Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Callan57 wrote: »
    I'd suggest to Enda that he show the door to these "whip smart" advisors & take in a couple of grass-root operators who have an ear to the ground & a handle on what the "man/woman in the street" is prepared to swallow.

I thought that was what Phil Hogan was supposed to do? Have his ear to the ground, be one of the lads and ram policies through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Advisors that are "highly intelligent" & "whip smart" = arrogant knowalls seriously lacking is common sense.

I'd suggest to Enda that he show the door to these "whip smart" advisors & take in a couple of grass-root operators who have an ear to the ground & a handle on what the "man/woman in the street" is prepared to swallow.

I'd love to have heard the conversation between Enda and his "expert" advisors before the John McNulty debacle. Even a monkey would have copped on that appointing him to the board of IMMA would have blown up in their faces, but they still went ahead with. I can't figure out if it's sheer arrogance or sheer stupidity on their part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Lucozade laundering, now thats a new one

did you hear that today??

fryup wrote: »
    Lucozade laundering, now thats a new one

did you hear that today??

I initially thought it was a spoof. I mean, as long as the Lucozade isn't 10 years out of date, it should be okay. It's not exactly going to cause botulism or anything :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

I initially thought it was a spoof. I mean, as long as the Lucozade isn't 10 years out of date, it should be okay. It's not exactly going to cause botulism or anything :D

Did he also say a large multinational shop was selling laundered fuel?

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

I wonder will the Ballyhea Bondholding man Diarmuid O'Flynn be allowed back on the show. Naughty man, always banging on about the bad choices being made on our behalf. Despite Seans efforts to gag him Diamuid made his point but I wonder will many do as I did and look up his blog to find out just what a two faced liar Michael Noonan has turned out to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

What an extraordinary young girl?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

What an extraordinary young girl?

Indeed. And I'll bet the Guards have a very good idea who these guys are but thanks to the near impossible standards of proof demanded these days they won't have a hope of lifting them unless they catch them in the act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Great interview with Tom Maher. Impressive man.

Eamon Ryan again this morning ... is he camped out in the carpark at RTE?

F**k all else to do with his time since the people keep refusing to vote him into a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Sean gave 12 mins to the bailout letter and cut it off when the Sinn Fein spokesman had clearly won the argument for a rubbish spot on ' food and travel ' , come off it sean , you're in rte long enough to know when to suspend the fluffy rubbish items , very disappointed in him today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

touts wrote: »
    F**k all else to do with his time since the people keep refusing to vote him into a job.

The elections are not too far away. He's getting himself out there. Same as Mary Hanafin was for months before the council elections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Fantastic interview, best I've heard in ages ... Johnny Rotten just made my weekend
    IrishHomer wrote: »
    Same here, was thoroughly enjoyable

Found it on Youtube here.Johnny Rotten the legend.Great interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,858 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I think we can say at this stage that fears about Sean struggling with less serious material have proved unfounded. I thought he handled that item about box sets as streaming as smoothly as you could hope for: kept it light, threw in a couple of personal references, but still elicited the relevant info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Why dont you ask your Labour buddies to relay your message to the Taoiseach.. Or are you not speaking to them after they gave Michael D the golden ticket...

Interesting decision from the Supreme Court re surrogacy - Liveline will be hopping I bet

I think the show today will be full of "random" callers slapping Joe on the back and metaphorically carrying the "reluctant" Joe Duffy on their shoulders...

We can prepare for lashings of false modesty & "it's not me it's you the listners" lines :eek:

One thing is for sure. He won't be discussing the latest JNLR figures.

Would you seriously call Sinn Fein a left-wing party?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Somebody in Montrose is about to get the fast end of Sean O'Rourke's size 10 up the rear end after that cock up.

^^^^^^^^

Why what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^

Why what happened?

Someone lined up the wrong audio during the discussion about Brian Farrell (RIP).

I don't often find myself agreeing with Ger Colleran but I totally agree with him this morning .. there is something very discomforting about all this glorification of WW1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I don't often find myself agreeing with Ger Colleran but I totally agree with him this morning .. there is something very discomforting about all this glorification of WW1

+1 on Colleran and +another 1 on what he is saying. Time the poppies where worn on the inside of jackets for a while.
    Rwanda story is interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

The wearing of the poppy and supporting the work of the RBL was and should be a personal thing. I imagine that most genuine supporters of the RBL are disgusted by the poppy fascists and TV stations inceasingly jumping on the bandwagon. I'll continue to buy mine every year and will wear it on the outside of my lapel - thank you!

... I imagine that most genuine supporters of the RBL are disgusted by the poppy fascists and TV stations inceasingly jumping on the bandwagon....
    I think the poppy fascists have managed to distort perceptions. Quiet remembrance would be more readily accepted.

Ger Colleran achieved something remarkable today. He drove me over to agreeing with Kevin Myers (apart from Myers's vanity in his opening comments).

I think the poppy fascists have managed to distort perceptions. Quiet remembrance would be more readily accepted.

Ger Colleran achieved something remarkable today. He drove me over to agreeing with Kevin Myers (apart from Myers's vanity in his opening comments).

Unless my hearing is defective I'm fairly sure I've heard Kevin Myers many times on various RTE programmes discussing his interest in WW1 - don't know what he was talking about saying it was the first time he was asked on RTE to discuss it!

The woman on the vox- pox on the arklow raw sewage problem " people are giving out stink and giving out yards " about the raw sewage, lovely .

Cox- vox- pox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Frightening to think how thin or non existant the blue line actually is in this country

Maureen Grant what an entertaining & charming lady - immensly enjoyable listening to her

Heard that yesterday.

Agreed with some of what he said.

Although I never had him down as a religious Jesus fan.

Myers was spot on. As usual.

John Connor's Aunt on the show saying it was great to watch John on Love Hate because it was great to see something positive about travelers instead of news about them always fighting and stuff.

I must have been watching a different show :-)

But joking aside I have to say John Connors is a very good spokesperson for the travelling community. He is doing more for travelers in one interview than years of Pavee Point interviews.

touts wrote: »
    John Connor's Aunt on the show saying it was great to watch John on Love Hate because it was great to see something positive about travelers instead of news about them always fighting and stuff.

I must have been watching a different show :-)

But joking aside I have to say John Connors is a very good spokesperson for the travelling community. He is doing more for travelers in one interview than years of Pavee Point interviews.

Yea, I wondered what programme she watched too?
    Or perhaps she revealed more about "traveller culture" than she intended!

John Connors is gas here.

Justifies why Patrick was the right one to kill Nidge because his was the only character with a clear conscience.

Spoken like the most decent pipe bomb maker you'll ever meet !

Lapin wrote: »
    John Connors is gas here.

Justifies why Patrick was the right one to kill Nidge because his was the only character with a clear conscience.

Spoken like the most decent pipe bomb maker you'll ever meet !

I was surprised he didn't want duelling restored so the members of the "traveller culture" could sort out their differences in the time honoured way of their "hard man" culture.
    Unintentionally he actually confirmed an awful lot of what most of us suspected about the so called "traveller culture" ... lauding beating the living daylights out of anyone who disagrees with you, crosses you or won't do exactly what you want (man or woman!). Sad excuse for men IMO

I was surprised he didn't want duelling restored so the members of the "traveller culture"

You'd have to laugh.. John Connors was giving out about the lack of electricity and the usual guff about the Council / ESB / any other random state body ... not helping them out.. with the inference being that they were being discriminated against... Then Sean asked him

Sean: "And John, do you own the land where the trailers are situated"...
    John: "We have been living there for 15 years, so we have squatter's rights"..

So that would be a NO then... They have some cheek... They really do...

I don't feel like chicken tonight.

Paul Murphy doing his Pontius Pilate act this morning ... cowardly!
    He brought a mob on to the street the very least he should do is be a man and take responsibility. :mad:

Listening to Paul Murphy TD claiming his mini-riot on Saturday was a "peaceful protest" against the actions of an "undemocratic" state and an elite minister I can't help thinking if he lived in a fully fledged Socialist "Democracy" and organised a "peaceful protest" against one of the elite he would be sitting in a dark damp basement this morning having his figure nails ripped out. He is a boy playing with political forces he can't control.

He brought a mob on to the street the very least he should do is be a man and take responsibility. :mad:

he looks and acts like he just came out of primary school

I was shocked to hear Ruth Coppinger coming out in support of Paul Murphy this morning.. Apparently with the blessing of her idol Joe Higgins..

Both on this programme and on the 1 o'clock programme yesterday he complained vociferously that he wasn't invited on to Marain Fincuane's show. Yet he has just got two prime opportunities to make his case - even though he claims that he was not a leader of the demonstration.

I wasn't a leader of the demonstration either. Let's ignore the facts that I wasn't there and that I don't approve of the demonstrators' actions. Should I have a right to be invited on to radio to air my views?

Both on this programme and on the 1 o'clock programme yesterday he complained vociferously that he wasn't invited on to Marain Fincuane's show.

He also forgets to mention that at the same time Joan Burton was on with Finucane, he was getting a "free run" on Newstalk !!! And he starts giving out about Denis O'Brien controlling the media...

Burning out vans because they might be Irish Water ... oh very clever
    Who do these yobbos think will pay for the replacement vans????
    Ah sure we can't expect them to "do the math". :mad:

Burning out vans because they might be Irish Water ... oh very clever
    Who do these yobbos think will pay for the replacement vans????
    Ah sure we can't expect them to "do the math". :mad:

Someone else will pay. At least that's the standard Socialist answer.

With regard to the Tanaiste being trapped in her car for 2 hours,in any other normal country she would have been extricated immediately if she was in danger and the police force wouldn't have spared the use of force.... Leads to all kinds of questions and conspiracy theories, and if any of them were proven true , I wouldn't be surprised , I have lost total confidence In the integrity of this government and in the Tanaiste in particular.

Oops69 wrote: »
    With regard to the Tanaiste being trapped in her car for 2 hours,in any other normal country she would have been extricated immediately if she was in danger and the police force wouldn't have spared the use of force.... Leads to all kinds of questions and conspiracy theories, and if any of them were proven true , I wouldn't be surprised , I have lost total confidence In the integrity of this government and in the Tanaiste in particular.

Are you suggesting the Gardai should have baton charged?
    IMO the Gardai are to be commended for their restraint in the face of verbal & physical abuse from a bunch of yobbos.
    I presume it was a judgement call made by the officer in charge that she was safer remaining in the car.