday 18th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭robo

Just had a look at the Radio 1 app on android. No podcasts up since Monday 18th.

I completely forgot about the "debate" between Colm & Maria until I spotted it here, went looking through podcasts etc and couldn't find it so I went to the RTE radio app and started the Tuesday SOR show again from the start - its on after the first item (houses bought for cash with Karl Deeter). Ah it is well worth a listen - I have never heard Colm get so frustrated...Maria's constant sighing was annoying. I have come to the conclusion that IONA just can't debate without contradicting themselves.
    Honestly, well worth a listen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭robo

Aska wrote: »
    Anyone listening to the Dublin Mayor (Ring) re: mansion house bar running low on the free beer he was allocated etc... seems to come across as a party time guy with all the free drink given out that we are paying for like 20k of wine in 6 months

This is also another great "interview" to listen back to...this man's interview is the reason that there should be a publicly elected mayor! As far as I know, the Dublin City Councillors just pass the baton around each year for who is the mayor of the city. Sounds like, from the mayors own words that he is running the mansion house as party central to get as many groups and make sure that all who enter has at least 2 pints of Guinness in them whilst winning and dining ...Bring back Royston Brady :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

robo wrote: »
    This is also another great "interview" to listen back to...this man's interview is the reason that there should be a publicly elected mayor! As far as I know, the Dublin City Councillors just pass the baton around each year for who is the mayor of the city. Sounds like, from the mayors own words that he is running the mansion house as party central to get as many groups and make sure that all who enter has at least 2 pints of Guinness in them whilst winning and dining ...Bring back Royston Brady :rolleyes:

Meanwhile he gets bailed out by a mystery donor in relation to his €1m bank debts.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/nial-ring-keeps-house-court-case-4493562-Feb2019/

Party party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

There are “30 or 40” world class irish writers according to Sebastian Barry. Would like Sean to have asked him to name just 20, or even 10. Sally Rooney and Joe O’Connor might sell books but they are not “world class”.

Why do we always assume that for people to socialise they have to be drinking?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Why do we always assume that for people to socialise they have to be drinking?

Fair point. I know loads that go out and don't drink and have a laugh.

Drinking being seen as the default is unhealthy.

Ballinasloe court. This should be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭serfboard

"After the break, we'll be talking about the lack of driver testers with Jackie Healy-Rae" eek.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

serfboard wrote: »
    "After the break, we'll be talking about the lack of driver testers with Jackie Healy-Rae" eek.png

In fairness, this new Healy Rae had a point - only 150 testers in the entire Republic and none in some counties. Not good enough when the RSA are tightening up on provisional licence holders. Great wee country for bringing in new laws without providing the background resources.

BarryD2 wrote: »
    In fairness, this new Healy Rae had a point - only 150 testers in the entire Republic and none in some counties. Not good enough when the RSA are tightening up on provisional licence holders. Great wee country for bringing in new laws without providing the background resources.

You'd have to wonder about all the "no shows" though. Healy-Rae sounded to me like a politician looking for "an issue". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,750 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

And there is our greatest failing Barry, plenty of laws, no enforcement.

Paddy will always ride the system if he/she can get away with it.

That’s why the clampers are hated, they take no schidt from poor Pat.

The auld ‘ aaah Jaysus I only went in for the Daily Mirror’ doesn’t cut with those guys....and rightly so

You'd have to wonder about all the "no shows" though. Healy-Rae sounded to me like a politician looking for "an issue". :rolleyes:

It is an issue in rural Ireland. New legislation might suit the constituents of Shane Ross etc. but cause real problems where public services to back them up are very thin on the ground.
    [/B]

And there is our greatest failing Barry, plenty of laws, no enforcement.

Brendan, it has to be feasible for citizens to live their ordinary lives in a reasonable manner whilst observing the law. There's a balance. If new legislation is impractical for people etc, then people start ignoring it. The legislation around min alcohol and penalties is a good example in the virtual complete absence of public transport options.

The legislation around min alcohol and penalties is a good example in the virtual complete absence of public transport options.

That ignores fully the option of simply not drinking if you need to drive?

The problem is the obsession that everything has to involve drink & that it is not possible to enjoy a night out without getting plastered. I live in "rural Ireland" and if I'm driving I don't drink, it's no big deal. There are loads of people who are non-drinkers or who can make a decision not to drink on a given occasion ... it's not rocket science.

If people (including TD's) put half the effort into solving the problems of rural Ireland instead of the total fucus on circumventing the drink driving laws we'd have a much better country for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

For a person living alone say 3-4 miles from the pub that means never drinking in the pub.
    That's why JHR is on the radio. Not because he manufactured an issue but because there is one.
    Given its a small enough issue in the greater scheme of things.

elperello wrote: »
    For a person living alone say 3-4 miles from the pub that means never drinking in the pub.
    That's why JHR is on the radio. Not because he manufactured an issue but because there is one.

Why don't the people who work themselves up so much about the poor old guy up the boreen actually put themselves out and offer him a lift. :rolleyes:
    It's telling that those who are most articulate on this "issue" have a vested interest in the drinks trade. If publicans had made an effort for years to do more than just rattle the greasy till their business wouldn't have died a death.
    Society has changed get with it and stop whinging

The problem is the obsession that everything has to involve drink & that it is not possible to enjoy a night out without getting plastered.

It's not about getting plastered. If you want to get plastered, then you arrange a lift and drink yourself to oblivion if you wish.

It's about people getting out and having a pint or two in their rural local over a couple of hours, having a chat and no more. That's normal society.

