Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Who's this woman now?

She sounds EXACTLY like someone I know, who is very successful in business.....

CEO of Vodafone ... impressive woman indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,558 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Callan57 wrote: »
    CEO of Vodafone ... impressive woman indeed
    I've had enough of her now. Very dogmatic and self-promoting (presumably that's the whole point!)

She certainly not the woman I know, and I'm fairly sure couldn't be related either.

Anyone catch her name?

I've had enough of her now. Very dogmatic and self-promoting (presumably that's the whole point!)

She certainly not the woman I know, and I'm fairly sure couldn't be related either.

Anyone catch her name?

Ann O'Leary - she's "dogmatic and self-promoting" no doubt if she were a man she would be "assertive and confident". :rolleyes:
    As it happens to me she came across as Vodafone promoting rather than self-promoting

Ann O'Leary - she's "dogmatic and self-promoting" no doubt if she were a man she would be "assertive and confident". :rolleyes:
    As it happens to me she came across as Vodafone promoting rather than self-promoting

Nope, I wouldn't admire that in a man either :rolleyes:

And yes, it was more Vodafone-plugging by the end of it than anything else.

Fair play to her, I don't mean to sound like I'm knocking her, she's got a lot further in the workplace than I ever will :D. And trying to bring others with her. Fair dues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭serfboard

And yes, it was more Vodafone-plugging by the end of it than anything else.
    "CEO of Vodafone in Vodafone-plugging shocker!" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

In other news, I've just switched from Vodafone to Eircom as the former just jacked their prices up by 10%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

In other other news I too swtiched back to Eircom from Vodafone after 6 months of hell via inept billing and utterly woeful service...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭vertmann

I've not been with Vodafone for years because their mobile plans are pure robbery.

Who is this clown? Isn't it amazing how quickly he has arrived at a "list of qualifications" as necessary for a woman to get involved in politics with absolutely no criteria whatsoever for a man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

GP on now who has had to emigrate to Doha because they couldn't afford to live in Ireland on just his GP salary and his wife's salary as a Consultant Pediatrician. Jasus it must be extremely difficult scraping by on that combined salary. I can only imagine the hardship they endured......

touts wrote: »
    GP on now who has had to emigrate to Doha because they couldn't afford to live in Ireland on just his GP salary and his wife's salary as a Consultant Pediatrician. Jasus it must be extremely difficult scraping by on that combined salary. I can only imagine the hardship they endured......

Wouldn't your heart just break for them poor devils :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

countries fecked lads when a bankrupt solicitor cant stay in his 30 million quid bog standard house and 2 doctors cant get scrape by on a miserly combined salary that must be 6 figures. time to get the charity bucket out

neris wrote: »
    countries fecked lads when a bankrupt solicitor cant stay in his 30 million quid bog standard house and 2 doctors cant get scrape by on a miserly combined salary that must be 6 figures. time to get the charity bucket out

Time for another Live Aid maybe we could call it "professional aid" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

class barney going on between some counsillor and the water protester lads on right now

(john buttimer is the counsillor)

class barney going on between some counsillor and the water protester lads on right now

Feck's sake - and a car crash involving Jerry Beades going on on NT at the same time.

Why do they run these programmes against each other :mad:

Why didn't they just ignore him & continue with their meeting ... having to sit (or stand) through hours of repetitious waffling would have softened his cough. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Yup - switched over from PK, heard this gombeen and switched back to the Dowwkey cor crosh

Jerry Beades is fast replacing Fr Dougal as the biggest idiot in a country of idiots :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

that graham dwyer trial is becoming more disturbing everyday. its nearly getting to the point where the journalists reporting it can say very little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Feck's sake - and a car crash involving Jerry Beades going on on NT at the same time.

Why do they run these programmes against each other :mad:

Playback is your friend.

Who would want to be a teenager these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Things must have changed big time since I was a teenager,girls wanted to have sex as much as boys from what i can remember, according to this lad the boys are doing all the chasing,harassing girls to have sex

im having flashbacks to the 80s when the same hystericial partonising nonsense was being peddled.

its not fecking porn when your girl sends ya a pic of her tits FFS.

Really is amazing that the same socitey types EVERY generation seem to think no one likes sex, and if they DO like it they must preform it the way THEY think is appropriate.

bet these lads dont even realise how stupid they sound.

What exactly is the point this lady is trying to make? She is sounding very defensive

OMG Mary Lou sounds like a Catholic bishop ... obfuscate

Jaysus Alex white won't be happy with this poet !

She was desperately trying not to make any point.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Yeah, she gets rather shrill when she is attacking others and then dances around the point when someone questions her.

Seems to be the standard SF tactic. They aren't big on answering questions.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭lochderg

what about 'real' investigative journalism-nobody is doing it-P.Kenny is now Establishment who displays rage when CEOS are questioned about salaries(Kerins & Flannery) or sending his 'roving reporter' on the hunt for 'white trash' to show how ghastly they are-let's have a programme with intelligent analysis about important items and not one which is peppered with inane vacuous magazine drivel-leave that to the mainstream programmes.

lochderg wrote: »
    what about 'real' investigative journalism-nobody is doing it-P.Kenny is now Establishment who displays rage when CEOS are questioned about salaries(Kerins & Flannery) or sending his 'roving reporter' on the hunt for 'white trash' to show how ghastly they are-let's have a programme with intelligent analysis about important items and not one which is peppered with inane vacuous magazine drivel-leave that to the mainstream programmes.

Could you perhaps tell us what one or two of these 'important items' might be?

A car travelling at 20kph will still do serious damage to a child that runs out in front of it. I sympathise with that clearly grieving woman looking for someone to blame for the death of her child but the reality is parents should not allow their children to play on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Facebook's "security" is a joke.... The Facebook approach to personal security and privacy is similar to the Internet's response to piracy... Retrospective..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

A car travelling at 20kph will still do serious damage to a child that runs out in front of it. I sympathise with that clearly grieving woman looking for someone to blame for the death of her child but the reality is parents should not allow their children to play on the road.

Cross posting or do both Pat and Sean have he same topic at the same time ?

Simple fact is that kids always have, and always will, play on roads within their estate. Adults have more sense than kids and the onus rightly so should be on adults to adjust their behaviour.

I find that most people who have this opinion either don't have kids, or never grew up in a housing estate.

FFers crying about how bad FF is doing in the polls.

LOVING it.

LOVING it.

So Willie is receiving a "much more benign response" - has it crossed Willie's mind that maybe they have consigned FF to history & simply don't care about them anymore? ;)

FF dont really get it, nobody wants to listen to them giving out about all the cuts that FG have made, as it is their fault there is no money for anything these days...

Bit of a family squabble starting now... I think they need Mammy Mary O'Rourke to come in and put somebody in the Bold Corner for fifteen minutes

ThisRegard wrote: »

Simple fact is that kids always have, and always will, play on roads within their estate. Adults have more sense than kids and the onus rightly so should be on adults to adjust their behaviour.

I find that most people who have this opinion either don't have kids, or never grew up in a housing estate.

Sorry yes. They were both discussing the same topic but Sean was the one with the grieving mother to that part should have been about his show. However the underlying part is the same. Kids allowed to play on roads will always be at risk no matter what speed the car is travelling at.

LOVING it.

The big problem FF have is their leadership is still the same old faces that were there in the debacle that was the Cowen collapse. They need to get rid of Martin, O'Dea, O'Cuiv etc as the faces of the party.

the gas thing is FF cant give out about the gov as theyre implementing to the letter FFs plan !

averils tryin but theres no way of squaring that circle.

i have a feeling this will end up in shinner bashing by the end.

Averil Power "FF putting the country first" ... now that REALLY would be a first

I think David McGuinness is a bit sore cos he wasnt selected.... And a bit of a loose cannon now...

http://www.thejournal.ie/jack-chamber-brian-lenihan-1960101-Feb2015/

"It's my political future at stake..... "
    That's not the sort of speak that's gonna endear him to the electorate..

ThisRegard wrote: »

Exactly, most kids will play on roads within housing estates.

Cannot understand the drivers, and women seem to be the main culprits who zoom through shopping centre car parks and narrow housing estates like it were a national route road!

Also the concept of Irish people self governing their driving habits on country roads is to me ( and I'm Irish) laughable.
    I know the 80 km limit is still there but all the signs in the world won't make a whit of difference once there is no enforcement.
    That has been well proven.

Just wondering ... Is it not very odd that FF put forward David McGuinness forward for this "shooting the breeze about Fianna Fail" segment of the program... Surely the new candidate, Jack Chambers, should have been put forward.... McGuinness, as any rejected candidate, will be disgruntled and not necessarily speak in the interest of the party that has just rejected him...

ha ha ha .

willie fulminating now about how the poor are doing.

FFS.

Its YOUR plan willie, if ya were in YOU'D be doing it .

the rogue FFer slagging em off now.

This is the other candidate that won, Jack Chambers..

jackchambers-1-310x415.jpg

If he doesnt get elected, I think he would certainly make a good Dr Who... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I think David McGuinness is a bit sore cos he wasnt selected....

He was well stitched up in fairness.

This is the other candidate that won, Jack Chambers..

jackchambers-1-310x415.jpg

If he doesnt get elected, I think he would certainly make a good Dr Who... :pac:

**** me! He's the head off Bertie if you look at reeling in the years ~1985. Was his mother a loyal party woman ;)

Exactly, most kids will play on roads within housing estates.

Cannot understand the drivers, and women seem to be the main culprits who zoom through shopping centre car parks and narrow housing estates like it were a national route road!

Also the concept of Irish people self governing their driving habits on country roads is to me ( and I'm Irish) laughable.
    I know the 80 km limit is still there but all the signs in the world won't make a whit of difference once there is no enforcement.
    That has been well proven.

Have to agree & women in my experience are the principal users of mobiles while driving too (in many instance with very tiny children in the car!) & anyone who is forced to drive near a school will witness the mammies total disregard for any driving or parking laws - total disregard for not just other peoples kids but even their own. Put a few guards around the schools at opening & closing times and we'd clear the national debt in no time! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

+1.

I feel she is much too emotionally involved to be dictating legislation about road safety.

I'm afraid this was only too apparent listening to her interview with Séan earlier.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    +1.

I feel she is much too emotionally involved to be dictating legislation about road safety.

I'm afraid this was only too apparent listening to her interview with Séan earlier.

Kids have been killed by cars reversing in a driveway & doing nothing like 20 miles an hour. Obviously one feels great sympathy for this lady but clearly she is way too close to the issue to be in any way objective.