Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Dublin Fire brigade, amongst others, have said on more than one occasion that phone chargers are one of the main causes of house fires these days.

Those circuits are designed, when operating properly, to switch off at a particular voltage so it isnt possible to overcharge the battery if the charger is working. The issue with fire is more to do with the cheap components they use in the chargers and overheating/component failure problems... Much like the iphone car charger I bought in a petrol station for 5 euros that lasted two days....

I've always thought they should put a little LED ON/OFF button on the sides of those "wall wart" type chargers anyway... In fact you'd wonder why it isnt made mandatory by health and safety..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You're making the same point I think, chargers are a big cause of fires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

The student on about getting accommodation in France paid for in full by the government was not completely informed. Students here in France DO have to pay for accommodation (quite a lot, too). It's only the poorest students who get help from the government (and even then it's not free).

Here in Montpellier which is a university city, I've seen students living in camper vans for the year because they couldn't afford proper accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Radio5

She tends to sound like the female version of Des Cahill.

Don't agree. She is several leagues above the bould Des.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Trevor Hogan is so pathetically naive, it's a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Rising tone of voice alert!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

The dialogue of the deaf :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Hogan: "The 72 hour truce ended"

So that makes it okay for Hamas to start bombing again?? Meat-head rugby players really shouldn't get involved in politics. They only embarrass themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

To be fair, the American dude (Seth?) with the hysterical tones was as bad in his own way. I'm pretty sure I've heard him on the radio before. It's not every day you have a guest whose voice rises to octaves heard only by dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Traveller student? Check.
    Immigrant student? Check.
    Special needs student? Check.

Well, Brian O'Connell has met his quota of persecuted minorities for this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Traveller student? Check.
    Immigrant student? Check.
    Special needs student? Check.

Well, Brian O'Connell has met his quota of persecuted minorities for this week.
    That's mean-spirited bolloxology.

The piece was an explicit recognition that success in the LC involves more than those who get a full hand of A1s. It presented people who coped with being in difficult circumstances, but got decent results anyway. Quite the converse of focusing on any persecuted minority status.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,071 ✭✭✭✭neris

another feckin healthy eating do gooder. all these nice airy fairy ideas that dont affect her

That's mean-spirited bolloxology.

The piece was an explicit recognition that success in the LC involves more than those who get a full hand of A1s. It presented people who coped with being in difficult circumstances, but got decent results anyway. Quite the converse of focusing on any persecuted minority status.

There are plenty of students doing their leaving cert under much more difficult circumstances than a Traveller or an Immigrant, but Brian O'Connell isn't interested in them because he's shamelessly pushing his multi-cultural diversity spiel as usual. He's not a journalist, he's a propagandist, and not a very subtle one.

Its called rte being PC and not trying to offend anyone.

That Prof O'Brien is talking a hell of a lot of sense

neris wrote: »
    Its called rte being PC and not trying to offend anyone.
    It's clearly offending some people here.

If somebody from a disadvantaged background does badly in life, there are people who say that their disadvantaged background is no excuse; if somebody from a disadvantaged background does well, there are people who get annoyed that it is celebrated as a good thing.

Is it a bad thing that a Traveller girl got her Leaving Certificate? Is it a bad thing to take note of it?

Ronan Mullen ..... that's me gone :mad:

God this guy is maddening!

Clare Daly & Ronan Mullen 2 detestable individuals preaching their expertise & knowledge on whats best for the little women of Ireland

Well the little women of Ireland are clearly incapable of deciding anything for themselves, so we need those nice people to do it for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭touts

Callan57 wrote: »
    Ronan Mullen ..... that's me gone :mad:

Listening to Ronan Mullen and Claire Daly is soul destroying.

jaysus only farmers think that coz a foreign market is closed off to European products they should get payments from Europe & state Governments. Wonder if the ruskies ban cars will Merc, BMW & Audi be going cap in hand to Brussels

touts wrote: »
    Listening to Ronan Mullen and Claire Daly is soul destroying.

It's fine for Clare Daly and the Rape Crisis Centre to stand on the ditch, criticising the Government/doctors/legislation ... If you put the knife in their hand, told them to kill the child, it would be a different story..

who's to say that if the doctors had carried out the abortion, that in three weeks the woman (who was under stress) wouldnt come back to them and say "I was mentally unwell and you killed my child". As usual with these types of cases, people with extreme views use the event as something to push their own agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,931 ✭✭✭✭L1011

If you put the knife in their hand, told them to kill the child, it would be a different story..

Abortions are not carried out with a knife.

At 8 weeks, it would have been a case of administering mifepristone - tablets, taken orally. At a later date it would have been vacuum aspiration, the type normally done when 'taking the boat' due to not hanging around for the after checkups required for mifepristone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,750 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

It's fine for Clare Daly and the Rape Crisis Centre to stand on the ditch, criticising the Government/doctors/legislation ... If you put the knife in their hand, told them to kill the child, it would be a different story..

who's to say that if the doctors had carried out the abortion, that in three weeks the woman (who was under stress) wouldnt come back to them and say "I was mentally unwell and you killed my child". As usual with these types of cases, people with extreme views use the event as something to push their own agenda.

Rather odd take on the events to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭Jadaol

not really. pretty logical

Jadaol wrote: »
    not really. pretty logical

Can't see the logic to be honest - same as any other operation/treatment. Any patient could come back and say "I was stressed" when I gave my premission for that opp or treatment.
    Difference here is some people want to treat a woman, if she is pregnant, as some kind of mental incompetent who is to be considered incapable of rationally making a decision about her own health/welfare & her opinion is no longer to be afforded the respect any other person is automatically entitled to.
    Absolute barbarism :mad:

Can't see the logic to be honest - same as any other operation/treatment. Any patient could come back and say "I was stressed" when I gave my premission for that opp or treatment.
    Difference here is some people want to treat a woman, if she is pregnant, as some kind of mental incompetent who is to be considered incapable of rationally making a decision about her own health/welfare & her opinion is no longer to be afforded the respect any other person is automatically entitled to.
    Absolute barbarism :mad:

Thanks for explaining it.

You dont agree? Well that's reassuring at least.. Cos the day I find myself on the same side of an argument as yourself is the day that I would stop worrying about the mental health of an immigrant rape victim, and start worrying about my own...

And I dont find your smart ar$e remarks constructive or funny...

MYOB wrote: »
    Abortions are not carried out with a knife.

I meant that in a King Solomon sort of way.. I dont actually think that abortions are carried out with knives...

You dont agree? Well that's reassuring at least.. Cos the day I find myself on the same side of an argument as yourself is the day that I would stop worrying about the mental health of an immigrant rape victim, and start worrying about my own...

Major pet kettle. The whole post is pot kettle!

Not constructive, not funny and an attempt at being smart! lol

Unintended LOL moment there - Sean to Dr Andrew Rynne while discussing vasectomy .... "Are you still on active service?" :):)

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,753 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Major pet kettle. The whole post is pot kettle!

Not constructive, not funny and an attempt at being smart! lol

Moderator: No more of this, please. If you have a problem with another member's post, please report it. Do not engage in back-seat moderating.

"How I won the war" by Charlie Bird.

It was more like "How the IRA used me as a conduit", and I thought it interesting. In general, I am not a fan of Charlie Bird, but today's piece was good. He often goes over the top, but in this piece he resisted the temptation. I suppose he recognised that the story was strong enough, and needed no embellishment.

Agree, I though Charlie was unusually restrained.
    An IRA man up close must have been fairly terrifying to a guy who was scared sh1tless at a polar bear 100 miles away :)

Odd the way guys just can't talk about illness without making silly unoriginal jokes .. must be a fierce pain in the butt for the medical specialists.
    Grow up guys!

Odd the way guys just can't talk about illness without making silly unoriginal jokes

Well, yer man is a comedian, purportedly. But I agree completely, every one of his jokes went down like a lead balloon..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Still arguing and the sick children are dying

Would they just build the damn thing & stop talking about it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Would they just build the damn thing & stop talking about it :(

You seem to be forgetting that this is Ireland. We love arguing about things and hate actually doing anything, especially if it involves conceding to the other persons point of view.
    Brendan Behan famously said that the first thing on the agenda of any Irish organisation is the split. He understood the Irish psyche only too well

Why do irish parents have 3 or 4 kids in quick succesion then give out about how stressful it is

The whining, whinging teachers are back after their loooooooooooong summer holidays

Why is this taking priority over everything else going on in the world?

It belongs on Liveline.

Oh the cruelty of the interview replay - Fiona Looney clearly knows a lot about football, almost as much as Joe Brolly :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Switched off during that item about craft beer. The way he rushed Martina Devlin through her book, I thought World War 3 was after breaking out and he had to go to a news flash. No, just some hipster beer...

I like the way he repeated the statement last week from Fiona Looney that "Dublin was the greatest GAA football team EVER"... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

Why do irish parents have 3 or 4 kids in quick succesion then give out about how stressful it is

"Well, one's pretty bad, but you figure you gotta have two so the little guy can have a brother or sister, right? Then you have two boys, and the wife says she want a girl so you figure "Hell, three can't be much worse than two", right? What you don't realize is your brain is fried 'cause you haven't slept. After three, four is no big deal. You're so deep in it, nothin' seems to matter any more. It's chaos. You're just tryin' to make it through each day alive. In the end you spend all the energy you have left tryin' to get 'em into bed only to lie awake prayin' they don't get hooked on drugs, hurt, or worse... wind up dead in an alley somewhere."

You're not a refugee, you're an asylum seeker on the game. If the government establish that you are genuinely fleeing persecution, then you're classed as a refugee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

He just called Sean, Pat.