The RSA and politicians have set the limits so low and the consequences so high that ordinary rural law abiding citizens are in a corner.

The people who couldn't give a feck, who will get plastered and then drive - will carry on as normal. The chances of getting caught are small and even if they're banned, they couldn't give a toss and will be back at it again.

So you basically end up screwing ordinary reasonable citizens for very little tangible results. The legislators should be concentrating on those who drink heavily and drive, jail terms that will take them off the roads for long terms. Not putting the fear of God into people that like a moderate tipple.

elperello wrote: »

How about they group together and take turns being the designated driver? Or they could drink coke/tea/water in the pub and have the socialisation anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Why don't the people who work themselves up so much about the poor old guy up the boreen actually put themselves out and offer him a lift. :rolleyes:
    It's telling that those who are most articulate on this "issue" have a vested interest in the drinks trade. If publicans had made an effort for years to do more than just rattle the greasy till their business wouldn't have died a death.
    Society has changed get with it and stop whinging

This is a cultural change and you can't expect it to be carried through without a bit of "whinging".
    People are losing a lot of independence and for those set in their ways it can be a difficult transition.
    For someone used to their own autonomy it can be hard to bother neighbours for lifts etc.

Eventually designated driver, lifts and taxis will make rural Ireland more pub friendly but it will take time.

I think it's good to see RTE taking an interest in the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,617 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

BarryD2 wrote:
    It's about people getting out and having a pint or two in their rural local over a couple of hours, having a chat and no more. That's normal society.

BarryD2 wrote:
    The RSA and politicians have set the limits so low and the consequences so high that ordinary rural law abiding citizens are in a corner.

This isn't just a rural issue. Urban people have had to change their ways regarding drink driving.

People can still socialise with tea or coffee and then drive home. Having a few pints doesn't come ahead of road safety and other road users.

Why would someone want to drink and drive?

Why is Sean allowing this lady to repeatedly talk across everybody else on the panel?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

If O'Riordan wants to show the courage of his convictions, why doesn't he ask for the 80 refugees to be housed in his own constituency. His constituency has far more access to health services and other public services than what would be available in Roosky. The refusal of permission for the housing of refugees in Roosky provides him with the perfect opportunity for him to show how much better than the rest of us he really is. Is his only commitment to calling the rest of us racists, and not actually getting involved in helping out the people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Why is Sean allowing this lady to repeatedly talk across everybody else on the panel?

Sinéad O' Carroll.

No manners whatsoever.

Charlie Flanagan talking some rubbish on the programme this morning.

If Direct Provision is so bad, says Charlie, then why are refugees who have been given status remaining on?

This is indeed a puzzle, especially when you consider the vast availability of affordable housing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,617 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

If O'Riordan wants to show the courage of his convictions, why doesn't he ask for the 80 refugees to be housed in his own constituency. His constituency has far more access to health services and other public services than what would be available in Roosky. The refusal of permission for the housing of refugees in Roosky provides him with the perfect opportunity for him to show how much better than the rest of us he really is. Is his only commitment to calling the rest of us racists, and not actually getting involved in helping out the people?

How sick do people think asylum seekers are?

They are mostly young and healthy and don't use medical services that often.

Paschal always makes me feel like a 4 year old at the back of a slow learner class

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

I do wonder what the response of the Government would be if the woman was married to a republican terrorist. They would have been climbing over each other to condemn her in that instance. Complete double standard, sickening from the Government.

Are they seriously suggesting sending the Government Jet to bring this woman back to Ireland ... has someone totally lost their marbles? :mad:

She was not a child, unlike the girl in UK, she knew all about what ISIS was doing and made a conscious, informed decision to join this evil terrorist outfit ... I'm in total agreement with Alan Shatter.

How does Alistair Campbell get so much air time on the issue of Brexit on Irish airwaves - was his credibility not shot to pieces around the time of the Iraq war?

Spouting off about Politicians not listening to the people after 1m people marched to stay in the EU at the weekend. I remember an anti-Iraq war protest in London before the war itself started that also had 1m people march and Alistair and his boss didn't worry too much about it

jay0109 wrote: »
    Ho does Alistair Campbell get so much air time on the issue of Brexit on Irish airwaves - was his credibility not shot to pieces around the time of the Iraq war?

Sprouting off about Politicians not listening to the people after 1m people marched to stay in the EU at the weekend. I remember an anti-Iraq war protest in London before the war itself started that also had 1m people march and Alistair and his boss didn't worry too much about it

#whataboutery

Really? Is that it?

jay0109 wrote: »
    Sprouting [sic] off about Politicians not listening to the people after 1m people marched to stay in the EU at the weekend. I remember an anti-Iraq war protest in London before the war itself started that also had 1m people march and Alistair and his boss didn't worry too much about it
    I remember seeing him interviewed at the first anti-Brexit march, but didn't hear anyone say to him, What's the point in marching Alistair, didn't the government of which you were a part show that marching was pointless, no matter how many you bring onto the streets?

#whataboutery
    Normally not a fan of the tactic, but in the case of Alistair Campbell a fully-justified whataboutery to demonstrate his hypocrisy.

Finian McGrath is a typical Tadhg an dá thaobh ... he's happy to collect his ministerial salary but doesn't want to take the responsibility of cabinet decisions.

While he's busy apolgising to the Gardaí he might also apologise to the bereaved families whose loss and pain his self-serving comment demeaned.

Where is he today to defend himself?

Id say he's the worst but Halligan will pop up again shortly......