Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

Common sense beginning to prevail, Irish Water is only a topic because certain minority voices keep pushing it to the top of the agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Is RTÉ supposed to pretend that such people don't exist?

Yep, out of sight ... out of mind and all.

but seriously she was acting like it was a positive thing .... no it's a ****ing terrible thing, that baby got sick from methodone ffs...

Alex White avoiding blaming the electorate this morning but sticking a well aimed boot into Sinn Féin. No love lost there.

Paddy O'Gorman getting nearly as bad as Duffy with all his visits to graveyards, Valentines and Mothers Day now.. but pouring a can of lager on your mothers grave? I suppose it takes all sorts to make up society.

Mick Barry says election posters should be allowed - that they're the 'poor mans' form of political advertising. But just said he didn't pay a cent himself for his own campaign!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

BarryD wrote: »
    Mick Barry says election posters should be allowed - that they're the 'poor mans' form of political advertising. But just said he didn't pay a cent himself for his own campaign!!!!

That's the Socialist way Baz, you do all the mouthing, someone else pays.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

Well that was disappointing, Mick Barry shouting slogans is no real alternative.

Casillas wrote: »
    Well that was disappointing, Mick Barry shouting slogans is no real alternative.

Surely you didn't expect anything different from that quarter.

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

I'm an eternal optimist I'm afraid!

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

Do Sean O'Rourkee and Pat Kenny co-ordinate their days off....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Keelin, I dont remember too many of the women jumping the queue to take a bullet.

Why was Sinn Féin chap allowed to conflate homelessness with the people renting in Tyrellstown who are being asked to move so that properties can be sold? People have to move out of rented accommodation all the time and they don't just automatically end up on the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Keelin, I dont remember too many of the women jumping the queue to take a bullet.
    What sort of nonsense comment is that?

Feirtéar told us that there were women in combat roles - clearly putting themselves at risk - and that there were women participants who insisted on surrendering on the same terms as the men, rather than take the easy out that was on offer to them.

More free publicity for the owners of Lisadell - maybe they should honour the 1916 commemoration by allowing free public access to all the local walks that people used to enjoy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,862 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Martin Wall on yet again this morning. Have probably asked this before, but how are RTE and Newstalk going to cover big industrial relations stories when the Irish Times finally goes bust?

Do Sean O'Rourkee and Pat Kenny co-ordinate their days off....?

Sean and Marian over in Washington don't ya know, doing what ?

Who knows,but that's where they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

Not only is Sean on his holliers, so is the cover... total radio disaster as the unlistenable Tubridy and Collins shows extend to meet in the middle!

Meanwhile, the Plank is made to turn up for work as usual. How the mighty are fallen! I'd laugh, but it's on me, as it doesn't leave a lot to listen to. Bit early in the day for Dan Hegarty, but will do in a pinch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,862 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

alaimacerc wrote: »
    Not only is Sean on his holliers, so is the cover... total radio disaster as the unlistenable Tubridy and Collins shows extend to meet in the middle!

Meanwhile, the Plank is made to turn up for work as usual.

Shane Coleman was covering for him today actually...

Meanwhile, the Plank is made to turn up for work as usual. How the mighty are fallen!

I'd say he's cursing the day he left RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,562 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Meanwhile, the Plank is made to turn up for work as usual. How the mighty are fallen! I'd laugh, but it's on me, as it doesn't leave a lot to listen to. Bit early in the day for Dan Hegarty, but will do in a pinch.
    I think you're getting a bit over-excited there.

RTE never run the Today Show on a bank holiday. As usual they run Tubridy (or whoever) late to meet Ronan Collins starting early.

And Pat wasn't presenting on Newstalk today. Did you even tune in before you came online to slag him?

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    I think you're getting a bit over-excited there.

RTE never run the Today Show on a bank holiday. As usual they run Tubridy (or whoever) late to meet Ronan Collins starting early.

And Pat wasn't presenting on Newstalk today. Did you even tune in before you came online to slag him?

And Sean is not on his holliers in my opinion.

He's over in Washington with Marzie on either a junket or some 'programme special'

Wonder what the 'per diems' are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

God this piece is very outdated.
    The Irish "won" the west, the Sierra Nevada pass was "discovered" by an Irish man.
    No "redskins" there, then, Myles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,562 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

OK, maybe I need to stop obsessing about this - or just turn the bloody radio off - but could SOR have made the first half hour of his show any more tabloid if he tried?

Declan Power got about three sentences in, the rest was breathless interviews with eye-witnesses (some very far removed from the incidents to be considered as such), digging for gory details.

Not a single mention (as I would expect on the national broadcaster) of a DFA phone number or other contact details for people worried about people who may be caught up in events.

Ruth is essentially in favour of establishing a permanent transfer of wealth from those she perceives to be wealthy to those she perceives to be less wealthy. A 'right to a house' just doesn't exist and can't exist, likewise there is no 'right to water'.

What her definition of wealth is, is rather vague - you'd suspect it's a movable marker. I have no doubt though that she's far better paid than I..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

does me bloody head in though that were continually subjected to karl deeter.

the fukers JOB is to sell mortgages for gods sake !

he's the last bastard to give two fuks about social housing. ya may as well have a fecking publican on to talk about abstinence. it like they learned nothing from ten years of dan macgloughlin pimping the housing market during the boom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

The victim blaming is strong on RTE today (predictably).

Culminating with Dr Ali from the Muslim Brotherhood blaming Europe for not accommodating islam enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

MLOD and monks alert!!

• Registered Users Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

That's as close as I've ever heard SO'R losing the head.

Was kind of scary what the guest was saying alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Doubt it, his show is way better on Newstalk, more freedom and no sports bore Cahill, Marie Louise or dole office reporter.

Incorrect,show has dipped appreciably .

Amateur back up, amateur reporters, nah pal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

He was heading for a bit part role with RTE, much like John Bowman. Whereas, there's George Hook still going at 74 with Newstalk, retiring when he wants to retire. One of of the main reasons Pat left, imo. I doubt he expected RTE to replace him so easily though. Kind of makes you wonder why they were paying him all the money. Same question could be asked of Newstalk.

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    He was heading for a bit part role with RTE, much like John Bowman. Whereas, there's George Hook still going at 74 with Newstalk, retiring when he wants to retire. One of of the main reasons Pat left, imo. I doubt he expected RTE to replace him so easily though. Kind of makes you wonder why they were paying him all the money. Same question could be asked of Newstalk.

Most of us were wondering about that way before poor Pat jumped ship.

What do they say?

"One of the great mysteries of our time"

Like for forks sake who has jumped ship from RTE in the last twenty years.

The public aren't idiots.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Are this crowd joking? Snouts in the trough and still not getting enough

"who would you rather show up if you had a house invasion, a trucker and tesco shelf stacker or a qualified guard".

In reality, the guard is likely to arrive long after the incident and the best they can usually do is tell you that they know who the gang are but they cant catch them. At least the shelf stacker could bring you some cheap Tesco vodka to help calm you down.

Will ye stop thumping the microphone ffs. You would think that an ex Eurovision singer and a dame of the stage would know not to hit the damned thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Callan57 wrote: »
    Are this crowd joking? Snouts in the trough and still not getting enough

It's not about the the money, except it is about the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Sean is being completely bullied and intimidated by Jack O'Connor. It's shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Sean's not at his best at all recently. He's been on the backfoot for all of this interview.
    Joe would just go "bad line, bad line" and cut him off.
    Ray would just cut him off by accident anyway.

Having said all that I'm enjoying the conversation, but it's more like a pub chat.

Did Sean just say we'll have all this 1916 coverage & rhetoric till May 16th?? There's a good case for commemoration but RTE might be going a bit OTT.

I find Colm Wilkenson awful hard to listen to. Wasnt mad on his version of One either. If he'd just sang it the way it was recorded it would have been better.

Personally I voted to close down the Seanad. Still can't understand how the Irish public managed to miss the opportunity.

The counting wasn't even finished in the recent Dáil election, when you had failed TDs lining up to get into the Seanad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

BarryD wrote: »
    Personally I voted to close down the Seanad. Still can't understand how the Irish public managed to miss the opportunity.

The counting wasn't even finished in the recent Dáil election, when you had failed TDs lining up to get into the Seanad.

The establishment scaremongers crawled out of the woodwork and forecast that all sorts of terrible things would happen if we got rid of that useless doss-house, thus safeguarding their tickets on the Seanad gravy train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

be interesting to see what happens when they start digging foundations for new buildings on that laundry site:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the party with two seats on the radio again

It's hardly the end of the world if we have to have another election

At least they've nominally made a bit more of an effort than others with more seats, who are suddenly quietly now, sitting on their hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭serfboard

Who's that? The Healy-Rae Party? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It hasn't taken Drennan long to get back on the rent-a-mouth circuit.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    It hasn't taken Drennan long to get back on the rent-a-mouth circuit.

And he's still spouting silly nonsense which he seems to think passes for wit :mad: